Customer Reviews for Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(138 customer reviews)
Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus for Myrmica Rubra

    By Jeremy on 07/08/2010

    I have been studying the effectiveness of various toxins in controlling a serious northern fire ant infestation on a small island off the coast of Maine. So far, the most practical combination seems to be an Insect Growth Regulator (IGR) followed by Hydramethylnon. Initially, I used Methoprene (Extinguish) and hydramethylnon (Amdro) sequentially, separated by about a week, then, a few weeks later, followed up with the two together (Extinguish-Plus). This seems to have virtually eliminated the fire ants from the treated area, at least for the present season. In another area, I used the Extinguish-Plus alone about a week ago. So far I have seen many piles of dead ant carcasses, indicating that the bait is working, but there are still plenty of worker ants busily carrying away more carcasses, so only more time will tell whether the substances used together is as good as the two used separately. I welcome the experience of others using these and other toxins.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Best product I have tried

    By Steve on 05/14/2014

    I have been using Extinguish Plus for the past 3 years. I have found it to be effective in controlling the population of fire ants. I use a Herd Kasco GT-77-ATV Broadcast Seeder/Spreader for ATV's to distribute Extinguish Plus. I follow the instructions provided by Auburn University based on the Moundville Study. The study reveals that it is better to eliminate most of the mounds, not all and let the remaining ones kill off new invaders. I apply in May and late August and only when the ants are active. Late in the day, after sundown. Drop a few potato chips around and if ants are present in 15 to 39 minutes, it is the time to apply. There seems to be a residual effect as I find fewer new mounds before treatment. Precision application is the key and the spreader provides exact distribution.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dead ants that don't come back, but use it quickly

    By Anonymous on 07/14/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Kills fire ants quickly, and they don't come back. The only down side is it goes bad in just a few months, even faster if exposed to moisture (like the heat and humidity here in Austin), so keep in inside not in the garage or shed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Too early to tell

    By Dave on 12/31/2010

    I moved into a new property where the prior owners weren't so good about treating for fire ants and there were hills everywhere. With 3 dogs I wanted to make sure that the yard was safe for them so I spread this over 3 acres in November and within about a week all the active ant hills died. Within the next week, however, I noticed new ant hills sprouting up and have been spot treating them. Come springtime I plan to do another broadcast spreading and am hopeful that will get things under control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pleased with results

    By Scott on 11/25/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Worked as advertised. Arrived in a timely manner(UPS).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By Mo on 10/01/2016

    Gets rid of 90% of fire ants. Use two times a year for great results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

    By Bill on 09/21/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff really works! No sign of any activity the next day or any relocation of the colony.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Kills, but.....

    By Nick on 04/24/2016

    Our new property in Florida was neglected, except for ants. Tons of species, sizes, mounds and areas covered with the lil bastards. Following directions, waiting for them to forage, dry, cool mornings and sparse spreading didn't solve issue. I needed to repeat several times, week after week, and then still have to treat mounds as they continue to survive. Problem has improved over time, but not a quick fix for sure. Good Luck.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ants

    By Steve on 09/11/2015

    Still working, saw results the next day. They immediately went for the product. So far so good. Will hold on 5 stars until I see final results. All in all it works. However still some roaming around will treat again soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    No more ants.

    By Jeremy on 05/19/2018

    Applied as directed. Mowed 2 weeks later and there was only 3 ant beds over 2 acres. Was able to spot treat those.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good product and works well

    By Anthony on 05/10/2019

    Good product and works well. Residual that fire ants do carry away does not seem to decompose after colony has been eliminated and should be cleaned up. Follow the label for best results!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ants

    By Regina on 05/23/2020

    this product worked very well... kill every mound it was applied.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff

    By Steven on 04/14/2023

    The product works very well, and it did not take the 8 weeks they said, No fire ant beds in my yard after a couple of days. The reason for a 4 star, it was hard to distribute 1lb per acre. How ever I weighted out a pound and then I had to get a little more because I spread too much but it was very effective, I will use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    1st try

    By Brian on 06/11/2023

    Applied then simmer storm came up. Waited 3 days applied 2bd time. I only treated front yard. No ants!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)