Customer Reviews for Chapin Hand Held Spreader (1.5 L / 92 cu in) (8706A)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   3
4 stars   0
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   4

Average Customer Rating

2.6 of 5 stars
(8 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works As

    By Jr on 07/09/2017

    We bought this for bug granules, every other handheld broadcast spreader we tried including the name brand ones clogged up in minutes, the granules would pulverize as they sifted through and get down inside where the gears were somehow and they'd seize up. Maybe they were more for grass seed than pesticide. The Chapin didn't, it worked great. This review is based on one time use, but it seems like a good item for the money, and it spread those granules just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Beats Scott’s hands down

    By Rob on 02/22/2019

    I have gone through the Scotts brand of hand held spreader, and they were not only difficulty to operate bc the rotation swivel was always getting stuck, but they did not last long at all. With CHAPIN, I felt the ease of turning the knob from its initial use. I just love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work for me

    By Ken on 05/20/2019

    I first tried it with Deer Scram but it clumped and clogged. So I next tried using it to spread dry pelletized Milorganite. It jammed. Also, when filled with product, you can't set it down without risk of tipping over. So I don't know what product would work with this spreader. The Domyown customer service was great when I told them about my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Broke

    By Phillip on 09/28/2018

    Bought this to use with Bifen L/P Insecticide Granules . I don't know if this is just not compatible with the Bifen granules or just poor quality overall but it jammed with first attempt. After trying again it jammed and handle stripped off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Fuggedaboutit

    By Larry on 11/26/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Might be OK for grass seed or fairy dust but pelletized herbicide, fertilizer or god forbid, rock salt will laugh at this thing. The plastic crank spindle sheared out of the drive socket on the very first crank, spilling herbicide in a concentrated heap on a section of my lawn. Not pretty. Since it is not possible to give a zero star rating (I think) it gets a single star. Don't let that mislead you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not for pest granules

    By Bryant on 08/30/2019

    Verified Purchase

    I tried to use it for DeltaGard granules, and it immediately clogged and would not spread. It was brand new, out of the box.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Mike on 03/06/2020

    Easy to adjust spread rate and the "scoop" makes it easy to fill and spread grass seed in specific areas

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Better than the cheapest Walmart Version - Don't Buy

    By Kevin on 04/13/2020

    This works OK the 1st time or 2. But the gears do not run smooth, get kinked up, getting worse after each use. The price is decent, but find a better one and spend more money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)