Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(593 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$55.53

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 38 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    TENACITY HERBICIDE

    By Rob on 09/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have used tenacity in several situations, and overall, it has been fairly effective. I originally purchased it to control nimblewill, post emergence. It was only moderately effective, although I think the nimblewill already had too much of a head start. The mature nimblewill did have white leaves, but I did not see any effect on the plant growth (or death). It has been effective against crabgrass, also post-emergent. I have also used it against Japanese Knotweed, post heavy injections into the stems with Roundup concentrate, on the regrowth after 3 doses of the above. There has been whitening of some leaves, but I have only today retreated this patch of one of the worst weeds I have ever seen. I am hopeful that the 2nd treatment will be more effective than the 1st one. By the way, my wife really didn't like the white patches in the lawn!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 54 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity herbicide

    By Bill on 09/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I'm not sure I used the right dilution. Instructions only cover one acre. How about mixing in oz/teaspoons per gallon for hand sprayer. I used a little over one teaspoon/gallon. Have soon no results but maybe I'm too impatient. Can you help?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 57 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity for crabgrass in blue/rye grass central IN

    By Anonymous on 06/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I usually use pre-emergent crabgrass (CG) control, but I needed to fill in bare spots from last years drought. I used Tenacity at 1 tsp per gallon with 3 tsp of non-ionic surfactant, i.e., 5 oz per acre as a spot treatment... difficult to do since CG is so ubiquitous. It seems to kill young CG well after 3 days dry & sunshine but washes off with rain after about 36 hr requiring re-treatment. It will kill other wide blade grasses (mature ones) that you may not recognize as CG and it's a little rough on newly emerged ryegrass in my hands at this rate. I just keep hoping to knock the CG back as the season continues.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Never ending battle of Bentgrass

    By Kathy on 10/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I heard so many great things about Tenacity that I needed to try it to remove my lawn of bentgrass. This is my 3rd application and I still have bentgrass. It does work but expect at least 6 weeks of an unsightly lawn with each application. You will also have to keep reapplying it so your lawn will look unsightly again. Also it is costly but you only need 1/2 teas per gallon of wate.r Could be because of the amount od bentgrass that I have but I wish it would work quicker and more effectively. One plus, is that it does not damage the good turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Nimble weed control

    By Bem on 10/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Put it down at half strength to control nimble weed. It appears to be killing nimble weed but the tall fescue doesn't look so good as well. Everything turning white, Hopefully grass will come back

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    My first experience with Tenacity.

    By Roger on 04/18/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had plenty of rain in the week after Tenacity application. Within 5 to 7 days the weeds, including crabgrass, buffalo grass, clover and other broad leaf plants began to turn yellow and then white, and die. Where the application was heavier the color change was more dramatic. I seeded with fresh good quality seed, a blend of the new varieties of K-31 and other cool season home turf grasses. As of 16 days I have very little new grass appearing in my yard. It has been a wet spring in Chattanooga,therefore water is not the problem. I am beginning to wonder if the claim that you can apply Tenacity and seed all in the same day of two is really true. I hope so; the seed costs me almost $1,000. If the grass seed does pop up I will be sure to add that to this note. As a herbicide, it seems to be doing well. I am going to wait to apply the second application of Tenacity until I see what the grass seed really does do.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    FAIR

    By George on 07/22/2016

    the product is good in killing the purslane but it does kill some parts of the buffalo grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not suitable for residential use

    By Mikeb on 05/26/2017

    I'm using this on bluegrass lawn to control wild violets, crabgrass and nimble-will (sp?) The action is terribly slow and then requires a second application prolonging the desired results. Weeds do seem to be declining except for clover which is relatively unaffected. The white spots throughout my lawn are really irritating to have for 3-5 weeks AND it is really expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not sure yet

    By John on 06/18/2017

    After first application turned whole yard brown. Most of the "good" grass is starting to come back now. Its been about three weeks. A little hesitant to put second application down because I don't want to stress yard out again. Looks bad now but may be worth it in the end. Time will tell...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    tenacity

    By Fred on 08/22/2017

    had mixed results last fall. waiting for rain to go at it again. fighting creeping bent grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Works good on some weeds, not on others

    By Steven on 07/12/2020

    This stuff works great on crabgrass and sledges, but doesn't work so good on wild violets or tall fescue weeds. Overall, a lukewarm herbicide.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bleached my Good grass

    By Emmanuel on 05/22/2020

    After applying the product started noticing that the weed was turning white and my blue grass as well, if I would've known this I wouldn't applied the product since it's been 2 weeks and my good grass still white, I thought the product was going to target and kill just the weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Cindy on 05/06/2022

    Ordering and receiving the pkg was good as usual but after reading about it again so I would use it properly I found that a lot of the people who have purchased and used it are not happy with the results, wish I would have bought something else as it is expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Save the money. Better solutions are cheaper

    By Jerry on 08/16/2019

    Followed the directions, used a dye, and a surfactant. It did almost nothing. I gave it two weeks and saw a few unwanted grass just start to die. But all of the weeds and ivy was untouched. I went to a local tractor supply store and purchased a gallon of pasture pro for $30, same mixture, same dye, etc. Weeds started to die in two days and were almost all dying one week later. Not sure if I just got a bad bottle of tenacity or what but I will stick with Pasture Pro in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    What to expect

    By Dave on 06/08/2023

    First off, this stuff works. But it works like glyphosate works. My cool season lawn was becoming overrun by wild violet and some poa patches. The wild violet was out of control and extremely difficult to pull since there's a huge fat root below the scrawny leaves. You get the leaves and flowers, but the root stays. After a while I tried spot application with tenacity. The weather was mid-spring cool, daytime highs in the mid 60's. About 5 days after application everything that was touched by the product began to bleach, even the bluegrass and fescue in my lawn. It made the lawn look hideous. I had to resort to paint to hide the damage a bit. It did indeed kill the wild violet, but it also killed the grass. I tried lowering the application rates and in that case the violet and grass both bleached but neither of the two died. After a few weeks it looked like nothing had been done. So I'm at my wits end with tenacity. It's expensive and so far has done nothing but what I could've accomplished with glyphosate. From what I've uncovered in research it appears that even if tenacity does work killing weeds, it will at a minimum bleach your grass for a few weeks, which hopefully will regrow. That's how it's supposed to work. I didn't expect that. So if you apply this expect your lawn to look hideous for a few weeks but hopefully able to recover minus the weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide kit

    By Dale on 05/19/2023

    It works to certain extent, but not really worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work as well as I thought it would...

    By Bill on 09/16/2022

    Verified Purchase

    Just put down the second application about ten days ago. It worked Great killing crabgrass turning it white. Other weeds not so much. Looks like it had no effect at all on nutsedge and less then desired effect on carpet weed. I have had Poa Annua so I'm hoping it works to stop that next year. Had been using another product that worked well on it...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    tenacity - used in mid March on RTF fescue

    By John on 03/25/2022

    Creedmoor NC , tall fescue and RTF fescue lawn . 2 gal sprayer over entire lawn, rain followed three days after . Weeds faded after two weeks , some minor bleaching of fescue . Bleaching of Orchard grass and Creeping Red fescue is more visible and fine if it retards their growth.Follow up spray may not be needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    So Far, So Good

    By Suzanne on 08/02/2021

    We finally used the product a few days ago. The dye works well to identify the area sprayed. We're still waiting to see if the herbicide is going to work on the problem weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Still waiting on the results

    By Inspector on 03/26/2021

    I can't review the product at this time . To soon to tell

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Time will tell

    By David on 08/29/2020

    I tried this product out after watching a silver cymbal vid on you tube. Four days later still no results. So I tried a second application wi more tenacity than required five days later it's starting to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    So so results

    By Leon on 08/21/2020

    Product does kill crab grasps but also kills other grasses around it as well. Must use extreme care when spraying if you just want to kill offending grasses.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Don on 07/31/2020

    My lawn looks terrible. Full of polka dots of dying grass The weeds and crabgrass seems to be dying too however this is primary showing season for my lawn, but it looks like crap. The directions say J can apply follow up to get stuff I missed, but I really don't want my lawn to look so bad for the rest of the growing season. I know centipede is delicate, but, I'd rather rather pull the weeds myself.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Might need higher rate

    By Joe on 10/12/2023

    I have a large amount of barnyard grass in my cool season lawn. Everyone says to use a half a teaspoon per gallon because that's what's on the syringe. After three applications, spaced about 3 to 4 weeks apart, I still have all my barnyard grass. To be fair, my first application may have gotten above 80° on a few days which is not recommended. My second application seemed perfect, yet nothing really died. Third application seems about like the previous. Grass gets sick, but does not die. I noticed the label says to use 4 to 8 ounces per 30 gallons of water. If I take the midpoint of 6 ounces per 30 gallons that's over 1 teaspoon per gallon, double what the syringe says. Has anyone shot it at a 1 teaspoon per gallon rate? I don't want to give up on Tenacity quite yet. I used surfactant of course too.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear Tenacity did not work as expected. Barnyard grass can require a combination of both pre-emergent and post emergent control as well keeping up with overall healthy lawn care. Tenacity works best on newly emerged young weeds more than on mature grassy weeds so timing can be key for post emergent control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Challenged home owner

    By S on 04/05/2024

    Not sure when mixed for a small lawn area it can me mixed and applied effectively, as was in my case. Poa annua was the target…. Limited result

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity on cool season grass

    By Jim on 07/24/2020

    This product seems to have a lot of hype around it online so I figured I would give it a try. What I like: you can use it as a pre-emergent herbicide with new seeding What I don't like -- in post-emergent applications: 1) It is SLOW -- other herbicides seem to work much much faster than Tenacity. Results seem to take multiple weeks 2) Instead of turning weeds brown or yellow, it turns them white -- doesn't sound like a big deal but in practice the weeds actually become MORE noticeable. And because it's slow (see #1) you end up with weeks of white spots in your lawn 3) Some weeds appeared to need a second application after 2-3 weeks to fully knock them out. This is mentioned on the label but other herbicides seemed to knock out the same weeds with only one application

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Still waiting

    By Jeremy on 05/03/2020

    I followed the instructions to the letter and saw very minimal change. I mean the dandelion died quickly but that was it. I did notice a small percentage of the creeping charlie leaves get a speckle of brown on them but they certainly didn't die. Its been 2 full week and we have had rain in that course of time but as of yet I don't see the value in this product that accurately reflects it's price. I just put down a second application and I stepped up the dosage by 50% so we will see. If this round doesn't get it I going to just have to pay a local company to rid my yard once and for all. I mean it look like it'll be months and bottles of the tenacity before this product work. I'll update if something changes but if not, well you get the picture.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Mediocre at best

    By James on 05/02/2020

    I really wanted to like this product, but after my second year of using it I find it to be mediocre. I have followed the directions exactly including using surfactant, and my experience is that 1) it partially kills off some weeds, but leaves others unscathed (it's totally ineffective against clover), and 2) it takes forever. Do you like to wait six weeks for a weed to die? I don't. My dandelions are dying off, but the product works so slowly that they have had time to flower and seed. My lawn has the same or more weeds after two seasons on Tenacity than it did in the past using cheap and fast Weed-B-Gon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Works OK on Some

    By Barry on 04/17/2020

    Did fairly well on chickweed and ok on dandelions. Probably would have performed better in late summer early fall with a follow up in spring. My yard is too large to handle the weeds and afford the ability to do so

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Still not sure if it'll kill my Crabgrass.

    By Ed on 04/17/2020

    Almost 2 weeks now and some slight discoloration of the crabgrass stalks. Some heavy duty stuff at 1 tsp per gallon of water. Using on centipede and very hopeful for success. Instructions say it'll kill post emergent poanna as well. I haven't tried that yet, waiting on Summer heat to kill it and then use pre emergent next year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 38 reviews)