Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   212
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(300 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 52 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BoraCare user review

    By Kevin on 05/08/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Used product on wall studs, when I was repairing a wall due to termite damage. My project lasted about three days. I used a 1:1 mix and I did not pay too much attention to the one day usage. The product crystalized in my sprayer - took awhile to clean the sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    91 of 99 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sticky but good

    By Annemarie on 09/07/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Before you start, note that this stuff is viscous and sticky. After you spray it on your wood, it will be slimy until it gets absorbed. This takes a few hours. After that, the surface is no longer sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    31 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Worked great!

    By Bonnie on 06/08/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Time will tell...but so far...the little critters seem to have left! I have a beautiful French Antique that has been in the same spot for 14 years and never had any problems with it..then the little 'holes and powder' stated to appear..no one where I live had the chemicals I needed for me to do it. Boracare was the answer...I wish they sold it in smaller quantities..'cause now I have tons left...and hopefully will not have to use it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    28 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    poweder post beatles

    By Stan on 10/14/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Material came as planned. Video on how to use was very good. I did not add color since I was spraying joists under house and figured it would get on me due to wind. Seems to be working very well. Dust signs greatly reduced. However, some over spray got on my boat and motor. Fiberglass boat cleaned up fine but motor has some spots on it from spray. I should have moved the boat further away-glad it was not my truck. Basically happy with product and performance since I was told by two companies I would have to tent the house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BoraCare Purchase

    By Ed on 10/04/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The purchase experience was excellent - I got what I ordered, in perfect condition, and it was received in record time. I am using BoraCare (which is a heavy, viscous liquid) for dry-wood termite and wood rot control. I am drilling holes into large structural timbers, squirting in BoraCare, and then sealing the holes with wood dowels. Of course, I don't know yet if this product actually works, because it will take time to eliminate the termites and rot. However, I should mention that I could NOT use standard spray bottles because BoraCare is too thick - but a Pump-Type (pressure feed, not siphon feed) dispenser works well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    A rare DIY termite solution - better instructions needed.

    By Sean on 08/11/2012

    I wish to treat a playhouse for active termites and only Boracare at high concentration was the only possibility as a DIY solution to active termite infestation. However, there is insufficient instruction on how to prepare the product which is in highly viscous and concentrated form - much like cold honey in consistency. The step that should be included in instruction is to use HOT water and a paint mixer in a bucket prior to placing in a sprayer. Also, use gloves as the glycol is toxic to humans and animals alike; keep animals away until the wood is dry and also then coat the treated wood with a sealer/stain/paint afterwards to make sure no glycol can be consumed by animal or child.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Sid on 07/28/2010

    I applied the Boracare about a week ago and it seems to be working very well. As usual, I am very satisfied with your company and would recommend you to others.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Steve on 10/03/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Since using Boracare, the powder post beetles have significantly slowed down. They were eating through our hardwood floor all over the church, but since the use of Boracare, they have almost completely disappeared except for maybe 3 or 4 little piles on the floor. Overall, the Boracare seems to have taken care of our problem at the fraction of the cost that an exterminator wanted to charge. Exterminator said that the Boracare wouldn't work and we would be better off letting him do the treatment. But so far, we are sticking by the Boracare application that was applied 3 weeks ago. Thanks DoMyOwnPestControl. You are a life saver and a money saver. Will be doing more business with you in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 08/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I especially liked the application with a paint brush.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By Wb on 01/14/2017

    Good product but a bit hard to mix because of thickness.Additionally, adding other pesticides doesn't work well, they sink to the bottom and harden. Buy more than enough to coat every piece of wood exposed or insects will find a home in the untreated wood. Bora Care does not treat pressure treated wood.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We would not recommend mixing any other products with Boracare unless it is a spray indicator. To mix Boracare, use a separate container from your sprayer and use an impeller-type mixer for best results. You will then pour the finished solution into your spray equipment to apply it. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty good stuff

    By Anonymous on 08/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My thanks for your prompt service. The product mixes and applies easily. It dries well (it will dry everything it contacts including skin so don't forget to wear rubber gloves). I was expecting a greater level of penetration as that aspect seems variable with different woods and their respective moisture content at time of application. Thinning also plays a part in this equation. Time will tell as to it's level of efficacy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Dan on 04/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    It would be hard to rate this product on effectiveness, as I don't have anything to compare it to. However, it was easy to dilute in hot water as instructed, and was easy to apply to bare wood with a weed sprayer and spray bottle. Product is clear, and after 2 days can be painted over. I used on exposed bare wood and facia boards before priming and painting, where previous wood had dry rot and termite damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/06/2013

    I only gave it 4 because it hasn't been long enough to know how well it worked long term. Be sure to use warm/hot water to mix it as it comes out of the bottle the consistency of honey. Sometimes hard to tell where you left off, so use a push pin to mark your spot when refilling or taking a break. Rented a pressure washer ($50) plus cost of Boracare plus my time instead of a quoted price of $1000 to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare-Powder Post Beetles

    By John on 01/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Boracare arrived in a concentrated 1 gallon container. It has the consistency of syrup (slightly thick) and I diluted it with water on a 1 to 1 basis. I could not find my sprauer so I rolled on the first application with a paint roller. I also brushed on a door facing that needed treatment. I used one gallon of the two gallon diluted solution and then I found my sprayer. I sprayed on the last coat of Boracare and I preferred the sprayer. I used plastic gloves, googles and old clothes. Did I get some on me? Yes. I threw the clothes away including underware and tennis shoes and took a quick shower. In summary, I put 2 coats on the wood that needed treating. This will be a five star rating if I got rid of the powder post beetles (which I won't know for about 3 months). Instructions from the supplier were excellent. Now it is wait and see. One suggestion-Don't ever use old wood for new house construction!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Wood Termite Treatment

    By Manford on 09/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I recently had an experience with the dreaded termites. They had eaten about 50 feet of 2x6 base plate on stem wall. They made their entrance via a concrete porch filled with dirt, it was built after the house was built. After replacing base plate decided it was time to exterminate. After researching products decided on Boracare for treating since base plate and house was built out of used lumber. Base plate was only infestation found. Followed instructions provided with product and application went off without any bad experiences. "DO MY OWN PEST CONTROL" WEB PAGE WAS VERY HELPFUL AND SAVED ME APPROXIMATELY $800.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems like a good product

    By D000d on 02/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Mixing with warm water works well. For my application I used a brush which works fine for the tops of horizontal surfaces. A lot runs down your arm if you try to paint it on the underside of a horizontal surface. Time will tell if the insects are repelled/killed by the application. Price seems high, but DoMyOwnPestControl.com had the best price that I could find.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Product purchase

    By Craig on 03/06/2017

    The sale went smoothly. Quick shipping. Dilution instructions on container could have been more intuitive for a DIY home owner, but application was easy. There will probably be no way of knowing for several years if the product works as described. I would recommend this seller if you want this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BORA-CARE

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought BORA-CARE for dry wood termites in my home. I chose this over the others because I wanted a product that would stay in the wood to prevent future termites. When mixed according to directions, you won't have any problems with it crystalizing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By R on 07/18/2017

    I ordered 2 Galls of Bora Care after I found dry wall termite activity inside the walls I had opened during a remodel. I needed the stuff fast and Do My Own got it too me in two days. Well package no leaks... good job. I applied the product using a brush not the recommended process but it worked. Brushing put on a nice thick coat which took two days to thoroughly dry. It drys white so if you drip on other cosmetic wood it will stain. I like the product and hope it gets rid of the termites. I plan to coat all new wood from now on.... dont know why contractors dont spray during the construction phase of a house. Giving the product 4 stars because only time will tell if it keeps the termites at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Did my own

    By Tom on 02/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered boracare because I have had success with another borax based product, Terro Ant Killer. Terro Ant Killer was cheap (3-4 dollars) but it was a small bottle. I tried every other ant killer on the market with no look. I searched the Internet and borate was the answer that seemed to make the most sense to me. I tried Terro and within a few days an ant problem that had plagued my house for years was gone. Because of this experience, I have faith in borate based pesticides. I was doing a renovation in an upstairs bedroom. I had all the drywall down in two rooms and mixed the product with very hot water and used a drill with a mixing paddle. The stuff is thick but goes into solution with hot water nicely. I used a large pesticide spray can to apply. I was able to fully treat about 100 feet of wall from top to bottom and still had enough left over to do a re-treatment of the sill plate in my basement. I cannot speak to the effectiveness because I don't currently have termites and unless I get them in the future, I cannot say if Boracare prevented problems or not. I do have faith in the borate based treatments so I feel good about the product. As I say, $70 a gallon seems a bit pricey but compared to the cost of a yearly service, I could treat the whole house for the cost of one years service. If I were to ever build a house new, I would have all the first floor walls treated with this stuff after framing and before walls went up. Delivery was prompt. I am happy with the service. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the price. But the price was good compared to other sellers, so I cannot complain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Bill on 02/06/2017

    Easy to use on oak planks I knew were infested with powderpost beetles. I used a foam brush after diluting the Bora-Care in warm water (1:1 dilution). Interestingly, the Bora-Care does not immediately dilute in the water, so I initially thought I was doing something wrong as it stuck to the bottom of the bucket. Once it did dilute in the water, it happened quickly and completely. It did turn seem to darken the rough cut oak to some degree-not significantly, but enough that I can't give it 5 stars in the review. I am going to let the boards stand for another week or so before I start to work on them just to be sure of deep penetration. So far, no new frass on the floor under the boards. I may treat again after completing my project, just because I want to be sure I am not giving a friend a beetle problem along with the coffee table I am making for them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Andy on 05/03/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Great product fast shipping, but when I opened the box one bottle was leaking a bit. I didn't feel like dealing with returning it so I used it anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy

    By Ayork on 08/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I acquired log furniture and in July of 2013, I discovered 3 dead powderpost beetles. Fast forward to this year 2014, the infestation is way worse.. I found 15 dead beetles.. I researched and found this site. The product was less expensive than other sites..Arrived no problem. Read label thoroughly.. It has the consistency of molasses, so mix it with hot water in a separate container before adding it to a sprayer, so it doesn't clog it up. Rinse thoroughly after use. Was easy to apply, will be sticky for a while.. be careful of over-spray,due to it's sticky nature.. Will see what happens next year..Supposed to kill the powderpost beetle coming out so they don't lay eggs, and kill what larvae is on the surface, so they don't penetrate back into the wood. I'd expect to have to do this again next year, depending on the life cycle, but am hoping to have less beetles next year, and stop future infestations.! Here's hoping!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare on old beams

    By Dennis on 11/10/2015

    left beams with a fine dust look.. not bad, but slightly noticeable. Otherwize it went on easy with a sprayer and cleaned up ok. We did wear a mask protector and raincoat since it was dripping off the beams. I would use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Brad on 02/01/2016

    Seems to be killing the bore weevils we are having from some Mexican furniture. I am having to inject into the wood with a syringe in cracks and holes they have made since it is heavily stained already. But am finding dead ones each morning and less sawdust. So maybe I will have them all gone before it get ruined.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    very good

    By Allan on 04/01/2016

    works well for the wood protection with new and old house .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It Works!

    By Anonymous on 07/19/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have an old hip-roof barn which was probably built in the 1800's. When I acquired it the powder post beetles were pretty firmly entrenched therein! Boracare is the only thing that has slowed them down so far. Some of the beams were pretty big so I had to apply several applications but at least I'm winning the war now. Costing a lot of money but these old barns aren't being built anymore so it's money well spent. Thanx for the help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Handy Product

    By Luke on 04/10/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The exact type of product I needed. Only time will tell how effective it is, but Boracare is simple enough to use and very specific directions provided for a variety of use-situations. A word to the wise - when they say mix mechanically with warm water - they mean it - when using 1:1 ratio for Subterranean Termite prevention. It's a very thick syrup consistancy. FYI - I was using it while residing and old church building that had prior subterranean termite activity, but no present activity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Time Will Tell

    By Jeff on 02/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Giving this 4 stars but really, it's only been a couple of weeks since applying the product. I used Boracare to treat a 130 year old hewn oak beam that I was making into a fireplace mantel. Wood showed signs of powder-post beetle infestation. I followed manufacturer's directions and gave two applications. Product was not hard to mix with a paint mixing attachment on a drill and using hot water. Product is about the consistency of honey. Gave it two heavy applications. Took about 5-6 days to dry enough to stain and poly the wood. It did leave a little bit of salty residue on some surfaces where it puddled and dried. I just brushed this off with a stiff brush and wiped the whole thing down with mineral spirits prior to staining, and seemed to have no adverse effects on stain color/absorption. Wish it came in half gallons, as I only needed about a quart for this project.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Interesting product

    By Linda on 11/25/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I can only comment on the application of this product since I just applied it. The stuff is like pure cornsyrup in consistency but actually is quite easy to use - definitley use HOT water to mix and use a painters aggitator and drill. Once mixed it is easily sprayed on the house but stays very sticky. Stain is easily applied over this once dry. Easy to clean up with water but stays sticky on wahtever is gets on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 52 reviews)