Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer + Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   475
4 stars   65
3 stars   19
2 stars   9
1 star   36

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(604 customer reviews)
SedgeHammer + Herbicide
$9.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 65 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    The Sedge Gets Hammered

    By Dennis on 07/07/2010

    I have been using this product for several years, and have found it to be the most effective for control of sedge, particularly in beds and around ornamentals in combination with Roundup. Because I am blessed with rich soil, everything grows well - sedge too; so control of sedge is an ongoing battle. The granular form of the product is convenient and easy to measure with the included measuring spoon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    97 of 104 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By M. on 09/29/2010

    SedgeHammer definitely worked on the yellow nutsedge that I applied it on. It is a little expensive, but the 1.33 oz. bottle is the way to go. A little bit goes a long way. I discussed my nutsedge problem with quite a few lawn pros and most agreed this is the most effective solution. I agree, and this product does kill the nutsedge, usually takes about a week. Works best on young plants but also kills mature ones. Does not harm the good grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer to the Rescue

    By Bj on 08/13/2010

    I spent a good amount of money last year, = replacing grass with Palm Springs Gold, adding Hibiscus and Bird of Paradise plants to my little Eden, feeling assured it was practical, saving water, and would require minimum attention. WRONG ! From the golf course, adjoining my property came the nut grass, = ugly & aggressive =a frontal attack, & shooting up everywhere. Bottom Line = On the offensive ! SedgeHammer's on the job, and showing effects. Sprayed under the mid=day sun, initially fades the grass, while it works down to the root system. Very pleased with the product, and I'm also spreading the word to friends = for your excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SledgeHammer Herbicide Works Pretty Well

    By Anonymous on 08/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I had an infestation of sedge weed in my Saint Augustine grass. The SledgeHammer herbicide application got rid of almost all of the sedge weed. Unfortunately, the herbicide does not seem to have a long-lasting effect, so some sedge weeds reappeared two or three weeks later. However, most of the weeds seem to be gone for good. I would recommend this herbicide. Scotts Bonus S does nothing. The only issue with this and other herbicides is that they are not to be used when the temperature is above 85 degrees, which is almost all the time in South Florida. But with some care, it is possible to use them and (again, with care) they do seem to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Happy Customer

    By C. on 07/22/2010

    Got what I ordered quick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Product was just as described.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide Really Works

    By Anonymous on 08/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered several packets of the product online. I used it precisely as directed, letting the nutsedge have at least one full week of time after mowing to attain good blade size so as to maximize the surface to absorb the herbicide. Then I sprayed it covering all blade surfaces and skipped mowing the following week to give the product adequate time to penetrate into the roots of the nutsedge. Within one week to 10 days all the nutsedge had turned yellow and died. The best product I have ever tried for this problem. I recommend it highly. In fact, my lawn service guy saw it and asked what I had used. I told him and he ordered some as well and was extremely pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Awesome Product

    By Kool on 08/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Awesome product; I applied as directed and 2wks later All the sedge grass was brown. I've since mowed and my KB grass is already starting to grow back in where the sedge grass has died out!!!! Did not give it 5stars because waiting to see if it re-emerges next season???

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Anonymous on 07/31/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product performed just as advertised- I mixed up a one gallon batch and applied with a sprayer-wetting out the grass-like blades. Not having a large area to treat, I had about 1/2 gallon left which I reapplied again the next day. After about a week the blades lost their deep green color & turned yellow after which they died

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fast & Effective

    By Al on 05/10/2018

    Delivery was quick, received product in about 2 days. The herbicides did what it says it would do. Very satisfied with this purchase and this vendor.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Terry on 11/23/2015

    Easy to apply and worked very quickly. Only effected the plants it was supposed to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer Review

    By Ben on 03/03/2017

    I am having to put down a 2nd application of Sedgehammer because one application knock out everything. But, it did knock out a lot. I wanted spray before the sedge budded and spread across more of the yard. Sedge is killing our bermuda grass when it takes over. Once it seeds it will take over a lawn. Aedgehammer does work well, where Weed-B-Gone and other weed killers doesn't even affect it. If anybody knows of a better sedge killer I'd like to know about it?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! Sedgehammer is still our most popular nutsedge control product. It does take time to work all the way through and to kill the plants, and multiple applications are often needed because younger and/or mowed plants can be easy to miss among turfgrass. Another option for even faster burndown would be Dismiss Herbicide. Be sure to check the product label for tolerance on your turfgrass: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/dismiss-turf-herbicide-p-1517.html Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    The toughest weed I have ever dealt with

    By Jim on 07/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had tried to get rid of Nutsedge for several years in my Charlotte lawn. It just kept getting worse. I tried a hand spray that I picked up at the BigBox stores. It didn't faze it at all. I went on the internet earlier this year and came across your product Sledgehammer. I decided to give it a try. I mixed it up, one packet to about 1 1/2 gallons of water and sprayed most areas where I had serious nutsedge. As you know nutsedge jumps up after you mow. I waited 5 days before mowing and now that it has been two weeks and two more mowings the nutsedge that I treated has stopped growing and has turned yellow. Those that I didn't treat are once agin 6-8 inches tall. I plan on treating the remainder this week. I was concerned that with the extremely hot weather (97+) for tha past two weeks the results might be poor but I am very pleased with the effectiveness of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Fram on 07/06/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is terrific,it killed the sedgenut in one application;however it seems to have also killed some of the good grass where the sedgenut was.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer Herbicide

    By Don on 09/09/2011

    Verified Purchase

    One application has eliminated 95% of the nut grass in my yard. It was easy to mix and to spray..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer clobbers Nutsedge

    By Melissa on 07/28/2014

    I have tried many sprays to kill the Nutsedge in our St. Auguststine. I have finally found something that immediately takes the bite out of this awful weed. The packets are perfect because the surfactant is already included. Would highly recommend !!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Nutgrass

    By Jim on 08/07/2016

    Did a great job on nut grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By D.good on 03/28/2015

    Verified Purchase

    this is the second year of multiple applications. seems to remove the weed for a time, but does not seem to remove it forever.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Hope it lasts, great so far !

    By Clifford on 09/23/2018

    Should have taken pictures. Being taken over by Nut Grass. Sprayed half a case, down pour with in 3 hours, thought I wasted $ 50. Left town for a week, came back and every blade was brown and dead. have been trying to kill this nut grass for years. What a surprise, now let's see if next season it returns ? Great so far!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Thanks

    By Charles on 06/07/2017

    It appears that this herbicide is effective. Probably will require a second application in some areas. Unfortunately it is a little expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By D. on 03/31/2016

    in a perfect world, you would only have to apply this once, but it does work for a while.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Works!

    By Ted on 04/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    SedgeHammer is a product I have used before...with very good results. I use it because it works! At DMOPC I was able to purchase the product for a savings of $2.50...shipped to my door. Locally I would have to travel about 10 miles each way...and pay more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Results

    By Anonymous on 08/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    About 1/3 of my front law was invested with nut sedge. I used 2 packets to fully cover all the areas. Although results (dead grass) didn't start appearing until closer to 14 days; it immediately stopped the fast growing spiky/shinny new grass from appearing. The directions on the outside of the package were confusing, i.e., "rainfast within 4 hours", but the insert explained to NOT WATER for at least 4 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer is Effective

    By David on 08/25/2017

    I had several patches of nut sedge in gardens and lawn that I treated with Sedgehammer. In a week signs of sick plants were evident and although individual plants returned, they were sparse. It will take persistence to get all the bits of roots killed but the product appears to have gotten the majority on the first spraying. This is much better success than with Roundup or other products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bluegrass state success.

    By Robert on 09/11/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I used this stuff on the patches that appeared in my lawn this summer and the Nut Sedge is dead or dying. It took approximately 6 to 8 days to see the effects, the first being the stuff just quit growing and then it began to discolor. Expensive but effective and be aware it doesn't go far, be selective in where you spray and target as many individual plants as you can to get the maximum use rather than just broadcast spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Tee on 08/12/2011

    So far the Sedge Hammer seems to be actually killing the nut grass. There are some areas we've had to do a second application. That still makes it a great product in my opinion. I'm only giving it four stars for now. I want to see if it is permanent before it gets that five star rating. We'll see what next spring brings. It is expensive but I learned a long time ago that you get what you pay for. My time spent digging the nut sedge has been worth the price of the SedgeHammer!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    nutsedge from hell

    By Linda on 06/15/2016

    This stuff works well, though it usually takes more than one application. We're still working on it and ordering more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide Works!

    By Virginia on 11/29/2019

    It takes repeated applications to the nutsedge, but it does kill it. What's so great is that it doesn't affect other plants growing with the nutsedge. So you can spray the nutsedge freely and plentifully without worrying that nearby plants that also catch the spray will be killed. They show no sign of damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    sedgehammer herbicide

    By Carol on 09/21/2018

    I applied Sedgehammer 2 weeks ago to the affected part of my lawn and 1 variety of the sedge is beginning to yellow. This is encouraging because nothing else has been effective. I will probably put down another application when it is safe. I am in zone 10a and the weeds in St Augustine are almost impossible to control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Weeds and them Damn Weeds

    By Larry on 08/31/2017

    Well living in Georgia, received product in 2 days followed instruction and applied by donning heavy duty rubber gloves covered by brown garden gloves, soaked hand in bucket of solution then rubbed hand on leaflets of weed. This method was used because weeds are in junipers bed. It's been about a week since application, have not noticed any browning or dying back, staying positive. Will update.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    finally a safe treatment that does not kill my bermuda

    By Mc on 08/09/2018

    I have used Sedgehammer twice and it killed the nutsedge and did not kill my grass! Yay! I have tried other products, following their instructions, and yes it killed the nutsdege but also my Bermuda sod ... grrrr. Who wants big dead spots in their front yard? not me Sedgehammer is easy to use, its already got the surfactant included in the pouch mix. The only downside to Sedgehammer is it seems to degrade quickly so I either have to use it all that day or its wasted. I definitely think its effective and since nutsedge is relentless, I'll continue to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 65 reviews)