Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer + Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   564
4 stars   77
3 stars   26
2 stars   14
1 star   51

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(732 customer reviews)
SedgeHammer + Herbicide
$15.00

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 732 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    wonderful product

    By Loraine on 11/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My nut sedge was totally out of control--it was all through the mondo grass which was impossible to weed. I waited until the temp came down to under 85 degrees and applied it last week. Already can see the results with brown ends. Too soon for the product to totally work but it sure is nice to see the visible results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works 100%

    By Dennis on 11/18/2012

    Sedghammer herbicide does it work? Yes, if you read the label. I followed the instrustions and had 100% results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Unbelievable.

    By Anonymous on 08/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been fighting nutsedge for a long time. I used to pull them out (bad idea), used many different types of weed killers that states nutsedge on the bottle but they still can back. I bought sedgehammer, the non ionic solvent (YOU MUST GET THIS) and the gallon container mixed one package, 2 tsps of solvent in one gallon of water and sprayed directly to the nutsedge. You will first notice it stops growing after a couple of days. Then its starts to turn yellow and brown (dead dead dead) after a week or so. Before spraying make sure that the nutsedge is long so the solution can cover more area. DO NOT mow your lawn for at least a week after spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works!

    By Paul on 05/05/2018

    My strawberry patch and various areas of my yard and garden were infested with nutsedge. In the strawberries I dripped the sedgehammer on each nutsedge plant. I sprayed in the other areas. About one week later all the nutsedge had turned yellow and was in the process of dying. I will continue to use the sedgehammer throughout the summer, killing any new sprouts that come up. I have used other products found at the big box home stores with minimal success. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Do I like it?

    By Frank on 11/24/2017

    Sledgehammer is by far the only herbicide for Nutsedge on the market today. Nutsedge goes all the way to the root where others Don't. Used in conjunction with a Surfactant, it market the Sedgehammer stick to the actual weed until it die. This price is about 40% cheaper that over the counter at garden centers or feed and seed stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    PURPLE AND YELLOW SEDGE O MY

    By R on 11/15/2017

    1st identify the weeds. 2nd research the weeds (as in how to kill them). Don't ask the helpful guy at the hardware and garden store. He might know less than you.They will sell you a product that claims to kill sedge and/or control it. Three weeks later the weeds and your yard are yellowing! Three more weeks and the grass is dying and the weeds are making a comeback. Sedgehammer works and my grass is still green. Buy the bottle and spray the neighbors yard also. If you don't, the seeds from his weeds will blow into your yard and you will be spraying the weeds again on a Saturday instead of golfing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Hebicide

    By Skip on 09/17/2013

    I had a serious nutsedge issue in my yard for years. I tried to pull it out, I tried to brush each blade with undiluted weed killer & I used Image too but nothing worked. I even hired a lawn service too, so they tried a product called ProSedge, but it didn't work either. I heard about SedgeHammer so thought I'd give it a try, but didn't have a lot of hope given my past experiences. I follwed the directions exactly, and it actually worked. It killed the nutsedge with the first application and it did not harm my yard or turn the grass yellow. I was amazed. This is a fantastic product, and only wished that I had discovered it years ago! It deserves more than 5 stars! I have recommended the product to my neighbors too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Dan on 11/07/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had a problem with nutsedge for years. I put Sedgehammer on it this year and the nutsedge is gone! I had it in my roses and the spray didn't do any damage to my plants!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedge Hammer

    By Evan on 01/17/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The best and only thing that will kill the nut sedge in your turf, can't find it anywhere cheaper than on domyownpestcontrol.com The service is always phenomenal, and the staff is great. I love doing business with them due to their fair prices, exceptional service, and knowledgable staff. -Evan's Lawn Care Service, LLC. CEO/Owner

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer slams nutsedge

    By Kristine on 09/02/2010

    A very effective killer of yellow nutsedge here in NJ. I recommend the 1-gallon rate at this time since we are in a very dry summer. In the past I have used up to 2 gallons per .9g app, and when the lawn is healthy (regular rainfall during the summer) that has been effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedge Hammer

    By Gary on 06/25/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Expensive but does the job. Only thing I've found to really control nut grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works and it's worth the price

    By Ken on 04/16/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I've been using this product for 15 years and it's the only thing that will get rid of Sedge Weed. You must follow the instructions on when to spray (leaf size). You must use a surfactant with it. It only grows in warmer months and goes dormant in the winter (in Phoenix from about April to October). You cannot pull these weeds out (trust me, I've tried) because they make underground runners that proliferate and expand the growth pattern. If you find a small colony of sedge look closely at an area 10' away from the edge of the colony which is where you are likely to find new growth coming up. Spray it without delay to stop further expansion of the growth. You must be patient, it may take 3 to 5 seasons to get it under control and you must then check every spring to look for survivors. This is not like cutting off the head of a snake and killing the entire snake, you must work from the outside in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    GOODBYE NUTSEDGE

    By Dave on 10/22/2010

    In plain english, this stuff works!!!!!!!!!! image works, too, but it will kill your fescue.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Burned My Lawn

    By Warren on 08/14/2015

    I applied SedgeHammer exactly as directed and this stuff killed the grass everywhere I sprayed. The nutsedge is gone, but now, I have a yard full of brown spots where the nutsedge was. Very disappointed, will never use again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Price, Fast Shipping

    By Mark on 06/01/2018

    This was the lowest cost form of applying SedgeHammer that I could find on the internet. I received the package quickly and am pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This is Good STUFF

    By Joe on 10/11/2015

    This is the second season I have used SedgeHammer. We have had a bad Nutgrass problem for several years--have tried multiple remedies with little or no satisfaction. At the end of last summer, I used SedgeHammer--the Nutgrass literally disappeared. By July of this year, we again had a good Nutgrass crop. I tried a different product resulting in dead lawn areas and thriving Nutgrass. Used Sedgehammer again, Nutgrass disappeared again without damage to the lawn. I ran out, so have ordered enough to use when the Nutgrass becomes active again next spring. I hope two applications in the same season may end our Nutgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sledgehammer

    By Jerry on 03/23/2018

    Takes about three weeks to see effects. Heavy infestation requires second treatment. Not for use in herb garden. Check label for use in vegetable garden.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good for 24 hours after Activated

    By Ed on 06/01/2018

    Worked very well for young shallow rooted Yellow Sedge. Downside is that after it is mixed with a gallon of water it is only active for 24 hours. You may consider mixing 1/4-1/2 of the package with a quart or half gallon as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Does what it is supposed to do.

    By A. on 10/27/2015

    Eliminated SedgeHammer infestation on my St. Augustine lawn in 45 days. Sedge stopped growing in 14 days. Great stuff and easy to handle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death to Nutsedge

    By Ralph on 08/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product completely got rid of this evil weed that took over my whole front yard! I tried Ortho's Nutsedge Killer from Home Depot, which worked also, but its only sold in 24 ounce bottles and I would've required a dozen+ bottles to do the job. Instead, I ordered 3 packets for 1/3 of the total cost and used my 1 gallon sprayer. Fast, easy, economical and done!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    worked good on zeon zoysia

    By Kevin on 06/06/2017

    It took about a week but then my large patches of infestation was greatly thinned out. It got about 95% of it which I was quite happy with, only had a few stragglers to pull.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works!!!

    By Carolyn on 05/24/2016

    I have used SedgeHammer before and I know it works. It won't get rid of the sedge forever, I had to re-spray again this year. It is a bit pricey, but when you find something which works, it beats out all competition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer equals dead yellow sedge!

    By Jim on 05/25/2016

    Great stuff! Unfortunately the bright green portions of my yard show how much I missed. Getting ready to order another pouch to get rid of the rest. One of the great things about Sedgehammer is that one doesn't have to worry about over spray to other plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nut Grass

    By Rene on 08/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I used SedgeHammer, and followed the directions to the letter, it had no effect what so every. I think my nut grass reproduced twice as much. I am highly disappointed in the product and would not recommend it. I think I will just resort to digging up my problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective and easy to apply

    By Rxrider on 06/01/2018

    Had a really bad nutsedge problem. Applied as directed to my yard and nudgesege began to die a slow death within a week. Be patient, it will take a couple of weeks to show significant results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It’s finally working

    By Carol on 07/20/2018

    After two treatments and three weeks the Nutgrass is finally dying but I have a little more in another bed that needs treating. So, it would be nice if the packets were smaller so you could mix up a smaller amount to treat those areas since the Directions say you shouldn’t save unused portions

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works

    By John on 07/12/2016

    We were return customers, having purchased a case over two years ago. We have neighbors with a bad nutsedge infestation so the grass makes its way into our yard every couple of years. We tried everything to kill it and nothing worked - until we found this product. Spray it on, wait 10 days or so, and your nutsedge problem will be done. Well worth the purchase price - and the vendor is awesome. Now, if I could just work up the nerve to spray my neighbor's yard too :-/

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Awesome Product

    By Kool on 08/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Awesome product; I applied as directed and 2wks later All the sedge grass was brown. I've since mowed and my KB grass is already starting to grow back in where the sedge grass has died out!!!! Did not give it 5stars because waiting to see if it re-emerges next season???

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Miracle Cure

    By Ron on 09/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed nutsedge in a garden bed of Mondo and Liriope not knowing what might happen. The Nutsedge was as short as six inches and as tall as 2 1/2 feet. A little over two weeks have passed and the nutsedge is all a welcome yellow color and is dying. Since fall has fallen, I will have to wait until next spring to see if any little baby nuts still have enough oomph to sprout but I will be ready for them. Oh yes - I also had to spray it on some Hostas and some ground cover ("Green Carpet" a/k/a Rupture Wort, a/k/a Herniaria Glabra) and it and the aforesaid good stuff all seem to be none for the worse. I have fought and cussed this pest for 40 years. This stuff works! Roundup doesn't, unless you use it on itty bitty babies before they have formed their first "nut."

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer = Superb Results!

    By Doug on 09/24/2018

    One treatment of SedgeHammer applied to my lawn 3 weeks ago worked very well; the nut sedge showed herbicide injury within 72 hours, with complete control in 2 weeks. Zero stress to surrounding turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 732 reviews)