Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   93
4 stars   13
3 stars   5
2 stars   3
1 star   12

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(126 customer reviews)
Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide
$42.25

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 126 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Just OK

    By Bubba on 10/16/2010

    This product worked great... at first. Applied it correctly and it was like a nuclear bomb went off - no ants, no crickets, no anything. However, a week or so went by and the ants were back. Why? Probably because of local control. I have lots of sandy spots and those don't take to the poison well? I find the liquid talstar HARDER to apply, but it works better in all conditions. For some reason the granular works well for yards and areas with no sand, etc. The granules are also hard to spread in landscape beds. Talstar as a whole is the BEST so maybe the answer is to buy granular for the grassy areas that are usually large and hard to cover with spray and then buy the spray for the landscaping beds and sandy spots in your lawn. Either way BE CAREFUL this stuff is so toxic that in minutes lizards, crickets, and ants start to flee their hiding places and you'll find them everywhere... dead! 5 stars for the liquid Talstar for sure, 4 stars for Talstar XTRA because despite the fact it has pretty ant(s) on the packaging it is not that great for ant(s) and may not work around planting beds, near sidewalks, and/or empty patches in lawns.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    92 of 95 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product at a Great Price!

    By Glen on 05/17/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Had mole crickets in my yard, and now..... I now have a mole cricket free back yard. Easy to follow instructions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    37 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Granules

    By Robert on 04/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I put the granules out around the shrubbery and foundation of the house according to directions. I used the Talstar spray a month ago on the walls of the house. My roach problem has almost been elimintated. The Roaches I do see don't feel so good. Along with most other houses in Macon, last week we had our yearly infestation of redbugs crawling everywhere - except where that I had sprayed with Talstar. Good stuff and I like the lack of odor and ease of use. Make certain you have a good spreader.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    36 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It really works

    By Ralph on 08/20/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Product is on the expensive side but works great, I have not seen an ant on my lawn since it was applied 2 weeks ago, it also seems to have killed the chinch bugs as I am seeing a change of the bald spots on my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 35 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fire Ants

    By Roscoe on 04/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We were getting ready to have a big birthday party for the Grandson and found too many fire ants to take the chance. We used the Talstar Xtra on the recomendation of a friend who is in the pest control business. We spread 50 pounds with the lawn spreader and didn't see one ANT at the party. Great product, Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    31 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not as effective as stated

    By L on 03/19/2015

    Verified Purchase

    We used Talstar granules for ant control several years ago and it worked very well. Elected to go with the Talstar XTRA based on the product info and reviews and ordered 100#. Put all 100# down, some by hand spreader to enable me to increase the amount of granules in heavier infested areas and the other by push spreader - actually hand scooping out of the hopper to put additional granules on large ant mounds. There was a small ant mound on a brick walkway - put the granules directly on it by hand. Order another 50# as had another area that needed ant control. It rained after the initial spreading of the granules and within 2 days the ants on the brick walkway were alive and well! Had to supplement with a liquid 'kill them now' insect control. Needless to say for the amount of money we spent for 150# of this we are extremely disappointed. We will be looking for something else for our future ant control.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If the Talstar Xtra granules are applied at a higher rate and watered in as labeled, you should see an initial drop in activity within the first day or two after application. It is important to keep in mind that the active ingredients in Talstar Xtra will not transfer throughout the ant colonies. Depending on what type of ants you have in the yard, sometimes you can even see a surge in activity just after applying insecticides. The Talstar granules, however, will have a residual (they'll keep working) for at least 30 days, so you should see results for weeks. You may want to give the product some more time to work before using other products. You may also want to consider using an ant bait that will work throughout the colony; you will want an identification on the specific type of ant to choose the best bait. We are always happy to discuss your treatment further with you via live chat online, email (anytime), or telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar XTRA Granules & Do My Own Pest Control

    By Shawn on 04/19/2015

    Verified Purchase

    We have used Talstar for several years to control fire ants, ticks, and fleas. Living in Florida, this is a very important factor in our lives, to live bug free. This product works and keeps on working year after year. We will never use anything else, except we do use Talstar liquid to spray our house. Also, this company is the best, they have never disappointed us; we really appreciate their prompt service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    "Ticks no more!"

    By Jenette on 05/02/2016

    After being diagnosed with Lyme disease a few years ago, I contracted with a pest control company to treat my lawn twice a year. I noticed that Talstar XTRA granules was the product that they used. I determined that it was more cost effective for me to apply this product myself, and found "DoMyOwnPestControl.com" on-line and have since purchased it from them. I apply it three times a year to my lawn and surrounding areas using a broadcast spreader. The original pest control company only used a hand spreader, and I really wondered how thorough they were in applying Talstar. It has worked out wonderfully and I believe that I have solved the tick problem and saved money, as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't waste your money

    By Bill on 07/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    this seemed to be ideal product for ants and I spread a hefty (at least 20 feet) ring around the house. Still seeing sugar ants galore. not happy with my purchase.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you are not happy with your purchase. Talstar XTRA granules are great for creating a barrier, but they will necessarily treat ants that are already inside the house. For ants inside, we would recommend our Complete Ant Kit (http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/complete-ant-kit-p-1055.html), which contains baits that the ants will transfer throughout the colony, regardless of how or where they have found entrance into the structure. We would be happy to discuss this further with you. We can be reached by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST. We apologize for any inconvenience, and we appreciate your business! Customer Service Do My Own Pest Control

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    WHM129

    By William on 04/28/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with everything but the product. I saw a pest control company using a simular product and it worked extremely well. I had used another product available on this site that worked fairly well but not as well as what the pest control company used. I asked and was told it was Talstar Granules. I used the product the same way the pest control company did, but it does not kill the ants the way theirs did. The granuals they used were white and a little larger then these. I am not satisified with this product at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    being bugged= forgotten!

    By Nicholas on 08/18/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This product is SUPERIOR for all types of bugs. It lasts and is a fantastic residual product. have used it for all pests including ants, fly, bees, ect...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Failure

    By Suzette on 08/06/2015

    I have used a spreader to get to the areas that were most infested by typical red ants and nothing happened so I reapplied a week later and the ants are still here! The only thing I can think this may have failed is we have been getting rain almost everyday. So disappointed. I was very happy with the other products I've purchased from this company dealing with chinch bugs...completely gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Jacksonville, on 01/28/2016

    Been fighting flees in the yard for 3 years. Tried the Lowes & Home Depot & Alternative Pest Control products. Nothing worked. Dogs still kept getting flees and lots of them. (Yes, I treated the inside of my house and bedding too.) (live in Jacksonville, FL so flees are year round, no hard freezes in 3 years.) My next door neighbor has had only 1 flee in 7 years. (one, probably from my yard) He let me use the last of his and it worked pretty well, just didn't have nearly enough for my yard. But the number of flees went down on my dogs. Therefore, Bought 3 bags, used only 1 full bag for my entire yard and within days of the application and bathing my dogs - NO FLEES on any of the dogs. WOW I now have a happy wife & dogs. And I couldn't be happier. Thank you. Great product. (the other two bags are for future treatments. I'm following my neighbors treatment plan which is the one recommended.)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar xtra granules

    By Frazier on 05/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This is the best product to use for fire ant control. I have never had a problem with fire ants after using this product. No one cn beat it. I tell all my neighbors to use it. Fire ants are bad in this beach area od SC. Thank you DoMyOwnPestControl!! I will continue to use this product withoout worry o having fire ants'

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not so great!!

    By Nc on 04/16/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Decided to try the XTRA versus the PL. Over a week and it did not kill any fire ants (3 different lawns). Still have mounds full. I'm not sure if the batch was bad, but definitely did not work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Pest control

    By Mark on 10/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product does not work!!! Do not buy!!! I could have spit on the ants and caused more damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra for sod web worms in Texas

    By Gary on 05/12/2017

    This will be the 4th year using this product to control sod web worms. If the season is short (2 months or less) 2#/1000 sq ft works. If longer (meaning starts earlier) then use 3#/1000. Last year was longest year ever, 5 months June-Oct.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    talstar xtra granules 25

    By Frank on 12/03/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have found this product to be one of the best products for ant and millipedes

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    FIRE ANT CONTROL

    By Tom on 10/19/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I am a professional lawn company...Talstar will eliminate fire ants for about 3 months...A great product at a good price!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    talstar XTRA

    By Tom on 09/22/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Very happy finally got rid of the cinch bugs after 3 other products only slowed them down

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Kendyll on 09/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product shipped the next day and received it within three days of purchase. Product was easy to use and instructions were very clear on the website. Product appears to have worked exactly as advertised. Used it for mole crickets that had set up a home in my backyard and they were attracting some very unwelcome garter snakes! Now, no crickets and haven't seen a snake either! Thankfully.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for roaches

    By Kevin on 06/01/2017

    I have some rental properties that have mulch in the garden or areas with crushed stone. These are live heaven for cockroaches. Using this on occasion eliminates that problem

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Granules

    By Cindy on 09/22/2016

    I love this product. I was intoduced to it 10 years ago by a friend who received rave reviews from his neighbors on how great his lawn looked. Granted this is not a fertilizer, but using it removes insects from your lawn and allows for a healthy, green lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Use Talstar XTRA Granules! You won't be sorry!

    By Darlene on 09/14/2015

    Excellent! Got rid of ant mounds quickly and completely. With other products the ants just seem to move to another area of the yard. Not so with Talstar!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fire ant control

    By Francis on 01/07/2017

    I have fire ants and had difficulty finding something to control them. Talstar XTRA works better than any other product I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra Granules

    By Terry on 05/03/2017

    I have been using this product and they are great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This Really Works!

    By S on 05/06/2016

    I was somewhat skeptical about ever finding a granular insecticide that worked as well as diazinon did. But I gave this a shot based on the reviews. To my surprise it exceeded my expectations and within a few days I started seeing exceptional results. I can say I will be a regular5 customer with this product from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Does the job

    By Brandon4791 on 09/21/2016

    A couple years ago, we had a house built on some land that had been cow pasture for at least the past two hundred years. A few days after they sodded the yard, thousands of little ant hills sprouted up everywhere like the stars in the sky. The little guys were brazen in their attempt to enter the house as well. My better half and I felt overwhelmed and we called Terminix. A very kind associate came over and diligently applied Delta Dust all over the house and Delta G in the yard and charged us over $200. It was like shooting a BB gun at a freight train. Didn't make a difference at all. So I came to this website, did "Shop by Pest" applied the Talstar and two days later the anthills were gone. This stuff is easy to apply, not expensive, and gets the job done!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    mole crickets

    By Cjc on 09/06/2017

    This stuff works! I live in the south and had a terrible mole cricket problem.They kill my grass and give the yard bald spots all over.Since using this product it's been good bye crickets .I still have to spot treat but yard looks much better

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective Against Sod Webworms

    By Anthony on 09/05/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews about this product and had high hopes it would address my pest issue. I was interested in a product that could deal with my sod webworm issue. The sod webworms are a major pests in the Spring Texas. So, after reading the reviews, I purchased 3 bags of the Talstar XTRA Granules($120.84) in July 2017. Prior to applying the granules, I mowed the lawn closer than normal. I used a traditional mini broadcast spreader and handheld broadcast spreader to apply the granules to both the lawn and flower beds. After a few days, I monitored the lawn and flower beds. Initially, I noticed a slight decrease in the number sod webworms hanging around my entrance area to the house and the flower beds. I assumed the product was having an impact on the pest. Although, there was still a number of sod webworms flying around in the entrance area over the next few days. Later that evening, I applied another application(25lbs bag) of the Talstar XTRA Granules to the front lawn and flower beds again. And I made sure that the lawn was mowed prior to application. No luck. The pesky sod webworms were back in force the following week. If you have an issue with sod webworms, I would not recommend this product. I just placed an order for Bifen Granules, Bifen XTS and Cyzmic CS Micro-encapsulated Insecticide. Hopefully, the combination of products will eliminate the annoying and destructive pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 126 reviews)