Customer Reviews for Protecta Sidekick Rat Bait Station

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   19
4 stars   10
3 stars   6
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(36 customer reviews)
Protecta Sidekick Rat Bait Station
$16.34

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Protecta Sidekick Bait Station - A Godsend!

    By Dave on 08/03/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Using standard Victor traps to trap rats was a problem because I didn't want to trap squirrels, dogs and kids. Plus, the rats were stealing bait without setting the traps off. Once I deployed T-Rex traps inside Protecta Sidekick Bait Stations I had found the answer. The T-Rex traps are super effective and easy to use, and the Protecta Sidekick Bait Station protects the traps from squirrels, dogs & kids. The combination of T-Rex traps and Protecta Sidekick Bait Stations is a professional solution, and I recommend them highly. Try 'em both & I think you'll like 'em too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Safe Rat Killing

    By Harry on 09/27/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The only way to safely set out rat traps. Keeps kids and pets away from the deadly trap. Also keeps things clean because the dead Ratatouille is inside, not out in the open for touching or eating. I used mine to fit the rat traps from Do My Own Pest Control inside. Worked well...only slight complaint is hard to open...should send detailed instruction on use of key to open.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good size but hard to open

    By Nick on 09/05/2011

    Similar to the Protecta LP but holds more bait and taller allowing more bait because it can be double stacked on each other. The key is positioned the other direction which makes it hard to open. Other than than that they are great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Good size but too hard to open

    By Linda on 12/12/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have a small yard and like the size of this station but unlocking it is just to difficult. I have resorted to using the devise (key) and prying it open at the same time with a knife. That's an unpleasant task with a dead rodent in it. Also there were no instructions included that explain how to use the key to unlock the station. While I think it's an overall good buy until the unlocking system is simplified I would not purchase another.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good box

    By Rob on 10/17/2010

    These work well, good size, but i find them a bit difficult to open. Perhaps after some time they will loosen up a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Protecta Sidekick Rat Bait Station and Bait

    By Charlie on 05/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    It works and is safe. Have not seen a rat in weeks on my outside rock wall.  Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    With a T Rex Rat Trap, It Caught A Raccoon :(

    By Susan on 11/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I don't know how many stars to give this, but you all should know that it's easy for a raccoon or opossum to reach in and get the bait if it's used with a T Rex rat trap. I used chunky peanut butter rolled in birdseed. This unlucky raccoon ran off with my trap on it's paw and my heart is broken. A better design would be to have the trap further away from the holes than a paw could reach, or to use the blue sticks of bait without a trap so long as they don't smell good to a coon. If you use this bait station with a T Rex, at the very least consider anchoring it so other animals that get trapped can get rescued by the Humane Society. It's a tough balance between human and wild life sometimes. The T-Rex trap that fits in this bait station is very sensitive and got my thumb while I was trying it out. It shocked me more than hurt me. Even with the video explaining how to use the key to unlock it, it's still hard to do. Would be damn near impossible with a raccoon attached to it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Good trap bad design

    By Girard on 04/20/2017

    This station comes with its own key that you must use to open up the bait station. 1 key for a case of stations. I lost the key so now i cant open them up anymore. Not sure if i can just purchase a key only. I shake the bait into the bait compartment.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear you are having troubles with opening your station. We do however carry the keys by themselves http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/key-for-protecta-rat-and-mouse-bait-station-p-253.html.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ordered units had a problem which was resolved easily

    By Bob on 12/13/2015

    I ordered a case of 6 after an animal made off with (3) of the bait stations had previously ordered, still MIA. When I got this order the posts were missing along with a key. A quick phone call resolved my problem. It was handled very professionally and quickly. I would have no problem placing another order.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Hard to open

    By Jim on 10/17/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Hard to open plus if you order more than one they only give you one key

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Because these traps use a universal key, we only ship one per order. You can order extra keys at any time here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/key-for-protecta-rat-and-mouse-bait-station-p-253.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Key doesn't work very well.

    By Steve on 05/30/2017

    Even with the key the Bait Station is very hard to open. Other then that, I guess it's OK.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Protecta Sidekick Rat Bait Station

    By Ivette on 05/05/2017

    I used the Protecta Sidekick Rat Bait Station with the T-Rex Rat Trap and it worked perfectly! I highly recommend these products and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bait station

    By Tom on 11/17/2017

    Very effective and not as hard to open as reported in other reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    hard to open

    By Tom on 03/22/2017

    good rat bait station, only thing is hard to open the cover!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! The Protecta Sidekick Station is a little trickier than some of the other stations on the market. There is a great video on the product page to assist you with opening this trap: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/protecta-sidekick-rat-bait-station-p-1287.html We are also happy to assist you by telephone, email, or Live Chat anytime. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bait station

    By Morgan on 02/02/2018

    I like the bait stationbut I think you should have included more than one key to open .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good Size

    By Steve on 03/08/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I opted for this size and it works fine. I passed on the poison and bought the T-Rex rat traps to put inside. They fit fine. Although there are no directions, the trap has a groove that fits on top of a raised portion of the bait station so it won't slide around when placing it on the ground. I watched the video on how to use the key (although they don't use this bait station in the video) and it is still hard to open. I know... pull back and lift. Perhaps the issue is with the sidekick and the other size is easier. I was also disappointed that even though I bought three stations, I only got one key.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works well with Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap

    By Terry on 10/14/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I wanted to kill some rats outside, but not run the risk of having my dog feed on the carcass of a poisoned rat. I saw the idea of placing a T-Rex Rat Trap inside the Protecta Sidekick Bait Station and thought I'd try it out. The combination works well together. The trap is contained and protected from my dog and other critters that might come by. The rat is contained inside the Bait Station, so the carcass is inaccessible, too. Prevents an injured rat from dragging the trap away. It's a good solution for those who want to avoid poisons and don't want dead rats in inaccessible locations.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Holds eight bait blocks!

    By Bryce on 09/14/2014

    A little hard to open, but holds eight bait blocks. Perfect for the homes or yards that have a full blown infestation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Too hard to open.

    By Jeng on 11/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Much harder to get open than my old boxes. I've actually left them ajar at this point and sternly warned the kids not to mess with them (they're old enough to be responsible). The lock's supposed to deal with tampering, not prevent regular maintenance!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective. Rodents can't resist these

    By Mike on 10/07/2014

    Verified Purchase

    My ceiling and walls have fallen silent since deploying these bait stations.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    RATS

    By Gene on 11/16/2018

    the rats really like them ,I would buy again I have told all my friends about this product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Lock on lid is too hard to unlock.

    By Larry on 02/27/2018

    Would give a 5 star rating but the lid is too hard to unlock/open. I solved by cutting off the locking tabs, drilled an aligning hole through the lid and body, then zip tied the lid with the body after filling with bait. To open, cut the zip tie.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Perfect sidekick

    By Michael on 12/15/2017

    Perfect accompaniment to the TRex trap!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Thank

    By Ray on 01/12/2018

    Excellent Bait trap very good working for me

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great!

    By Patricia on 05/06/2018

    Worked very well! Bait stayed dry through some very heavy rains & rats ate it all up!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BAIT TRAPSA

    By Mindy on 10/19/2018

    We have been ordering from DoMyOwn Co for many years. We have always been happy with the products we ordered. The shipping is so fast and free. I have recommended this company to many others

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Thes are needed

    By Mike on 09/03/2017

    These tamper proof bait stations are absolutely needed to protect dogs, cats and other desirable animals from getting to and ingesting the poison bait.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Sean on 05/05/2017

    I had several and I needed more. Great product for living in the city. How people who have homes dont have these is beyond me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Juan C.

    By Juan on 03/13/2017

    Good Product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Protecta

    By Duane on 10/26/2016

    I am always worried about my pets. I think these are about as safe as you can get. They lock the bait inside as long as the cover stays closed the bait is caught and should not come out. "IF PROPERLY CHECKED OFTEN ENOUGH SO THE BAIT ISN'T EATEN OFF THE POST TO THE POINT OF FALLING OFF"! Then it could roll around and roll out the holes if a dog would get at it. Now nothing is fool proof if a pet wants to get in there bad enough, but this isn't bad.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)