Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   219
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(307 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 121 to 150 (of 307 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It Works!

    By Anonymous on 07/19/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have an old hip-roof barn which was probably built in the 1800's. When I acquired it the powder post beetles were pretty firmly entrenched therein! Boracare is the only thing that has slowed them down so far. Some of the beams were pretty big so I had to apply several applications but at least I'm winning the war now. Costing a lot of money but these old barns aren't being built anymore so it's money well spent. Thanx for the help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Larry on 01/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Container had leaked into box. Should have been packaged better. Maybe and EPA conern.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Using BoraCare

    By Jim on 04/16/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I received my BoraCare in just a few days. This product was very easy to mix and spray in a pump up sprayer. I had dry wood termites in exterior lower foundation boards (garage area of my home). I removed the infected board and sprayed the area with Boracare. I also sprayed the foundation wall sills and exterior corner boards (end grain area) as well. I learned so much about this product from Do My Own Pest Control and their customer reviews, I'm happy that I found you and I'm telling my family and friends about your company and products. I expect great results from the Boracare. Jim

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Did my own

    By Tom on 02/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered boracare because I have had success with another borax based product, Terro Ant Killer. Terro Ant Killer was cheap (3-4 dollars) but it was a small bottle. I tried every other ant killer on the market with no look. I searched the Internet and borate was the answer that seemed to make the most sense to me. I tried Terro and within a few days an ant problem that had plagued my house for years was gone. Because of this experience, I have faith in borate based pesticides. I was doing a renovation in an upstairs bedroom. I had all the drywall down in two rooms and mixed the product with very hot water and used a drill with a mixing paddle. The stuff is thick but goes into solution with hot water nicely. I used a large pesticide spray can to apply. I was able to fully treat about 100 feet of wall from top to bottom and still had enough left over to do a re-treatment of the sill plate in my basement. I cannot speak to the effectiveness because I don't currently have termites and unless I get them in the future, I cannot say if Boracare prevented problems or not. I do have faith in the borate based treatments so I feel good about the product. As I say, $70 a gallon seems a bit pricey but compared to the cost of a yearly service, I could treat the whole house for the cost of one years service. If I were to ever build a house new, I would have all the first floor walls treated with this stuff after framing and before walls went up. Delivery was prompt. I am happy with the service. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the price. But the price was good compared to other sellers, so I cannot complain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Speedy Service

    By Rose on 09/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Customer Service was fantastic, they were able to answer all questions and concerns. Purchased to treat antique chairs of wood worm. Additionally, Do My Own Pest Control had the best price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care is Terrific for Termites

    By Nathan on 07/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Great product that not only treats and prevents wood insects, it hinders molds and fungi spores. Easy to use and apply, it was perfect to spray into my attic before laying insulation. Shipped to my door immediately, this was a top rate product offered by a customer service oriented professional supplier.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Flp on 07/24/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I read the online info and figured out that my problem was powder post beetles. I had a fine powder all over my stairs and I followed the directions and so far, 3 days later, I have seen no sign of the powder again. I am keeping the rest of the Boracare in case I have the problem again as apparently the beetles can move to new territory.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Found

    By Kathy on 09/15/2018

    This product came highly recommend by several individuals. Bora-Care was used to treat a fungus on wood pilings. I have tried other products, but Bora-Care has been the most effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great customer service

    By Bill on 07/20/2018

    The product arrived on time and is exactly what I wanted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Noting Better

    By Jonathan on 11/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Had termites eating through floor and entertainment center. Sprayed it down with boracare and next day termites were gone. I've used it for years as a pre-treatment and a kill now product. Cheaper products may work as well but I will stick with Bora-Care for all termite issues. domyownpestcontrol.com had it to me in two days for the cheapest price A+++++

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Kevin on 09/01/2018

    The 5 stars are for the ease of ordering and on time delivery. As well as the correct chemical being delivered in an appropriate container. For me this was a preventative buy. Doing a full re-model of my bathroom and wanted to treat the exposed wood before it got covered up again. Crossing fingers that when/if pests bite into the wood they go down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Low Toxicoty Cheaper than Commercial Pesticide Company

    By Bobthebuilder on 07/20/2018

    Low toxicity. Dry wood termites. I cut holes in my dry wall and found them. Vacuumed all their poop and removed insulation. Sprayed down all the wood. Also sprayed perimeter of house base and roof. Really happy with money I saved.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Vivian on 06/12/2017

    Good product, easy to apply

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Order online

    By Daniel on 08/05/2012

    Verified Purchase

    It was was easy to research and order online. I decided to try BORA-CARE as it is supposedly effective and relatively nontoxic to humans. I also needed it as soon as possible, as it was holding up my project. Thinking it would take a week for the free delivery, I was very surprised to see it arrive in three days! In the end, it was very easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product follow instructions

    By John on 09/28/2018

    I would recommend you read and follow instructions, works MUCH better with hot water, mix it up and use it soon thereafter. Do not let it sit for days, after use run some clean hot water through the sprayer and you will have no issues.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Product!!!

    By Todd on 09/29/2018

    Boracare is a great product for treating old barn wood if you plan to use it in your home. Plus a great deterrent for ants and termites to spray around the outdoors of your home. Highly Recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    mediteraium termite

    By Mr. on 10/18/2016

    these maggot termites had infested my wood in my laundry room of all places after cutting into the nest with a sawzall i sprayed them mounds of them kept accumulating under the area every day i repeated this spray,mound ,cleanup thing then i watched them crauling to a spot and started digging into this rotten peice on the floor there was a hole in the concrete where there was once a anchor i sprayed the hole and all of the wood and the termites instantly stopped appearing around my laundry room siding and studwork and shelves and no more termite maggots crawling across the floor all gone ez ez extermination the place was tented in 2013 but thats for a different termite

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not kill dry wood termites

    By Conrad on 12/28/2018

    Verified Purchase

    I applied Bora-Care 1:1 with water to unpainted rafters in my attic that had active dry wood termites in April 2018. Now in Dec 2018 there are still active termites as I can see large amounts of fresh droppings from the same treated wood. I applied a generous amount to both sides of these 2x8 boards with a sprayer, only the thin 2 inch edge that contacts the roof surface was not covered, so this is the max surface area that can be coated in any finished construction. I even went the extra step of brushing dust off the wood before spraying so it would not interfere with absorption. My results prove to me that this product does not provide long term protection against termites.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Carol on 08/03/2016

    Sprayed the cabin and the carpenter bees are gone! So are the dirt (mud) daubers and wasps that were getting underneath the metal roof. Very impressed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not Great

    By Greg on 06/14/2019

    I bought this product to treat powder post beetles in an old barn. After buying I discovered that the coverage from a gallon is so little (my fault for not verifying before buying) that I would need to spend hundreds of dollars to treat the whole barn. Nonetheless, I tried to mix up the gallon I bought (1:1 with water) and found it very difficult to impossible to get the product to thoroughly mix with the water as it is very thick and gloppy. I wouldn’t recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Works!

    By Shane on 06/08/2016

    This stuff works well! It seems to be professional grade. I used it on my drywood termites to spot care around my home. I then dilluted it to spray completely around the foundation of my house, and so far, no more termite sightings. It takes care of them right through the wood!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care Used to Architectural Artifacts.

    By Carl on 06/25/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We plan to use a Bora-Care solution to conserve archeologically recovered building components from the site of the 1646 iron making operation at Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site. Treated oak and pine artifiacts are to be preserved in historic museum collections in order to provide insight into industrial and domestic architecture of colonial New England.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Hope it works as advertised

    By Frank on 06/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    The Boracare arrived very quickly so I was able to use it as soon as I was able. I followed the mixing instructions, which recommended a drill attachment stirrer for this viscous product. Application with a sprayer went well and the only downside is that I'll need another case to be able to finish the job. I was using the Boracare on an old barn and the coverage was only about 200 sq. ft. per mixed 1to1 gal. recommended for active infestation control. I can't tell the effectiveness of the product yet on my application as I only used it the day before yesterday.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By Bob on 06/05/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Great STuff. It is concentrated so make sure you mix well before putting into a garden sprayer. It will gunk up the works if you don't mix properly. It leaves an oily residue so you know it is working.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Alice on 06/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I was surprised at how easy this product was to use. Rather than pay a pest company to tent our home we chose to spray our entire attic with Bora Care. Why?? Because we don't want future infestations of termites! Bora Care information says that once sprayed, termites cannot exist in the wood. It is very important to take sprayer apart after each use and rinse each part as otherwise it does harden in the sprayer. Because it takes time to soak in, we won't know how effective the product is for some period of time. But I am tracking to be able to share results in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Felicia on 10/05/2018

    I was so pleased to purchase Bora-Care from DoMyOwn. They have an awesome information section on the site that helped answer any questions that I had regarding how much product I needed to purchase and how to apply it. Mixing and applying the Bora-Care was simple thanks to the instructions. I would definitely recommend this company and their product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BoraCare

    By Bruce on 07/06/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I just used the product on my wood deck. When the weather cools I will put two coats of clear waterproof on the wood. I'm hoping to have great results next year with no black mildew or mold.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Shelley on 05/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Not hard to use. I love the fact that it has no Oder! Even if you get it on your finished products like wood floors, it comes off without ruining anything.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora care the Attic

    By Lynn on 07/02/2017

    Spray the attic in my condo no fumes use the mask piece of cake saved $1,500 you guys are great

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Nancy on 07/20/2018

    Incredibly easy to use but I would suggest adding the blue dye to make it easier to see what you have sprayed. I did not. The mixing wand for use with cordless drill was key. Super fast and efficient. I used this product as a preconstruction termiticide for the floor joists during a remodel and sprayed onto the adjoining concrete as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 121 to 150 (of 307 reviews)