Customer Reviews for Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(138 customer reviews)
Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 103 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish + works but you have to follow the rules...

    By Jo on 03/12/2013

    We have had perfect results with this product for many years. You HAVE to understand HOW it works to be successful. Our process is as follows: 1. When ambient ground temp is 65 degrees (1st week of May typically), we broadcast 2 lbs per acre (looks like nothing, but it is sufficient), on a day when no rain is expected for at LEAST 3 days following. 2. Mound treat as needed through the summer. We are bordered by farm fields that are NOT treated, the edge of the field always need "help" and we can not treat their land. 3. Broadcast a second time in late September when no rain is expected and before a cold snap hits. Soil temperature is essential.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    109 of 112 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ants in Tampa, Florida

    By David on 06/13/2010

    Verified Purchase

    A friend of mine from Texas recommended this product to me. I am allergic to Fire Ant toxins. When I sprinkle this stuff over the mound, the ants grab it quickly and take it down the ant hole. The mound and ants are gone by the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    74 of 77 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The product REALLY works!!

    By Francis on 10/06/2008

    We were very pleased with the Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait we ordered September 14, 2008. We wish to go on record that this product REALLY works. We also were amazed at the quick receipt of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    34 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Where'd they go?

    By Jerry on 08/14/2012

    We bought 5 acres that had been ignored for some time with fire ants everywhere! Didn't know what a growth regulator was but thought I'd try this stuff since it was so highly rated. My next question, where'd the ants go? No more stinging dust clouds while mowing and the dog can play with the geese without getting bit. The negative...this stuff is so fine it is very very hard to spread thin enough to get the coverage rate recommended (I suggest you apply in stripes 20' apart instead of solid coverage and spot treat visible mounds in between,... or maybe mix with cornmeal to extend volume...haven't tried that yet so don't know) Oh yeah, read the directions, don't apply when its going to rain, not in cool weather (read dates on negative comments) and spot treat "around" the mound not "on" the mound. I'm sold and will use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    extinguish fire ant

    By Mp on 08/13/2011

    Excellent in killing these pest...once and for all.....it works great....buy it you won't regret the purchase...as soon as you put it on the nest...the ants take it all down into their colony......food for the nest....this kills the queen.....no more ants....they will not move to a new area as they are dead!...it is GREAT and really does work!...we have even spread it on all our pastures for the cattle....works wonderful!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly as advertised! Great product.

    By Sharon on 04/21/2010

    The product did exactly as it should. DMOPC continues to provide quality products at a great price, with exceptional service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus - Works Great!!

    By Garrett on 10/27/2011

    Verified Purchase

    We bought a new house and the backyard had a harvester ant colony with a couple nests. I ordered the 1lb jar, sprinkled some a couple inches away from the nest openings in the morning when they were active. As soon as I put it down they started bringing it back to the nest. At first it was only a couple ants foraging, but after a few minutes hundreds were grabbing it and taking it back. After the first day there was a noticeable decrease in activity in the colony, and I noticed numerous dead carcasses around the nest openings. After the 3rd day all activity had ceased and I haven't seen a harvester ant since. Very pleased!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This Stuff Works

    By Charles on 09/24/2012

    If you follow the directions this stuff actually kills off the fire ant colony. Unlike other products you use very little and do not have to wet it in. It is by far the most effective fire ant killer that I have ever used in my 2 acre yard

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing!

    By Monica on 07/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I dealt with ant problems many years ago and had your basic spraying exterminators come by, which didn't stop the problem at all. Then I found a great exterminator who used bait to sterilize the queen and therefore end the colony. So when I searched and searched for something to stop the hybrid red ants that were biting my (and my dogs') feet every time we were outside, I found Extinguish, and was very hopeful it would do the same. It did! This was so easy, the ants went for it right away and started dragging down their holes. Within a couple days they were gone!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Baker on 09/28/2011

    Works excellent for fire ants in Florida! I have tried others, but this is the best.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked fast

    By Lew on 08/12/2015

    I spread Extinguish Plus over 1 1/2 acres (by hand) but put extra around obvious mounds. There was no ant activity at any of the mounds after 2 days. Hopefully the entire colonies were affected. There are underground galleries that connect mounds (often in a straight line). I don't believe there are any spreaders that would be practical and accurate for spreading this type of bait at 1 1/2 lbs./acre, as that is a very small rate. I walk up and down the acreage and minimally dribble the bait (with vinyl gloves).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best I have found

    By Charles on 11/22/2015

    In East Texas, fire ants are a year round problem. Extinguish is the most effective product that I have found to control these pests. It can be broadcast or used in bait stations. And, it is safe to use around pets

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish....Great Fire Ant killer

    By Fire on 05/31/2017

    I hate hate hate Fire Ants.... I love to watch them die...this stuff does just that...Killer stuff...love it! Usually apply early spring, summer and then maybe a little treat just before winter :~). Shipping was lightening fast and outstanding customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    extinguish plus review

    By David on 06/09/2016

    this stuff works great. I did follow the directions to the letter. I even put a potato chip out to make sure the ants were foraging for food. I also bought from Lowes a small battery powered spreader for 20 bucks with the setting on #3. I'll order this product again next spring. By the way, I live in upstate South Carolina. It takes about two weeks to see the best results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff really works

    By John on 10/06/2015

    I used to have this product applied by a professional and this year, I decided to do it myself to save a little money. It works. There's nothing more to say about it. No fire ants on our ten acres.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great for Me

    By Sean on 11/02/2015

    I have been using Extinguish Plus for about 4-5 years now & if I remember to apply it twice a year, it works great. If I go more than +/- 9 months without doing it, I start seeing a few mounds. But no worries, one quick application & the ants are gone again within a few days & stay gone for 7-9 months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works fine if ......

    By John on 07/01/2016

    you must follow directions! i did not use "potato chip method". i observed mound in to see if ants were moving. even when ants are still digging, not necessarily feeding, they will take this into mound. it will take about 15 minutes but some "sucker ant" will succumb and take a granule to mamma. of course if they are feeding they will take it faster. kinda reminds me of watching my "ant farm" as a kid, remember those? do NOT put down if rain is expected !!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works in Orlando, FL

    By Meghen on 10/27/2016

    Our entire yard was full of fire ant nests. I bought this off of the positive reviews. As the instructions say to do, I waited until the fall which is late October for us in Florida. When I saw the ants coming out of the sand mounds I knew it was the right time to "feed" them. I patiently waited until the next Sunday so the ground would be damp from the sprinklers the previous night. I used a hand spreader that I'd washed out 3 weeks prior to remove all scent of the weed and feed I normally use it for. No exaggeration, the ants rushed out of the mounds to gather these granules as soon as they hit the ground. I was shocked so see dozens of ants carrying granules back into their nests. After 5 full days, I checked the front yard and there are no active nests. I'll check the back and side yards tomorrow. If you've ever been bitten or stung by a fire ant you'll agree this stuff is worth every penny to control them for even a year.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    What a great story! Thank you for your comments and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus for fire ants.

    By Mark on 11/15/2016

    Been using 2x annually for several years. Makes a dramatic impact on ant populations. Remember it is a "food bait", once opened apply pretty quickly. Also do not use under wet weather conditions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus

    By Ronald on 11/28/2016

    Great product, excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product.

    By Billy on 12/08/2016

    Does what they say it will do. Slowly get the ants out of your yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

    By David on 09/30/2017

    Been fighting fire ants all summer with little or no success using Spectracide. Extinguish Plus has worked in one application. Mounds are inactive and no recurrance in last two weeks. So far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really Works....

    By Donna on 09/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Sprinkle around mounds gone the next day great product. Customer service is also GREAT...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Thomas on 07/11/2015

    I broadcast this at 2 lb/acre over my 4 acres, once or twice a year, and it has eliminated 90-95% of my fire ants, and I had previously had 75-100 mounds on my property. It takes a few weeks to work. After the mounds are dead I level them, which helps me to identify any new mounds. Only a few new mounds pop up throughout the year, and I spot treat them. I live in North Alabama. I rolled the bag tightly and clamped it and it has kept without spoiling for 2-3 years, which is how long the 25 lb bag lasts me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Works

    By Stuart on 05/09/2016

    This stuff works. On 25 acres in East Texas. Put it around mounds, ant eat it like candy, ants die. don't come back. It works

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Product

    By Dave on 05/13/2017

    I have been using Extinguish Plus for the last 4 years. It works very well and knocks the fire ants back for most of the season. Always purchased through DoMyOwn. Always the best deal and delivery has always been prompt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

    By David on 08/16/2017

    Bought this to help with ants invading my vegetable garden, particularly the okra. I have raised beds inside of a fenced area. Put the bait on the outside of the fenced area and around the outside of each raised bed. Worked great. Haven't seen ants in days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So Far, So Good

    By Robert on 05/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Bought this to treat what I thought were Fire Ants but after more research, I determined they were Harvester Red Ants. Either way, they had sent my dog to the vet with some nasty swollen paws, and me home with a nice vet bill. I spot treated individual ant holes as I discovered them over a 1 acre pasture. I sprinkled this stuff around the holes and they went nuts carrying it back to their nest. Within a few day to a week, not a living ant to be found. It's been about a month now and still no sign of ants. I'm very pleased with this product. Follow instructions and hopefully you will as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ant Bait

    By Bill on 07/05/2015

    I applied as directed by instructions to my lawn and the next day it looked like a ghost town. I did not see any ants. I'm happy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wonderful

    By Janet on 09/05/2015

    I love Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait. It is worth the money. When I lived on 2.6 acres I spread it two years in a row and didn't have fire ants year 3. Now I live on 40 acres with 10 acres of pasture. Right now I have to top dress the mounds and it works well that way too. I like spreading it better. Just follow the directions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 103 reviews)