Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   192
4 stars   51
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   8

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(276 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 2 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    I'll try it again?

    By Todd on 06/27/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have a nice 35' x 45' shop built of rough cut lumber. About 2 years ago I noticed the Powder Post Beetles were starting to eat into the board and battin walls and now they are in the framing timbors. In November I treated the wood with 75 pounds of TimBor treatment. This took care of probably 30% of the Beetles. One month ago I treated half the shop with 2 gallons of Bora-Care. Still I'm finding powder piles throughout the shop. I'm going to order 2 more gallons and hope for the best....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    28 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    molassis

    By Joseph on 11/10/2017

    Someone should warn buyers. This stuff is so thick that it WILL plug up a garden sprayer. It does not mix with water easily and you will get a plugged up sprayer. It is super thick.. much thicker than honey.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your response! Boracare is a very thick liquid, which is why the mixing instructions on the product label advise to use an impeller-type mixer to mix your solution in a separate container first, and then put your finished solution into your sprayer. If you try to mix the product by shaking right in your sprayer, you will not get a consistent solution. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't soak deep enough into wood to get the beetles

    By Clayton on 10/04/2015

    Boracare claims to soak deep into wood to get the beetles that are nesting inside. I had to use 2 to 3 times more than necessary because the spray had a hard time soaking into the wood even pushing a roller after the spraying. Most of the Boracare ended up dripping onto the floor of my garage instead of soaking into the garage walls/beams. Afterwards I test sprayed Boracare on the side of a brand new 2 x 4 and could see looking at the end grain, that it had barely soaked into the side. So hopefully Boracare on the surface of the wood will help, because I don't see it soaking deep into the wood like it claims.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Boracare soaks into the wood by displacing the moisture in the wood. This is a long process and can take several weeks vs just a few hours or days. Older wood has less moisture and can impact how deeply the product can penetrate. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. We are always happy to help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    using boracare

    By Linda on 09/21/2016

    I did not realize how messy boracare is - very runny. When spraying it, it dripped even when spraying a "fan" across the beam. I had to be careful not to let it drip on me, but it was all over the plastic that was down on floor. Too soon to tell how effective it was. This was for powder post beetles. We mixed it 1:1 for active infestation. If it works - I will let you know, and it would be worth it. I just felt alot was wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Bottle not full

    By Tgrizzle on 09/21/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I bought two bottles of BORACARE and one was obviously not filled. I contacted "DoMyOwn.." and they refunded me a fair amount. All is well, just the hassle. It is BORACARE's fault, not DMOPC.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as effective as I tought it would be...

    By Mariano on 03/03/2019

    I have been dealing with a bunch of termites in my kitchen cabinets. I bought the bora care and made all the preparations and followed the instructions as indicated, Mixed with warm water in a 1:1 ratio. Got into the cabinets and predrilled holes every 12 inches so the product could penetrate and work better. After a couple of months of the application, I am finding termite droppings again...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Lou on 10/20/2017

    Easy to mix, easy to apply. Results won't be known until next summer when we open up our summer house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews)