Customer Reviews for Ferti-Lome Weed Out with Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

3.4 of 5 stars
(24 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It Works

    By Anonymous on 08/17/2013

    Been looking for something that would kill crab grass for years. Tried every product out there. I did not expect this one to work either. Imagine my suprise when it did! I have an acre so it was pricy to spray the whole yard but was very effective. It killed about 90%. One viriety seems to be industriable. Other products I have tried would make it sick but would not kill it. They should put it out in a larger container. When I filled my 30gal sprayer it required 4+ 16oz bottles. Good product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 41 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Will used this from now on

    By Tim on 09/18/2016

    I used Drive XR2 for many years, but it is very costly. I wanted to find a cheaper crabgrass killer, but I wanted to have comparable results. Thought I would give this fertilome a shot and I am glad I did. I am very happy with the results. I used this product as a stand alone item and I can tell you how amazed I was that it actually worked. When using Drive, you must mix a surfactant and when you combine the price of both items, I think you are around $100. Fertilome cost a fraction of the price and to me the difference is the same.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Q

    By Me on 08/29/2012

    so it will kill crabgrass after 4 r 5 application. not very good on weedgrasses,but very good on broadleaf in bermuda

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    weed out

    By James on 09/11/2015

    I use the Fertilome weed out with crabgrass killer (formally called weed out with Q) whatever that is, to control my prostrate spurge. Works great and kills other pesky weeds. I will continue to use this product. It works as described. Good stuff. Jim

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent - Betony in Zoysia

    By Jason on 04/11/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I had a huge infestation of Florida betony in a section of my zoysia lawn (planted from sod eight months ago). This product was recommended by an employee. Followed directions, especially focusing on the timing between mowing, watering, and season change. Two treatments has wiped out almost the entire infestation and the lawn is recovering in that section beautifully. One more treatment should finish off the stragglers. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works well for Crabgrass

    By Synthia on 08/03/2018

    I was skeptical to buy Ferti-lome, because I am from NY and XLR8 is not available to buy here. I followed the exact instructions, and the next day the crab grass started to dry. I have tall fescue grass and seems to be compatible. Kills only the crab grass not the healthy grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff KILLS crabgrass and clover

    By David on 06/21/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Looked online for a product I could purchase to kill crabgrass in my lawn. Bought one bottle and used an ortho hose end sprayer set to 2.5 oz. Weather was hot mid June here and I wasn't sure if I was too late but I applied following instructions exactly on 1/2 of backyard. Within 4 warm days I started noticing crab grass spots were turning brown and clover was dying also. This stuff WORKS!! I have purchased 2 more bottles to finish the backyard and complete the entire front yard also. Will apply again in the fall and early spring to avoid any possible return of the dreaded crabgrass. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective weed and crabgrass killer for Bermuda

    By Hank on 10/10/2017

    I live near Oklahoma City and used this on my 1 acre Bermuda lawn with a lawn tractor sprayer and it worked great. I plan on buying and applying from DoMyOwn pre-emergent soon to apply after the first freeze and again in the early Spring. I buy all my lawn chemicals here. The reason I had a lot of crabgrass to kill was that I used a lawn service to mow my yard while recovering from surgery and they mulched (before I had a chance to kill all the Spring crabgrass) and mulching spreads and multiplies weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It worked but ....

    By Tim on 06/28/2017

    In all fairness my lawn is a crabgrass sanctuary so it killed some and then the rest rebounded with a vengeance. I will try again with a hose end sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So far so good!

    By Dan on 10/06/2017

    Since starting a spray routine to rid myself of Creeping Charley as well as Crabgrass in a mixed lawn of weeds and Bermuda grass. it seems to be working well so far; it will take awhile for the Creeping Charlie part as it is the very worst weed to get rid of as nothing kills it right away in my experience, including Glysophate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    WORKS

    By Dan on 07/13/2018

    My crabgrass was established so it took two applications to get some results. I'm still waiting to see if the crabgrass is totally killed -- most has yellowed so I'm assuming that it will eventually die.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Worked to a degree

    By Matt on 08/09/2019

    The first application, which I did on the strong side, turned approximately 60% of the crabgrass slightly purple. Should be the first step in killing it. The second application on the areas that did not turn, worked on most but not all. This worked to a degree on other types of weeds. I was hoping for a better overall response.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Be Aware of Mixing Ratio

    By Stan on 06/28/2019

    Pay close attention to instructions. They are a bit cloudy for this old brain. Apparently I didn't get it right because results (although some visible) were spotty, at best. I'm writing this off as user-error. It would help if mfg (or marketing or customer svc) would phrase mixing instructions for DIY using 1-gal sprayer. (and yes, I also used a commercial surfactant)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    APPLICATION OF WEED OUT

    By Fred on 09/13/2019

    It killed everything I wanted. Pefect job. No re-do's.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    did not work

    By Dave on 08/23/2019

    i mixed it per the instructions. 2 weeks and still waiting for results. not sure how it works for some and not for others. i wouldn't recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not work

    By Corey on 05/15/2019

    I used the product paying strict attention to the label with no results. After spraying, my crabgrass is still green and growing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    GARBAGE. TOTAL WASTE!

    By Diego on 03/17/2020

    Total waste of money.... used as instructed and no luck. if anything it looks like a weed booster! I have more weeds than before. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed Killer

    By Linda on 07/31/2020

    I am not sure if this is effective or not. I used it to get rid of morning glory in my lawn. In one area it was very effective, but in another the morning glory has increased. I am wondering if I didn't spray as well in that area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No effect to St Louis Crabgrass

    By D.o.c. on 08/14/2020

    Verified Purchase

    No effect at all on crabgrass in MO. Not sure if there is the CA variety in St Louis as the bottle warns is may bot work. Tried applying it the crabgrass 3 different times with 2-3 wks apart. Also used a surfactant and a surfactant SMO combo to see if that would do the trick, but their was no improvement in results. I guess you get what you pay for when you go the cheap route. Should have gone with tenacity or Drive XLR since the beginning.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Deceased Weeds

    By Grant on 08/21/2020

    Takes a few days to see the results, and it works. It's easy to see where you missed spraying. I Spray each time after I mow. Would recommend it to anyone with a weed problem. Make sure to read instructions before using.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use, safe, and very effective.

    By Steve on 09/04/2020

    My property has little crabgrass because the pre-emergent killer works well and the grass is healthy. But neighbors aren't as fortunate and I get invasions from the borders. Ferti-Lome Weed Out with Crabgrass Killer was easy to mix, apply, and did the trick. The clumps of crabgrass turned reddish brown in a few days and grass is filling in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work with recomender mixture.

    By Maurice on 09/18/2020

    It takes a lot of this product added water and didn't kill a lot of what it was supposed to, even after 3 days with no rain. Have used other products by this company that worked great and thought this would too. I'm disappointed and will still have to spay it with something else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    It's your money...

    By Joe on 08/19/2022

    Worthless product on crabgrass. Don't waste your money like I did

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    it doesn't work

    By Dee on 10/13/2022

    Tried it in San Diego, California on my lawn. Some grass died. Crabgrass is growing like crazy. Not happy with this product. I can say the same about our Gavin Newsom.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)