Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(367 customer reviews)
Displaying 241 to 270 (of 367 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass killer is right!

    By Patty on 09/01/2017

    this stuff works great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No Joke

    By Chip on 08/19/2018

    Depending on your mix ratio and how much you apply, you can achieve from a slow death to an Agent Orange affect. Crab Grass and Clover do not stand a chance against this!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective in the Pacific Northwest!

    By Gary on 08/22/2018

    This product arrived promptly, in good shape and has been incredibly effective in controlling crab grass in my Oregon lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally

    By Bud on 08/28/2018

    Verified Purchase

    This product worked to perfection in killing off a stubborn infestation of crabgrass in my kentucky blue lawn. Mixed with DyneAmic Surfactant in a gallon handpump sprayer crab was dead in two days after application. 30 gallons overall. Had a heavy rain storm the third day after application which washed away dead crab and lawn is looking normal. Approximately 3/4 acre of lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide

    By Denny on 09/02/2018

    Fabulous product. Very specific to crabgrass. Works rapidly. Within two weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    No support from BASF

    By Jrm on 09/07/2018

    Stuff killed crabgrass sure but directions were confusing. 1.45 oz per 1000 sf. Amount of water not important. Tried to call BASF for help but they do not want to talk to public. So without setting up a major testing event I just winged it. It worked. Directions also said. Too much and you kill your lawn. To little and does not work. I used a mighty Mac 22gal spray system with modifications. I added a spray boom and a wireless remote control electric selonoid valve.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Post emergence crabgrass killer

    By Patricia on 09/07/2018

    Works great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Stuff

    By Carl on 09/07/2018

    This product kills crabgrass fast. Mowed lawn then applied product as directed using Duo Stick also and crabgrass was brown in three days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great...

    By Jim on 09/14/2018

    ... got rid of all the crab grass. Definitely worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works well

    By Nathan on 09/14/2018

    Product works very well. Don't skimp on the MSO, it makes a big difference.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product

    By Dale on 09/15/2018

    I sprayed this product late summer when the crabgrass was mature. It did an excellent job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    WANTED crabgrass killer

    By K. on 09/21/2018

    Have much crabgrass in my yard and am trying not to kill my Bermuda, so I purchased Drive herbicide. First spraying the temperature was in high 90s so I was told the temp should not be above 85. Resprayed when temp was in low 80s. No difference in results. Crabgrass flourishing. However I will say it did not effect my Bermuda grass, just turned color but survived.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    drive xlr8

    By Kevin on 10/07/2018

    The XLR8 works great on crabgrass ! 2 or 3 days turned brown (dead)!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Craig on 04/22/2019

    First time user with my new 25 gallon, 7 tip tow behind sprayer. Took me a tank or two to get everything dialed in but once I did, the dandelions were no match, the clover is on its heels and the crabgrass is stopped in it's tracks. My buffalo grass lawn is in need of serious TLC and Drive XLR8 is step one. Next will be some fertilizer and reseeding some areas. Will hit it again this fall, next spring should be big improvement.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive

    By Tommy on 06/29/2019

    Actually if you read the label and apply accordingly, in the right tillers it works great. If you killed out something, it wasn't drive, it was a applicators error. Been using it for 5yrs. May temporally discolor warm season lawns, but the crab grass will be gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very pleased

    By Ian on 07/05/2019

    Purchased this to get rid of crabgrass in a softball field with hybrid Bermuda. Mixed per directions with MSO and got very good results. I did get a little yellowing of the surrounding turf, which the label states can happen with hybrid Bermuda, but the grass recovered within a week. I'm very happy with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killer Crabgrass Killer!

    By George on 07/05/2019

    The past several summers, crab grass has invaded my bermuda lawn. I tried several national brand crabgrass herbicides from a home improvement store. Quite expensive and produced zero results. This year I tried Drive XLR8 and Prime Source Duo Stick. I mixed 1 1/2 oz herbicide to 1 gallon water +added stick in a tank sprayer. I sprayed the entire lawn. Within a week, all of the existing crabgrass had died. I will need to do a spot application in a few areas that new growth has appeared. 64 oz jug was about $60 or $1.42 per mixed gallon. Works and less expensive than worthless national brands.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good initial results

    By Casey on 07/26/2019

    The crabgrass started showing signs of distress after just 3 days. Turned darker purple then yellow within a week. The bermuda grass around it seems to be doing fine. I applied in 90 degree weather to tall crab grass that hadn't been mowed for about 2 weeks. Time will tell on if it keeps it at bay!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8 Crabgrass Killer

    By Dean on 08/02/2019

    Product works as advertised. Selectively killed the crabgrass only and left our ryegrass alone. I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Knocks crabgrass out!

    By Dale on 08/02/2019

    I had a so much crabgrass in my yard the fescue was barely visible. Within 2 days of applying Drive XLR8 the crabgrass was starting to brown and by day 6 all of it was completely dead. I used the Duo Stick Select surfactant with this and and believe it really helped with absorbtion. This stuff is expensive but does a great job killing crabgrass. Now I just need to keep up with using a pre-emergent to break the cycle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR

    By Ken on 08/02/2019

    I had very good luck with the herbicide. The hardest part was getting the proper amount for the area I wanted to cover. I would like to see better instructions for application's for larger areas.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass

    By Jimmy on 08/02/2019

    The best for crabgrass a must buy spray two times a year really makes a big difference if you have crabgrass you must try Drive it will make a big difference

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A true crab grass killer

    By Frank on 08/03/2019

    I had an explosion of crab grass last year and this year was no better! I tried other killers last year that really didn't do the trick. I tried XLR8 and couldn't be happier. It kills the crab grass quickly. In a week all the crab grass was yellow or brown. Next year I'll use it instead of the pre-emergence.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    WORKS AFTER JUST ONE APP

    By Kris on 08/06/2019

    Spray crab grass once and its dead in a couple days. After one day starts to turn a rust color, works perfectly in my cool season lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR 8

    By Daryl on 08/07/2019

    XLR 8 worked great on the old mature crabgrass in my Bermuda grass, Like it says a little goes a long ways. (Just don't use it on your lawn when it's 100deg in Kansas!)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DRIVE XLR8

    By Ed on 08/09/2019

    WORKED GREAT SPRAYED YARD ABOUT 4 DAYS CRABGRASS STARTED TO TURN BROWN LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Russell on 08/09/2019

    I had a particular evasive traveling grass that I could not kill short of killing my whole lawn. This product worked great. Killed that weed grass, but saved my lawn. This particular grass was so tough that it went right through my landscaping cloth and over ran my flower beds. I now have my flower beds back. I would definitely recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great on crabgrass

    By Brad on 08/11/2019

    Purchased this product along with the MSO. Sprayed my crabgrass on Monday and by Sunday it was orange. Wish I could upload a picture. I'm very happy with this product it worked exactly as described and I mixed it exactly as prescribed

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Purchaseing drive xlr8

    By Daryl on 08/16/2019

    Ordered and received in a very short time. Happy with the response and shipping

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Makes you less crabby

    By Rick on 08/17/2019

    Ordered on a Saturday night, received on Tuesday afternoon. When you get service quickly from far away, it's always a beautiful thing. Follow the directions, the maker knows the best rate for sure kill(use a surfactant- it is important) . If a second app is needed, Follow the directions. Enjoy the rewards. After 3 days I was seeing results! I have 10k sq ft and used the 1.45 oz/per 1k rate. The first app eradicated 90% of my crabgrass. After waiting 14 days I made a second "spot spray" walk through and required only a half gallon mixed. Sure beats hand pulling doncha know. PreM is on my list of lawn care must haves. Pure neighborhood envy/domination is my lofty goal.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 241 to 270 (of 367 reviews)