Customer Reviews for Chapin Tree/Turf Pro 4 Gallon BackPack Sprayer (#62000)

Rating Snapshot

clear search

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(53 customer reviews)
Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin sprayer

    By Anonymous on 07/08/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been using this backpack spayer now for a few weeks and it is so much nicer than a carry type when doing my perimeter pest control. However, there are 2 very minor issues with it. 1. Cannot drain from the bottom, which makes it a bit more difficult to clean out. 2. The clips that hold the backpack harness to the metal frame come unclipped when putting the harness on, if not extremely careful when slipping the harness onto the opposite shoulder. Other than that, this thing works very well and has made my chores of spraying insecticide and herbicide so much easier. I would definitely recommend this unit. It is comfortable and works as advertised.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 62000

    By Matt on 05/19/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Very nice sprayer. Very well built and comfortable even when full. The hose is a little short, but not a huge deal. Would highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pleasantly surprised

    By Mark on 06/09/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered my sprayer on 5/19/2015 and it arrived a few days later. I had been ill the past few years unable to tend to my yard as I should have and I now have more weeds than grass in my front yard; the back's been more resilient. I have one of those 3 gallon pump sprayers that I purchased at Home Depot and I was attempting to treat our 1/3 acre lot. It was going way too slow. You're supposed to treat after 2 weeks (using the poison I was using) and it was easily going to take me that long to do my yard for one application. I figured --all told-- it would take me 16-20 man hours to do a good job (including refilling the tank over and over again). With this thing I was able to treat every square inch of grass in 2-3 hours (including refilling). Plus I used round-up around my privet bushes, some of the other landcaping, driveway and sidewalk (it's a corner lot, so there's a lot of that) in about an hour. This came with a pressure valve to keep the flow steady. I've not tried to use my new sprayer without it but it does a very good job. Before using the sprayer to lay poison, I practiced with water on the driveway to get a feel of the coverage. With a little practice you feel like an expert. I still use my 3 gallon pump sprayer for jobs that need very tight control. We have some mulched landscaping where plants are very close together and I can apply round-up very accurately and sparingly with it. But I might be able to do the same with this sprayer should I take the pressure valve out of it and use low pressure. That's an experiment I'll try very soon. I can't say or write enough good things about this sprayer. The nozzle will either mist, run course or stream as you need (I use coarse most of the time to prevent over-spray when using broad-spectrum herbicides). I would suggest putting this together and trying it on before you fill the tank. You'll find you might need to experiment with what's comfortable. I find the hip belt takes most of the weight but the chest belt is very useful, too, keeping the pump closer to your back and center of gravit. Also, don't fill the tank up to 4 gallons until you find what you can comfortably heft by yourself. And practice with water first just to see how it works, feels, and covers. It'll take some getting used to if you never used one before. But you'll get the hang of it quickly, this is a very intuitive piece of equipment to use (although I had problems setting up the harness correctly). What a boost to productivity this thing has been! Spraying the yard is no longer a chore but something I actually look forward to. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great value, well built, many options

    By Astute on 06/26/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had one of these for 10 years, before I bought this one. I had forgot the previous one on the ground behind my truck & had driven over it :_( The current model is even BETTER than my last one. It has a pressure gauge on the handle and the pressure stays constant throughout the spraying process. So the application of chemicals is even and consistent. That results in a more economic use of the chemicals. It also has an internal pressure adjustment, to set the maximum PSI delivered to the tank. And since the piston is separate from the chemical tank, the o-rings and seals last longer (no chemical attack). Best yet - Do My Own Pest Control price matched the best price that I found on the web!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    51 of 52 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ken LOVES his Backpack!

    By Anonymous on 05/30/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My husband Ken really likes the BackPack Sprayer and has used it a few times now. The only reason he wouldn't give it five stars is the instructions were not clear enough on how to strap it to you back. He did figure it out though. It is a wonderful easy way to get rid of those pesky weeds and he hated the pump kind he had to try to carry around!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 62000 pump handle not great

    By Joe on 07/31/2020

    The reason I'm writing this review is because the 62000 sprayer is good except for the handle it fits loose and wabbles too much the tuck away handle is a good idea but is not designed well and you need to constantly continue to pump that's where the handle gets very noticeable, the pressure regulator is great everything else is great just the pump handle is why I have such trouble to pump it

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    sprayer

    By Joseph on 05/19/2016

    I have not tries the sprayer , but I know it will be great. The only problem was that UPS left the package in the rain and the box was ruined. I am sure all is well. TY joe d

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great sprayer

    By Hector on 03/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I use it to apply herbicides to landscaped areas. The capacity is great for my work (no more than 1000 square meters). The pump mecanism would be better it it was longer. I'm 6'2, 265 pounds. I don't know, maybe I'm too big for this model. But hey, I use it and I like it a lot. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    TIME SAVER

    By Bill on 07/15/2016

    I BOUGHT THIS SPRAYER BECAUSE WE HAVE A 1/2 ACRE PRPERTY AND I WAS TIRED OF FOOLING WITH THE PREVIOUS SPRAYER THAT TOOK FOREVER TO CONTROL THE WEEDS. THE CHAPLIN / TURF 4 CUT MY TIME TO ABOUT 1/3 OF WHAT IT WAS BEFORE. IT WORKED JUST LIKE I HAD HOPED IT WOULD.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 620000

    By Erasmo on 05/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Finally I have a Back Pack Sprayer that will make my life easy. For years I used a 2 GL Roundup sprayer, now with this it is so easy and fast. I am not a commercial sprayer but I love this one!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not what I was expecting..

    By Corey on 06/01/2016

    I received this product in hopes that it would do what I was looking for in a sprayer. However, this sprayer does not hold pressure. It seems like you do more pumping than spraying. I thought it was human error, but after re-reading the instructions and making sure I had everything set up correctly, it still didn't work right. Silly me, ran 1 round of bug killer through it because of thinking this would be what I wanted. Contacted Chapin though phone (left a message with no return phone call) Emailed Chapin with no reply back from them. Very disappointed in Chapin's product and customer service. This isn't a negative review for DoMyOwnPestControl (as they have been fantastic to deal with). Just disappointed with this sprayer. The only reason for 2 stars is because if this would have worked better, the capacity it held would have been perfect for what I needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    sprayer

    By H on 09/14/2016

    I really like my Chapin 4 gallon sprayer I save so much time. It takes about an hour to do the property It used to take around Three, I save Money by doing my own spraying And most important I know the mix is correct . I do the job every 30 days. I actually look forward to doing it .I see no ants or any crawling critters thanks much Hank Allison

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Worst Design

    By Nick on 08/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I replaced my inexpensive back pack sprayer with a "Professional Grade", or so I thought. The sprayer/pump work fine, no issues there. My complaint is the back pack straps, worst design. I load it up to 4 gallons. The elastic straps on the back are already showing wear after using it 4 times. The chest strap chokes your neck. The lower back support sits up way to high and isn't adjustable with out adjusting the shoulder straps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 43 (of 43 reviews)