Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   212
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(300 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 300 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Karen on 10/21/2014

    Material came in a timely manner. Read online reviews and took folk's suggestions to mix with very hot water...seemed to do the trick as the material mixed well with the warm water and we had no trouble spraying. It's an expensive product and we used a lot more than we thought we would need. As far as "how did the product do?".... It will take a year or so to see if we have more powder post beetle problems, so my rating will be a conservative 3.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    what a mess

    By Gerald on 11/14/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Customer care did a great job. My problem is with the product. It is the consistency of molasses and it ruined my sprayer which was thrown away as it was uncleanable. So, I bought a small broom and brushed the chemical on as much surface as I could get access to. I feel I wasted a lot of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/06/2013

    I only gave it 4 because it hasn't been long enough to know how well it worked long term. Be sure to use warm/hot water to mix it as it comes out of the bottle the consistency of honey. Sometimes hard to tell where you left off, so use a push pin to mark your spot when refilling or taking a break. Rented a pressure washer ($50) plus cost of Boracare plus my time instead of a quoted price of $1000 to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ants

    By Geoff on 01/30/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I assume the fluid will do as claimed! It is a concentrated syrup that one dilutes with with hot water. As it dries it forms a skin and also soaks into the timber. The smell is modest and an ordinary hand pump garden spray will spread Boracare AFTER being fully diluted as per instructions. I blocked my equipment first try owing to the gelatinous nature of the raw material. Hot water soon cured the problem and I hope I have soaked the surrounding timbers enough having removed stucturalty damaged flooring eaten by carpenter ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    25 years bug free

    By Mark on 10/15/2016

    absolute must for wood homes. worth its' weight in gold. 25 years in a large log home -! treatment - NO bugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sawmill owner

    By Mark on 02/18/2017

    Bora-care is used on all my lumber. It works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Wood Termite Treatment

    By Manford on 09/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I recently had an experience with the dreaded termites. They had eaten about 50 feet of 2x6 base plate on stem wall. They made their entrance via a concrete porch filled with dirt, it was built after the house was built. After replacing base plate decided it was time to exterminate. After researching products decided on Boracare for treating since base plate and house was built out of used lumber. Base plate was only infestation found. Followed instructions provided with product and application went off without any bad experiences. "DO MY OWN PEST CONTROL" WEB PAGE WAS VERY HELPFUL AND SAVED ME APPROXIMATELY $800.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Homemaker

    By Sharon on 08/05/2017

    My home had some previous damage from termites and rot that I discovered when replacing my deck. I used Bora-Care to protect the wood after cleaning out the debris from the damaged area. The product was easy to mix and use. I chose an empty dish detergent bottle to mix. I was able to squirt the mixture into all of the crevices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Homeowner treated a 35x90 barn

    By Tim on 10/07/2016

    Product is a bit messy and sticky until it has a chance to fully dry. Once dry there is no sign of the product. This is a good thing, but if you break the project up into stages you need to keep track of where the boundaries are. Product did take about 2 years for it to take full effect. I suspect this is because the beetles are in the wood out of reach and need to exit before they are exposed to the product. Using the recommended stronger concentration for an existing infestation should affect this time, however for a large structure this gets to be very expensive. Of course, the beetles have now relocated to the lower level so I'll be treating that next. I mixed the product in a 25 gallon atv mounted tree sprayer and used a longer hose with a lift to reach the high beams.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    rains

    By Gerry on 11/18/2016

    great service! delivery was quick!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Satisfied

    By Ken on 07/29/2014

    Time will tell, but product was mixed following directions. It is important to have hot water. We made initial application for powder post beetles and seemed to help. We are doing a follow up at this time. Will know more in a couple of months. So far so good.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    In general, Boracare only needs to be applied once since Boracare is there for the life of the wood. If you are only able to treat 1 or 2 sides of the wood, or for heavy infestations, you may want to apply two coats, waiting at least 20 minutes between applications. In thicker or older wood, it may take several weeks for the Boracare to be absorbed into the wood, so some beetles which have been dormant in the wood may still emerge. Thank you for your comments!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Impressive Product

    By Dave on 03/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I discovered Powder Post and Old Borer Beetle exit holes in some of my 2x6's in my houses crawl space in October 2010. I did my research and noticed three universities and customers give Boracare great reviews. I ordered enough to apply the product 1 to 1 ratio, mixed IAW instructions and applied it to all the wood in my crawl space. "Lot of Work" but I got it done. I waited to write this review until I would know if it worked. March 29th 2011, I notice an old borer beetle sunning itself in my drive three weeks ago and step on it thinking oh'no! I went in the crawl space today and did an inspection and found just one hole that I might have missed when I filled the holes in last fall. As of now I WOULD SAY THIS PRODUCT IS 99.9% EFFECTIVE AGAINST BEETLES! I will continue to monitor the crawl space during the Summer and hopefully will have the same results. The only draw back from using this product, it did turn my copper water pipes green and would try to avoid spraying Boracare on copper.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care did not work at all

    By Tom on 08/16/2019

    I closely followed the instructions for mixing and applying Bora Care. I had one spot in my crawlspace where I had one tremite tube going up one of my piers into the floor framing. I bought enough Bora Care to treat my entire floor framing and applied. The area that had active damage where I could actually see termites crawling, i applied a very heavy application and also throughly saturated the fooring pier where their tube was. I re inspected a week later and found they rebuilt their tube that I had removed and were doing just fine up in the floor structure. I spent a bunch of money and time on a product that did nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Did it myself

    By Larry on 11/24/2017

    As far as I can tell it is working great. Easy to apply. Saved me a hundreds of $.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Product purchase

    By Craig on 03/06/2017

    The sale went smoothly. Quick shipping. Dilution instructions on container could have been more intuitive for a DIY home owner, but application was easy. There will probably be no way of knowing for several years if the product works as described. I would recommend this seller if you want this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Txjames on 07/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product, great company, and great prices. I watched a few YouTube video and read a bunch of review online about boracare and then I found it on this site. After I placed my order, it didnt take long for them to deliver and follow up on delivery. Very pleased with this company. I will definitely do business again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product, great service!

    By M on 03/09/2017

    very effective product and the shipping was fast!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product and service

    By Marc on 12/30/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Customer service was great and received product in a few days

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what we needed

    By Pat on 04/05/2017

    It is a bit sticky until it dries, but it dries quickly. Mix it with warm water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product, Excellent Service

    By Sheryl on 10/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    When the little termite guys decided to move into my construction site my husband and I wanted to find a DIY but safe method of evicting them. We purchased Boracare and within a day of spraying all of the trails went dead. No deadly to human chemicals needed, so needless to say we were very happy with the product! To add to that the customer service from DMyOPC is exemplary! Cheers and Thank You!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By R on 07/18/2017

    I ordered 2 Galls of Bora Care after I found dry wall termite activity inside the walls I had opened during a remodel. I needed the stuff fast and Do My Own got it too me in two days. Well package no leaks... good job. I applied the product using a brush not the recommended process but it worked. Brushing put on a nice thick coat which took two days to thoroughly dry. It drys white so if you drip on other cosmetic wood it will stain. I like the product and hope it gets rid of the termites. I plan to coat all new wood from now on.... dont know why contractors dont spray during the construction phase of a house. Giving the product 4 stars because only time will tell if it keeps the termites at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to apply! Worth the peace of mind, esp where can't see

    By Ds on 12/01/2017

    I especially appreciated how quickly this product arrived JIT to use before my contractor covered over the area I wanted to spray. I had carefully researched this relatively non-toxic to humans product, and sprayed it on my sills and studs and sheathing before nailing the ply sheathing into place on my cripple wall in my crawl space as a seismic precaution. If it works like it says it does, I wont have to worry about what I now can't see because the plywood covering that now obscures my view of any termite tunnels. Use hot water to mix! Worked with a cheap 16$ sprayer and with a paint brush. A gallon goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BORA-CARE

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought BORA-CARE for dry wood termites in my home. I chose this over the others because I wanted a product that would stay in the wood to prevent future termites. When mixed according to directions, you won't have any problems with it crystalizing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care vs Tenting

    By Michael on 04/06/2017

    I live in a residential neighborhood and found I have drywood termites in the attic. Well if I have termites then my neighbors also have them so tenting is not a good long term solution since my neighbors swarm will eventually reinfest my home. Treating with boracare should protect my home regardless of termite activity in the rest of the neighborhood.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Regina on 02/28/2017

    I love to order from this company. They are reliable with lightning fast shipping. Great communication too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing

    By Deedee on 06/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I didn't think this product would really work, but I thought "Well I am going to try it before I pay the $1,200.00 that a professional company wanted". So I ordered 2 bottles and my hubby just sprayed underneath, in the crawl space. I should say that we had just got the house and noticed them inside. So we knew the house was infested. Within a week there is no sign of any termites. My hubby has been checking and it is just amazing. We saved $1,000.00 doing it ourselves with this product. I highly recommend it. I am getting ready to order a different product to take care of the spiders and any other bug that wants to try and come in. Thank you Do My Own Pest Control. I am forever grateful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent service and product

    By Marina on 08/17/2017

    I am very pleased with the service of DoMyOwn, I ordered Bora-Care and needed it quickly, so I chose next-day shipping: it shipped almost immediately and arrived the next day (whereas other vendors are slow to package and ship so next-day is not really received next-day even though you pay for it). The product performed exactly as described: we mixed and sprayed it as directed, the results are great. A+rating from me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BORA CARE

    By Ro on 01/23/2017

    When ordering the Bora Care product I received help online and by phone explaining what the product is used for, how to calculate the amount to use and what equipment I would need. (very helpful). The product was delivered very fast and at a very competitive price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Wesley on 09/22/2016

    Ordered it to be sent standard shipping and received it incredibly fast. The trick to application is to warm up the boracare by submerging the container in a 5 gal bucket of hot water and when you mix it use very hot water and a paint mixing paddle. It is then fluid enough to apply using a gallon sprayer. This is the only stuff that you can use for interior application in walls and in floor joists that I am aware of. Seems to work very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    using boracare

    By Linda on 09/21/2016

    I did not realize how messy boracare is - very runny. When spraying it, it dripped even when spraying a "fan" across the beam. I had to be careful not to let it drip on me, but it was all over the plastic that was down on floor. Too soon to tell how effective it was. This was for powder post beetles. We mixed it 1:1 for active infestation. If it works - I will let you know, and it would be worth it. I just felt alot was wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 300 reviews)