Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   241
4 stars   53
3 stars   19
2 stars   7
1 star   12

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(332 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 332 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Second time user

    By Jwinps on 12/09/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Easy to use, great preservative. A bit pricey, but worth it. What else can protect against termites, fungus, etc?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    25 years bug free

    By Mark on 10/15/2016

    absolute must for wood homes. worth its' weight in gold. 25 years in a large log home -! treatment - NO bugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare-Powder Post Beetles

    By John on 01/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Boracare arrived in a concentrated 1 gallon container. It has the consistency of syrup (slightly thick) and I diluted it with water on a 1 to 1 basis. I could not find my sprauer so I rolled on the first application with a paint roller. I also brushed on a door facing that needed treatment. I used one gallon of the two gallon diluted solution and then I found my sprayer. I sprayed on the last coat of Boracare and I preferred the sprayer. I used plastic gloves, googles and old clothes. Did I get some on me? Yes. I threw the clothes away including underware and tennis shoes and took a quick shower. In summary, I put 2 coats on the wood that needed treating. This will be a five star rating if I got rid of the powder post beetles (which I won't know for about 3 months). Instructions from the supplier were excellent. Now it is wait and see. One suggestion-Don't ever use old wood for new house construction!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Homeowner treated a 35x90 barn

    By Tim on 10/07/2016

    Product is a bit messy and sticky until it has a chance to fully dry. Once dry there is no sign of the product. This is a good thing, but if you break the project up into stages you need to keep track of where the boundaries are. Product did take about 2 years for it to take full effect. I suspect this is because the beetles are in the wood out of reach and need to exit before they are exposed to the product. Using the recommended stronger concentration for an existing infestation should affect this time, however for a large structure this gets to be very expensive. Of course, the beetles have now relocated to the lower level so I'll be treating that next. I mixed the product in a 25 gallon atv mounted tree sprayer and used a longer hose with a lift to reach the high beams.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Dan on 04/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    It would be hard to rate this product on effectiveness, as I don't have anything to compare it to. However, it was easy to dilute in hot water as instructed, and was easy to apply to bare wood with a weed sprayer and spray bottle. Product is clear, and after 2 days can be painted over. I used on exposed bare wood and facia boards before priming and painting, where previous wood had dry rot and termite damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/06/2013

    I only gave it 4 because it hasn't been long enough to know how well it worked long term. Be sure to use warm/hot water to mix it as it comes out of the bottle the consistency of honey. Sometimes hard to tell where you left off, so use a push pin to mark your spot when refilling or taking a break. Rented a pressure washer ($50) plus cost of Boracare plus my time instead of a quoted price of $1000 to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sawmill owner

    By Mark on 02/18/2017

    Bora-care is used on all my lumber. It works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    rains

    By Gerry on 11/18/2016

    great service! delivery was quick!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty good stuff

    By Anonymous on 08/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My thanks for your prompt service. The product mixes and applies easily. It dries well (it will dry everything it contacts including skin so don't forget to wear rubber gloves). I was expecting a greater level of penetration as that aspect seems variable with different woods and their respective moisture content at time of application. Thinning also plays a part in this equation. Time will tell as to it's level of efficacy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care did not work at all

    By Tom on 08/16/2019

    I closely followed the instructions for mixing and applying Bora Care. I had one spot in my crawlspace where I had one tremite tube going up one of my piers into the floor framing. I bought enough Bora Care to treat my entire floor framing and applied. The area that had active damage where I could actually see termites crawling, i applied a very heavy application and also throughly saturated the fooring pier where their tube was. I re inspected a week later and found they rebuilt their tube that I had removed and were doing just fine up in the floor structure. I spent a bunch of money and time on a product that did nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Karen on 10/21/2014

    Material came in a timely manner. Read online reviews and took folk's suggestions to mix with very hot water...seemed to do the trick as the material mixed well with the warm water and we had no trouble spraying. It's an expensive product and we used a lot more than we thought we would need. As far as "how did the product do?".... It will take a year or so to see if we have more powder post beetle problems, so my rating will be a conservative 3.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Denise on 08/12/2017

    We ordered 2 gallons of this product after noticing bore holes with fine sawdust on our log house. Application was easy per instructions. Questions were answered to our satisfaction by phone. We would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent service and product

    By Marina on 08/17/2017

    I am very pleased with the service of DoMyOwn, I ordered Bora-Care and needed it quickly, so I chose next-day shipping: it shipped almost immediately and arrived the next day (whereas other vendors are slow to package and ship so next-day is not really received next-day even though you pay for it). The product performed exactly as described: we mixed and sprayed it as directed, the results are great. A+rating from me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BORA-CARE

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought BORA-CARE for dry wood termites in my home. I chose this over the others because I wanted a product that would stay in the wood to prevent future termites. When mixed according to directions, you won't have any problems with it crystalizing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast delivery and excellent product

    By Jonya on 06/21/2017

    My second time ordering this product from this company. Checkout is quick and easy and delivery is even faster than Amazon Prime. The product is easy to work with. I'm a happy customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Txjames on 07/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product, great company, and great prices. I watched a few YouTube video and read a bunch of review online about boracare and then I found it on this site. After I placed my order, it didnt take long for them to deliver and follow up on delivery. Very pleased with this company. I will definitely do business again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Wesley on 09/22/2016

    Ordered it to be sent standard shipping and received it incredibly fast. The trick to application is to warm up the boracare by submerging the container in a 5 gal bucket of hot water and when you mix it use very hot water and a paint mixing paddle. It is then fluid enough to apply using a gallon sprayer. This is the only stuff that you can use for interior application in walls and in floor joists that I am aware of. Seems to work very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By R on 07/18/2017

    I ordered 2 Galls of Bora Care after I found dry wall termite activity inside the walls I had opened during a remodel. I needed the stuff fast and Do My Own got it too me in two days. Well package no leaks... good job. I applied the product using a brush not the recommended process but it worked. Brushing put on a nice thick coat which took two days to thoroughly dry. It drys white so if you drip on other cosmetic wood it will stain. I like the product and hope it gets rid of the termites. I plan to coat all new wood from now on.... dont know why contractors dont spray during the construction phase of a house. Giving the product 4 stars because only time will tell if it keeps the termites at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product and service

    By Marc on 12/30/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Customer service was great and received product in a few days

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product, Excellent Service

    By Sheryl on 10/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    When the little termite guys decided to move into my construction site my husband and I wanted to find a DIY but safe method of evicting them. We purchased Boracare and within a day of spraying all of the trails went dead. No deadly to human chemicals needed, so needless to say we were very happy with the product! To add to that the customer service from DMyOPC is exemplary! Cheers and Thank You!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Satisfied

    By Ken on 07/29/2014

    Time will tell, but product was mixed following directions. It is important to have hot water. We made initial application for powder post beetles and seemed to help. We are doing a follow up at this time. Will know more in a couple of months. So far so good.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    In general, Boracare only needs to be applied once since Boracare is there for the life of the wood. If you are only able to treat 1 or 2 sides of the wood, or for heavy infestations, you may want to apply two coats, waiting at least 20 minutes between applications. In thicker or older wood, it may take several weeks for the Boracare to be absorbed into the wood, so some beetles which have been dormant in the wood may still emerge. Thank you for your comments!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing

    By Deedee on 06/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I didn't think this product would really work, but I thought "Well I am going to try it before I pay the $1,200.00 that a professional company wanted". So I ordered 2 bottles and my hubby just sprayed underneath, in the crawl space. I should say that we had just got the house and noticed them inside. So we knew the house was infested. Within a week there is no sign of any termites. My hubby has been checking and it is just amazing. We saved $1,000.00 doing it ourselves with this product. I highly recommend it. I am getting ready to order a different product to take care of the spiders and any other bug that wants to try and come in. Thank you Do My Own Pest Control. I am forever grateful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what we needed

    By Pat on 04/05/2017

    It is a bit sticky until it dries, but it dries quickly. Mix it with warm water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care vs Tenting

    By Michael on 04/06/2017

    I live in a residential neighborhood and found I have drywood termites in the attic. Well if I have termites then my neighbors also have them so tenting is not a good long term solution since my neighbors swarm will eventually reinfest my home. Treating with boracare should protect my home regardless of termite activity in the rest of the neighborhood.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product, great service!

    By M on 03/09/2017

    very effective product and the shipping was fast!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    palapas and wood boring beetles

    By Ame on 09/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Used Boracare for new palapas with wooden structures and palm fronds. The region is northern mexico. Where arizona and Californians like to visit. I have neighbors with bore holes in their Palm frond stalks and they got infested. Looks like wood boring beetles. This product does not seem to be working wll. While I keep finding dead beetles, I keep getting more and more holes from the beetles. Cant seem to stop the damage?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Product purchase

    By Craig on 03/06/2017

    The sale went smoothly. Quick shipping. Dilution instructions on container could have been more intuitive for a DIY home owner, but application was easy. There will probably be no way of knowing for several years if the product works as described. I would recommend this seller if you want this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to apply! Worth the peace of mind, esp where can't see

    By Ds on 12/01/2017

    I especially appreciated how quickly this product arrived JIT to use before my contractor covered over the area I wanted to spray. I had carefully researched this relatively non-toxic to humans product, and sprayed it on my sills and studs and sheathing before nailing the ply sheathing into place on my cripple wall in my crawl space as a seismic precaution. If it works like it says it does, I wont have to worry about what I now can't see because the plywood covering that now obscures my view of any termite tunnels. Use hot water to mix! Worked with a cheap 16$ sprayer and with a paint brush. A gallon goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Did it myself

    By Larry on 11/24/2017

    As far as I can tell it is working great. Easy to apply. Saved me a hundreds of $.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Regina on 02/28/2017

    I love to order from this company. They are reliable with lightning fast shipping. Great communication too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 332 reviews)