Customer Reviews for Safari 20SG Systemic Insecticide with Dinotefuran

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   16
4 stars   3
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(20 customer reviews)
Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Safari

    By Anonymous on 07/30/2013

    Worked great on my Sago Palm Scale and the scale on my crotons.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product! Directions for use on palms would be helpful

    By Cheryl on 09/05/2016

    We just got around to using this product a few weeks ago. We used it to treat our sago palms for Cycad Aulacaspis scale. This product was what our County Extension recommended. There were no specific directions for what amount to use for sago palms, so we guessed at what strength to try. We used one teaspoon per gallon of water and used a hand pump sprayer to apply it. Within just a few days we noticed a big improvement in our palms. The scale became powdery and fell off when brushed, so we used a garden hose on high pressure to blast a lot of it off. We followed up the initial treatment with Safari a couple of weeks later, and the scale is nearly all gone from the palms now. We will treat a third time in a few more weeks, and I fully expect the Safari to eradicate the scale after that.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Safari keeps the scale off of our Sago Palm

    By David on 06/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    We noticed that our Sago Palm had terrible problems with scale last year. I read that the University of Florida recommended Safari to rid Sago palm's of scale. I apply it to the soil around our palm in May and September. It has worked well and our palm tree is again looking good. The price found here was the best that I could find and their delivery is quite prompt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killing Spotted Lanternflies in Eastern PA

    By James on 08/16/2019

    used product to kill infestation of Spotted Lanternflies in Lancaster County, PA. Used Safari 20SG (recommended by PA Department of Agriculture) as a root drench on a pair of "Tree of Heaven" to create trap trees. Was done about 4 weeks ago. Trees or now covered with Lanternflies and the ground is covered with dead Lanternflies. I am very pleased, hopefully it will continue to kill Lanternflies until winter comes. Can send pics if you want them

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Happy with Safari 20SG

    By Michael on 04/22/2015

    Verified Purchase

    After using a Merit (Imidacloprid) soil drench for fig whitefly, I read about basal trunk applications of Safari for that pest and decided to give it a try. My Ficus has multiple trunks that together are about 6 feet in diameter and I was never clear how much Merit to use, nor was I confident that the roots, many of which are under a road, was really taking up the Imidacloprid. I knew that any not taken up by the roots could be leaching into our ground water, and that caused me great concern. Safari, while twice as expensive as Merit for the quantity I needed, is applied as a basal trunk spray, so almost all of the solution is absorbed by the trunk rather than soaking into the ground. The label -- which actually addresses multiple trunked trees like my Ficus -- said it would take 1-3 weeks for the chemical to be translocated throughout the tree but I began seeing a reduction in leaf drop (a symptom of fig whitefly infestation) within a few days. It has only been 1 1/2 weeks since the initial application but so far I am very pleased. With Merit, it would take weeks to see any reduction in leaf drop, if I saw any at all. With a tree as large as mine, a 12 oz container of Safari will only treat one time at a cost of around $120, but so far I believe the cost is worth it given that the application is supposed to be good for a year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great on white flies

    By Darren on 01/23/2018

    I have been battling white flies on my exotic hibiscus for the past several months with no success. I combined Safari with Horticultural Oil and did a foliar spraying of all my plants. After two sessions hardly any white flies now. Only downside to this product is the insane price - still under patent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    eradicating myaporum thrips in California with Safari

    By Richard on 03/04/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Too soon to tell if the basal trunk application will be successful but that's what local pest control companies would have done for SUBTANTIALLY more cost than buying the Safari from DoMyOwn PestControl. This company is easy to work with with outstanding customer service. I highly recommend them and doing your own pest control is not all that difficult and the cost savings is outrageous.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Safari withDinotefuran

    By Radcliffe on 10/18/2019

    It works well killing the spotted Latternfly. It began killing them within an hour of application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Spotted Lanternflies

    By Lawrence on 09/20/2020

    Used this for bark application on trees attacked by spotted lanternflies. A week later, the ground around the trees is littered with dead flies and there are none in the tree. Application was quick and easy. Our state recommends killing this invasive and damaging pest so I am doing my part.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orchid scale

    By Todd on 12/08/2019

    I had an outbreak of scale last year in 2 greenhouses, over 100 orchids ($5000+) at risk. Everyone scoffs at the price of this chemical, but it does work. I did lose a few orchids due to late treatment, but this product did save 80% of my orchids. 3 treatments 14 days apart lasted a year. Make sure that plant foliage does not contact another plant to reduce spread of scale. Best to isolate (2 weeks) & treat new plants before introducing to population. Make sure plants are "dry" before application for best results. The $120 will last me several YEARS of treatments. BTW, manganese deficiency is a leading cause of "palm blight", rendering your plant susceptible to other conditions...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    kill those spotted lanterflies!

    By Charles on 07/31/2020

    Amazingly fast shipping, very much appreciated as we face the spotted lanternfly apocalypse. This size is perfect for mixing in 1 gal of water and using as a bark spray. Did that last week, and the numbers are heading down. Will we ever be free of these pests? I doubt it, but limiting the damage is good. Bought a second container, because this plague won't be over any time soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Safari

    By Ellen on 09/27/2019

    came quickly. called customer service too ask how to apply. answered promptly and gave me the info i needed. used the product, but time will tell if it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Tzvetko on 05/08/2020

    Leaving in a forest my fruit trees were systemically destroyed by borers. I started using Safari as a trunk spray in the spring and Dominion 2L soil drench in summer. This completely eradicated the problem I had. Both are great products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good service, fast shipping, good product

    By Lee on 05/18/2020

    Arrived earlier than expected; works well as a systemic insecticide for shrubs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Safari

    By Om on 06/12/2020

    Easy to amply, only time will tell if its working.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Quaking Aspen and scurfy scale

    By Timothy on 09/18/2020

    I have a beautiful quacking aspen (10 inches diameter at chest height and about 35 ft. high). I discovered it is infested with scurfy scale. I treated with a Safari 20SG Systemic Insecticide with Dinotefuran as a drench? So far the tree looks better and less stressed. The leaves have stopped falling off of the tree. I will know more about how effective this is next spring as I observe the tree for further effects of the scurfy scale. The product arrived as expected. Very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)