Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   212
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(300 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 271 to 300 (of 300 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Claude on 03/05/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered boracare to treat what I think is power post bugs.My order came very fast and packaged well. I find that it mixes easy with a drill and paint mixer in cold or warm water. I also ordered the 2Gal pro sprayer to replace the old one that I had. This is the best sprayer that I have found anywhere. I mixed boracare 1to1 to spray under my house. In some places its very low to the ground. Boracare covers good and the 2 gal sprayer works very well in tight places. This was a lot of work but its good to know I want have to do it again for many many years

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty Effective

    By Mike on 07/05/2017

    I had some sweet mesquite that was laying out to dry in my barn. Saw the telltale dust piles and decided to try the Bora Care. Applied it with a pump sprayer. A week later I found that there are only a dozen or so dust piles still forming. Probably a 90% kill rate. My next move is to try injecting the treatment into the remaining bore holes with a syringe. To early to identify any reinfestation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care pest contol

    By Carol on 07/07/2017

    I was very pleased with the product and assistance I received with the Bora-care product. I treated the powder beetles myself and called in before starting the project. I received great customer care, they answered all my questions and got me on my way!! Thank you pest control for being there to help!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Response, Product and Savings

    By Wendy on 07/10/2017

    We were very pleased with the pricing and response time on our order. We also appreciated the savings - quite a bit of savings over our last supplier. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    prompt delivery

    By Wst735 on 01/08/2012

    Verified Purchase

    applied to patio, don't know the results yet. wait and see

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Jeffrey on 08/04/2017

    Excellent product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Richard on 09/15/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I wanted to wait to write the review for awhile as the sawdust continued to form for a couple weeks after treatment. 2 coats were applied. Now, about a month later, I don't see any new sawdust. Hopefully this will take care of the problem. The Boracare was easy to apply. I have 1/2 gal left, so I will save it for next year and give it another 2 coats. This was used on 5" timbers used as landscaping timbers around a basement egress window. The timbers are stacked on each other, so most timbers only had one side coated. Some had 2 sides coated. Rich

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    easy application, works well

    By David on 09/13/2011

    Verified Purchase

    painted on, two coats, as directions. easy to use, appears effective. only objection is high cost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BoraCare

    By John on 06/18/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The shipment came when I expected and price is competitive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Everything Great!!

    By Jamy on 06/13/2011

    I recently purchased the BoraCare product and from start to finish I had an excellent experience! Service, knowledge of product, delivery, product...Everything was excellent! I noticed a difference in bore bees almost immediately. I would definitely recommend and use this company again for any of my home pest control needs!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    You Get What You Pay For

    By Ramsis on 06/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I think this product works as advertised as I used it and noticed what it does to the treated area of the wood and I think it will protect the wood for life as they said on the lable. I had seen similler product used in other countries and it does protect the wood from termite.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use.

    By Jb on 08/13/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Product was easy to mix and apply with a 2 gallon sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best

    By Steve on 06/27/2016

    Stuff pro's use for wood. Picture and mirror frames can contain powder post beetles. If you see sawdust buy this quick. Drops from termites in furnishings, same advice, this is very concentrated, dilute. If highly saturated it will leave residue, wipe off. Good service from company too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Powder post beetles

    By Larry on 06/28/2016

    Before using Bora-Care, home sawn red oak and black cherry lumber had damage showing within two weeks of cutting. At that time, Bora-Care was applied to that lumber at a 1:5 dilution in water and no further damage was found. Since then, we use Bora-Care immediately after sawing any oak - red and white, black cherry, hackberry, and soft maple. Over 150 logs have been sawn and no evidence of damage from powder post beetles has been seen. We won't start the sawmill without enough Bora-Care solution ready to spray the lumber cut that day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Results are in- 2 years later...

    By Angel on 07/12/2016

    I found my original post from August 2014 when I purchased Bora Care to treat powder post beetles in some log furniture I aquired. Note to self,I sprayed my furniture outside on my lawn, it killed my lawn,( but it came back eventually.) 2015 I noticed a few new holes, and one or two beetles, nothing like before however, so YEY!... Now, here were are again- almost in August, and I've found 3 beetles, and 9 new holes! UGGG.. So I'd say it worked for the most part, but not a complete fix. Definitely needs continued treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Prior planning prevents heartaches later

    By Jim on 10/05/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I can't attest to the effectiveness of this material because I used to treat the lumber I was using to replace some rotting 2 x 4's in a wall. Since termites must have contact with moisture, preventing water seepage is always number one. Mix Bora-Care 50:50 with water and paint it on, allowing overnight drying because it it thick and sticky. Univ. of Georgia Extension termite specialist recommended this product and it is easy to use plus gives me piece of mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The best of quality and service

    By Mike on 09/03/2016

    I have used this product before about 12 years ago. We are having another house built and I wanted to protect this home as well. This order was top quality as was the last one and the price was the best on the Web. Shipping was so fast when it came in it took me by suprise. I would order from this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Hot watet

    By Ric on 09/07/2016

    I'd like to hold off on my final verdict concerning Boracare. I am using it to kill powder post beatles. They are not active right now so I won't know about the effectiveness of the product until this Spring. I will then try to do another review. Now about my experience with using the product. What ever you do make sure to use hot water😨. The stuff is like syrup but mixes well with the hot water. I used a cheap 2 gallon sprayer with no problems. Follow the directions! Use the precautions😷. This stuff is only 40% Disodium Octaborate Tetrahydrate (DOT). It's the other 60% I have concerns about. Heck! Timbor is 98% DOT and it's used a preventative. I plan on contacting Nisus Corporation again to ask about what makes up the other 60%. Also, Nisus has a great PDF file on figuring square footage to be sprayed. Is missed by a half gallon doesn't sound like much but at $80 a pop. This is a good site for how to use the product and figure amount. https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://nisuscorp.com/images/uploads/documents-technical-bulletins/techbulletin_newconstructiontreatments.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwi9nuXXtP3OAhVL6yYKHVOIAScQFggoMAA&usg=AFQjCNFZED7OmXfBaRHH2HRdFtg0QvLG8A. This other link is the one I referred to when figuring number of gallons to buy. https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://nisuscorp.com/images/uploads/documents-technical-bulletins/techbulletin_loghomes_dimensionallumber.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwiKoYfhtf3OAhWEgCYKHY2wDy8QFggiMAE&usg=AFQjCNEokDVm9Qo6lgaR14Qx0NWCP0CWKw. Even though it says log homes it still deals with all measurements of timber. Keep your fingers crossed for me. Ric PS: The star rating may change, hopefully up😎

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare Works

    By Rene on 09/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    It takes a while, but it does really work. Saved us thousands of dollars in termite tenting and gas. We did, however, take off sheetrock in living room -- and found wood full of galleries, and replaced it. Thank you for this wonderful invention.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare review

    By Earlene on 09/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    The product was fairly easy to use, and not too messy. I used a sprayer for it. I'd give the item 5 stars, but I'm unsure of the lasting effects! However, I think I'll be long dead before I'll have to worry about termites again! The ordering process was very easy, and my product arrived in the scheduled time. All in all a very good experience with this company. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Floyd on 09/27/2016

    worked as advertised and shipping was immediate

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care fast delivery

    By Scott on 09/27/2016

    On September 7 I ordered a jug of Bora-Care from DoMyOwnPestControl.com and the morning of September 9 the order was delivered. Extremely fast fulfillment! I had looked into the process for making my own fungicide using borax, boric acid and propylene glycol but decided not to because it involved heating the mix. As a ready to use product Bora-Care is well worth the cost. It's a thick mixture and difficult to pour small amounts for mixing doses for application but knowing that in advance is enough to be prepared.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Skip on 10/02/2016

    After a complete coverage of our cabin and one followup in problem areas, the powder post beetles are still active. Not sure what to try next. The product did stop some of the activity but I would like to eliminate the pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ant invasion

    By Hamish25 on 08/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I hope this treatment works as well as it seems to. Our subdivision is very wooded. This year our homes were over run with carpenter ants. After hearing neighbors' stories of disappointment concerning treatment companies, we turned to Do My Own and Bora-Care. The day after treatment we were no longer seeing carpenter ants. To this day we appear to be ant free.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Hal on 08/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Quick shipping. Our second order. Believe the product to be top notch and the prices for it and shipping the best w could find.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Alma on 10/15/2016

    Verified Purchase

    Had new 8 x 10 shed constructed two years ago. My old shed had some termite infestation and the company that constructed the new shed spayed every piece of wood with this product. I have not seen one termite, carpenter ants or any other bug infestation since this product was applied. Since the new shed cost me a fortune I can honestly say I'm so glad I purchased this product. I live in an area where termites are everywhere and believe me this product works. If you follow the directions and use this product as instructed you won't be disappointed. The ease of ordering and the delivery to your home is an added plus. This is my go to company for all my pest control needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Service was great

    By Doug on 10/23/2016

    I got what I ordered and I received it very quickly. It was packaged well. I don't know if it works yet but come spring I should be able to tell something.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care application

    By Steve on 11/13/2016

    I had 100+ years old heart pine from our old barn milled for use as a new kitchen floor in my 100+ years old home. As there had been powder post beetle activity in the wood over the years, I applied bora-care over the installed floor (before finishing of course) at a 1:1 ratio. All went as per instructions and after a couple days of dry time, the floor was successfully finished. DoMyOwnPestControl was very quick to respond to my questions and shipping ultra fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    bora care

    By Mel on 11/17/2016

    It came very fast and in great condition. We look at all the reviews and decided to give it a try. Thank you

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Lou on 10/20/2017

    Easy to mix, easy to apply. Results won't be known until next summer when we open up our summer house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 271 to 300 (of 300 reviews)