Customer Reviews for Duke Traps Heavy Duty Raccoon and Armadillo Trap (1112)

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(53 customer reviews)
Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 37 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works for armadillos!

    By Steve on 01/25/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had gone through 2 of the Hav-A-Hart spring loaded traps. Armadillos just destroyed them - pushed through the door and completely the bent the cage rendering it scrap metal trash. This design is dillo-proof. First night out, I caught dillo-zilla. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    65 of 66 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best trap ever

    By Duane on 09/03/2015

    Using trap to rid my yard of digging armidillos Trap is well built and strong enough to hold even the largest of armidillos Highly recommend DMOPC

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Armadillo proof

    By 'diller on 06/06/2017

    This is a 100% armadillo proof trap. I have purchased several "heavy duty" of a more popular brand but have had 3 armadillos escape. They bend other traps by pressing on the door (that closes on a 45 degree angle) until it springs open. 'dillers are powerful animals; This Duke Trap really is heavy duty, better built, better price, easier to set and nothing larger than a mouse will get out. I HIGHLY recommend this trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Third purchage was the charm

    By Dale on 05/08/2020

    I had purchased 2 other manufactures traps prior to purchasing this heavy duty Duke Trap.Folks , don't waste your time on any other trap, this one is hands down far better.My previous trap doors would not contain the the 25-30 lb raccoons. They could ram the trap door and bend the holding rod and escape.With the Duke trap that is not possible.Once the trap door closes the 2 steel rings slide down locking the door and prevents any escapes.I have trapped and removed 9 raccoons and 7 opossums since I purchased the Duke Heavy Duty Trap.I do have pictures of the large coons in the Duke trap, but it does not appear I can attach them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love it

    By Gene on 07/12/2017

    Caught coon first try. Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    caught the devil groundhog

    By Nolan on 05/28/2022

    I had purchased the default humane trap at lowes to trap the gargantuan groundhog that was eating my super hot peppers and everything else. I watched it near the trap and enter. Then he stepped on the trigger and the door slammed shut. Then he ran and rammed the door with enough force to break the lock. The duke trap is much more robust, and actually simpler. The beast (he was actually kind of cute) could not escape, and I released him humanely. Worth the money. Don't have a heart, have a duke! buy nice or buy twice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Better than Havahart

    By Dave on 03/11/2022

    This trap is much more sturdy than other traps. It does not get damaged after multiple uses and the Trip mechanism is simple and reliable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome trap, best release system ever!

    By Bob on 04/12/2019

    I have used many live traps to trap and remove animals in my campground and by far this is the absolute best one. Super sturdy construction, 2 different size cage material, smaller holes on the end where the food is places which makes it harder for the critters to get to it, therefore forcing them to go inside. The best thing is the closing system, two rings hold it shut when the critter sets off the closing mechanism. To get the door back open is easy, simply turn the cage over, the rings slide down and shazaammm, the door opens and I'm 20 feet away already! Outstanding, will definitely buy another if I need it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Outstanding trap

    By George on 08/02/2019

    Fantastic trap. The coons haven't escaped from this trap. Totally satisfied with the trap

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great for armadillos

    By Ron on 09/28/2019

    I have caught two armadillos so far, one an adult and the other about 2/3 grown. I'm about to set it again, as I seem to have another armadillo in my yard now. I had a professional animal control trapper catching moles in my yard recently, and he said his company uses the exact same trap I have! That made me even more certain that I made the right choice, and the price is quite reasonable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SIMPLE BUT 100% EFFECTIVE

    By Randy on 10/18/2019

    The locking mechanism on the trap door of #1112 is simple and reliable. There will be no great escapes. Other similar traps have inferior locking mechanisms on the trap door, thereby permitting a large Armadillo or Raccoon to 'check in' but also easily defeat the door and 'break out.'

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Good Trap

    By Lonnie on 03/11/2022

    Bought the armadillo trap on one day and found the trap on my front porch the very next day. No kidding! Set it that afternoon and caught the animal that had been hitting me since November the next morning. It was unable to break out of this trap after breaking out of two Hav-A-Hart traps previously.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Well Constructed

    By Stephen on 07/31/2017

    These traps are well, sturdily, and carefully constructed with a trigger than can be adjusted to varying degrees of sensitivity I have not yet put these traps into use, so my rating is provisional..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great trap !!

    By Anthony on 05/16/2020

    Verified Purchase

    The trap is definitely a upgrade from the big box store traps. It is heavy made. Domyown is great ! Ordered on a Wednesday evening and delivered on Saturday morning. If I upgrade from this one it will be a Tomahawk 108ss. This trap will be more than enough for a homeowner to lower the coon count around the house. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very good trap but SECURE the door shut !

    By Net on 08/26/2022

    The trap is well-made and very strong. You can release an animal by turning the trap over onto its top, at which point the door will fall open. So for big animals you may want to prevent that by a stake in the ground next to the trap, cinder block on top, or whatever. Bizarrely there are zero instructions with the product. Find out how to set it on youtube... not hard to figure. People say it will rust wherever the coating wears off. It's awkward to bait as-is, because you have to reach all the way in to the far end of the cage, and btw use a bait holder no more than about 3" wide or it might interfere with the trigger plate falling. One alternative is to set the bait down in the ground beneath the back end of the trap. I finally realized that a lightweight plastic laundry scoop taped to the end of a 24-30" stick was ideal... just gently lay it in the trap with the scoop beyond the trigger plate. Now I can change bait in 2 minutes without moving or re-setting the trap, or even getting down on the ground. NOW the big advice - and this is just the TL;DR: After it traps an animal but BEFORE you lift the trap at all, SECURE THE DOOR SHUT !! The best way to do this is to make sure that at least one of the O-rings can't move. Use a clamp, a clothespin, a small carabiner, a cable tie, a wire twistem, or even tie it down with string. Best is to immobilize both O-rings. I dislike long, chatty reviews but (1) I gave you the TL;DR above and (2) I was never more astonished in my life. On its first use, baited with a few chunks of tuna, the trap immediately caught the target large feral cat. Great! The door and its sliding / holding O-rings were solidly down, of course. I slowly lifted the cage a few inches off the ground, by its handle at the top center. Then the cat began to move quickly back and forth. Within two seconds this had the front and rear of the trap alternately diving down and shooting up. On one dive of the front end, the heavy O-rings didn't drop as fast as the cage (!) which allowed the door to open when the cat ran into it. And it was gone like a shot. Overall, maybe three seconds. So fast that I had no idea what happened - it just seemed like the door had suddenly become unfastened, which was "impossible". I only figured it out later. It was clearly a perfect storm of events. To look at the door and the rings you would never think this could happen. But it can! The same cat was re-caught a few days later and it tried the same thing - finally running into the door at full force. Bonk! Big surprise. Maybe it figured out later that the O-rings had been tied down... And btw thanks to DoMyOwn for having by far the best price, and sending the trap quickly and in perfect new condition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Heavy a duty!

    By Ron on 08/16/2019

    I have 3 of these. They consistently work. The 'Haveaheart' traps I had previously were all destroyed by trapped raccoons. These so far do not show any damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent

    By Melton on 06/22/2018

    I purchased this trap for Armadillos, the first week I trapped one possum and two Armadillos. I was skeptical of setting a trap with no bait. I placed it along side of a building being rooted and got two in a three day period. All you have to do is set it and forget about it, check at a distance and it will work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trapper76933

    By Teresa on 05/22/2020

    my trapper use this product for the time and loves it. It caught an armadillo and cage held up great. will soon be ordering more for our city

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Heavy Duty

    By Al on 09/02/2022

    Well made strong sturdy easy to use. No issues in the strong rain and wind of our tropical south Florida weather. Also I like the easy of not having to pull pins to release the animal ,just roll the cage to the carry handle and door drops open.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The only trap that works for Armadillos!

    By Ben on 08/20/2022

    This is the only trap on the market that works for armadillos, and I have tried them all. All the other traps will be destroyed by a determined, desperate armadillo. Now, you will need to reinforce the structure with some heavy bricks or boards surrounding it...but if placed properly, you'll be shocked how consistently effective it is. I've trapped (and eliminated over 30 armadillos in the last 8 years, and thus saved my yard and gardens.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hair Trigger

    By Jeffrey on 03/12/2023

    This trap has a hair trigger which can be a good thing. You should put something under it to make it set level if the ground isn't already level. That's often the case just outside a burrow. One thing is for sure: an animal is not going to walk out of this thing if it walks into it, until you open it by turning it upside down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally a cage that an armadillo can't bust out of!

    By Randy on 04/08/2023

    I had "caught" a pesky armadillo twice in other cages, only to have him push through the drop-down gate and escape by morning. The design and ruggedness of this cage is much better and there was no way for him to get out this time. Very good product - thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Varmit trapping

    By Tom on 06/28/2022

    Got here quickly and work well. Already caught three armadillos. Dukes traps are w-a-y-y better than the competition, simple trip and closure mechanism and are tough. Got these to add to one I've been using successively for twelve years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exellent Trap

    By Paul on 06/02/2023

    Works perfectly. Sturdy. Have caught two juvenile armadillos at a time, multiple times. They were never able to tip the trap over.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Heavy Duty

    By John on 05/06/2022

    Much better than previous live traps. The trigger plate is mesh instead of light solid aluminum.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Beast Mode

    By Mac on 10/20/2023

    This trap is made for the "big guys"! The large armadillo's can break out of the aluminum traps, but not this one!!! This trap is made of steel and is recommended for large armadillo's.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great!

    By Angela on 08/07/2020

    Easy to set up, caught raccoons, groundhogs and squirrels!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best trap I have ever used

    By Debbie on 07/26/2020

    A possum has been killing our chickens. Since we have been using the trap we have caught 8 raccoons and 6 possums.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for car or raccoon

    By James on 07/24/2020

    So easy to release whatever critter you catch. Heavy built which is really good for raccoon. Very easy to set and make hidden from animals being targeted. Recommend to all wanting a live trap. Three Ferrell cats in three days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Duke traps

    By Franklin on 07/24/2020

    Very sturdy, quick release mechanism and large enough for the critters in my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 37 reviews)