Customer Reviews for Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(138 customer reviews)
Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Forget it.....

    By Joseph on 11/22/2011

    I had high hopes for Extinguish Plus after reading an in-depth online review on fireant control from Texas. It was listed as one of the most cost-effective treatments - and I took the bait (pun intended). I have a 3 acre lot and the recommended application rate was 1 - 1.5 lbs / acre.... so, the 4.5 lb should have been just what I needed - right? Well, it sounded like a good idea until the product arrived.... the volume of the 4.5 lbs is quite small, making it next to impossible to accurately distribute over a large area with any common hand or drop spreader. I called DoMyOwnPestControl first to see if they had any recommendations.... the naive young lady who answered my call told me MOST people buy the 20 lb bag....... that would be about 7 times the recommended application rate (and over $200)!!! I'm sure the EPA would not look favorably on such wreckless advice. I then called the manufacturer - they recommended I map out 20' by 20' grids and apply the product in small mounds at the intersection of the grid lines...... so, that's what I did - a painstaking process that took several hours. I checked the bait after application and did see ants foraging the material. It's been over 2 weeks now - and the ants are as thick as they ever were... I detect little, if any, effectiveness. I would have done just as well to throw $70+ in nickles, dimes and pennies over the lawn. Don't waste your money (or time) with this product unless you plan on overdosing the environment with a 20 lb bag.....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    52 of 104 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Extginguish did not work for me

    By Sheila on 01/18/2017

    I used the Extinguish on a fire ant mound but it didn't kill any of them. When I checked it a few days later the entire colony was still there. No sign of dead ants. Will not buy this product again.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your feedback! Fire Ants can be tricky to treat because baits will only be effective while they are foraging. If the ants are not foraging - which is likely during the winter months - then you will need to rely on insecticides until the ants are looking for food again. A good quick test is to drop a few potato chips near a mound (without disturbing the mound) and then checking back in a couple hours to see if the ants are foraging on the chips. If they are, then it is a good time to bait. You can view more information and videos in our Fire Ant Treatment Guide here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-fire-ants-a-470.html We are also always happy to assist you over the phone at 866-581-7378, via Live Chat, or by email at support@domyownpestcontrol.com. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not working

    By Cecelia on 10/31/2016

    So far I have applied the fire ant bait twice in the last 3 weeks and have not seen any results of them dieing off. In fact they seem to be enlarging their territory!! Any suggestions please!!!! They are in my front yard area and at the adjacent neighbor property...

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you are not seeing the results you expected from the Extinguish Plus. It is possible that the fire ants in the area are not actively foraging and, therefore, not interested in any baits. I would take a few moments to review our Fire Ant Treatment Guide which includes tips for bait and also mound drenching with insecticide: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-fire-ants-a-470.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

    By Harvey on 12/31/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product did kill some ants, but after second application, still had some ants. The ants moved to a new location instead of being killed. Would definitely try another product.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We would recommend testing to see if the target ants are actively foraging before you apply the bait. A great test if to use a potato chip to see if fire ants are attracted to it. The best times to bait will be usually in the early morning or late afternoon and when soil temperatures are above 60 degrees F. Also be sure to keep the bait dry; do not apply within 6 hours of a rain event as wet bait will not be attractive. If you have further questions, we are always happy to assist you over the phone as well at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did Not Work - Try Something DIfferent

    By David on 03/12/2015

    After reading the reviews I was really hoping to take care of my ant problem. I mound treated, which I know it says is not as effective as broadcast, but I expected to kill at least one mound. It's been 9 days since treatment and it did not work. Not even the tiniest ant pile died. They ate the bait like crazy, but all for not. Time to try something else.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments. When using ant baits, we recommend reapplying the bait as long as the ants are accepting it. Sometimes this will be for a few days, sometimes a few weeks, depending on the size of the population. Be sure you are applying the bait when ants are actively foraging and soil temperatures are above 60 degrees. Also be sure the bait stays dry, since wet bait will be less attractive. You could also choose to treat individual mounds with an insecticide that is labeled for this use. Talstar P is a popular and economical choice: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/talstar-talstar-one-p-97.html. Per the product label: "Treat mounds by applying 1 oz Talstar Professional per mound in 1 to 2 gallons water by sprinkling the mound until it is wet and treat 3 feet out around the mound. Use the higher volume for mounds larger than 12

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Waste of money

    By Steve on 11/04/2016

    I chose this product because it is safe for use in horse pastures and it was recommended by DoMyOwnPestControl. I treated 10 mounds with this product, after 2 weeks of application the the mounds are still there and thriving. I would have at least expected the ants to move and create another mound as I have seen them do with other products. NOT recommended

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Save your money

    By Tim on 11/05/2017

    This was a waste of money! Did absolutely nothing! Buy Terra ant stakes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By Connie on 10/06/2018

    Fire ants just moved to new location. Very pricey. Going back to Amdro. Works better at half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bit

    By Kim on 05/10/2019

    have not found this to be an effective treatment. ants return to treated area within a short time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work for me

    By Deborah on 10/24/2019

    I started using the 5 lb product in August. For awhile it looked like it was really helping but now fire ants are multiplying. Large mounds. The customer service dept does not offer a money back guarantee and recommended that I use it for at least 2 years. This stuff is not cheap. I think I will go back to Amdro

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not as advertised

    By Mauricio on 12/10/2021

    I bought this product for the first time. I have all kind of ants in my backyard and nome of them liked the Extinguished Plus bait. Very disappointed :(

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not impressed

    By Tony on 05/18/2022

    I have treated several mounds twice in the past 2 weeks and they are still thriving! The ants take the bait but it doesn't kill! Huge waste of money, I'm going to try to get a refund after I finish this review. I have much better luck with the stuff from the big box stores.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you did not achieve the intended results. We would welcome the opportunity to troubleshoot the application to help get you the results you need. Please contact us at your earliest convenience!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Followed directions. Underwhelmed.

    By Larry on 05/05/2023

    Used as directed. Ants were on my potato chips in minutes. I spread it over 21/2 acres. (Says it will cover 3 acres ). After ten days, some beds are dead. Some are still active. A lot of work, little results!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews)