Customer Reviews for CoRoN 18-3-6 Plus 0.5%

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   9
4 stars   4
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   0

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(13 customer reviews)
CoRoN 18-3-6 Plus 0.5%
$67.80

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By Mark on 04/21/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Worked great,nice and green ahhh. Mixed in some Dimension in hose sprayer, killed two birds with one stone. Two neighbors commented on how green it is, one of witch uses the the Scotts bag stuff. I think i found a my new fertilizer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Texas heat coron 18-3-6 .5 Fe review

    By Anonymous on 08/03/2013

    Easy to use put half in 25 gallon spray tank and sprayed the acre yard. Two week later neighbors asked what we use on our yard to make it so green. Going to spray again in about another week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Color & Lawn Health without the Excessive Surge Growth

    By Kyle on 06/22/2018

    CoRoN worked great on my Zoysia lawn. Just as advertised, it provides a lush deep green color to turf grass, and does not overstimulate (surge) vegetative growth. The deep green color stimulated by the Iron and Nitrogen seems to last approximately a month depending on soil and weather conditions. I really like that this formula doesn’t seem to surge vegetative growth as much as granular applications typically do. Excessive surge growth in Zoysia can really cause problems when thatch layers start becoming overly thick, and that hasn’t been nearly the issue using CoRon as it has been in the past when I used granular broadcast fertilizer applications. I had the opportunity for somewhat of a field trial this year, as my adjacent neighbor also has a Zoysia turf lawn. He applied 32-0-0 (uncoated) in the same timeframe as I applied the first application of CoRoN to my lawn. The color of my Zoysia several days after application was a much deeper green, so it was evident that the Iron in the CoRoN visibly made a big difference in turf color. The growth rate for his lawn was dramatically higher, as well. Whereas my mowing rate remained at the typical (for Zoysia) 7-10 day interval, his mowing frequency increased to every 4-6 days for the first three weeks after application. The excess growth on his lawn also thickened the density of the turf, as well as thickened the thatch layer, which necessitated an increase in his mowing height. (To be fair in my comparison, had he used a coated slow-release fertilizer (instead of the uncoated Nitrogen-only formula), the difference in surge growth probably would not have been nearly so dramatic). The extremely low (salt) burn potential for CoRoN, and the fact that it can increase efficacy of some herbicides in tank mixes are also big plusses when compared to other fertilizer options. For my early June application, I used it in tank mix with Prodiamine pre-emergent, ProSedge, 2-4 D, non-ionic surfactant, and Lazer spray marker. I saw no visible detrimental effects or stunting of the Zoysia, and the weed control was extremely effective. (The main target weeds were nut sedge and some lingering broadleaf weeds. This was the second application of Prodiamine (generic Barricade), as the initial application was made in early March. The applications were very effective in preventing crabgrass and goosegrass.) I apply with a backpack sprayer, and I advise the use of a marker dye (such as Lazer or Mark-It-Blue) for this method to ensure a more uniform application and no skipped spots. Most university publications recommend 0.5 lbs nitrogen per 1,000 sq ft per application for Zoysia lawns, which works out to 33.5 ounces of CoRoN per thousand square feet. For ease of math and measurement, I round this down to 32 ounces, at which rate a 2.5 gallon container of CoRoN will treat 10,000 sq ft of lawn area. I like to apply at a rate of 2 gallons (overall tank mix) per thousand feet, so I use 8 cups of CoRoN in a 4 gallon backpack sprayer to cover 2,000 sq ft with each tank. I would not necessarily recommend this product for grow-in situations such as sprigging, repair of large turf injured areas, or along edges where spreading of turf grass is desired. In those cases, a slow release granular fertilizer would provide better stolon and growth stimulation, as well as provide longer residual activity in the soil itself. The only other real downside to this product is the price. Coated granular fertilizer blends (such as 24-4-12) will be available in most areas for much cheaper when compared on a dollar per pound of Nitrogen basis. The additional benefits of CoRoN, not available in dry granular fertilizers, is worth the additional cost in my case, though. I also like the 6-1-2 N-P-K ratio, which is a pretty good balance for Zoysia (unless P or K needs are shown to be different through a soil test).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Economical, Great Spring Treatment

    By Fred on 04/07/2016

    On my Tampa St Augustine (Floratam/Bitter Blue) lawn, I add a 16-4-8 granular fertilizer in late February to provide quick green up and help build strong roots and protection when the grass is ready to "pop" for Spring. This formula is a perfect supplement (early April and early May) to keep the lush growth growing before I apply Scott's Bonus S in mid June to carry the lawn through August where I don't want to do a lot of root stimulation (disease is big here in June-September on lush growth). This product combined with a liquid for fungus treatment (once) and then by itself (once more) keeps my lawn looking Spring fresh all the way into June. Beware of the nice dark golden color...it will stain your fence and concrete so be careful. I have had great luck using my hose-end sprayer for this. Quick, accurate dispensing, and easy aiming so I only get it where I want to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Product

    By Alan on 02/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have applied this liquid fertilizer with a hose end sprayer last week, and I must say the St. Augustine lawn looks great! It is much easier to apply than the bag products. There are no settings for hose end sprayers, so I had to measure out a 1,000 sq ft of my lawn, and first filled my sprayer with water to determine the amount of product used and time to apply. Once you have that figured out, it is very simple to use, and I am very pleased how the lawn looks in southwest Florida.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Terrific so far!

    By Paul on 04/14/2016

    I applied this to my lawn for the first time about 2 weeks ago and just like some of the other reviews, I've already had one of my neighbors comment on how green the lawn is right now. I'm curious to see how the lawn looks later this summer, but so far it's great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy to Use

    By N on 09/19/2016

    4 Stars since I have only made my first application. I mixed with Triplet SF broadleaf herbicide that I normally use. This was a late summer application and we were fortunate to get some good rains. The grass looks great green and strong. I plan to use a granular fertilizer application in the spring them continue to mix this with my broad leaf killer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Need another application

    By Ray on 08/09/2016

    Lawn did not turn the rich dark green that l expected. May get darker with next application. I used a backpack sprayer to apply. I may increase amount on next application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great!!

    By John on 05/09/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I keep my lawn very well maintained and was looking for a product that would make my lawn a darker green and allow it stand out. This is definitely the stuff! I mixed 1/2 of the container in my 15 gallon tow behind sprayer and sprayed my 3/4 acre lawn. I noticed a difference within 1 week and within 3-4 weeks my lawn is 5 shades darker green than all of my neighbors. I've received multiple compliments from several of my neighbors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    First Time Use

    By Henry on 04/19/2017

    Product itself appears to work as advertised. Product is easy to mix and use, and my Bermuda grass lawn is responding well. Unfortunately, one of the container lids came loose during shipment and approximately one pint or more of the product was spilled inside the shipping box. This is why I only gave the order 4 stars. However, I will order the product again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love this stuff!

    By L on 04/18/2017

    I have used CoRon for two years and love it! My yard has never been greener. A+++++

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great

    By Steven on 06/11/2016

    Took a few weeks but can definitely see a difference

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    My Go-To for Summer Fertilization

    By Jason on 05/27/2019

    I have a Zeon Zoysia front lawn and TifTuf Bermuda back lawn. This is my go to to in the summer months where burn can be a concern with the synthetic granular fertilizers. In the heat, I alternate with organics (Milo and Ringer) and this Coron for a deep green. It's great to mix with PGR every few weeks on the Bermuda. I apply in the evening before my weekly deep watering to avoid any worry of burn. The synthetic granular are great for waking everything up in the spring when its time to push growth and recovery then I switch to this late May and into the summer months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews)