Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   191
4 stars   51
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   8

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(275 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    I wouldn't buy this again

    By Doris on 04/27/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I had my home sprayed with this for the wood post beetles and they were gone...until today they came back. For over a week not a single one was sighted. This does work on contact but the reason that I bought this product was because it claimed to kill up to twelve months...I didn't even get twelve days of peace.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Bora-Care is the best wood treatment product on the market.  However, Bora-Care can take up to a month to diffuse completely through the entire piece of wood after you treat it.  Since powderpost beetle larvae can be deep in the wood, it is normal to continue to see activity for awhile until the Bora-Care makes it all the way through the wood.  Of course the true benefit of Bora-Care is that after it does diffuse all of the way through the wood and kill the larvae, it will stay in the wood forever and you never have to worry about wood destroying insects again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    261 of 290 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Boracare, syrup

    By Gail on 03/22/2016

    Despite thinning and mixing this gelatinous product exactly as described, this product remained severely sticky and is really messy to work with. 5 days after application, the product has yet to dry on most surfaces. I am returning the balance of my order. Good chemistry, poor mixing base.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Boracare is very thick and viscous. We do recommend that the product is diluted with hot water in a bucket. The manufacturer recommends that the dilution is mixed with a paint mixer attachment on a drill. After the solution has been thoroughly mixed, the dilution can be added to a sprayer if desired.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't waste your money

    By Rl on 04/07/2017

    I drenched the wood beams in my barn and the termites came back after a couple of months.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you have not seen the results you expected from the Boracare treatment. There are many factors that can contribute to termites returning. You did not mention whether you have drywood termites, subterranean termites, or both. We would be happy to troubleshoot with you over the phone: you can reach us at 866-581-7378.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    hard to use product

    By Kim on 03/24/2017

    I don't know whether this works or not. I will say it's difficult to impossible to use if you don't have anything to stir with other than a paint stick. It does not spray well since we couldn't get it to mix with water, and we did follow directions (ie add to water, not the other way around). So it got dribbled rather than sprayed and coverage was therefore poor. I'd recommend painting with it, so you can spread it better. However, our place is on a barrier island, and once we're there by water taxi, what we don't have, we don't have.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. The Boracare is best to mix with an impeller-type mixer like one you would use to mix paint. You can then apply it with a sprayer, brush, or roller. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    what a mess

    By Gerald on 11/14/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Customer care did a great job. My problem is with the product. It is the consistency of molasses and it ruined my sprayer which was thrown away as it was uncleanable. So, I bought a small broom and brushed the chemical on as much surface as I could get access to. I feel I wasted a lot of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    palapas and wood boring beetles

    By Ame on 09/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Used Boracare for new palapas with wooden structures and palm fronds. The region is northern mexico. Where arizona and Californians like to visit. I have neighbors with bore holes in their Palm frond stalks and they got infested. Looks like wood boring beetles. This product does not seem to be working wll. While I keep finding dead beetles, I keep getting more and more holes from the beetles. Cant seem to stop the damage?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not Great

    By Greg on 06/14/2019

    I bought this product to treat powder post beetles in an old barn. After buying I discovered that the coverage from a gallon is so little (my fault for not verifying before buying) that I would need to spend hundreds of dollars to treat the whole barn. Nonetheless, I tried to mix up the gallon I bought (1:1 with water) and found it very difficult to impossible to get the product to thoroughly mix with the water as it is very thick and gloppy. I wouldn’t recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care did not work at all

    By Tom on 08/16/2019

    I closely followed the instructions for mixing and applying Bora Care. I had one spot in my crawlspace where I had one tremite tube going up one of my piers into the floor framing. I bought enough Bora Care to treat my entire floor framing and applied. The area that had active damage where I could actually see termites crawling, i applied a very heavy application and also throughly saturated the fooring pier where their tube was. I re inspected a week later and found they rebuilt their tube that I had removed and were doing just fine up in the floor structure. I spent a bunch of money and time on a product that did nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)