Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   212
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(300 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 18 (of 18 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/16/2010

    Recently a friend gave me a beautiful 19th century cabinetmaker's workbench made of thick, heavy maple timbers. My friend warned me that it might be infested with ants but two days later the appearance of fresh frass on its surface indicated an infestation of powderpost beetles. Running the face of one of the vise jaws over my jointer revealed a network of canals and living powderpost beetle larvae. Not wanting to convert this great antique to firewood, I searched the internet for any possible remedy. My search was initally quite discouraging until I started running across recommendations for Boracare. Despite the glowing reviews I read, I was not inclined to spend so much money on a product that sold for around $100 a gallon on some web sites. Persistence finally brought me to DoMyOwnPestControl.com which advertised the same product for about three-quarters the cost of its competitors with the added incentive of FREE SHIPPING. Since the workbench itself cost me nothing, I decided to risk $77.45 on the outside chance that the piece could be saved and placed my order. I then prepared the workbench by thoroughly power sanding every exposed surface to remove any dirt, old glue, dried finish, the 100 or more year old oxidation patina, and anything else on the surface that might prevent the solution from being optimally absorbed. Several days later when the Boracare arrived, I followed the directions that came with it and gave the workbench two complete coats of the solution. That was two and one-half weeks ago and I have since seen no signs of any insect infestation. However, I will continue to give it close daily inspections before initiating any restoration work. So far I am greatly encouraged but still not absolutely convinced that the powderpost beetle infestation is a thing of the past.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 38 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not sure yet

    By Noza on 10/05/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed most of termite damaged ridge boards, open frames, attic, under floor, etc., but it looks like termites keep coming back from ground and still inside of walls. I found out that I have more subterranean termite damages than drywood termites. I might need to pour Termidor mix into ground later but I need to prevent whatever damages already have done. I am not sure whether it is working or not but I am praying on Bora-Care to work as others mentioned. I need to find out how to penetrate inside of walls with foam filled.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Surprisingly Thick

    By Joe on 12/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the product after being hit by super storm Sandy. I needed to drain and dry the crawlspace due to flooding. I needed something to sanitize the dirt floor space and protect the wooden floor joyces. I was surprised to see how thick the chemical was even after a 3 to 1 delution. I could see it stick like slime to the wood and cinder bloc foundation. I'm sure it will do the trick. I plan to use the remainder in a 5 to 1 delution ratio as a preventative solution during those seasons when insects try and find a place to live.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Karen on 10/21/2014

    Material came in a timely manner. Read online reviews and took folk's suggestions to mix with very hot water...seemed to do the trick as the material mixed well with the warm water and we had no trouble spraying. It's an expensive product and we used a lot more than we thought we would need. As far as "how did the product do?".... It will take a year or so to see if we have more powder post beetle problems, so my rating will be a conservative 3.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care comments

    By Phillip on 07/15/2016

    Time will tell the entire story. However, for the two gallons I ordered I found the product went on well at about a 1.5 to 1 ratio. The two gallons I mixed up to about 5 with water and wasn't enough to cover all the open studs in the 1200 sq' house. I used most of it to cover existing wood that had evidence of dry wood termite bore holes. I was impressed with the available product literature and the listed guarentee. I called the factory to ask if the product would have an adverse affect on the plastic of newly installed romex because the literature didn't specifically mention anything. The factory pointed out that it shouldn't as it is nor-corrosive. I hope this helps provide some prevention as the product literature explains. The impression I got after studying what I did about the product is if I were building a house from ground up, I would hire full time laborers to apply to the framer cut wood members on all sides during the entire framing process. Respectfully Submitted

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Larry on 01/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Container had leaked into box. Should have been packaged better. Maybe and EPA conern.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    BORACARE

    By Mark on 12/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Prepared per instructions, 1:1 mix, sprayed and injected into old furniture (after aerosol and Timbor failed). The furniture was wrapped in a large plastic bag and sealed immediately after treatment. Within 24 hours, I had several dead termites, then nothing for a week. I vacuumed out the dead termites, and reapplied and re-bagged. Again, within 24 hours, several dead termites. Apparently, this product will not do a complete job. My last option will be to find a home that is being tented and ask if I can put the furniture in the home. At $77 a gallon, I had hoped for a much better outcome.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care, I guess I do

    By Rrr on 04/20/2018

    There is no way for me to evaluate if this product really works since its effectiveness is based on whether i will see termite evidence in the future. I bought on faith and I hope all that i read becomes true. For now, make sure you do follow the instructions and use warm water, use only the amount you think you will spray and cover things to avoid overspray. It felt like i was working with molases. I never purchased from this company but I was pleasantly surprised things worked out smoothly and delivered very quickly. I will do so again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Service was great

    By Doug on 10/23/2016

    I got what I ordered and I received it very quickly. It was packaged well. I don't know if it works yet but come spring I should be able to tell something.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Skip on 10/02/2016

    After a complete coverage of our cabin and one followup in problem areas, the powder post beetles are still active. Not sure what to try next. The product did stop some of the activity but I would like to eliminate the pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Results are in- 2 years later...

    By Angel on 07/12/2016

    I found my original post from August 2014 when I purchased Bora Care to treat powder post beetles in some log furniture I aquired. Note to self,I sprayed my furniture outside on my lawn, it killed my lawn,( but it came back eventually.) 2015 I noticed a few new holes, and one or two beetles, nothing like before however, so YEY!... Now, here were are again- almost in August, and I've found 3 beetles, and 9 new holes! UGGG.. So I'd say it worked for the most part, but not a complete fix. Definitely needs continued treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Richard on 10/12/2015

    After cleaning equipment repairs, Boracare was sprayed on the wood of our bank barn for powder post beetles. This results should show next Summer and for the next couple years as the Boracare works on the emerging beetles.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Tony on 07/27/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Sprayed Boracare for powderpost beetle on July 8, 2014..Not working yet !!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Depending on the thickness and moisture content of the treated wood, Boracare may take up to several weeks to absorb fully into treated wood. Because of this action, there may still be beetle activity after Boracare has been applied. If you would like to discuss your particular situation with us further, we are happy to assist by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    fair

    By Gh on 09/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    does soak in better that the timbor, but not a lot better considering the difference in price. Does dry with white residue on the wood. not as badly as Timbor, but still needs to be sanded before it can be stained. Nice product, and better than Timbor, but I an not convinced that it is 3 times better to justify the price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Still waiting ...

    By Doug on 07/26/2013

    Treating for old house beetles in the joist of my attic. I sprayed all the members after pulling insulation out of the way. The infected area is obvious from the noise being made and the fresh fras. Two weeks in and the beetles are still milling away. I hope the beetles soon find the Boracare. My wife is running out of patients with the annoying noise.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Jason on 10/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I can't give a performance review yet since i just applied the product. I can however rate the ease of use. The product was extremely thick. It requires mixing in a bucket with a paint mixer on my cordless drill. It takes some time, but it eventually mixes with water. I mixed it at the 1 to 1 ratio recommended on label. Don't try to mix it in you sprayer, it will plug up the sprayer line before you can dilute it. Application was easy, just spray it on. However it didn't seem to penetrate engineered lumber as well as it did on the dimension lumber. Just something to keep an eye on. I hope this keeps termites out of my new house. I will be closing up the walls with drywall soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Ame on 05/01/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Using Boracare for new palapas with wooden structures and palm fronds. The region is northern mexico. Where arizona and Californians like to visit. I have neighbors with bore holes in their Palm frond stalks and they got infested. Im not sure what kind of bug this was all i know is that it likes to eat wood. So i'm tring this product. Will update in a few months. Will be buying more. Could use a coupon......

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    I hope it was worth the special handling?

    By Martin on 03/31/2019

    Container was strong, but no special dispenser method. Just a pour spout for what reminded me of a clear pancake syrup. Instructions were good and I used a 1:1 mix. I would advise against residential sprayers, especially if the container tubing is too small in diameter. This stuff will clog quickly as it is very thick at 1:1. It is not meant to spray on any painted surface as it will stain. It also stays tacky wet for several days. It's gooey and will leave foot prints on your house floors from your shoes. Don't get it on wires or plastics. I'm not sure I would use again for remodel, but new construction or crawl space / attic applications (Bare Wood) I will. I just hope it works as the product boasts!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 18 (of 18 reviews)