Customer Reviews for Chapin 4 Gallon Tree/Turf Pro Commercial Backpack Sprayer (61900)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   11
4 stars   7
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(21 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Less back pain-stress with 61900

    By Neil on 04/23/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I work for a major pest control company and have over 30 years experience in the industry. My company has recently switched from power spray units to backpack sprayer units for exterior applications.The company provided solo units that do not have adequate shoulder padding, support and after a day of 6 or more applications my back was killing me. I decided to buy my own unit and when I found your site decided to buy the 61900 model based on the features listed, mainly shoulder straps and padding. I am extremely pleased with my sprayer.  As soon as I strapped it on I felt the difference. The back padding, waist buckle, shoulder padding and shoulder buckle make all the difference in relieving back stress. I like the spraying features of the 61900 also. Pressure gauge, length of hose, sprayer wand, and adjustable tip. All in all an excellent sprayer .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    42 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works perfectly so far

    By Ron on 07/07/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have used this sprayer twice for weed control (received it two weeks ago) and am very satisfied so far--it is easy to use, appears well constructed, and not hard on the back. I would recommend it to anyone considering a backpack sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good Service`

    By Dan on 03/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Received the Chapin 61900 in a very timely manner. As a precautionary measure, I filled it with water and allowed it to sit for a few hours. Upon inspection, I found that it had a significant leak around the bottom flange clamp. I tightened and retightened the clamp several times until there was no further room to tighten. Still, the leak persisted. I then called the factory and spoke with Linda in customer service. She advised me to follow the instructions in the manual and to disassemble the unit, a task that I found very easy. Upon disassembly and inspection, I found that the bottom "O" ring had been pinched by the plastic reservoir body during assembly. I applied copious amounts of petroleum jelly to all parts and reassembled the unit. No leaks. I called Linda again and advised that the unit was not leaking, but was likely going to leak due to the pinched "O" ring. She made certain that she understood which ring was problematic. She then sent me an entire repair kit with all gaskets, "O" rings and other miscellaneous parts that might be required in the future. So far, no additional leaks. The unit works as advertised. Good, quick service after the sale. I would purchase another Chapin unit.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900 Commercial Backpack Sprayer

    By Sean on 02/23/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Pros: Great product!!! I was able to cut my spray time down to a fourth of the time it usually takes. The 4 gallon tanks eliminates having to stop and remix as you would do with the smaller sprayers and the pump allows you to continue spraying on the go while pumping at the same time. This was a good investment. Cons: the spray wand does not attach securely to the wand holder on the bottom of the back pack sprayer for storage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900

    By Anonymous on 06/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    First, the unit I received, the strap was not assembly properly in the factor - and the replacement was no better. What Chapin doesn't tell you is that their backsprayers do not hold pressure and you have to continually pump the unit to maintain the pressure - this is very annoying and not easy to do. In all, I would not recommend this sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900 Commercial backpack sprayer-4 gal

    By Hh on 09/04/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Handle angle not adjustable. Only one hole in handle to connect it to sprayer with a clip and the arm sticks out from the tank. To store sprayer the arm has to be taken all the way off. The handle needs another hole so the handle can be put back on vertically to it can be stored. The shoulder straps and belt are great although the belt attaches with plastic "clips" and attach to the bottom of the frame but tend to come off easily, but not while wearing it. The metal wand and brass tip provide great spray pattern. Haven't used the additional tips. Have only had it for a month or so and used it 2 - 3 times around the acreage and like it very much so far. A handle in the screw on lid or molded in to the frame would make it easier to carry, especially when full.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pleasant Surprise

    By John on 04/11/2014

    I have never owned one of these Chapins. It sounded good. I was pleasantly surprised with the product. I especially liked the pressure control valve that makes it impossible to push too much product through due to excessive pumping. This comes in handy when using expensive chemicals such as Safari using a trunk spray. This can be removed if you need to spray a stream a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900

    By Anonymous on 08/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Unit seems to work very well. Even flow and reasonable effort. My only complaints are the that plastic tab in the trigger that should lock the trigger is breaks very easily and the clips that are supposed to hold the wand to the frame don't.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Wand Leaks

    By Gabriel on 05/11/2017

    Overall design of tank and ease of use is good. However, the wand leaks a lot between sprays. I was told by the domyownl that this is normal--disappointing. It is a bit of a mess. I would not recommend this for indoor use because of the mess it causes. For outdoor it works fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Lee on 09/24/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Pro sprayer with pro performance. Very easy to use and maintains excellent pressure.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It worked very well

    By John on 04/25/2014

    Verified Purchase

    The sprayer worked very well and was easy to use. I was pleased with the quality of the construction (Made in the USA) and the materials used. Just read the instructions on putting it together and attaching the straps so it's comfortable. Doing my own pest control was a big savings and it turned out to be very easy to accomplish.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900 Tree/Turf Pro Commercial Backpack Sprayer - 4 G

    By Anonymous on 06/08/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Completely as sold. No problem to install pump handle on either side. Pumps up quickly and adjustable spray head just fits my needs. 2 ac. garden. Back pack straps easy to adjust and stay in place. much, much better than dragging around 2 gal tank in 1 hand and stopping to pump it up. THANK YOU!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Professional Sprayer

    By Kyle on 06/29/2019

    If you have lots of spraying to do and need accurate chemical dispersion this is the sprayer for you

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent System

    By Kevin on 05/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    If you need a sprayer and want the ability to perform like a professional, Chapin 61900 is the system for you. It was easy to install and its performance is "outstanding". You won't be disappointed in this system. The metal rod ensures that in the heat, it will not melt or become deformed. This is a product that will last years to come unlike my other inexpensive unit that lasted 6 months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Critters on my rural 1/2 acre

    By Jim on 09/20/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Great communication with Michael about my needs and good prices too. I'm glad to be able to support DMOPC instead of having to go Amazon or elsewhere. I was paying $50 per month for pest control services at my house and still had critters. After a few phone calls I'd had enough and took over the job myself with the help of the advice and products here. If I had any complaint it would be that there are too many product choices here that do the same thing. I'd prefer they were narrowed down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great So Far!

    By Anonymous on 06/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I've sprayed about 10 gallon through this sprayer, So far it's great. No leaks?.Should have purchased one long ago, instead of all those hand carried units.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 61900 backpack sprayer.

    By Brandon on 03/22/2012

    Never had a backpack sprayer before, I looked around and talked to several people and they all had never heard of this one. I read many reviews and bought one. I bought this to do perimeter control for pest. So far so good, no leaks. I really like the cf valve that came with it. I only wish the wand had a better storage spot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Chapin Backpack Sprayer

    By Greg on 09/28/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The sprayer is easy to assemble, easy to carry and works as well as the old Solo that I used for years. However, I can't vouch for its dependability. At half the price, I can buy two compared with the most popular brand. I hope it holds up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent customer service

    By Julio on 11/24/2017

    Great product combined with a great customer service. Thank you DoMyOwn

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    First time homeowner user

    By Jim on 05/05/2020

    Verified Purchase

    HI..First of all, I never give a five star rating unless I have something to compare it against. I have no such comparison to offer . Note: 62 year old male, homeowner in above average shape. This is my first back pack sprayer. I may have had a misconception about back pack sprayers. I had to constantly pump the back pack. The Constant Pressure Valve did keep the spray width constant. As a homeowner, perhaps I should have bought the blue dye until I got used to the pattern but I feel the cost of dye is ridiculous. So why did I give it a four star? The straps and supports are pretty good. I hope they will last. My left shoulder did feel the stress of constant pumping. I have a little under 10 thousand square feet to treat. Maybe I should have purchased the battery unit considering my "age"? The wand is uncomfortable as the tubing is twisted, even after several adjustments. I will figure that out with usage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    parts missing purchased cheap walmart version returning asap

    By Khalid on 08/01/2020

    no fan nozzle no way to attach handle purchased inferior brand will return asap!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)