Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer + Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   453
4 stars   65
3 stars   19
2 stars   8
1 star   35

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(580 customer reviews)
SedgeHammer + Herbicide
$9.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 453 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works!

    By Charles on 06/20/2010

    I've been fighting nutsedge for several years using nutsedge and crabgrass control products. They were disgustingly ineffective. I read of other people's experience with SedgeHammer on a daylily web page and decided to try it. Two days after spraying, the nutsedge started turning brown. Of equal importance, the daylilies surrounding it did not. They show no evidence of ever being near an herbicide. Am I satisfied? You bet!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    262 of 269 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer - THE solution for nutsege

    By Len on 09/02/2010

    This hot, dry summer we've been having here in Tidewater, Virginia has been awful for the fescue we grow here but perfect for nutsedge. My infestation was extensive. A few tips: Follow all the advice given in the instructions. Make sure the nutsedge has almost a week of growth on it; this is important. If the sedge is too small or you try to use it on a freshly cut lawn, the sedge won't have enough surface area to absorb sufficient herbicide to be effective. Also, make sure you sure use surfactent with the hebicide, it will help this very expensive chemical be absorbed more effectively by the sedge. Give the chemical time to work; the longer you can wait before mowing after application (I waited almost a week before mowing) the better the killoff. By that time (a week after application) I had an almost 95% killoff, the few live sedges were those few I had missed on the first application. One more application on the stragglers will finish the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    182 of 185 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Gary on 07/16/2010

    I hate nut grass. It has been a problem for me from my first yard. I have used Roundup with an eye dropper and even a hypodermic syringe to kill the stuff. Then a man recommended SedgeHammer. The price was a little frightening but my resolve was firm. I bought it from DoMyOwnPestControl.com, received it promptly and used it with great success. The yellow nut grass began dying in 3 days and now is gone. I don't know if it will remain "gone", but I have enough of the stuff to "kill" it repeatedly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    154 of 159 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Works!

    By Angela on 09/06/2010

    Despite the fact that SedgeHammer is very expensive, I do not regret purchasing it because it WORKS! I bought the largest bottle which I think makes up to 40 gallons. So, I'll have enough to last me a few years. I recommend using an herbicide pump sprayer. I bought a Round-Up brand 2-gallon sprayer for $20 and it allows me to not waste as much SedgeHammer as I would if I used a watering can. I had A LOT of well-established sedge. About 7-10 days after the first application the sedge turned yellow and stopped growing and the grass was NOT harmed. I just did a second application because I had missed a lot sedge plants during the first application. This product is worth the $$.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    118 of 123 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    sedgehammer for nutshedge weed

    By Jim on 09/14/2010

    worked awesome - I used 1tbsp of dish liquid for surficant for one mixed gallon of sedgehammer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    50 of 52 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Works

    By Chuck on 08/04/2010

    I purchased SedgeHammer from DoMyOwnPestControl.com and it worked immediately. The process of getting my order filled and delivered was exceptional. I applied the product to the nutsedge that had taken over my front yard. After one application, no more nutsedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Adios, Water Grass

    By David on 09/09/2010

    I have just under an acre and about 35-40% was infested with this nasty weed. I swear I'd be cutting my grass and when I would turn around to see how I was doing, the nutsedge was already an inch taller than the grass I just cut. I spent 5 hours on a Saturday covering my lawn with doubt. I cut my grass on Monday with despair not seeing any browning or "death". However, I sit here today with a big ol' grin on my face because it is evident that the weed isn't growing and my lawn is returning. It is truly amazing how this product does nothing to the grass and eliminates this pest of a weed. Best lawn purchase I've made in years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Ed on 08/10/2010

    Best price on the Internet that I could find. Therefore, excellent value plus free shipping. A product that works well on Nut Sedge. Surely have this in my Favorites Folder to come back again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer seems to be working

    By Cy on 08/16/2010

    I purchased the SedgeHammer 1 gallon sample, and applied to all my 1000+ nutgrass. It killed at least 900, so I purchased enough for 40 1000 gallons. The last 100 just got spread and I hope that the last I will see....However, I have enough to try and be sure that it will not return. It has been quite a problem in Ocean City, NJ....and we also have it my Retirement Community. In fact, it is the Landscape people of this large community I went to, to find their recommendations....They said SedgeHammer is the only way to go. So far I am very well pleased, Cy...Doc Woods Community

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This may not make sense at having to use SH twice.

    By Chris on 07/07/2011

    Verified Purchase

    SedgeHammer (SH) is great! Two days after application the Sedge shows yellowing and then it's gone. Last year was the first application of SH to our newly laid lawn. Little did we know that tilling the soil would multiply the Sedge, so it was not surprising to see them again this year. They're gone now. ;-)) BTW, the label calls for 2 Tablespoons of nonionic surfactant. That's a bit perplexing to a layperson, but I found that JetDry (for dishwashers) is a nonionic surfactant. It worked!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome

    By Paul on 06/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product works quick, used on St. Augustine turf, in S. FL, highly recommended, knocked out my yellow nutsedge problem

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    products that WORK!

    By Brandon on 09/12/2010

    I too had used other products to try to rid my yard of nutgrass. Products like Image and several others. Nothing really worked. I used one little one gallon pack from my local farm n ranch store and voilla, DEAD. It hasn't come back in months and I couldn't be happier! Do use a non-ionic surfactant with no less than 80 percent active ingredient.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Anonymous on 07/11/2013

    This is my second time to order this herbicide, and at $115 a bottle you can bet that it must work or I would not have reordered it. Follow directions and use only one level spoon per gallon and nut grass will be gone in about 4 weeks. Be sure to use the Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides with Sedgehammer at the rate of two teaspoons per gallon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Anonymous on 08/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    After replacing a lawn due to nutsedge the nutsedge starting to come back again. After some research and speaking to a real "Master Gardener" I had two choices. Let the nutsedge take over or try SedgeHammer. Applied on August 4, 2013 following the directions carefully and I also viewed video of the application of this product. The nutsedge is dying. This weed has turned yellow as advertised. I can't wait to see this nutsedge in 4-6 weeks after treatment. At this rate I expect it to be dead. Just remember you will have to treat areas where sedge is still coming up. In time all the nutsedge will be gone. I did not cut the grass for 1 week after application. My order was filled quickly. I would purchase from this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Absolutely Awesome!!!!!

    By Peter on 09/05/2012

    I had a HUGE nutsedge problem that began 3 years ago. Thinking that it was just new grass, I let it go. Unfortunately, I found out this year that it was actually nutsedge and that it was a pain to get rid of it from the lawn. SedgeHammer WORKED!!!! Followed the directions...mixed it in a pump sprayer...sprayed the problem areas and in a few weeks it was gone!! YOU HAVE TO HAVE PATIENCE WHEN USING SEDGEHAMMER!!!! It's not like using regular weed killer that yellows the leaves in a day or two. It takes a week or two!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedge got knocked the #&@$ out!

    By Gilbert on 10/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I didn't have a lot of experience with Sedge before we moved into this house. I went down to the local spray store and was sold the wrong product (at a cost of $110). The next time I went in, I took a sample of the "grass" I was dealing with and they sold me this stuff at twice the amount I got it for here. Nonetheless, this stuff works great and I'm winning the battle against the sedge demons.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great!

    By Matt on 04/26/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I've been battling nutsedge for the past two year with little success. Local nursery recommended a Fertilome product that only yellowed the sedge, only to come back. One application of SedgeHammer and it has killed the nutsedge dead! Be patient, it takes about two weeks to show results. Would recommend to anyone battling nutsedge!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Works!

    By Mac on 06/26/2014

    Verified Purchase

    As anyone with purple and yellow nutsedge knows, these plants are extremely invasive and tough to control. But SedgeHammer really works. It kills the sedge but (in my yard) didn't hurt the fescue grass around it. In three years I've not been able to completely eradicate it, but every year I see less and less. It's definitely good to have at least one extra packet on-hand. Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    wonderful product

    By Loraine on 11/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My nut sedge was totally out of control--it was all through the mondo grass which was impossible to weed. I waited until the temp came down to under 85 degrees and applied it last week. Already can see the results with brown ends. Too soon for the product to totally work but it sure is nice to see the visible results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Mike on 09/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I spot sprayed the nutsedge. It takes a while but the product works. Read and follow the directions. Buy enough for a second application. It take 2 application about 3 weeks a part to deliver the fatal blow.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Best Post Emergent I have Ever Used

    By Devin on 08/26/2015

    Worked as advertised. Throw packet into a gallon of water, put into sprayer and hit the Nutsedge. In two days it started to flatten out and in five days it went limp. Now it's all yellow and becoming compost. It didn't hurt the Bermuda or St Augusine either. I wish all chemicals worked this good for landscaping work!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works 100%

    By Dennis on 11/18/2012

    Sedghammer herbicide does it work? Yes, if you read the label. I followed the instrustions and had 100% results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedge Hammer

    By Evan on 01/17/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The best and only thing that will kill the nut sedge in your turf, can't find it anywhere cheaper than on domyownpestcontrol.com The service is always phenomenal, and the staff is great. I love doing business with them due to their fair prices, exceptional service, and knowledgable staff. -Evan's Lawn Care Service, LLC. CEO/Owner

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Do I like it?

    By Frank on 11/24/2017

    Sledgehammer is by far the only herbicide for Nutsedge on the market today. Nutsedge goes all the way to the root where others Don't. Used in conjunction with a Surfactant, it market the Sedgehammer stick to the actual weed until it die. This price is about 40% cheaper that over the counter at garden centers or feed and seed stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    PURPLE AND YELLOW SEDGE O MY

    By R on 11/15/2017

    1st identify the weeds. 2nd research the weeds (as in how to kill them). Don't ask the helpful guy at the hardware and garden store. He might know less than you.They will sell you a product that claims to kill sedge and/or control it. Three weeks later the weeds and your yard are yellowing! Three more weeks and the grass is dying and the weeds are making a comeback. Sedgehammer works and my grass is still green. Buy the bottle and spray the neighbors yard also. If you don't, the seeds from his weeds will blow into your yard and you will be spraying the weeds again on a Saturday instead of golfing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Hebicide

    By Skip on 09/17/2013

    I had a serious nutsedge issue in my yard for years. I tried to pull it out, I tried to brush each blade with undiluted weed killer & I used Image too but nothing worked. I even hired a lawn service too, so they tried a product called ProSedge, but it didn't work either. I heard about SedgeHammer so thought I'd give it a try, but didn't have a lot of hope given my past experiences. I follwed the directions exactly, and it actually worked. It killed the nutsedge with the first application and it did not harm my yard or turn the grass yellow. I was amazed. This is a fantastic product, and only wished that I had discovered it years ago! It deserves more than 5 stars! I have recommended the product to my neighbors too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Unbelievable.

    By Anonymous on 08/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been fighting nutsedge for a long time. I used to pull them out (bad idea), used many different types of weed killers that states nutsedge on the bottle but they still can back. I bought sedgehammer, the non ionic solvent (YOU MUST GET THIS) and the gallon container mixed one package, 2 tsps of solvent in one gallon of water and sprayed directly to the nutsedge. You will first notice it stops growing after a couple of days. Then its starts to turn yellow and brown (dead dead dead) after a week or so. Before spraying make sure that the nutsedge is long so the solution can cover more area. DO NOT mow your lawn for at least a week after spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Dan on 11/07/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had a problem with nutsedge for years. I put Sedgehammer on it this year and the nutsedge is gone! I had it in my roses and the spray didn't do any damage to my plants!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer slams nutsedge

    By Kristine on 09/02/2010

    A very effective killer of yellow nutsedge here in NJ. I recommend the 1-gallon rate at this time since we are in a very dry summer. In the past I have used up to 2 gallons per .9g app, and when the lawn is healthy (regular rainfall during the summer) that has been effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works!

    By Paul on 05/05/2018

    My strawberry patch and various areas of my yard and garden were infested with nutsedge. In the strawberries I dripped the sedgehammer on each nutsedge plant. I sprayed in the other areas. About one week later all the nutsedge had turned yellow and was in the process of dying. I will continue to use the sedgehammer throughout the summer, killing any new sprouts that come up. I have used other products found at the big box home stores with minimal success. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 453 reviews)