Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   192
4 stars   51
3 stars   18
2 stars   7
1 star   8

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(276 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$78.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 192 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care is the BEST!

    By Michael on 01/11/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I had a termite control company give me an estimate to spot treat my drywood termites and it was astronomical! I found that DoMyOwnPestControl.com had the same product Boracare for a fraction of the cost. I treated my infestation using the recommendations on the website and now I have a termite free home and more money in my pocket!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    213 of 221 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to mix and use, and I don't get sick

    By Larry on 06/08/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have used half a gallon for remediation of dry wood termites on fascia boards by using 1:1 and 1:2 dilutions applied to bare wood and by injecting in drilled holes where the wood is covered by paint. I like this product as well as the Bifen IT, as they are fairly non-toxic to people and animals. I can use both of them extensively without feeling ill effects myself. I added Bifen IT to the Boracare solution to get a 0.12% Bifen IT concentration (double strength). The Bifen IT works as an quick termiticide and the Boracare provides long term protection. Now that I have stopped the active infestations, I can take my time and protect the rest of my house's fascia, rafter and joist board ends with simply painting a 1:5 Boracare dilution on the ends of the boards (where dry wood termites enter). I will need a 2nd gallon of Boracare to protect the entire house and will be ordering soon. For approximately $200 of products from Domyownpestcontrol, I will have done the remediation work and the whole house protection. This has been a lot of work, but I have saved many thousands of dollars, plus I can take my time and know that the job is done right.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    151 of 156 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care Product Review

    By Patrick on 04/29/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I don't know why the wood adjacent to my bath tub wet wall was moist?  There were no leaks and the plumbing vent to the roof was well sealed.  Condensation?  The bath drainpipe and water inlets come up through a hole in the slab. The subterranean termite varmints tunneled 10' or 40' under the house slab and surfaced at this point of exposed earth attracted by the moist wood. They swarmed the first warm days in Spring. I treated the exposed earth area with the Dominion 2L termiticide and then filled it with sand. I treated the slab, wood framing, floor and molding with a 2:1 mixture of BoraCare. I sprayed BoraCare down from the attic and drilled holes in the walls where there was no other access. I will finish by treating the ground around the house with Dominion 2L. My problem appears to be solved for under $200. Thanks DoMyOwnPestControl.com!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    78 of 81 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Professional

    By Patrick on 05/15/2014

    I'm a professional. They make Boracare with mold control, so if you're doing the understructure of a home (wet, soggy, moldy) you might want to go a few bucks extra and get that, but this is excellent product. Try to do it in warm weather or make sure the product isn't cold. It's like molasses and it has to be mixed vigorously with water. Some rental places will rent a little 15 gallon tank sprayer with a mixer in it. So you can mix it 4:1. All I can tall you is it is 100% safe and it's less toxic then table salt! but of you're and insect or fungus! you're dead for about the next two decades. People with allergies have told me that after we sprayed the fungus in their Crawlspace, they never went back to the doctor. Doctors don't tell their patients to have their crawlspaces checked for fungus. Wanna know why? It's a bit sticky, but washes off. Our installers didn't even wear a mask, but you should. It's a 100% natural product. When we used it as a termiticide, we gave homeowners a ten year warranty against termites, but it kills everything (ants, flying insects, fungus, earwigs) no odor no danger .....it's boric acid which is 100% safe. I can't say enough about this stuff. Except it's going to be difficult to spray from a sprayer. After spraying you have to run pure water through or it will set up inside the hose etc.... You really have to rinse and re rinse the sprayer after use. But it's worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    63 of 65 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Review Upgrade

    By Anonymous on 08/10/2011

    I posted my original review of Boracare nearly a year ago (Sept 16, 2010) after using it in an attempt to save my antique cabinetmaker's workbench from a severe powderpost beetle infestation. I actually thought the situation was hopeless but bought and tried the product anyway. At that time I gave it a three-star rating because I had no way of knowing if it would work as advertised, or even if it would work at all. As I wrote then, I was "still not absolutely convinced that the powderpost beetle infestation is a thing of the past." Only time would tell. Now, nearly a year after giving my my workbench the Boracare treatment and using it every day, I have seen absolutely no further evidence of any insect infestation. Boracare DOES work as advertised and I couldn't be more pleased with the product. I am therefore upgrading my original rating from three to five stars. Well done and an hearty thank you to Boracare and DoMyOwnPestControl.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    62 of 64 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare application

    By Jason on 12/20/2010

    Sprayed 4 gallons of Boracare a few weeks ago. Had no problem mixing with hot water and a paint mixer attachment for the drill. Regular chemical sprayer worked fine and I covered the entire 1200ft 2 structure in a few hours. It soaked in after a few days and only left sticky drops on the vinyl windows that could be washed off easily. Wear a face shield as some of the spray will drip down from the ceiling joists.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 46 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The "Final Solution," paraphrasing a comment from WWII

    By Charles on 09/06/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I had used two toxic sprays on walnut which was infested with pencil post beetles and termites, to no avail. I had my lumber drying shed tented, commercially, specifically for pencil post beetles-- again to no long term success. I finally brushed each board with Boracare, and replaced the wood in the drying shed. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED, short and long term!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    40 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare seems safe to use

    By Larry on 07/27/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I can use Boracare and Bifen IT, products I purchased from Domyownpestcontrol.com, for several hours at a time and not feel any adverse effects on myself during or after using these. Since I just applied Boracare, I don't know yet how effective it is. I used it and Bifen IT together for remedial work to correct for termite damage. I know Bifen IT is effective on termites and works fast, but I don't know how long it will last for long term protection. Boracare is supposed to provide permanent protection. When all the remedial work is done, I will use it for long term preventive care of the rest of my house by applying it to rafter boards in the attic, where the dry wood termites are likely to attack. In our area, dry wood termites are aggressive and everywhere, so preventive care is the way to go-- it is less expensive and a lot less work to prevent termites than to do the remedial work that can require the replacement of boards. I'm on my second gallon of Boracare, and will need a 3rd gallon to finish the preventive work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Louie on 09/01/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I used Boracare on my open beam ceiling because I had termites. Boracare really works. The termite droppings are gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pre-Construction Use

    By Mark on 05/14/2013

    I built a 3000+ SF block house with a wood cathederal ceiling and beams. I had all wood hand brushed with Bora-Care prior to installing and after five + years I have not had a termite etc. problem!!! This is in an area infested with flying termites!! Both neighbors have had to treat their homes for termites as do most of the residents here....I'm sold on this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Or on 02/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    No more wood boring beetles!!!! We have two homes over 100 years each and Boracare took care of our wood beetle problem with ease.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sticky but easy to use

    By Linda on 02/05/2015

    This stuff is like cornsyrup but once it is diluted with hot water it is very easy to use. I have to brush it on overhead logs in my log home and I thought I was going to have a drippy, sticky mess. I was VERY surprised at how little it actually drips, goes on very easily and cleans up with water. I would recommend application with a brush or roller - a sprayer is much more messy ( I used that outside)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Shawn on 09/07/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Beetles were in the lumber I used to make a Walnut table and the piles of saw dust were the evidence as to their existence. I applied Bora-Care liberally according to the directions, and presto, no more saw dust piles. It worked as advertised. There was a bit of white residue, but that wiped right off. No problem. I will touch up the areas where the finish was dulled, but again, no problem compared to the scare of having to take the table apart and replace lumber.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product for fungus control. Fast shipping from this co

    By Anonymous on 06/14/2013

    We purchased a home that was not occupied for approximately two years, well long story short. The vents around the entire perimeter foundation to the sub area were kept in the closed position for quite some time, causing a moister build-up there(BAD). The rim joists, also around the entire perimeter was dripping wet and fungus had started to grow. We mechanically mixed Boracare with a drill, and dry wall mud mixer bit with HOT WATER (super thick stuff, MUST be mixed well. They kid you not in the Boracare instructions!) and applied it with a small garden sprayer under the house to said rim joists. Lets just say, the offending fungus, is no longer among us! This stuff worked better than I thought it would (seriously). Fungus was DEAD in a matter of hours. Also, Do My Own Pest Control .com was a great company to work with.. Happy customer here!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare seems to have worked

    By Bryan on 12/01/2014

    Verified Purchase

    There were tiny holes in my ceiling sheetrock and little termite pellets falling and accumulating on the floor every day. I really didn't want to tent the house so I decided to research and try Boracare. After crawling around in my attic and trying to spray most of the wood, and especially the areas where I could see termite damage, the pellets have stopped falling. I was especially interested in this product because I read that the termites can't detect it and take it back to their friends, killing the whole lot somehow. So this makes me think/hope that even though I wasn't able to spray it everywhere, it will somehow end up getting them all.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are glad that you've had success with your Boracare treatment! While the active ingredient in Boracare does have a fairly slow kill and will likely kill some of the other termites in a colony, it does not have labeling to indicate this transfer effect. You can always spot treat with a product such as Termidor Foam that will have this transfer effect: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/termidor-foam-p-3528.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Beverly on 06/14/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Easy to mix (used the sprayer from DoMyOwnPestControl), easy to use. Staff at DMOPC very friendly and helpful with order and instructions of use as well as safety precautions. Always use listed precautions for mixing and applying. I also believe this company to have safety of delivery as a priority as they provide tracking info, send reminders and/or call to confirm receipt of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Customer Service

    By Ianeta on 09/02/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I'm impressed with the follow up on my order. An agent, I believe her name is Sheree, called me long distance to make sure my shipping address was correct. I can see now that DoMyOwnPestControl.com is a company I will always do business with. "MALO", in Samoan that means, WELL DONE. Take care and thank you very much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I'm optimistic

    By Jim on 11/11/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I just applied this to a timber frame that has minor powder post beetle damage on two timbers (out of more than 100). I used up the entire gallon in a 1:1 mix to treat the frame. One thing that helped a lot, I could tell, was using hot water (probably 110 degrees F or so) to mix it. It dissolves much faster in the hot water. I am impressed at how well it wets the dry wood. I'll know whether it worked next July, but based on how well it seemed to penetrate, I'm pretty optimistic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent

    By Michael on 01/27/2015

    Verified Purchase

    We had termites on the plywood under our roof / ratio decking. We demo the roof /patio done to the plywood which was infected, remove the ply wood and re-enforce the 2 by 12's as necessary and brought the roof up to earthquake standards. Everything was sprayed. I also used the suggested sprayer and hot water and about a 3 to one ratio. Everything was as advertised, so far so good. I would suggest that a thin caulking with Borocare be invented as plywood never aligns perfectly and their are alway places to caulk. I will be purchasing my second gallon when we pull up the rest of the roof after the rains have turned to sunshine.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments. Boracare can be applied with a paintbrush or roller in areas where it may be difficult to spray. There is also a ready-to-use formulation of Boracare called Jecta that is excellent for spot treatments or areas that are otherwise challenging to treat: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/jecta-p-931.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product with a decent price

    By David on 11/06/2015

    I am very familiar with Bora-Care as I have used it on my log cabin to be rid of powder post beetles, and prevent future attacks. This purchase was for helping a friend who had gutted his old house for renovation. I recommended he treat his framing, rafters, and joists with Bora-Care and he agreed. The product is very viscous and must be mixed in a bucket before putting it in a sprayer. I used a cheap garden pump-sprayer. Bora-Care is easy to clean up with water and when dried, leaves a slight powdery residue on the wood. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome stuff, just cover EVERYthing that's left in room :-)

    By Dc on 03/09/2016

    It's been two weeks now since spraying on, mixed 1:1. Our home is mostly wood floors, walls and ceilings. Covered the floors, forgot about the windows, was a sticky mess to clean up, but oh well :-) Have not seen any teensy, eensy wood shavings on my counters or tables. This stuff kills and it's supposed to last for years. It took 4 gallons, sprayed on, to cover about 1800 square feet. Worth it! Saved us about $5000, according to the bug guy who came out. They would've had to tent the house! Shipping was FAST! Thank you guys, hope we never have those little critters that can lay dormant for over a year, again, but if so, we know who to buy from.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    awesome customer service!

    By Lynda on 03/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    My gallon came damaged, and as soon as I e-mailed the company, a brand-new one was sent out immediately, with no need to deal with the post office or send pictures. I felt like the company really wanted to make sure I got what I paid for, which I appreciated very much. The product itself seems to have worked fine, and was easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Darcy on 11/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The product is a thick liquid about the consistency of hand lotion. I painted it on with a brush and it stayed on top of the wood for about two days. Most products stay on the surface and never reach the termites inside the wood. The fact that Bora-Care soaks in and reaches termites inside the wood is very important. After two days it was dry and paintable. I haven't seen a single termite since I used Bora-Care.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Potent, easy to use and cost-effective

    By Anonymous on 08/19/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My local termite company wanted $800 to treat my modest home with Bora-Care. I paid $144 for 2 gallons for this stuff and treated my entire house. Yeah, the sprayer costed $50, but that's still a savings of $600+. Thank you, DoMyOwnPestContro.com. You saved me hundreds of my hard-earned dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare for powder post beetles & termites

    By C.decker on 02/01/2016

    We used the Boracare for powder post beetles & termites. We used it in a mister w/ a extra long extension cord to plug out side as our crawl space is not more than 3' for 1/2 of our house & 6' in the back 1/2. We took the advice of the sales lady from the company who told us to be sure to use an electric drill w/ a paddle to stir for 15 min. It worked perfectly & did the job. No clogging just be sure to wash your mister after using. C. Decker

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Well

    By Sockmonkey on 08/26/2017

    I mixed it according to directions. It worked great. I'm glad I read the label where it said that hot water can be used for ease of mixing! This stuff has the consistency of Karo syrup, and the hot water really helped mix. After application, small Bark Borers came out that I hadn't even seen.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare Works

    By Philip on 11/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Excellent service. Boracare arrived quickly and with minimum packaging. Stuff works great and gets rid of almost every insect without using poison. If you buy this stuff locally, it costs twice as much as this online store.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Treatment cost is insignificant

    By Steve on 04/28/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Last Thanksgiving, I discovered that Eastern Subterranean Termites had begun infesting our 100 year old house. I have been remodeling for five years and have previously seen no evidence in any areas I have worked. Nevertheless, they have significantly consumed a door frame and wall which I installed three years ago. Therefore, I think the infestation must have started in the summer following that work, two years ago. Over the winter, I have employed a four fold strategy to try to discourage further activity. Since there were no mud tubes visible on the outside or inside of the concrete block foundation, I filled the blocks with dry concrete sand mix. I have also trenched and soaked about 100 gallons of 0.1 percent Dominion 2L down the outside of the block walls and have installed Advance bait traps around the perimeter. Most importantly, I have thoroughly saturated all base plates from at least one side with 50 percent BoraCare solution; once last winter and again nearing spring. Initially, I considered a much cheaper water based borate but, having observed the feeding behavior through the center of framing members, I am convinced that the deep saturation of BoraCare's propylene glycol carrier is essential to protection. Furthermore, the expense of treatment is insignificant compared to damage remediation. So far, I have observed no fresh activity this spring but I will need to continue vigilant monitoring. Termites are a serious challenge and Do My Own Pest Control has been a tremendous resource.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Rob on 04/02/2015

    Verified Purchase

    It was easy enough to use. I just followed the instructions, and sprayed it on the wall cavities, and on some old logs in a cabin. I will let you know in 10 years, how well it keeps back pests, and mold.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare is Great Stuff

    By Billy on 11/17/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I've used Boracare in renovations on wood window frames and sashes, wooden porch columns, interior structural members and on the exterior when sealed with a couple of coats of penetrating oil primer. It works great and soaks deep into the wood. I've also used it in new construction, putting it in a garden sprayer and coating the lower 4 feet of sheathing and framing before closing in the walls. Dilute it 50/50 with hot water. It's non-toxic and cheap insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 192 reviews)