Customer Reviews for Grass Out Max (Clethodim Herbicide)

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(90 customer reviews)
Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good grass killer

    By Joseph on 08/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this product to use on my food plots. It arrived timely, and I mixed the product with 2.5 oz per gallon of water. I mixed in some sticker as indicated, and used a backpack sprayer to apply. I didn't see any immediate action (first couple of days) but finally noticed that it was working. It took out the crab grass in my clover field without harm to the clover. My plots are about 1/3 acre; I would suggest that you map out a route to insure complete coverage if you use hand sprayer like I did, as I missed a few spots do to walking deviations. I recommend this product for use in food plots.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    124 of 128 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty Good

    By K on 07/13/2016

    I wasn't sure how well this would work. Killed the grass in the wife's flowers and in a patch of crimson clover. It took about two weeks to start seeing results. Everything looks pretty good. Product arrived quick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    You need to be patient

    By Jonathan on 07/03/2020

    Use this to try to kill perennial rye and Kentucky bluegrass that was quite long. It took quite a while for it to work close to a month so it is a very slow process. You have to be patient with this product at least for what the application that I used it for.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works okay so far

    By John on 05/25/2018

    I have applied the Grass Out Max once so far. After a couple weeks I am seeing some evidence of it working. May apply it a second time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out consintrate.

    By Roger on 06/08/2018

    Service was great and fast. Product worked well and was very cost effective compared to hose end applications. Will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out

    By Warren on 08/13/2018

    It does eliminate the grass, but you have to be patient. It works better if you add a teaspoon of dish detergent per gallon of mix. The plus is that you can mix your own- much cheaper than Grass-Be-Gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    it works!!

    By Roy on 09/15/2021

    tried this product on my fairly new strawberry bed. Used sparingly just in case. After several days I began to think id skimped a bit much on the mix. a few days later I begin to see the big grass yellow....and several days after pretty much all yellow........as in goodbye grass and hadn't bothered the berry plants at all......Time to hit it again full strength!!! If there's a downside I'd say the mix ratio should be more obvious for the home gardeners...it's very clear for those who are spraying on a large scale Also more appropriate size for the gardener...... I've enough now to last me for a loooooong time......hope there's no expiration date :(

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty much does as it should. Fast service.

    By Pam on 09/24/2021

    I gave it a 4 star as it is slow but my grass is way over the recommended height. That said, I didn't want to use roundup around my ornamentals to clean out the beds from grass as it will kill everything. I purchased to get rid of grasses and not kill my large clover patches. I seem to be growing quite a crop of crabgrass — could harvest and sell it. ????. Need to start early next year. If you aren't using around ornamentals — use it with MSO as directed. I used a non ionic surfactant as recommended by manufacturer for use around ornamentals and beds of plants, etc. and without killing my clover used as ground cover in vegetable garden. . The disease the manufacturer - actually got to talk to the owner - was the Grass Out at 1/2 Oz per gallon amd the surfactant per its label. Please be careful that the perennials, annuals, etc you are spraying around are not part of the grass family. It will kill anything grass. It does not kill broadleaf weeds which is why it doesn't kill ornamentals etc. I have every grass weed known to man in my lirope (Lily family), spiderwort, Iris, and strawberry beds. I will go back and avoid spraying ornamentals with active ingredient 24-DB which doesn't kill clover, alfalfa, etc. but does kill other broadleaf weeds but not grasses. Make sure you carefully read the labels for both products and if you don't want to kill clover or legumes — make sure you use 24DB not 24D which kills all broadleaf weeds and legumes. Read the labels before using either product — Grass Out Max has different doses for different uses and veggies, etc. - also different lengths of time to wait before harvesting after spraying. Note legumes need to be well established before spraying. Grass Max is a post emergent. It's best to use something early in the season as a pre emergent to keep grassy weeds from germinating and getting established if you can. Agrisel (manufacturer) customer service was very helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Still in the works

    By Bob on 05/08/2020

    Sprayed grasses in food plot at about 3”, after 2 weeks it looked like a 50/50 kill off. I sprayed again, we'll see what the results are in a couple weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Need better mixed rates

    By Tim on 08/28/2020

    Had to guess on oz to water rates to thin first application had to increase oz to gal mixture

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works well - container not built for shipping

    By Tim on 03/13/2023

    The product worked as advertised. Mine leaked about 4 ounces during shipping which soaked the cardboard box; I doubt the delivery guy was happy. Please consider putting this item in a zip-lock type bag prior to boxing to avoid product loss.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    My thoughts.

    By Jim on 06/03/2023

    So far so good. Now let's see what happens over time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)