Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

clear search

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(221 customer reviews)
Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Granules

    By Cindy on 09/22/2016

    I love this product. I was intoduced to it 10 years ago by a friend who received rave reviews from his neighbors on how great his lawn looked. Granted this is not a fertilizer, but using it removes insects from your lawn and allows for a healthy, green lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar xtra

    By Tad on 05/11/2018

    Great stuff works well ,have been looking for something to cover all bugs in lawn

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    No longer works

    By Shelly on 03/02/2019

    I've used Talstar for 6 years on my Tampa FL lawn to eliminate mole crickets and chinch bugs. It worked great! Had so many compliments on my lawn. Last year it just seemed to stop working I applied it numerous times. Did the ingredients change?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It really works

    By Ralph on 08/20/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Product is on the expensive side but works great, I have not seen an ant on my lawn since it was applied 2 weeks ago, it also seems to have killed the chinch bugs as I am seeing a change of the bald spots on my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    64 of 67 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works fairly well

    By Adam on 06/22/2017

    For general lawn ants like Cornfield ants, it does not work as fast as it claims. You really need to treat each and every mound, and there can be many, and then spread granules over the enitre lawn or the ants just move and invade the area not treated. You may have to do this 2 or 3 times to control them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Talstar xtra Granules

    By Robar on 10/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great stuff. Expensive to use every 3 or 4 months for getting everything under control. (This was suggested to me by a lawn care pro to build uo a certain level in the lawn) It seems to have done the trick. Thank you kindly..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mole crickets

    By Patrick on 03/31/2018

    Thank you for the great Talstar product and the fast service. Best product to get rid of mole crickets that totally tare up your lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Be sure to water in if no rain

    By Gary on 07/12/2016

    Had rain in forecast so delayed watering in. Got good kill on sod webworm moths, but the eggs they had already released, hatched and had some lawn damage. Dry areas most severely infested. Watered lawn, has shut down the worm damage and spot treated infested areas.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    great

    By Joe on 07/14/2016

    Put this down to get rid of carpenter ants. Works great in combination with Taurus. Liked the granules for the ease of spreading on lawn vs spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    FIRE ANT CONTROL

    By Tom on 10/19/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I am a professional lawn company...Talstar will eliminate fire ants for about 3 months...A great product at a good price!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar EXTRA Granular

    By Carol on 09/11/2020

    I was very happy with this product to eradicate Chinch Bugs in our lawn. The service I received from 'Do My Own' was excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Talstar XTRA Insecticide, first use

    By Gregg on 05/20/2023

    First year for using the product. Been fertilizing the lawn the last three years and seeing results. This spring, found an areas in the lawn with ant mounds. This might explain finding ants in the house, but I want them gone. Researched what was best to use, and Talstar XTRA was highly rated. Applied Talstar with broadcast spreader, watered it in, and a week later noticed the mounds were disappearing. Still too soon to give Talstar a thumbs up, but time will tell

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective Against Sod Webworms

    By Anthony on 09/05/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews about this product and had high hopes it would address my pest issue. I was interested in a product that could deal with my sod webworm issue. The sod webworms are a major pests in the Spring Texas. So, after reading the reviews, I purchased 3 bags of the Talstar XTRA Granules($120.84) in July 2017. Prior to applying the granules, I mowed the lawn closer than normal. I used a traditional mini broadcast spreader and handheld broadcast spreader to apply the granules to both the lawn and flower beds. After a few days, I monitored the lawn and flower beds. Initially, I noticed a slight decrease in the number sod webworms hanging around my entrance area to the house and the flower beds. I assumed the product was having an impact on the pest. Although, there was still a number of sod webworms flying around in the entrance area over the next few days. Later that evening, I applied another application(25lbs bag) of the Talstar XTRA Granules to the front lawn and flower beds again. And I made sure that the lawn was mowed prior to application. No luck. The pesky sod webworms were back in force the following week. If you have an issue with sod webworms, I would not recommend this product. I just placed an order for Bifen Granules, Bifen XTS and Cyzmic CS Micro-encapsulated Insecticide. Hopefully, the combination of products will eliminate the annoying and destructive pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Best

    By Stan on 07/27/2016

    Talstar Xtra Granules is little expensive, but it is by far the best lawn pesticide I have used. It works great to keep mole crickets and chinch bugs in check.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Satisfied customer

    By Pat on 06/22/2018

    I have been buying this product for years and Iam always satisfied with it. I live in Florida and it totally does a number on the insects that are over taking my front lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product for fire ants

    By Cmw on 03/11/2014

    Our lawn service has been using this on our 1 acre lot with wonderful success. If you know anything about fire ants, they are bad news. This product works really well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Moths out of control ie: webworms

    By J.b. on 09/24/2021

    I had an issue with moths in the yard for the last 2 years and it was getting worse. When I would cut the lawn they would fly out in droves. If you weren't careful you could get a mouthful. After just one application of the XTRA Granular Insecticide 10 days later the problem was salved. The last time I was cutting the lawn I only saw 2 in the half acre I cut. I'm very happy with the progress this has made. I'm hoping that brown patches will slowly disappear and turn green.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It seems working pretty well

    By J. on 07/19/2016

    I'm used to mowing the lawn high, and the liquid one doesn't get to the root easily. So I changed to use this granual one the first time. Observed quite many June bugs dead in under the grass. Not sure how long it will last. Time will tell. It is pretty expensive though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Bartlett on 07/27/2019

    This product does what it says it can do. Here in Florida we have a large number of insects in our lawns. I use this product a number of times though out the year for insect free lawns. Great for red ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No more bugs

    By David on 09/30/2022

    Flea free yard for a few years now using this product. Dropped the ball and did not treat lawn in the spring and found out the hard way I have chinch bugs. Applied this and chinch bug problem went away and grass looks great again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Doing a good job for 4 months

    By Elvi on 06/28/2019

    Started applying to my Florida 9000sqf lawn every 2 months and I'm very happy with results. Did find 2 tiny ant holes and spot sprayed. Doing a great job with Red ants. Neighbor just bought some to help with his red ant problem

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    "Ticks no more!"

    By Jenette on 05/02/2016

    After being diagnosed with Lyme disease a few years ago, I contracted with a pest control company to treat my lawn twice a year. I noticed that Talstar XTRA granules was the product that they used. I determined that it was more cost effective for me to apply this product myself, and found "DoMyOwnPestControl.com" on-line and have since purchased it from them. I apply it three times a year to my lawn and surrounding areas using a broadcast spreader. The original pest control company only used a hand spreader, and I really wondered how thorough they were in applying Talstar. It has worked out wonderfully and I believe that I have solved the tick problem and saved money, as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar XTRA Granules

    By Anonymous on 08/21/2013

    Verified Purchase

    So far, this product is kicking the bugs right out of my lawn. The grass is coming back as never before. The grass looks healthier and greener also. Do My Own Pest Control was a great help with getting my bug problems solved. The product, shipping, customer service,and price were unbeatable. Thank you so much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ants

    By Roscoe on 04/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We were getting ready to have a big birthday party for the Grandson and found too many fire ants to take the chance. We used the Talstar Xtra on the recomendation of a friend who is in the pest control business. We spread 50 pounds with the lawn spreader and didn't see one ANT at the party. Great product, Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    67 of 69 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Did the Job

    By Richard on 10/13/2023

    I have bin battling with ground bugs for two years and decided to deal with the problem my self. My landscape people just gave me excuses. This product did the job. after spending so much money on the lawn. I learned a lesion , I can do better the the landscapers. Thank You for the FREE shipping

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Still Have Too Many Ants

    By Caterina on 10/08/2018

    Please note - my rating is based on still have way too many ants hills in our yard. It could be our lawn and not the product. I am going to try something else and see if another product works. I have always purchased from DoMyOwn and never dissatisfied with any products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DOES NOT WORK

    By Courtney on 08/08/2020

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product because it had excellent reviews and was supposed to last for months. Not only did it fail to eliminate the ant colonies all over my lawn, but it didn't even make a dent. Absolute waste of time and money. FYI, I thought it was operator error, so I purchased the liquid version afterwards. Same results, completely ineffective. I spent way too much money on these products to have such poor results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not so great!!

    By Nc on 04/16/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Decided to try the XTRA versus the PL. Over a week and it did not kill any fire ants (3 different lawns). Still have mounds full. I'm not sure if the batch was bad, but definitely did not work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Works!

    By Glenn on 12/11/2020

    This was the second purchase I've made from DoMyOwn. The two products I have gotten were not even known to our local DIY pest control folks. I had a Pharaoh ant problem four months ago that was resolved 2 weeks after I used Taurus. Three weeks ago I had a fire ant issue. Not any more since Talstar. I now need to sign up for their lawn care program.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Flea control

    By Teressa on 05/11/2019

    Purchased to control the fleas in my yard. It's only been a few weeks but it seems to be doing the job. I found very few fleas on my on my dog since spreading it on my lawn. My only complaint is that I couldn't find information on what setting to use on my Scott's Turf Builder Edgeguard mini spreader. It appears that a sufficient setting was used based on the flea reduction. Perhaps a higher setting would have eliminated the fleas?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)