Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   233
4 stars   53
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   12

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(323 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 323 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not sure yet

    By Noza on 10/05/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed most of termite damaged ridge boards, open frames, attic, under floor, etc., but it looks like termites keep coming back from ground and still inside of walls. I found out that I have more subterranean termite damages than drywood termites. I might need to pour Termidor mix into ground later but I need to prevent whatever damages already have done. I am not sure whether it is working or not but I am praying on Bora-Care to work as others mentioned. I need to find out how to penetrate inside of walls with foam filled.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't waste your money

    By Rl on 04/07/2017

    I drenched the wood beams in my barn and the termites came back after a couple of months.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you have not seen the results you expected from the Boracare treatment. There are many factors that can contribute to termites returning. You did not mention whether you have drywood termites, subterranean termites, or both. We would be happy to troubleshoot with you over the phone: you can reach us at 866-581-7378.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product with a decent price

    By David on 11/06/2015

    I am very familiar with Bora-Care as I have used it on my log cabin to be rid of powder post beetles, and prevent future attacks. This purchase was for helping a friend who had gutted his old house for renovation. I recommended he treat his framing, rafters, and joists with Bora-Care and he agreed. The product is very viscous and must be mixed in a bucket before putting it in a sprayer. I used a cheap garden pump-sprayer. Bora-Care is easy to clean up with water and when dried, leaves a slight powdery residue on the wood. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I'm optimistic

    By Jim on 11/11/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I just applied this to a timber frame that has minor powder post beetle damage on two timbers (out of more than 100). I used up the entire gallon in a 1:1 mix to treat the frame. One thing that helped a lot, I could tell, was using hot water (probably 110 degrees F or so) to mix it. It dissolves much faster in the hot water. I am impressed at how well it wets the dry wood. I'll know whether it worked next July, but based on how well it seemed to penetrate, I'm pretty optimistic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome stuff, just cover EVERYthing that's left in room :-)

    By Dc on 03/09/2016

    It's been two weeks now since spraying on, mixed 1:1. Our home is mostly wood floors, walls and ceilings. Covered the floors, forgot about the windows, was a sticky mess to clean up, but oh well :-) Have not seen any teensy, eensy wood shavings on my counters or tables. This stuff kills and it's supposed to last for years. It took 4 gallons, sprayed on, to cover about 1800 square feet. Worth it! Saved us about $5000, according to the bug guy who came out. They would've had to tent the house! Shipping was FAST! Thank you guys, hope we never have those little critters that can lay dormant for over a year, again, but if so, we know who to buy from.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent

    By Michael on 01/27/2015

    Verified Purchase

    We had termites on the plywood under our roof / ratio decking. We demo the roof /patio done to the plywood which was infected, remove the ply wood and re-enforce the 2 by 12's as necessary and brought the roof up to earthquake standards. Everything was sprayed. I also used the suggested sprayer and hot water and about a 3 to one ratio. Everything was as advertised, so far so good. I would suggest that a thin caulking with Borocare be invented as plywood never aligns perfectly and their are alway places to caulk. I will be purchasing my second gallon when we pull up the rest of the roof after the rains have turned to sunshine.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments. Boracare can be applied with a paintbrush or roller in areas where it may be difficult to spray. There is also a ready-to-use formulation of Boracare called Jecta that is excellent for spot treatments or areas that are otherwise challenging to treat: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/jecta-p-931.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    molassis

    By Joseph on 11/10/2017

    Someone should warn buyers. This stuff is so thick that it WILL plug up a garden sprayer. It does not mix with water easily and you will get a plugged up sprayer. It is super thick.. much thicker than honey.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your response! Boracare is a very thick liquid, which is why the mixing instructions on the product label advise to use an impeller-type mixer to mix your solution in a separate container first, and then put your finished solution into your sprayer. If you try to mix the product by shaking right in your sprayer, you will not get a consistent solution. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Well

    By Sockmonkey on 08/26/2017

    I mixed it according to directions. It worked great. I'm glad I read the label where it said that hot water can be used for ease of mixing! This stuff has the consistency of Karo syrup, and the hot water really helped mix. After application, small Bark Borers came out that I hadn't even seen.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Potent, easy to use and cost-effective

    By Anonymous on 08/19/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My local termite company wanted $800 to treat my modest home with Bora-Care. I paid $144 for 2 gallons for this stuff and treated my entire house. Yeah, the sprayer costed $50, but that's still a savings of $600+. Thank you, DoMyOwnPestContro.com. You saved me hundreds of my hard-earned dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Darcy on 11/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The product is a thick liquid about the consistency of hand lotion. I painted it on with a brush and it stayed on top of the wood for about two days. Most products stay on the surface and never reach the termites inside the wood. The fact that Bora-Care soaks in and reaches termites inside the wood is very important. After two days it was dry and paintable. I haven't seen a single termite since I used Bora-Care.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    awesome customer service!

    By Lynda on 03/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    My gallon came damaged, and as soon as I e-mailed the company, a brand-new one was sent out immediately, with no need to deal with the post office or send pictures. I felt like the company really wanted to make sure I got what I paid for, which I appreciated very much. The product itself seems to have worked fine, and was easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    hard to use product

    By Kim on 03/24/2017

    I don't know whether this works or not. I will say it's difficult to impossible to use if you don't have anything to stir with other than a paint stick. It does not spray well since we couldn't get it to mix with water, and we did follow directions (ie add to water, not the other way around). So it got dribbled rather than sprayed and coverage was therefore poor. I'd recommend painting with it, so you can spread it better. However, our place is on a barrier island, and once we're there by water taxi, what we don't have, we don't have.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. The Boracare is best to mix with an impeller-type mixer like one you would use to mix paint. You can then apply it with a sprayer, brush, or roller. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Treatment cost is insignificant

    By Steve on 04/28/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Last Thanksgiving, I discovered that Eastern Subterranean Termites had begun infesting our 100 year old house. I have been remodeling for five years and have previously seen no evidence in any areas I have worked. Nevertheless, they have significantly consumed a door frame and wall which I installed three years ago. Therefore, I think the infestation must have started in the summer following that work, two years ago. Over the winter, I have employed a four fold strategy to try to discourage further activity. Since there were no mud tubes visible on the outside or inside of the concrete block foundation, I filled the blocks with dry concrete sand mix. I have also trenched and soaked about 100 gallons of 0.1 percent Dominion 2L down the outside of the block walls and have installed Advance bait traps around the perimeter. Most importantly, I have thoroughly saturated all base plates from at least one side with 50 percent BoraCare solution; once last winter and again nearing spring. Initially, I considered a much cheaper water based borate but, having observed the feeding behavior through the center of framing members, I am convinced that the deep saturation of BoraCare's propylene glycol carrier is essential to protection. Furthermore, the expense of treatment is insignificant compared to damage remediation. So far, I have observed no fresh activity this spring but I will need to continue vigilant monitoring. Termites are a serious challenge and Do My Own Pest Control has been a tremendous resource.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare for powder post beetles & termites

    By C.decker on 02/01/2016

    We used the Boracare for powder post beetles & termites. We used it in a mister w/ a extra long extension cord to plug out side as our crawl space is not more than 3' for 1/2 of our house & 6' in the back 1/2. We took the advice of the sales lady from the company who told us to be sure to use an electric drill w/ a paddle to stir for 15 min. It worked perfectly & did the job. No clogging just be sure to wash your mister after using. C. Decker

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare Works

    By Philip on 11/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Excellent service. Boracare arrived quickly and with minimum packaging. Stuff works great and gets rid of almost every insect without using poison. If you buy this stuff locally, it costs twice as much as this online store.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't soak deep enough into wood to get the beetles

    By Clayton on 10/04/2015

    Boracare claims to soak deep into wood to get the beetles that are nesting inside. I had to use 2 to 3 times more than necessary because the spray had a hard time soaking into the wood even pushing a roller after the spraying. Most of the Boracare ended up dripping onto the floor of my garage instead of soaking into the garage walls/beams. Afterwards I test sprayed Boracare on the side of a brand new 2 x 4 and could see looking at the end grain, that it had barely soaked into the side. So hopefully Boracare on the surface of the wood will help, because I don't see it soaking deep into the wood like it claims.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Boracare soaks into the wood by displacing the moisture in the wood. This is a long process and can take several weeks vs just a few hours or days. Older wood has less moisture and can impact how deeply the product can penetrate. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. We are always happy to help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Two for One results

    By Larry on 11/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    After noticing some saw dust like shavings in an open out building and some large round fly like critters entering some holes about 3/8" dia in the wood, I decided to do something about it. I sprayed BORA-CARE on the wood around the area and had some over spray on other wood. the next day I noticed a completely different fly like critter all over. Old house beetles had exited and were caught in the windows. I then sprayed it all and couldn't believe the exellent results of elimating both of types of beetles. This is the best and easiest product to use and I will keep some on hand to use when necessary in the future. I just ordered another BORA-CARE. Thanks so much for your promt curtious service and professional advice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By Wb on 01/14/2017

    Good product but a bit hard to mix because of thickness.Additionally, adding other pesticides doesn't work well, they sink to the bottom and harden. Buy more than enough to coat every piece of wood exposed or insects will find a home in the untreated wood. Bora Care does not treat pressure treated wood.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We would not recommend mixing any other products with Boracare unless it is a spray indicator. To mix Boracare, use a separate container from your sprayer and use an impeller-type mixer for best results. You will then pour the finished solution into your spray equipment to apply it. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wonderful product!!!

    By J. on 12/05/2016

    Our small cottage experienced water damage in the crawlspace. A result was wood rot fungi in the outer wall and on the crawlspace joists/beams. After replacing most of the outer wall, we found the joists/beams to be 'sound' so researched finding a solution for the fungi. Bora-Care came highly recommended so we gave it a try. Wow!! Wish now I had taken photos of the before and after. Horrible, orange fungi literally died and turned black within a day or two and started peeling (oozing) off. Now that the joists/beams are clean (I ended up wiping some off with paper towels as I was crawling around under there), I'm going to go back and give everything a 'protective' treatment just in case (also treated the new wood as well and installed a dehumidifier). Amazing product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Rob on 04/02/2015

    Verified Purchase

    It was easy enough to use. I just followed the instructions, and sprayed it on the wall cavities, and on some old logs in a cabin. I will let you know in 10 years, how well it keeps back pests, and mold.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare is Great Stuff

    By Billy on 11/17/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I've used Boracare in renovations on wood window frames and sashes, wooden porch columns, interior structural members and on the exterior when sealed with a couple of coats of penetrating oil primer. It works great and soaks deep into the wood. I've also used it in new construction, putting it in a garden sprayer and coating the lower 4 feet of sheathing and framing before closing in the walls. Dilute it 50/50 with hot water. It's non-toxic and cheap insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Salvaged Wood Carvings

    By Irene on 08/08/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I had purchased quite a few deeply carved very heavy wood carvings from temples in India almost 50 years ago. When we checked them out for packing for our move to Virginia, they were teeming with powder post beetles. I almost threw them out! I cleaned off what I saw and packed them up in plastic. Recently, I was brave enough to open them. I prayed about something to destroy the infestation. My daughter went on line and found Boracare. My son followed the directions exactly and let them dry thoroughly on the garage floor. Then we sprayed Liquid Gold on all sides and let that dry. They turned out beautiful! I plan to use this product on other antique wood furniture that I had from my 30-year old antique business.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Lucy on 11/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Was easy to use. Be sure you add water first then chemicals. Was thick, so shake well before spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/06/2013

    I only gave it 4 because it hasn't been long enough to know how well it worked long term. Be sure to use warm/hot water to mix it as it comes out of the bottle the consistency of honey. Sometimes hard to tell where you left off, so use a push pin to mark your spot when refilling or taking a break. Rented a pressure washer ($50) plus cost of Boracare plus my time instead of a quoted price of $1000 to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Karen on 10/21/2014

    Material came in a timely manner. Read online reviews and took folk's suggestions to mix with very hot water...seemed to do the trick as the material mixed well with the warm water and we had no trouble spraying. It's an expensive product and we used a lot more than we thought we would need. As far as "how did the product do?".... It will take a year or so to see if we have more powder post beetle problems, so my rating will be a conservative 3.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare-Powder Post Beetles

    By John on 01/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Boracare arrived in a concentrated 1 gallon container. It has the consistency of syrup (slightly thick) and I diluted it with water on a 1 to 1 basis. I could not find my sprauer so I rolled on the first application with a paint roller. I also brushed on a door facing that needed treatment. I used one gallon of the two gallon diluted solution and then I found my sprayer. I sprayed on the last coat of Boracare and I preferred the sprayer. I used plastic gloves, googles and old clothes. Did I get some on me? Yes. I threw the clothes away including underware and tennis shoes and took a quick shower. In summary, I put 2 coats on the wood that needed treating. This will be a five star rating if I got rid of the powder post beetles (which I won't know for about 3 months). Instructions from the supplier were excellent. Now it is wait and see. One suggestion-Don't ever use old wood for new house construction!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ants

    By Geoff on 01/30/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I assume the fluid will do as claimed! It is a concentrated syrup that one dilutes with with hot water. As it dries it forms a skin and also soaks into the timber. The smell is modest and an ordinary hand pump garden spray will spread Boracare AFTER being fully diluted as per instructions. I blocked my equipment first try owing to the gelatinous nature of the raw material. Hot water soon cured the problem and I hope I have soaked the surrounding timbers enough having removed stucturalty damaged flooring eaten by carpenter ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Wood Termite Treatment

    By Manford on 09/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I recently had an experience with the dreaded termites. They had eaten about 50 feet of 2x6 base plate on stem wall. They made their entrance via a concrete porch filled with dirt, it was built after the house was built. After replacing base plate decided it was time to exterminate. After researching products decided on Boracare for treating since base plate and house was built out of used lumber. Base plate was only infestation found. Followed instructions provided with product and application went off without any bad experiences. "DO MY OWN PEST CONTROL" WEB PAGE WAS VERY HELPFUL AND SAVED ME APPROXIMATELY $800.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Surprisingly Thick

    By Joe on 12/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the product after being hit by super storm Sandy. I needed to drain and dry the crawlspace due to flooding. I needed something to sanitize the dirt floor space and protect the wooden floor joyces. I was surprised to see how thick the chemical was even after a 3 to 1 delution. I could see it stick like slime to the wood and cinder bloc foundation. I'm sure it will do the trick. I plan to use the remainder in a 5 to 1 delution ratio as a preventative solution during those seasons when insects try and find a place to live.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Homemaker

    By Sharon on 08/05/2017

    My home had some previous damage from termites and rot that I discovered when replacing my deck. I used Bora-Care to protect the wood after cleaning out the debris from the damaged area. The product was easy to mix and use. I chose an empty dish detergent bottle to mix. I was able to squirt the mixture into all of the crevices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 323 reviews)