Customer Reviews for Snapshot 2.5 TG - 50 lbs.

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   24
4 stars   2
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   2

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(29 customer reviews)
Snapshot 2.5 TG - 50 lbs.
$124.13

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    scary stuff if you have children or animals

    By Bee on 03/22/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I'm sorry I bought this. I should have returned it. The label says it all. Dangerous to humans. Completely cover yourself...head to toe. Wear a mask/respirator. Don't go in the area for 12 hours. It needs to be rained on...if not you must water it in within three days. I made a mistake and trusted a review on a garden website. I had to call the emergency line because my pets walked through it on accident. I watered it in in the areas the dogs might go...but they are farm dogs and they pulled away from me and ran thru the granular product. I won't buy this again. You can't rely on the rain to dilute it on a timely basis. So using this in an "industrial area" as it suggests to keep down weeds would be dangerous for any living thing if it accidentally wanders into the product. Even the dust is deemed poisonous. Why didn't I return it!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This product is not hazardous to humans or pets.  It recommends wearing long sleeve pants and long sleeve shirt, just like any other pest contorl or herbicide you can purchase professionally or over the counter.  It says nothing about wearing a respirator.  This product is only harmful to humans and pets if you ingest it, place it on your skin, or use it in a way that is not on the label. 

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    160 of 247 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Kathy on 12/16/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have used Snapshot for the last 3 years on desert landscaping. I put it on my ground in October and March every year. I am surrounded by weed-filled yards, but mine NEVER has ANY weeds!! This is a great product.  For one hours effort every six months I don't have to fight the weeds. It may be a bit pricey but I am saving a fortune in what I used to spend on the liquid spray type weed control products, not to mention the time and annoyance. I highly recommend this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    95 of 97 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Best way better than Preen

    By Jim on 06/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I used Preen 1st, it only prevents (I believe) 11 types of weeds, SnapShot prevents 110 (I believe) types of weeds, SnapShot Rocks !!! I use round-up, then weed whats ever left, then I lay down the Snapshot. It says it is good for 8 months I re-apply every 6 months (2 month over lap) I use a 1 quart (new) paint can (purchased at Lowes) with a few nail holes I put in the lid, for touch-ups. Kinda like a giant salt shaker. To the Paranoid reviewer,"I will buy your SnapShot. Please dont call Haz-Mat lol lol Hell on a bet I would sprinkle some of this on my food lol JUST KIDDING !! I have used SnapShot for over Five years, Nothing better. Please note you are creating and invisible barrier on your top soil, So if you dig or scratch the surface you will have to touch-up the disturbed soil to repair the damaged invisible weed barrier (this is how it was explained to me).(hence my salt shaker touch-up paint can idea) Email me you can have whats left of my preen for free, just pay shipping and handling (no kidding, I am NOT impressed with Preen)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    75 of 76 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not for lawns!

    By Dave on 11/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product DID help keep the weeds out of the landscaped areas as advertised. What I did not know was it is NOT meant to be used as a lawn pre-emergent. I did not have good results on the lawn but thats because I went on friends recomendation instead of reading the product info. Read the info-NOT FOR LAWNS!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff

    By David on 06/12/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I don't understand the review of paranoia because of the safety issues. Wear a dust mask! Dust your clothing with the mask still on! Duh! It's not as if most any modern herbicide will kill you or give you cancer or your pet in one exposure, or 25 for that matter- especially through your skin. Unbroken skin is a great barrier to all sorts of stuff that isn't good for you injested. Hence the mask. Heck, sawdust is hazardous - especially walnut. Wear a mask for that too! As for pets, you should apply any herbicide, then water it in or before a light rain. This is to get it into the soil layer that stuff germinates in - just below the surface. That means it is no longer on top where your pet's feet are touching it. Is that an area where he tears around playing? Don't use it there. As for the product itself: I've used it for two years Phoenix area desert landscape with great results. Some yard areas have a sand/gravel mix in which the sand settles and the gravel stays on top and some areas are left natural desert - now without undesirable weed type stuff growing up. Snapshot doesn't harm established stuff, just new stuff that hasn't germinated yet. So if it's up and visible and you don't want it, pull it by hand or hit it with a stiff mix of glyphosate (Roundup or generic). I use Snapshot in 4, 6 month intervals and it seems to be having a cumulative effect. Each application I have fewer things I have to pull or kill. The only drawback I see is having to water it in. But, I THINK the watering in issue has to do with getting it into the soil layer so it can't blow away - not that it degrades or something witting there - at least in my desert situation. Maybe I'll ask that question. I've NOT watered it in once to see what happened. Nothing. I got a little rain two months later and the yard is fine 8 months later. The wind can't easily blow it away in my 1 1/4 acre yard because of the gravel on top. The snapshot is tiny grains that fall between the stones and get stuck there. So they just sit there and wait for rain. Very little tries to germinate until it rains anyway in the desert due to the dry conditions. Bottom line: Expensive, but a great product. I'd have given it 5 stars if it were 30 bucks cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome Product for the Midwestern flower beds

    By Barbara on 06/30/2015

    Living in Ohio, we get our fair share of water and weeds. I use to have to weed my flower beds a few times a week. Two years ago I had professional landscapers put weed killer and mulch in all of my beds. That year I did not have to weed my beds, no not once! I called them to ask what they had used....Snapshot. I purchased this fabulas product, and have been using it ever since. Want to have a weed free flower bed with minimal effort? Buy Snapshot. This stuff WORKS!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Service

    By Tom on 06/08/2012

    Verified Purchase

    DoMyOwnPestControl sent out my order promptly and they were very competitively price. Great service; I'd use them again! Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The best

    By Gary on 04/27/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had been using Casoron for years. We spend our winters in AZ and weeds here are a big problem with the winds distributing the seeds all year. Casoron worked, but we always had a few weeds when we returned each year. I read about Snapshot on this web site and bought my first 50 lb bag three years ago. We have a large lot and our weeds are almost non-existent now. Just bought my second bag this year. It does not harm existing plants. The places we still get weeds are places where the rain water collects and apparently dilutes the product. But the weeds are minimal as I said.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best weed pre-emergent

    By Joan on 10/02/2015

    I found this product on line when searching for a product with longevity! This is it. We apply it twice a year prior to mulching the yard and the results have been excellent. It is true that it forms a protective barrier, so be sure your plants are where you want them, apply whatever fertilizers or soil ammenders you normally use, put down Snapshot and water in. Then mulch and be done! Easy with great results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    EXCELLENT!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    By Deborah on 03/02/2015

    Verified Purchase

    FANTASTIC product, great price and vendor, fast shipping. Hubby says this is the best stuff. After many years and products, he oughta know. I keep coming back for more!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff

    By Logger on 05/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This is my second purchase of this stuff. We used it last fall in all flower beds and almost no weeds this spring. This is a vast improvement over Preen. With it, the beds were covered with weeds each spring. My wife insisted I order more. She couldn't believe how effective it is. It is also much more economical than buying multiple small packages of Preen.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Snapshot was a snap to apply

    By Richard on 04/03/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Snapshot was easy to apply to my nursery area to prevent weed from sprouting. This product should save me time and money in the care of the nursery ground.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Actually more about the company than the product

    By Marc on 10/18/2015

    Realized after I received this, that it's supposed to be for flower beds, etc. Company was great and gave me an RMA right away. Will definitely do business with them in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Outstanding Product

    By Herbie on 02/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This is my third year using Snapshot. I put it down twice a year and NEVER deal with weeds again! Why didn't I know about this stuff years ago I don't know.....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pre emergent for weed control

    By Janice on 03/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Snapshot was recommended in my adult ed landscaping class so I will try it this week on about 50% of my flower beds. It stops seed germination so need to apply about every 2 months and water it in. I will not use it in a food garden as chemicals like this are way too scary and side affects come out in 10 years. Do not breathe it or let it touch skin.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Jim on 04/19/2017

    Not cheap but you use less product than with Preen and it is effective for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good customer service

    By Rob on 10/17/2012

    Our first order went seamlessly. We have an address that's not in the UPS national database and which therefore can cause delivery problems. Your customer service people spotted this, inquired about it and then provided UPS with appropriate instructions to insure delivery.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff

    By Frank on 03/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have desert landscape and needed something that would last all summer as I am a winter visitor and leave for the summer. I applied a weed killer to existing weeds and then applied snapshot. My brother checked on my house once a month, I always asked if he say any weeds, no weeds he say. I couldn't believe it. When I returned in Nov. no weeds or grass was growing in my landscape. It's now March and I am just now noticing a couple of weeds. This product lasted one year. Snapshot is expensive but when you compare to how long it last it's not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Snapshot vw Casoron

    By Gary on 03/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I gave this 4 stars because I have not had an opportunity to see it work. I applied it prior to a rain forecast that did not materialize. It has not been watered in. I'm in Arizona where water should be conserved. However, this product should do the same thing that Casoron did for me in years past, yet it is considerably cheaper ($140 vs $218 for 50 lbs.) and the broadcast rate is almost exactly the same. Shipping was free and relatively quick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easiest, Best - Control in Phoenix for 12 Months!

    By Scott on 03/01/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this on February 25th 2013. Today is March 1, 2014. I have a 1/4 acre lot (~10,000 square feet) in Phoenix, AZ with desert landscape and a 2,300 square foot home. I have ~750 square feet of grass I don't pre-emerge. Used about 2/3rds of the 50 lb bag last year, and had excellent control up until a month or so ago. SUPER easy to apply with a handheld broadcast spreader - less than 1/2 hr to do the whole place. MUCH longer lasting than PREEN. Much EASIER than liquid Surflan in a hose-end sprayer. I'm here to buy more! This stuff is awesome and even controlled the Sweet Acacia tree pods (by the 100,000s or pods) and Foothills Palo Verde pods, which are not controlled at all by PREEN.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Service

    By Sg on 04/30/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Easy to buy, shipped right away. The web site was very easy to use and i enjoyed the interaction.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Service

    By Steve on 11/10/2017

    Used product for years. Received shipment in excellent time and in good shape.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Secret of the pros

    By Tom on 05/05/2018

    This is our secret weapon used on commercial properties for our landscape company. Applied right time or sprayed with a non selective (roundup) prior will keep weeds out. Early spring here in NJ and another in mid August keeps beds virtually weed free. We use the Gordon’s canister spreader and is most effective for spreading.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Snapshot

    By Pp on 04/06/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Snapshot is more effective than Preen. Received promptly and in good condition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective

    By Cathy on 06/08/2019

    I have used this product for over 10 years. It is safer than any weed killers. I've been decreasing the number of times I apply from 3 to once in early spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    GREAT PRODUCT

    By Deborah on 08/21/2013

    Verified Purchase

    We live in the desert. For years, my hubby has fought the weeds that blow into our yard. For the first time, I heard him highly compliment this product...a compliment is tuff to get. He says it has drastically decreased his work in pulling weeds and he's so much happier about his efforts in spreading this for the first time. We are back to get more and are greatly satisfied!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Super fast shipping and great price

    By Randy on 04/07/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I couldn't believe how fast my order arrived--and I did a lot of research, this was listed at a great price with free shipping. Why drive to the store and waste your gas and time with this kind of deal available?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Snapshot doesn't work on spurge

    By Don on 10/30/2018

    I called DoMyOwn and asked which pre-emergent would prevent spurge. I was told Snapshot would prevent it. I bought it and applied it several times. I think it fed the weed. No prevention of spurge with Snapshot. I will nor buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    THE BEST PRODUCT

    By Deborah on 03/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    My hubby really loves this stuff cuz it actually works. It has saved him so much time chasing those weeds. We've had very few, unlike the previous onslaught of seeds blowing in. He has tried MANY products and THIS is the stuff that works. We have wasted sooo much time and effort using products that do nothing. I noticed some other desert dwellers posting reviews. It sure works well here near Palm Springs. I notice I am back for my third order and I'll be back again!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)