Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   186
4 stars   23
3 stars   16
2 stars   4
1 star   22

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(251 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 31 to 60 (of 186 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Most Certainly Works

    By Greg on 08/01/2016

    Mixed 2 gallons water, 6 TBsp of Drive, 8 TBsp of 2 4-D Amine (broad weed killer), and 3 TBsp of Methylated Seed Oil (recommended to increase effectiveness). Used a tank sprayer to spot treat on a lawn with Kentucky Bluegrass and fescue. It rained about 10 hours after spraying...didn't matter one bit. In ONE day the crabgrass and clover was yellowing and dying and all the other grass was totally fine. Amazed at how fast and effective it is. Highly recommended. I can't vouch for how effective it is without the seed oil, but seeing how effective it is with it, I suggest you use it. If this doesn't work for you, you're doing something wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Steve on 06/19/2017

    My crabgrass problem was as bad as it gets. It was not to be a spot spraying, it was going to be a complete spraying of the front lawn. I mixed according to specifications and sprayed the entire lawn. Three days later the only crabgrass is where i missed--a great product! I live in South Carolina where it is hot and humid and rains almost every afternoon, but the product withstood the elements.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best crabgrass killer!

    By Pam on 07/31/2016

    This stuff rocks. It is the only thing that I have found that kills mature crabgrass,but doesn't kill the grass around it. You see the results in 1-2 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Use this correctly and weed grasses don't stand a chance.

    By Donnie on 09/10/2015

    A landscaper friend let me try some of his and I was amazed at the results so I bought my own jug. I see bad reviews that it does not work and I have to say if it does not work then the issue is with the execution. With the correct mixture, surfactant, and sprayer this will work every time. Unless what you are spraying is not on the killer list. Do it right, and it works every time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works!

    By Bob on 09/12/2015

    I colleague of mine told me about Drive XLR8, so I purchased it online. I sprayed the product, combined with Bonide Turbo surficant, on a Saturday, then went out of town for a week. When I returned the next Saturday all the crabgrass was dead. It did not affect the good grass at all. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Buffalo grass management tool

    By Paul on 09/15/2015

    Received product quickly. I have been working / struggling over my buffalo grass patch for three years now but refuse to give up. Drive XLR8 gave me the upper hand, now I am on top. Buffalo is highly tolerant of this product and it performs well on weedy grasses. I have not identified some of these weed grasses but Drive knocked them out along with Korean and japanese clovers. Curious though, some clover patches died quickly and others require 2-4D, and they look like the same plant. Maybe Jap. and Kor. clovers respond differently. I can't tell them apart. Drive nails foxtail grasses quickly. It's now one of my most valuable prairie management tools for buffalo. Can't wait until next year to finally see my pristine buffalo patch.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Jim on 05/01/2017

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is unbelievable. I have 2 acres of grass. I have battled weeds and crab grass for years. I picked up a 30 gallon sprayer I tow with my lawn tractor. I used Drive XLR8 last year. It killed all the crabgrass and weeds. This year I only had 2 dandy lions..my neighborhood was covered. I did not spray yet this year. Is this a pre-emergent?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are happy to hear that this product worked well for you. However this is a post emergent so it will only work on what you already have. If you are looking for a pre-emergent too, while Drive is not a pre-emergent, you will often see a reduction in weeds because you eliminated them in the last season and it takes time for them to build back up in some case. In the future you may want to put down http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/dimension-2ew-herbicide-p-1494.html or http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/prodiamine-65-wdg-generic-barricade-p-2495.html.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Super product

    By Rb on 05/15/2018

    Drive XLR works as advertised. Used it on my lawn a few weeks ago and it took about 7 days to start seeing results. However it has been doing its thing. No dandelions, dollar weed and a significant reduction in crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass slayer

    By Shane on 05/19/2018

    mixing suggestion...I spray 1000 sf with about 2 gallons in a pump sprayer. That gives a mix ratio of about 0.725 oz (1.45 Tbsp) per gallon. The spot spray recommendation of 3Tbsp per gallon is a little too strong and will turn surrounding Bermuda grass yellow.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Ron on 08/17/2011

    Straight Quinclorac. Just the ticket for crabgrass control (after the 2nd or 3rd tiller growth. Used at the proper time it is Very effective. Worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome!

    By Frank on 08/26/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is incredible! I read the instructions and online tips from DMOPC.com staff, mixed it with DyneAmic surfactant and within 3 days I had brown spots all over the yard. It killed all the crabgrass (even that which was well established) and did no harm to my grass. I am extremely pleased with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Seven days

    By Tim on 07/15/2017

    I sprayed Drive XLR8 on Sunday, July 9th. Temp was ~78 but clearly heading to the mid 90s that day. I used roughly 2oz per gallon. The change to the crabgrass was obvious by Wednesday morning. The weeds took a nose dive by Friday and were dead by Saturday morning. I took daily pictures hoping to load them here but don't have that option. Drive XLR8 worked extremely well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesom

    By Sam on 08/17/2018

    If you want to kill crab grass without hurting your fescue, use this. Crabgrass will brown and disappear in 10 days

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 stars

    By Nick on 08/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    One of the best stuff I ever use for the crabgrass. Don't waste your money on Home Depot stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Herbicide That Works !

    By Jc on 08/29/2018

    I applied Drive XLR8 on a Saturday morning, along with the Prime Source Duo Stick Adjuvant, on my fescue lawn that had several patches of mature crabgrass. By Monday afternoon, 95% of the areas I spot-sprayed indicated crabgrass that was dying (light tan color) and wilting. I mixed a gallon of the product according to the label directions. Bottom line, this is Herbicide that works !

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stops Crabgrass in it's tracks.

    By Greg on 08/17/2011

    I mixed Drive XLR8 with DyneAmic Surfactant and this combo worked GREAT. The crabgrass started to die in 24 hour and some varieties were total dead in 3 day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass and foxtail control

    By James on 10/17/2016

    I have used XLR8 two times. The first time in a 1acre field and also in my yard which has buffalo and fescue grass. The first application worked great. I could see the dead crab and foxtail grasses die off and the buffalo come through. The field was mailnly foxtail so it looked pretty bleak after the foxtail died. I'm going to plant native grass this fall. I could not be happier with this product. Finally I'm getting it under control. I live in the country and have a very large yard so it has been time consuming to keep up with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    By Darin on 09/02/2015

    I've been battling Crabgrass for years and pre-emergents have not been effective. I had a large area of Crabgrass in the 5th tiller stage and within about 4 days it was decimated. Brown, shriveled and barely recognizable. Going to continue with the pre-emergents and hit the Crabgrass in the 1st tiller stage and within a few years it should be gone. Drive is an excellent product. If you have various patches all over the place, I would recommend that you use it with a marker so you know where you sprayed. Follow the label and it will work. Crabgrass is very tough to get rid of. The seeds can lay dormant for years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    old Crabgrass

    By John on 10/06/2017

    Have the good old strong stuff, drive xlr8 works as directed. Like I said, strong crabgrass, I knew I would need a second treatment,, no problem This stuff WORKS!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff!!

    By Chad on 10/13/2017

    Followed instructions and could see results in about 3 days. Crab grass is dead. Used on fescue, which is fine, no negative impact.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for spot application by nonprofessional homeowners.

    By Brenda on 08/17/2015

    Just look for Table 5. When I was shopping I was dismayed by vendors acting like the only way to use it is blanket application in 1000 foot swaths. Not so. We use a one gallon plastic milk jug well rinsed and follow the instructions on Table 5, including using methylated seed oil which we obtained from another source. Then we decant it into a 32 ounce plastic spray bottle we bought at Lowe's. Walk the yard and spray by hand. It works great. We have beautiful lush emerald zoysia and it has not hurt our grass. We wish it would hurt the bermuda that has invaded in a few places but for now we are happy that the crab grass clumps that we spray are toast. It will take a long time to go through 64 oz., we don't mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great

    By H on 08/21/2015

    We had lots and lots of crabgrass. We sprayed it with the ATV sprayer and then the handheld sprayer. We used Trimec before. This is better.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Magic Bullet

    By Larry on 09/18/2015

    This product works as advertised. I mixed it up according to the instructions, and hand sprayed all the crabgrass in my lawn. Within 36 hours, all the crabgrass was brown and dried up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Rob on 08/03/2018

    Set Ortho hose end sprayer to 1 1/2 oz per gallon, two weeks crabgrass was dead, didn’t harm fescue, Bermuda, fescue, or Zoysiagrass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive Weed Killer

    By Bernie on 08/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Used with recommended surfactant "DynAmic". Weeds dead within a few days. Tall Fescue surrounding still alive. Good stuff. Not sure if it works as well without the surfactant, but am taking no chances --

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Murders crabgrass!

    By Daniel on 08/27/2016

    I had a huge crabgrass outbreak and this product was incredibly effective in killing it off quickly. Most of my crabgrass was 5+ tiller. I used a pump sprayer and spot sprayed my whole yard. Only spots of my mixed lawn with fine fescue showed some yellowing. The bluegrass tall fescue and ryegrass was completely unaffected by the herbicide. Exactly what I expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works Great !!

    By David on 09/23/2015

    Kills only what you want Killed not your whole lawn

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best I've found for mature crabgrass

    By Dave on 08/13/2016

    Better than any herbicide you can purchase at a box store. I've been fighting crabgrass for years and have tried numerous products. Pre-emergent never seem to last through the growing season and other products are not very effective on mature plants and require several applications. Noticeable results in three days and after a week I would say it is a 99% kill rate. I have 4.5 acres and only applied with 2 different boom sprayers. I properly calibrated my sprayers and mixed Drive per the manufactures recommendations. A little pricey but money well spent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great!

    By Mike on 08/05/2016

    I have not found anything that works better than this product. I mix 1-1/2 oz per gallon of water (6 oz per 4 gallon back pack sprayer) and just spot treat. Takes about 2-3 days before you see yellowing. I spray the crabgrass when it's a little longer and wait at least three days before I mow or water. Also helps if the grass is getting good water before you apply. Doesn't work as well when the grass is so dry/brown. Crabgrass comes in stages so multiple spot treatments work the best for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works as advertised

    By Todd on 08/24/2016

    worked great on big patches of crab grass in my lawn killed the crabgrass in about 4-5 days and did not yellow the good grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 186 reviews)