Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   448
4 stars   65
3 stars   18
2 stars   6
1 star   32

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(569 customer reviews)
SedgeHammer Herbicide
$9.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 32 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't waste your time or money

    By Chalie on 03/18/2017

    I have applied 3 applications of sedge hammer with absolutely no effect on any of the plants followed the directions explicitly. I did see the outer edge of one plant turn brown, however, it overcame it and came back green after that. I bought 5 packets so I will apply the last 2 and I think I will double the recommended strength. Couldn't be more frustrated.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you have not seen the expected results from using the Sedgehammer. Sedgehammer is one of our most popular products for nutsedge control, however, it does take time to work. You should allow at least 2 weeks to start seeing yellowing or browning on the target plants. It generally takes a full 28 days to kill nutsedge plants completely. It is also possible that maybe you have plants other than yellow nutsedge that you are needing to kill, such as kyllinga. Our Nutsedge Identification Guide can help you to identify this plant: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/nutsedge-identification-guide-a-561.html We do not ever recommend to use herbicides or insecticides at any rates other than those specific rates on the product label. Using more product than is recommend is not only illegal, but in this case it could be dangerous and/or damage your desirable turfgrass. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Steve on 04/20/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I applied this over a smaller area than is stated as being effective.  Applied about 2 weeks ago and the weeds look as healthy as ever. No new "nuts" showing up but doesn't seem to be killing the grass like body.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nut Grass

    By Rene on 08/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I used SedgeHammer, and followed the directions to the letter, it had no effect what so every. I think my nut grass reproduced twice as much. I am highly disappointed in the product and would not recommend it. I think I will just resort to digging up my problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Burned My Lawn

    By Warren on 08/14/2015

    I applied SedgeHammer exactly as directed and this stuff killed the grass everywhere I sprayed. The nutsedge is gone, but now, I have a yard full of brown spots where the nutsedge was. Very disappointed, will never use again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    treatment

    By James on 10/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have applied the treatment twice and no evidence of killing the nut grass. I am waiting for it to work. The reviews i read provided good results. I am waiting

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer? More like SedgeFeather

    By Captainsniz on 06/04/2011

    Followed the directions precisely. Also used Surfactant. Turned the nutsedge yellow after about 2 weeks. Did not kill it. It slowly started growing again and spreading throughout my lawn. Had HIGH hopes but this product LET ME DOWN. Might work if one or two nutsedge sprouts pop up and you hit them immediately, but if you have more then a few tiny little plants then pass on this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't Work

    By Jeffrey on 06/25/2017

    Sorry, this product did not kill or even effect the yellow nut sedge as represented. I do not recommend purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    not strong, weed come back

    By Frank on 12/08/2017

    Sorry but this Powder is not strong enough to kill Sedge weeds.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your review. We apologize you did not receive the expected results. We would like to take some time out to help troubleshoot with you but will need a little more information. Could you please tell us the rate at which you used the SedgeHammer? Also depending on the size of the nutsedge a second application may be needed 6-10 weeks after the first application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Junk

    By Holly on 08/21/2016

    Killed everything but the nutsedge!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work

    By Scott on 09/01/2015

    Used it on young yellow nutsedge It simply did not work...at all. I am an experienced pesticide applicator, used according to directions

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By Larry on 06/07/2019

    I had read great things about this product. It was extremely expensive. I have applied it twice and have gotten NO results. I live in central Florida with St Augustine lawn. I have some small areas of sedge in a couple locations in my lawn. I had hoped this would take care of it but have been completely disappointed. I used a pump up, tank sprayer using 1 scoop of the product mixed with 1 gallon of water and 2 tsp of Hi-Yield Spreader Sticker. Perhaps the sedge is green kyllinga (which is still a type of sedge) so the product should work but it doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work on yellow sedge

    By Michael on 08/29/2016

    This product had absolutely no effect on the yellow sedge growing in my front yard. I applied Sedgehammer twice over a period of one month; both times I meticulously followed the application directions. The sedge simply grew more and spread. A few days ago I applied a $6 bottle of Ortho Nutsedge Killer. Today, the yellow sedge has turned brown is dying. Don't waste your money on Sedgehammer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Louie on 06/14/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this herbicide some 3 weeks ago, I mixed it according to the manufactures instruction, and sprayed the Sedge grass that is overtaking my flower garden. Only now 21/2 weeks later am I starting to see a little yellowing of the tips on the Sedge .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    nutgrass killer

    By Laurie on 09/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased 3 packages of the herbicide. I used one package, but so far we haven't seen any results. I'm going to use the second package today. Hopefully we'll have better luck. I'll update the review after the 2nd application has had a chance to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Too soon to evaluate

    By Edward on 07/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Just used product today - Unable to evaluate results.. Thanx for follow up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Joe on 08/19/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I applied it about 3 weeks ago and have not seen any improvement in terms of killing off the sedge grass. I applied 2nd time today (8/19/12) and hope to see something in about a week or so.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not Effective

    By Mary on 04/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I am really disappointed that the Sedgehammer has had no noticeable effect on my sedge. I applied it as directed. We had no rain. The sedge continued to grow as if I had fertilized it! In the NE the grass is not growing yet, so the growth of the sedge was really strong.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Wj on 09/11/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I mixed it exactly as the directions instructed me to and, a week later, see NO results. The nutgrass is still growing strong! I'll try the second packet, but thus far am quite disappointed with the results!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Kenneth on 10/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Sorry Sledgehammer didn't work for me, even after two applications. I just dug all my daylilies out of the bed and used Round Up today. The temperature has been warm enough and all I had was 288 square foot area, so I sprayed it very good both times. I waited 9 days after the first spraying and then used the second packet and hoped it would do the trick. It did cause about 1/2 the nut grass to start yellowing after about a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    did not work

    By Michelle on 09/06/2014

    this product did not kill weeds. we put only 1/2 gal. water into sprayer, the weeds grew MORE. I have Kentucky Bluegrass lawn. there was some tall light green plants in the middle of it. Rutgers online weed gallery said it was RAGWEED and YELLOW NUTSEDGE. aggravates allergies. I am very disappointed with this product. at least it did not harm the lawn like Roundup would.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work

    By Paul on 09/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    it's been 2 weeks and no reaction at all on the nuts hedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By Robert on 08/20/2019

    Always talk up the products I purchase from here but was out done by ORTHO Nutsedge Killer 32-fl oz Concentrated Herbicide and didn’t hurt the lawn. Used the this product twice and was still fighting nutsedge in front lawn my sister went and purchased Ortho...sprayed the backyard and worked amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Daniel on 09/21/2018

    I purchased this herbicide last season “it didn’t work “, so I thought it was something I done wrong. Purchased it again this season 2018 “it didn’t work on my nutsege, conclusion, product is ineffective and useless.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not good for kyllinga

    By Jesse on 09/11/2018

    Verified Purchase

    So I used this product almost 30 days ago and all the green kyllinga I have growing in my yard is thriving still. Didn't event change the light green color of the kyllinga to yellow. I should have gone with Dismiss NXT. Next time I will be purchasing the Dismiss NXT. Might work good on other sedges but not kyllinga.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    am i missing something?

    By V on 10/29/2018

    sorry, but nutsedge is thriving as much as ever after being treated with this in my rock garden. am i missing something? is it specifically for lawn treatment? sorely disappointed. these weeds grow like wildfire and have taken over my beautiful rock landscaping. the more i pull, the faster they grow! i just don't have the time to pull weeds every single day, which is basically what i would have to do to keep up!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    WEEDS

    By Edagr on 08/03/2018

    I bought the products to try to get rid of some weeds on my yard because the products that I was buying at Home Depot were not working.. I tried this product with same results (DID NOT WORK) and I still have the same weeds.I am not a weed expert at all maybe I used thw wrong product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective

    By Dale10 on 05/22/2017

    I purchased two packets of the powder and mixed each in a tank sprayer. After 1 week there was no effect. After two weeks there were a few nutsedge affected but much less than with Ortho Nutsedge Killer. The Ortho produced evidence of browning in less than a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nut Sedge

    By Gary on 05/09/2017

    I followed the application directions exactly, and after two weeks I'm not seeing this vicious plant succumbing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Do my own gardening

    By Morris on 11/25/2016

    No go sprayed three times see nothing

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    sedge

    By Johnny on 11/13/2016

    I applied sedgehammer to my lawn one month ago i see no results so i am going to spray again and see if it will work i am not happy yet . Johnny

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 32 reviews)