Customer Reviews for Tomahawk Pro Series Trap Model 608SS (Raccoon & Ground Hog size animals)

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.9 of 5 stars
(25 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A quality product!

    By Larry on 10/08/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I had bought a Havahart 1079 and thought it was a flimsy piece of junk so I returned it. I'm glad I spent an extra $50 for the Tomahawk. It's heavy duty, the trap mechanism works great and because of the tight mesh I'm confident an animal can't reach out and claw me. I've trapped and relocated two possums so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    26 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing trap

    By Dee on 05/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I went searching for a new trap because the cats were escaping the one I was using. The cats were also able to reach their paws into and out of the trap, which had be worried for a number of reasons. They were also avoiding the trip plate that stuck way up. The Tomahawk pro series has solved all of my problem. Even a little kitten will trip this thing, nobody has escaped, and nobody is stealing food through the bars without going inside. It's the perfect trap, except for one thing. It is really difficult to get the rear door locked and unlocked because the clip is so small. I hope the company will consider making that clip a little bigger and putting it at the top of the cage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good - works as expected

    By Ig on 10/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Well made case - looks and feels very durable. Bought is to catch a raccoon family leaving under my deck. The first day caught skunk. The second day caught a big raccoon - must be _ 50 pounds. It was hard to transport it but the case worked. The only tricky part I've noticed is that the back door is made very secure - too secure for dealing with skunk and I was concerned about being sprayed while letting it out. For catching skunk (if you know that's what's happening vs. me being surprised by it), I recommend putting a stick to secure the back door vs. latch. In this way, you can open it more easily.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk Pro series trap

    By Lou on 08/24/2015

    The "Tomahawk Pro series trap" worked, perfectly as advertised,, In the first 3 days I trapped 4 woodchucks 1 raccoon and 1 opossum... 100% satisfaction.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This small animal trap is just right.

    By Kenneth on 11/11/2012

    It is 100% what I wanted. I have tried it out and it works perfectly and seems very durable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sturdy, easy to set raccoon trap

    By Carole on 11/21/2016

    My sister has a recurring problem with raccoons (17 to be exact!) because her landlord won't fix holes in the eaves or soffits. I have purchased about 3 Havahart traps, but the critters can grab the food without tripping the plate, get the door open, and one even bent the wire that holds the door. She already caught a large raccoon in the new Tomahawk. The trap is easy to set, and the close-set mesh keeps the animals from reaching in from the side to get the bait. The door stays shut. This trap has great value for the price and is reliable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Substantial trap

    By H. on 06/27/2017

    This is a very substantial trap with closely woven wire, eliminating the probability of little raccoon fingers scratching your legs when you carry the trap. Traps can take a beating when the animal is trying very hard all night to dig his way out, and this model looks like it will hold up. The front door also has two layers of wire, a safety feature that keeps the user safer when the raccoon population is frequently rabid......worth the few extra dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great investment

    By Karen on 09/21/2018

    Have not used it yet. It is the best built trap I have ever seen. It works like a charm and is a true example of getting what you pay for. Anything that gets into this trap, is not going to get out without help.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Simple, rugged and reliable

    By John on 05/21/2021

    After some research I decided on getting the 608SS to tackle a raccoon overload on my ranch. I felt it would hold up and not get torn up by any captured coons and I t has worked out well as the materials and quality are great. I'm very happy with my decision and would buy it again and recommend it to anyone looking for a quality trap. There may be cheaper options but I would be concerned they wouldn't hold up like the 608SS has.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No problems

    By Andrew on 07/12/2019

    Bought this primarily to catch armadillos, and it works great. Easy to use and sturdy. Haven't tried for any raccoons yet, but i have confidence this device will stand up the punishment. Well built. You get what you pay for with this trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk model 608SS

    By Scott on 07/27/2020

    Received this trap yesterday. Easy to set up. Used marshmallows for bait. Checked the trap this morning. Caught a huge raccoon. My havahart trap was not working properly. The raccoons were escaping and bending the trip plate,so I gave this trap a try. Seems to be very sturdy compared to the havahart trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk trap

    By Karen on 05/13/2018

    The trap is heavy duty . I have had other trap that racoons tear the doors and get out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk Pro Series Trap...Model 608SS

    By Jane on 10/07/2016

    great purchase and really strong trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Well made trap

    By Daniel on 09/24/2021

    I originally purchased a similar trap from another company and found it to be flemzy; thus, requiring me to have to brace it against a solid object. I did catch a raccoon on my first attempt, but at daybreak I found that some how it had escaped. I then purchased this unit that is rigid and up to the task. Three attempts resulted in one raccoon and a possum. No escaping. Well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Trap needs improvements

    By Joe on 05/29/2023

    As to date this is the best quality trap I have found, but there are two necessary improvements that need to be made. 1.) The trip plate needs to be a heavier gauge steel because a large raccoon can bend the plate. 2.) The trip transfer bar needs to be located on the OUTSIDE of the trap OR be made from a heavier gauge rod, because large raccoons WILL bend it making the trap inoperable. I've caught 5 raccoons with this trap so far, and 2 raccoons have bent the trip plate and trip transfer bar.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Prefect for job

    By Joseph on 07/28/2020

    Well built with all the thing necessary to do the job Easily and no unnecessary stressing of the animals Your trying relocating

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk traps

    By Jeff on 03/07/2023

    38 years in animal control and trapping. Tomahawk traps are hands down the most durable traps made. Well made, and dependable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Quality that is above the box store brands.

    By Roger on 05/02/2022

    Heavier gauge steel combined with skilled welds sets this trap above the rest. Designed to last, even with short term confinement of raucous pests. To date, a combined total of eight trapped 20 lb. to 25 lb. raccoons and opossums, and the mechanics of the spring door continues to operate solidly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Simply the BEST

    By Rex on 11/05/2021

    Can't beat the quality of Tomahawk traps. I've had one for over 20 years that has finally caught too many coons...although it still catches them it has taken quite a beating over the years, my new one is much stronger, and as for the old one I purchased it used . So I really don't know how long it had been in service before I got it. But because of how well it worked is the reason I replaced it with another Tomahawk Trap. As far as I'm concerned there is no better one one the market. Can see that these are built to last, and the old one proves that for sure..I'm 67 going on 68 years old and this last trap should out last me for sure, Just want to say Thanks for such quality products at fair prices. Highly recommend These traps for all you trapping needs. I don't think you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Strong trap

    By Sherril on 10/22/2021

    I received the trap and it looked very sturdy, not like the havahart one that a raccoon destroyed and escaped from. I haven't caught the pesky raccoon yet, but have not tried lately. I did catch a opossum but let him go as he was not my aim.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Live trap

    By Tom on 10/07/2022

    Well made. Much much stronger than the usual variety.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    well thought out, easy to use, solidly built

    By Joshua on 10/29/2021

    if you need to trap raccoons or skunks this is a well thought out design, easy to use, solidly built ..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I Finally Found a WELL Built Cage

    By Edward on 06/26/2023

    When your ready for new Raccoon ???? ???? ???? Cages ……these are really really built strong…with heavy gauge, tight woven wire (smaller squares) throughout the entire cage, so critters can't reach through wire and steal bait The trip pad is heavy duty (not that thin tin) and the trip pad is reinforced too, cage has a release door which is well built, easy to open a handle, and a nice easy to use clip lock, release door makes it easy to set out bait too. Cheaper cages on the market without easy access door is difficult to set bait where you need it. These cages aren't just thrown together, mass produced in China, they are nice and square. Wouldn't recommend it, but think you could stand on the cages, they're so well built. I would be blown away if raccoons are ever able escape these ???? traps. Cage price is understandably more than cheap cages you buy at your local farm supply store, you get what you pay for. I almost never write product reviews, but I enjoyed writing this review…

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    odel 608SS (Raccoon & Ground Hog size animals)

    By Chuck on 07/28/2023

    not the same size guage of wire and spacing as the original havent gotten anything yet to see if it will hold a full size racoon without being destroyed

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tomahawk trap

    By Paul on 12/02/2023

    I was replacing three old traps I had used for years from a box store. The level of quality is so vastly superior with these it is almost unimaginable. The thought of design and strength is impressive. These won’t need to be replaced. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)