Customer Reviews for Surge Broadleaf Herbicide for Turf

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(24 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Does the job!

    By Bob on 04/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I put this down three times a year using a 50 Gal tank sprayer (mixed at a rate of 1/2 gal. Surge to 49 gals. of water) over three and a half acres. It yellows all the weeds in about two days after the first rain and completely kills them in about 1-2 weeks. I have tried several other products, but the best results have come from Surge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    42 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Chamberbitter Slayer

    By Jeffrey on 06/28/2017

    I purchased this because my yard is invested with Chamber Bitter. If you have this weed you know that it is one of the most tenacious weeds to control. Most herbicides do have 0 affects on this weed. Most articles recommend manually extracting the weed. Easy enough in a garden bed, but tough as nails in the grass. This bugger puts out a very dense root package. The Surge label itself does NOT list this weed. On a chance I purchased Surge. I had little hope that it would work and was worried about what the side affects in my Zoysia. To my surprise, three days after application the weeds I targeted were brown and on their last legs. I may need a reapplication but will wait three weeks before applying. This stuff slays Chamber Bitter! Yea!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Steven on 03/17/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I applied Surge to the Henbit, dandelions, et al and waited. It does take a few weeks but the weeds stunted, turned yellow, and withered. It is not like Roundup where the plants shrivel within 24 hours. This takes a week or more - but it is effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Fred on 09/05/2015

    With a 2-3 day knock down it is a very good product... Doesn't harm turf grass but use as directed... 1 gallon concentrate goes a long way for spot treatment...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Ray on 05/07/2017

    Finally found a product that won't discolor my grass and actually kills the weeds

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Price

    By Dennis on 08/30/2016

    It's still above 90 degrees in Utah so I haven't had a chance to use it yet. After shopping every seller, DoMyOwn has the best price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff

    By Craig on 08/31/2018

    I had a bad problem with chamberbitter in my yard although it is not listed works GREAT on it as well as on doveweed. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Surge

    By Chuck on 05/17/2018

    Purchased this to eradicate wild strawberry in my lawn. Takes many, many applications and progress is slow. I liked the price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills Doveweed, Spurge, and more in my Florida Bermuda lawn

    By Sean on 08/11/2018

    This is quickly becoming the go to herbicide for our Bermuda lawn. Doveweed and Spurge were two hard to control weeds that were quickly spreading through our lawn this summer (again). This is the first product that I've used that was successful in killing them without killing the Bermuda. I did find that if I used the product on a very hot day (91++) the Bermuda did get burned and turned brown, but it didn't kill it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff to do Battle Against Weeds

    By John on 10/15/2017

    This Season (2017) I had a large problem dealing with "dove-weed" and some chamberbitter/gripe weed. Dove-weed was just taking over the north-west side of my home. I started the spring by hand-pulling, but could no longer keep up with the growth. "Surge" took care of it. It did take 2 application, the dove-weed was all one could see, but definitely did the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Surge Broadleaf Herbicide

    By Helen on 08/10/2017

    I purchased 2 gallons of this product, I very happy to say it worked exactly like the manufacturer said it would. Knocked out my knotweed problem in just a few days. Totally satisfied with Surge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Only Place to Shop for Pest Control

    By Jim on 07/18/2017

    I had a problem with a weed I call a mini mimosa tree. I checked with DMOPC and had a chat session. They told me about "Surge" to kill the mini mimosa. I ordered some "Surge", it arrived the next day, and the weeds are dying. I have used Do My Own Pest Control for a long time and they have never failed me. Great service, great products, great prices, immediate delivery.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    I'm impressed!

    By Michael on 04/11/2020

    I never write reviews, but fell compelled to on this. I have been fighting Oxalis the past 5 years. The Ortho product I have used in the past has done an "OK" job, but has never really impressed me. I finished spraying my 2 acres at about 5:00 pm on Tuesday, went and walked around the yard at noon the next day and the stems and leaves were already starting to curl. I only gave 4 stars because I want to see if it kills it down to the root. Very impressed so far though!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Doveweed Gone!!!

    By Pam on 09/22/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Surge is the only herbicide I have found that will even touch the doveweed in my lawn and it did not even hurt my Bermuda grass. Thank you DoMyOwn. Great website....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Surge kills it all!

    By Wayne on 04/17/2020

    Started using SURGE about two years ago. Very good on chickweed, clover and most other weeds. Don't have to worry when applying during hot weather. Little more expensive but worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Surge Broadleaf Herbicide for turf

    By Greg on 09/11/2022

    The product looked like it was working for a couple of weeks but did not kill any of the clover. It turned it a little brown but came right back. It did kill a very few of the weeds but not many. I was very disappointed.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you did not achieve the intended results. Clover can be difficult to control and may require repeat treatments

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disappointing and Frustrating

    By Shelley on 03/20/2021

    I researched weed killers and specifically chose this one because it was supposed to be safe for bermuda grass, and it was suppposed to kill bullheads and dandelions. Three days after application, my bermuda lawn is spotted with dead grass areas, and has an explosion of dandelion seed puffs. Yes, the other broadleaf weeds look dead. I think the product worked on the bullheads, but I am still waiting to see. If that result turns out to be good, then I will adjust my review somewhat.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Surge KILLING centipede lawn!

    By Bob on 10/05/2020

    After purchasing Surge to eradicate common lespedeza in my centipede lawn...and...waiting for the daytime high temperatures to drop below 90F....following ALL directions, I am extremely upset that it has begun killing my centipede grass while there are absolutely no signs that it has done anything to thwart the growth of the lespedeza. This was an expensive purchase and will be extremely expensive if it kills all of my centipede grass lawn. I want answers and I want them now!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Will kill you Lawn

    By John on 08/05/2020

    Mixed 1 oz of Surge Broadleaf Herbicide with one gallon of Waterloo kill Dollarweed. Killed most of my lawn.Don't use

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Surge

    By Gayle on 07/13/2020

    Bought some Surge to kill weeds in my Bermuda grass.. Mixed as directed, it did not hurt the Bermuda and killed everything but either dallisgrass or crabgrass. We haven't figured out which it is. Delivery was timely and package arrived in good shape. If anybody has an easy sure fire killer for this, let me know is I have been pulling this unwanted grass out by hand. Will order again from Do My Own.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Did not get satisfactory results

    By Dj on 08/19/2019

    I got this product after recommendation from the DMO customer service recommendation. I would give it 3-star as that's the amount of weeds this herbicide controlled. It only controlled about 50-60% weeds for me which emerged back within 3-4 weeks. I always tried a higher doze and even doubled the recommended dose ~3oz per 1000 sqft of the area. The result were slightly better but the weeds were back to normal again in 3-4 weeks. I am not happy with this product and I am looking for a different product now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Surge weed control

    By Cindy on 07/05/2019

    I have a certain weed in my yard along with many others that through the last two years are choking out my centipede. Clover included an I think this is a kin to clover but not the same. Have tried several products suggested to me. It laughs at them. A friend that was in landscaping many years told me about this product. Can be used in heat like 90degrees to 100. I sprayed a gallon worth and he told me yo use 2 it's per gallon. It stayed on at least 4 hours before it rained. After a small amount of rain the clover was wilted. Next day whatever the dense weed I'm fighting was turning yellow. A couple of weeks have passed and that weed is now turning ing nothing. Centipede is already staring to come through. Raking up the dead areas was not recommended. It's been amazing. Another weed was black within hours. He said did great on several hard to get rid of weeds like dollar weed. Super impressed. Trying to sell our home but if we don't sell I still like a nice yard. Kinda pricey but well worth it as it is killing the weeds. Has not hurt centipede at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This product works!

    By Kathleen on 03/29/2019

    This product works just as the directions state. Our lawn care team has tried other herbicides and they did not do the job. Surge is working well from just one application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Surge on Bermuda...Beware!

    By Ott on 10/12/2018

    Used Surge to control/eliminate Buttonweed from Bermuda. Followed directions and all the surrounding Bermuda turned brown, its been 3 weeks with no sign of recovery.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)