Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   429
4 stars   60
3 stars   17
2 stars   6
1 star   28

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(540 customer reviews)
SedgeHammer Herbicide
$9.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Guess You Have To Spray Twice

    By Bill on 09/26/2015

    Sprayed our back yard earlier in the summer and we were so pleased that it seemed to eliminate the Nut Grass. But, this fall we have it all back. Read advice of our local garden expert here in Dallas, and he said you HAVE to spray again approximately 6 weeks after the first application. So ordered some more and I will try it again this coming spring and try spraying the yard twice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It’s finally working

    By Carol on 07/20/2018

    After two treatments and three weeks the Nutgrass is finally dying but I have a little more in another bed that needs treating. So, it would be nice if the packets were smaller so you could mix up a smaller amount to treat those areas since the Directions say you shouldn’t save unused portions

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer use in landscaped area

    By E. on 05/18/2018

    I can't give more than three stars at this time. I applied two treatments two days apart and the sedge has shown signs of distress. It has been two weeks now since application, hoping for sedge to die. New plants are showing up and I have another pack to mix and apply if needed. My lawn service has treated the yard areas and sedge has been knocked back and not showing any new sprouts. They won't do landscaped areas but told me that your product is what they use on lawns. Fingers crossed and will let you know my results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It's ok

    By Jeff on 10/16/2016

    Only thing I've found that works on nutsedge. But mixed per instructions it will brown out Bermuda as well. If I use it again I will dilute it more and apply two or three times in a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Kills purple sedge for a time

    By Scott on 02/21/2014

    Used Sedgehammer twice about 3 months apart on purple sedge. The sedge took about 2 weeks to completely die off. I seemed very effective at removing the sedge but after a couple months all new sedge grows back (-2 stars). Maybe this is just the nature of trying to eradicate a sedge infestation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Nut grass

    By Joel. on 09/11/2013

    Look's like it's working. It was taking over the yard veery pleased

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Nut Grass

    By Janis on 08/03/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We applied Sedgehammer Herbicide to a large area of nut grass 2 weeks ago. It has begun to turn yellow and appears to be dying but is too early to tell. May require a second application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Undecided

    By Janice on 06/15/2017

    I've applied the product, now just waiting for the nutsedge to die. Not acting as quickly as I would have liked. It is beginning to turn yellow. It does say it could take 7-14 days to work. I'm going to try a second application

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It's okay

    By Rubens on 08/23/2019

    I followed all the instructions religiously. Applied on nutsedge. Some of them died and other didn't. The problem still continues.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer Herbicide

    By Dennis on 07/30/2017

    used the herbicide and it looks like killing it is a slow process. I really cant tell what is happening other than it looks thinner.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not Sure About This Product

    By John on 02/04/2017

    I have tried this in a few areas and the sedge has popped up again. I need to order more, I guess. Overall, I guess it is the same as Image but I was hoping for better results.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! It can be easy to miss nutsedge in grass that is mowed regularly, so it is not uncommon to need multiple applications to get all the nutsedge in the yard, especially if you are only spot treating. Sedgehammer will need about 28 days to kill the treated nutsedge plants. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    uncertain

    By Jj on 10/28/2016

    Uncertain as I will over-seed this fall, taker care of bare spots and make an application of SedgeHammer this spring and a second in late spring as by the end of May temps are reaching triple digits.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Trying to kill Sedgehammer Grass

    By Daniel on 04/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We bought two packets and mixed them each with a gallow of water per the instructions. Sprayed it in and then didn't cut the grass for 4-5 days. I really thought we would start seeing results fast since it was liquid. Still waiting patiently.......

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    How efective

    By Ken on 09/27/2016

    This product works, however it takes 2 or 3 applications. I have seen professional treatment which kills these weeds with 1 application in several days. (Have no idea what they use)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It did not kill the nut grass like it did last

    By Linda on 04/26/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I applied this last year and it killed out the nut grass in my yard and rock areas, but when it came back this year and I applied it, the grass did not die. May be because we've had too much rain. Will try again when weather is dryer and warmer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Sedge Hammer

    By Adam on 10/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    lHard to say so far. Has been applied for about 10 days now and of I use my imagination I can almost see some yellowing starting to happen. I guess I will know more in a few weeks. I did puchase enough to do a second application

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Effective for my Yellow Nutsedge

    By Sierra on 09/03/2019

    I'd give it four stars but it's not especially good value for money. I bought the 2 pack for an area I thought would be treated by one. Ended up using both and still had a few to pull up by hand when I was done. As expected, it took a few days to show an effect though growth seemed to slow and then stop. Nutsedge is now yellow or brown but still there, 2-3 weeks later.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)