Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(522 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
On Sale!
$62.98
Was: $69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 2 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Poor long term results for me

    By Rick on 08/27/2017

    I've had to change my review from last year due to the fact that all of the Bent grass I thought I killed has recovered. I did 3 sprays last summer/fall. It severely damaged the Bent grass but also bleached the desirable grasses. I'm not sure how others claim that good grasses were not harmed. I had to paint my customers lawns because it was so unsightly. Then I had to reseed. A lot of work only to find that the Bent has come back nearly 100%. It did work better on some other weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not what I expect it

    By Carlos on 07/05/2019

    I thought this product would work, I am not sure if it is the area where I live but it didn’t work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Weeds

    By Thomas on 08/03/2019

    Treated my crabgrass and clover 3 times. It turns white for about 2 weeks then starts growing again. Doesn't seem to be working as I thought it would

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Beware of bleaching

    By Mark on 09/12/2019

    I purchased this stuff in effort to kill off random patches of bentgrass. The product does warn that if you over apply then it may cause temporary bleaching to your good turf. I am here to warn you that while it did a good job of killing off the unwanted Bent grass, I am now going on week four of a nearly all-white lawn. My TTTF was dark green and healthy all season. And after applying two applications EXACTLY according to the label, the whole lawn looks smoked. I’ve since hit it with starter fertilizer and organic, plus liquid Humic to try to force some growth and regain my green grass. It’s slowly coming back in sections but I am sincerely concerned for what’s to come this fall and even next year. In short: don’t believe the hype. This stuff is very expensive and does legitimate damage to your established turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't live up to its reviews

    By Mike on 09/28/2019

    I read lots of good reviews and gave Tenacity a try. I followed the recommendations to the letter, surfactent, dye etc. I hadn't mowed for two weeks before application and didn't mow for a week after. I waited for the weeds to get white and die as the reviews promised, but it never really happened. There was some lightening of some weeds (not all) but they didn't die. It's been about a month since my application and it just isn't going to happen. I was trying to kill crabgrass but the crabgrass was more tenacious than the Tenacity. I'm about a $100 bucks lighter and the crabgrass is laughing at the Tenacity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity over-hyped

    By Walter on 08/17/2019

    Seen some you-tube presentations on this and decided to give it a try. I used for spot-treatment and my observations: - takes at least a week to see if it's working - it's marginal when it comes to taking out mature crabgrass - For the cost/hype, I had expected it to be able to handle more weed varieties.....which it did not. There are other similar products that I expect to try once I use up this bottle

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Had higher expectations

    By Lori on 10/02/2020

    I hired a landscaper and asked him to use the Tenacity that I purchased. I watched a YouTube video that highly recommended the product. While the crabgrass visibly died back, all of the other weeds on my lawn flourished. The landscaper has since put down a granular product he prefers. I immediately noticed a difference. Since we are already in October, I didn't feel we had the time to try a second application of Tenacity because we still want to dethatch the yard, aerate, and seed. I may consider trying Tenacity as a pre-emergent in the spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Jury Is Still Out

    By Dennis on 08/30/2019

    Sprayed as directed and added another product to make sure that is stayed on the weeds. Here it is almost 2 weeks now and still not much change as I would have expected. Especially, given the cost of this product. Wanted to get away from that deadly RoundUp garbage product. At least that made the weeds dry up and disappear.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Collateral Damage

    By Danny on 05/08/2020

    I did two applications 2 weeks apart. It's Killing the weeds...very slowly, However it also bleached good grass. Looks like my yard is dead and I'm surrounded by dark green lawns. Neighbors think what the heck is up with it. lawn bleaching reached max in 3-4 days. From what I read it could be like this for a month or more. I'll be switching to other weed killer that does not make the lawn look so bad.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    I cannot recommend!

    By Douglas on 08/11/2022

    Verified Purchase

    Takes too long to work. Takes too long to start working, then you have white patches for it seems like weeks. There are much better, quicker acting treatments out there. I tried it twice. Same results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Be careful

    By James on 09/19/2020

    It killed my marathon 2 sod as well as weeds, so what was portrayed as an easy fix has now become a large project. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Disappointing and over priced

    By Chris on 04/03/2020

    This pre-emergent weed killer is overrated. I applied two different applications 3 weeks apart with limited to no results after 5 weeks. Following directions exactly 1/2 tsp per gallon along with 2 tsp non ionic surfactant and turf marker. Nothing. Spend your money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Need a lot more than advertised

    By Saad on 08/30/2019

    Followed the instructions but It did not work the way it should. Only 20% crabgrass died. Used it second time with double the recommended quantity and even than it did not kill all the crab grass. Used with surfactant and blue dye.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    not happy with this product worked on one type of weed only

    By Alan on 08/18/2019

    i bought this product and used it twice over a seven week period on my entire lawn. I am very disappointed. I was extremely careful to use it exactly as directed and made sure to use when there was no rain in the forecast for 2-3 days (turned off sprinklers too) and with a recommended surfactant and dye to make sure I didnt over apply with a four gallon backpack sprayer. It did turn my grass white for a few weeks and killed a few dandelion weeds and patches of something else but didn nothing to the crabgrass or clover. I may try one more time in september but next year I'll try something else with dicamba as an ingredient or use it in a tank mix with dicamba. (I have a sentimental attachment to banvel.)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not impressed, yet.

    By Nannette on 08/10/2019

    After reading the reviews, I had high hopes for this weed killer. After 7 days, I didn't see much of a difference.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not Sure

    By Bill on 04/10/2020

    After reading the instructions, I mixed the herbicide at double the strength suggested and my wife applied the mixture to some grasses she wanted to remove from our landscaping. Nothing died.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    did not work

    By Earle on 05/01/2020

    I used the tenacity as directed and I still have weeds on my lawn ive used it twice in two weeks still have weeds very disapointed

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Jeff on 06/12/2020

    I used a 3 gallon backpack sprayer to cover about 1/4 acre front lawn. It took 10 fills and mixes according to the recommend 1-1/2 tsp Tenacity to 3 gallons of water recommended and a whole lot more time than with granular products and a spreader. It seemed to turn sections of grass whiter than the chickweed I was trying to eliminate. Jury is still out on the effectiveness, but I would try something else next time

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not effective

    By Ryan on 06/12/2020

    Not effective..... in the past few years I used it on different weeds, never effective, and I exactly followed the instructions on how to use this herbicide. For people think it's effective, it's better to show results in pictures, cuz it never worked on my weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity cannot kill roots

    By Lin on 08/19/2020

    I purchased tenacity and applied on my lawn. First application was done but about 6 hours after it rained. Waited a few days and applied again, a few days after the weed leaves started to turn yellow, but not died from the root, as a few week after they grow back again. Also, tenacity seems nit effective to some weeds at all. Not sure what to do, as I wanted to reseed shortly, but would like to get some space for the seed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    tenacity review

    By Mike on 09/25/2020

    minimally effective. sprayed as directed, didn't handle crabgrass as well as less expensive options. Also slow to react

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Questionable purchase

    By Neal on 09/25/2020

    My lawn has had a crabgrass problem for the last two years. Tenacity seems to be the answer. I sprayed several areas of the Centipede grass to see if it is as effective as the advertising states. After about ten days the sprayed area is not doing well with the grass turning totally brown and it appears it is dying. I mixed it 1/2 teaspoon per gallon. Perhaps the grass will come back but I have my doubts. The spray dye was worthless. When I sprayed it, a little bit of blue tint could be seen but minutes later I could not tell where I sprayed. I read other reviews that stated the same thing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Does not work for my crap grass

    By Andre on 09/26/2021

    I bought the Tenacity Herbicide along with the Spreader Sticker and the Dye. Instructs are clear and with the included syringe it was easy to mix and spray with my Husqvarna 4-Gallon Backpack Sprayer. The first application did have no effect at all. Further applications killed some of the weeds, but did not get rid of the broad leaf grass. In fact, after all the grass turned white, the crab grass was the first to recover. After another application, I have spots where nothing but broad leaf grass remains. I am awarding 2 points because it kills some weed. But there are a lot of cheaper alternatives out there in the market. For the purpose that I bought this, it did not work at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Messy

    By Nick on 10/15/2021

    Just applied on weekend not sure yet I know it takes2 to3 weeks to take effect so we will see

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Fair

    By Sherman on 04/25/2022

    Followed instructions to the "T". Applied to clover as described. Nothing happened. My St. Augustine grass turned colors but that's about it. I believe the clover called over its friends and had a party. The surfactant and dye worked but the Tenacity not so much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)