Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   219
4 stars   52
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(307 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 307 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care did not work at all

    By Tom on 08/16/2019

    I closely followed the instructions for mixing and applying Bora Care. I had one spot in my crawlspace where I had one tremite tube going up one of my piers into the floor framing. I bought enough Bora Care to treat my entire floor framing and applied. The area that had active damage where I could actually see termites crawling, i applied a very heavy application and also throughly saturated the fooring pier where their tube was. I re inspected a week later and found they rebuilt their tube that I had removed and were doing just fine up in the floor structure. I spent a bunch of money and time on a product that did nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    using boracare

    By Linda on 09/21/2016

    I did not realize how messy boracare is - very runny. When spraying it, it dripped even when spraying a "fan" across the beam. I had to be careful not to let it drip on me, but it was all over the plastic that was down on floor. Too soon to tell how effective it was. This was for powder post beetles. We mixed it 1:1 for active infestation. If it works - I will let you know, and it would be worth it. I just felt alot was wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product and service

    By Marc on 12/30/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Customer service was great and received product in a few days

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BORA CARE

    By Ro on 01/23/2017

    When ordering the Bora Care product I received help online and by phone explaining what the product is used for, how to calculate the amount to use and what equipment I would need. (very helpful). The product was delivered very fast and at a very competitive price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BORA-CARE

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought BORA-CARE for dry wood termites in my home. I chose this over the others because I wanted a product that would stay in the wood to prevent future termites. When mixed according to directions, you won't have any problems with it crystalizing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy

    By Ayork on 08/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I acquired log furniture and in July of 2013, I discovered 3 dead powderpost beetles. Fast forward to this year 2014, the infestation is way worse.. I found 15 dead beetles.. I researched and found this site. The product was less expensive than other sites..Arrived no problem. Read label thoroughly.. It has the consistency of molasses, so mix it with hot water in a separate container before adding it to a sprayer, so it doesn't clog it up. Rinse thoroughly after use. Was easy to apply, will be sticky for a while.. be careful of over-spray,due to it's sticky nature.. Will see what happens next year..Supposed to kill the powderpost beetle coming out so they don't lay eggs, and kill what larvae is on the surface, so they don't penetrate back into the wood. I'd expect to have to do this again next year, depending on the life cycle, but am hoping to have less beetles next year, and stop future infestations.! Here's hoping!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Andy on 05/03/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Great product fast shipping, but when I opened the box one bottle was leaking a bit. I didn't feel like dealing with returning it so I used it anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as effective as I tought it would be...

    By Mariano on 03/03/2019

    I have been dealing with a bunch of termites in my kitchen cabinets. I bought the bora care and made all the preparations and followed the instructions as indicated, Mixed with warm water in a 1:1 ratio. Got into the cabinets and predrilled holes every 12 inches so the product could penetrate and work better. After a couple of months of the application, I am finding termite droppings again...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By A on 09/03/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Seems to be working.. Definitely read the instructions and use Hot water to mix well before you put into sprayer..( it has the consistency of molasses) Was easy enough to use.. It is sticky, so beware where you use it.. it does dry smooth after about 30 hours.. I'm happy with it so far...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Well

    By F on 01/24/2016

    We have purchased this product several times over a period of years and it has been successful in all areas. I would recommend this product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good and Great

    By Richard on 10/04/2017

    Good Product great price!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    easy to use

    By Frank on 10/19/2015

    easy to use in cheap sprayer diluted with hot water. would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    boracare treatment

    By John on 10/19/2015

    mixing and distributing through a pump spray was perfect....however i am still spraying in certain spots in a crawlspace.....and cannot determine as of yet, if termites are dead....this treatment is more for preventative and a cure...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    very good

    By Allan on 04/01/2016

    works well for the wood protection with new and old house .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good, termate

    By Juan on 05/18/2017

    Sooo good

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love it

    By Sara on 08/18/2015

    Adding blue tint makes this product so easy to use. You can see exactly where it's applied . We used the ratio 1 to 1 for extra penetration into joists . 1 gallon covered in crawl space of living room sized 16 x 16 with 1 gallon BoraCare with 1 gallon water and 1/2 cap of blue dye. We needed to spray as we are in a Very humid area and we encountered the very nasty white fungus .. So far it's working.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Bill on 02/06/2017

    Easy to use on oak planks I knew were infested with powderpost beetles. I used a foam brush after diluting the Bora-Care in warm water (1:1 dilution). Interestingly, the Bora-Care does not immediately dilute in the water, so I initially thought I was doing something wrong as it stuck to the bottom of the bucket. Once it did dilute in the water, it happened quickly and completely. It did turn seem to darken the rough cut oak to some degree-not significantly, but enough that I can't give it 5 stars in the review. I am going to let the boards stand for another week or so before I start to work on them just to be sure of deep penetration. So far, no new frass on the floor under the boards. I may treat again after completing my project, just because I want to be sure I am not giving a friend a beetle problem along with the coffee table I am making for them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    great product

    By Green on 11/19/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Low toxicity excellent for termite control and so much more just be patient and read label how to mix properly

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Charles on 11/17/2014

    Verified Purchase

    It has been mixed and applied as prescribed. Only time will tell how effective it will be. The instructions were clear and the product was mixed and applied according to the printed instructions-no bad English usage or Chinese "word-twists". That is a good sign that the product WILL perform.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare on old beams

    By Dennis on 11/10/2015

    left beams with a fine dust look.. not bad, but slightly noticeable. Otherwize it went on easy with a sprayer and cleaned up ok. We did wear a mask protector and raincoat since it was dripping off the beams. I would use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By D on 11/03/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I use it on trim and flooring, and all wood going into my shop for furniture projects, applying it with a garden sprayer to the backs of the material that is set up on multiple sawhorses. I always use it, having seen a powder post beetle infestation that ruined an antique Italian furniture collection.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Brad on 02/01/2016

    Seems to be killing the bore weevils we are having from some Mexican furniture. I am having to inject into the wood with a syringe in cracks and holes they have made since it is heavily stained already. But am finding dead ones each morning and less sawdust. So maybe I will have them all gone before it get ruined.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BORACARE

    By Daniel on 04/14/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Very easy to apply. I used a stronger solution 1 to 1 ration because of the active fungi. dried totally in 2 days and was ready for primer paint. Primer went on smooth no problems.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 08/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Easy to apply. Odorless. Have not seen any evidence of infestation since I coated the interior of my wood cabinet with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Time Will Tell

    By Jeff on 02/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Giving this 4 stars but really, it's only been a couple of weeks since applying the product. I used Boracare to treat a 130 year old hewn oak beam that I was making into a fireplace mantel. Wood showed signs of powder-post beetle infestation. I followed manufacturer's directions and gave two applications. Product was not hard to mix with a paint mixing attachment on a drill and using hot water. Product is about the consistency of honey. Gave it two heavy applications. Took about 5-6 days to dry enough to stain and poly the wood. It did leave a little bit of salty residue on some surfaces where it puddled and dried. I just brushed this off with a stiff brush and wiped the whole thing down with mineral spirits prior to staining, and seemed to have no adverse effects on stain color/absorption. Wish it came in half gallons, as I only needed about a quart for this project.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent

    By Bryan on 03/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Product as ordered, fast delivery and great pricing. No need to worry about counterfits as you do on a lot of other internet providers.:)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Bottle not full

    By Tgrizzle on 09/21/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I bought two bottles of BORACARE and one was obviously not filled. I contacted "DoMyOwn.." and they refunded me a fair amount. All is well, just the hassle. It is BORACARE's fault, not DMOPC.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Handy Product

    By Luke on 04/10/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The exact type of product I needed. Only time will tell how effective it is, but Boracare is simple enough to use and very specific directions provided for a variety of use-situations. A word to the wise - when they say mix mechanically with warm water - they mean it - when using 1:1 ratio for Subterranean Termite prevention. It's a very thick syrup consistancy. FYI - I was using it while residing and old church building that had prior subterranean termite activity, but no present activity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Steve on 07/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The real test will be over the years... I have used this product many times in both old construction and new construction. I use it after fumigation of older buildings in the locations I can access. I use it in new construction once I have the building framed and dried-in and before any internal sheathing goes up. Since I am dealing primarily with dry-wood termites I spray twice in the higher locations as this is where I have seen most infestations. So far so good. Do My Own Pest Control has always been fast to deliver and good with educational information.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Allen on 04/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Product was as easy to use as advertised and has eradicated my termite infestation. I would highly recommend this product to all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 307 reviews)