Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(376 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$89.98

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 361 to 376 (of 376 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care for Homeowner

    By Dave on 11/01/2021

    The instruction were great for how to mix and spray. I had 2 areas of exposed beams in my garage. After one application, all powder post beetle activity (sawdust on floor) was gone. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Watch out for drips and overspray - dries sticky

    By Sjc on 11/05/2021

    I liked this product because it’s relatively non-toxic, so I felt comfortable using it as a DIY-er. When mixed with water 1:1 it’s very watery and therefore drippy. Since I was spraying it over my head onto a basement ceiling I ended up with LOTS of drips. I used a fantastic sprayer (Chapin Premier) but still wasn’t able to keep the product only on the targeted beams. The overspray and falling droplets dried to a sticky film. It wipes up with a warm wet cloth but that was another step to the project I hadn’t counted on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Bob on 11/08/2021

    Stuff is being applied to 6 year old deck made with heat treated wood, not pressure treated. Deck boards breaking due to ordinary foot traffic in wet areas, due to fungi induced rot. What's worse, pressure treated supports also getting mushy. Won't hold lag screws for rail sections. We will probably never really know if any treatment slows the damage. Still worth a try. Users should be aware that this material is thick/viscous like cold honey. Read directions before dumping into sprayer. Takes a lot of mixing with water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By R.g.duffin on 12/31/2021

    This item's transaction was flawless. The Bore-Care arrived at our home in California in record time, about 3 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Houston on 12/31/2021

    I have used this product in the past. It is easy to apply. It seems to work. Their website is easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great company and product

    By Eric on 01/08/2022

    I have used do my own in the past and have always been given great advice. products are shipped fast and to my door and less expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    interesting to mix with water

    By Flapz on 02/25/2022

    I won't know how effective bora-care is on preventing termite & fungus damage for 20 years . But this is my experiences mixing it with water. I used a 1 to 1 mix because the existing untreated douglas fur 2x8 joists joists under my trex composite decking suffered random termite and dry rot damage. There is no roof over this deck and the surfer I hired to install it provided no spacing between the trex planks and used 16 sinkers instead of stainless screws and 1/3 of his sinkers missed the joists. After 20 years most of the sinkers were rusted away. This location is on the central cal coast about 100' above and 400' from the sea. Pretty corrosive environment. Actually the most damaged components were the 2x12 clear redwood fascia surrounding the deck. It looked like a honeycomb from the termites . I painted the new, replacement, already pressure treated (copper solution) 2x8 fur joists with a 1 to 1 bora care solution. I used the same on the new, non pressure treated redwood 2x12 and also on the top surround 2x6 railing. Since I was painting each joist on 4 sides twice with the solution I mixed small batches ( 1 quart) of the very thick (like STP) bora-care with water from our water heater at 160+ degree F hot water. I incorporated the hot water into the BC slowly mixing with a painting stir stick which worked well for starters and finished with a rotating metal paint stir tool driven by my electric drill motor. I experimented with the water temp and found the hotter the better. I'm 80 so, don't check back with me in 20 years. Flapz

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Still works great, almost ten years out

    By Jennifer on 03/27/2022

    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed this on the framing of the last house we built 10 years ago. We just had a termite inspection report done - no termite damage at all. Our realtor said it's very unusual to see that in any house in the area. I'm buying it again to spray on our current build. I'd much rather buy a $90 jar of this and a backpack sprayer once than have my house tented on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to apply - hope it works

    By Jerome on 04/29/2022

    This was the 17th gallon I purchased. Several things. Make sure the Bora-Care is at room temperature - 65 F or warmer before mixing. Make sure your mixing water is warm. Don’t store the mixed material in low temperatures as it will develop “flakes” and clog up the sprayer. We sprayed the inside and outside of a two story log “lodge”. It took about 20 hours. Treating for powder post beetles.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product, easy to apply

    By Penelope on 05/06/2022

    Great product, easy to apply. No smell at all. Seems to work perfectly for the purpose

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Daniel on 05/23/2022

    Followed the easy directions and it was a breeze. I did need to wipe off overspray on any plumbing pipes or hvac duct but it was no problem. I have a basement with superior walls and this was an easy inexpensive solution to termite treatment for my final inspection

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stuff Works Great

    By David on 10/12/2022

    It works very well but be aware that it is very viscous like maple syrup which makes it a little difficult to inject with a hypodermic needle, but it is still effective diluted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Buford on 10/21/2022

    Arrived on time and a great product. Great service as usual.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    great service

    By Glenn on 10/25/2022

    they had the product i needed at a great price, fast shipping...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Terminating dry wood eaters

    By Gerard on 12/30/2022

    Second time I used Bora Care to take care of dry wood termites. Just perform the tasks that an inspector said his company would do. Appears to have knocked them out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care order

    By Jim on 02/05/2023

    Great product, promptly delivered. The instruction video was excellent and allowed me to use Bora-Care easily and effectively. Will definitely purchase items from DoMyOwn again

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 361 to 376 (of 376 reviews)