Customer Reviews for Bora-Care

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(375 customer reviews)
Bora-Care
$89.98

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 375 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Lucy on 11/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Was easy to use. Be sure you add water first then chemicals. Was thick, so shake well before spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Surprisingly Thick

    By Joe on 12/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the product after being hit by super storm Sandy. I needed to drain and dry the crawlspace due to flooding. I needed something to sanitize the dirt floor space and protect the wooden floor joyces. I was surprised to see how thick the chemical was even after a 3 to 1 delution. I could see it stick like slime to the wood and cinder bloc foundation. I'm sure it will do the trick. I plan to use the remainder in a 5 to 1 delution ratio as a preventative solution during those seasons when insects try and find a place to live.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems like a good product

    By D000d on 02/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Mixing with warm water works well. For my application I used a brush which works fine for the tops of horizontal surfaces. A lot runs down your arm if you try to paint it on the underside of a horizontal surface. Time will tell if the insects are repelled/killed by the application. Price seems high, but DoMyOwnPestControl.com had the best price that I could find.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Txjames on 07/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product, great company, and great prices. I watched a few YouTube video and read a bunch of review online about boracare and then I found it on this site. After I placed my order, it didnt take long for them to deliver and follow up on delivery. Very pleased with this company. I will definitely do business again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty good stuff

    By Anonymous on 08/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    My thanks for your prompt service. The product mixes and applies easily. It dries well (it will dry everything it contacts including skin so don't forget to wear rubber gloves). I was expecting a greater level of penetration as that aspect seems variable with different woods and their respective moisture content at time of application. Thinning also plays a part in this equation. Time will tell as to it's level of efficacy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Anonymous on 09/06/2013

    I only gave it 4 because it hasn't been long enough to know how well it worked long term. Be sure to use warm/hot water to mix it as it comes out of the bottle the consistency of honey. Sometimes hard to tell where you left off, so use a push pin to mark your spot when refilling or taking a break. Rented a pressure washer ($50) plus cost of Boracare plus my time instead of a quoted price of $1000 to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ants

    By Geoff on 01/30/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I assume the fluid will do as claimed! It is a concentrated syrup that one dilutes with with hot water. As it dries it forms a skin and also soaks into the timber. The smell is modest and an ordinary hand pump garden spray will spread Boracare AFTER being fully diluted as per instructions. I blocked my equipment first try owing to the gelatinous nature of the raw material. Hot water soon cured the problem and I hope I have soaked the surrounding timbers enough having removed stucturalty damaged flooring eaten by carpenter ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Satisfied

    By Ken on 07/29/2014

    Time will tell, but product was mixed following directions. It is important to have hot water. We made initial application for powder post beetles and seemed to help. We are doing a follow up at this time. Will know more in a couple of months. So far so good.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    In general, Boracare only needs to be applied once since Boracare is there for the life of the wood. If you are only able to treat 1 or 2 sides of the wood, or for heavy infestations, you may want to apply two coats, waiting at least 20 minutes between applications. In thicker or older wood, it may take several weeks for the Boracare to be absorbed into the wood, so some beetles which have been dormant in the wood may still emerge. Thank you for your comments!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product, Excellent Service

    By Sheryl on 10/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    When the little termite guys decided to move into my construction site my husband and I wanted to find a DIY but safe method of evicting them. We purchased Boracare and within a day of spraying all of the trails went dead. No deadly to human chemicals needed, so needless to say we were very happy with the product! To add to that the customer service from DMyOPC is exemplary! Cheers and Thank You!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care

    By Karen on 10/21/2014

    Material came in a timely manner. Read online reviews and took folk's suggestions to mix with very hot water...seemed to do the trick as the material mixed well with the warm water and we had no trouble spraying. It's an expensive product and we used a lot more than we thought we would need. As far as "how did the product do?".... It will take a year or so to see if we have more powder post beetle problems, so my rating will be a conservative 3.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Bora-care comments

    By Phillip on 07/15/2016

    Time will tell the entire story. However, for the two gallons I ordered I found the product went on well at about a 1.5 to 1 ratio. The two gallons I mixed up to about 5 with water and wasn't enough to cover all the open studs in the 1200 sq' house. I used most of it to cover existing wood that had evidence of dry wood termite bore holes. I was impressed with the available product literature and the listed guarentee. I called the factory to ask if the product would have an adverse affect on the plastic of newly installed romex because the literature didn't specifically mention anything. The factory pointed out that it shouldn't as it is nor-corrosive. I hope this helps provide some prevention as the product literature explains. The impression I got after studying what I did about the product is if I were building a house from ground up, I would hire full time laborers to apply to the framer cut wood members on all sides during the entire framing process. Respectfully Submitted

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    using boracare

    By Linda on 09/21/2016

    I did not realize how messy boracare is - very runny. When spraying it, it dripped even when spraying a "fan" across the beam. I had to be careful not to let it drip on me, but it was all over the plastic that was down on floor. Too soon to tell how effective it was. This was for powder post beetles. We mixed it 1:1 for active infestation. If it works - I will let you know, and it would be worth it. I just felt alot was wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    25 years bug free

    By Mark on 10/15/2016

    absolute must for wood homes. worth its' weight in gold. 25 years in a large log home -! treatment - NO bugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    rains

    By Gerry on 11/18/2016

    great service! delivery was quick!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sawmill owner

    By Mark on 02/18/2017

    Bora-care is used on all my lumber. It works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care vs Tenting

    By Michael on 04/06/2017

    I live in a residential neighborhood and found I have drywood termites in the attic. Well if I have termites then my neighbors also have them so tenting is not a good long term solution since my neighbors swarm will eventually reinfest my home. Treating with boracare should protect my home regardless of termite activity in the rest of the neighborhood.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast delivery and excellent product

    By Jonya on 06/21/2017

    My second time ordering this product from this company. Checkout is quick and easy and delivery is even faster than Amazon Prime. The product is easy to work with. I'm a happy customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bora Care

    By R on 07/18/2017

    I ordered 2 Galls of Bora Care after I found dry wall termite activity inside the walls I had opened during a remodel. I needed the stuff fast and Do My Own got it too me in two days. Well package no leaks... good job. I applied the product using a brush not the recommended process but it worked. Brushing put on a nice thick coat which took two days to thoroughly dry. It drys white so if you drip on other cosmetic wood it will stain. I like the product and hope it gets rid of the termites. I plan to coat all new wood from now on.... dont know why contractors dont spray during the construction phase of a house. Giving the product 4 stars because only time will tell if it keeps the termites at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Homemaker

    By Sharon on 08/05/2017

    My home had some previous damage from termites and rot that I discovered when replacing my deck. I used Bora-Care to protect the wood after cleaning out the debris from the damaged area. The product was easy to mix and use. I chose an empty dish detergent bottle to mix. I was able to squirt the mixture into all of the crevices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Roger on 08/26/2017

    Bora-Care gave me excellent control of powder post beetles in a hunting cabin built with beams from an old barn. They had attacked both the lower and upper levels of the cabin. Bora-Care was easy to apply and only one application was needed. The owner recommended me for another job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This product is working as they say, no active infestation o

    By Russ on 09/06/2017

    I purchased 2 gallons to treat Redwood Fences. Some of the wood was imbedded in dirt so had other infestation as well. It's been 2 weeks since I replaced the bad rails and damaged boards, then mixed a quart 1:1, spraying about 30LF of fence, and so far so good. This product is working as they say, no active infestation of any sort. I stained one side of the fence so the Bora-care is now under the stain and in the wood, but if I ever need to re-apply I'll do the other side of the fence. I plan on doing the other sections of fence in the next few weeks. Now that I see how easy this is and how well it works, I will use it when painting my house (that has no infestation). I'll spray all the house's fascia & rafter tail ends with a 1:5 Bora-care solution before I apply the paint. That 2 gallons of Bora-care cost less than $200, and that protects the fences and the house. My neighbor replaced their fences, spending thousands of dollars, mine are better protected, look better, and cost me about $500 total. I highly recommend Bora-care at domyownpestcontrol.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to apply! Worth the peace of mind, esp where can't see

    By Ds on 12/01/2017

    I especially appreciated how quickly this product arrived JIT to use before my contractor covered over the area I wanted to spray. I had carefully researched this relatively non-toxic to humans product, and sprayed it on my sills and studs and sheathing before nailing the ply sheathing into place on my cripple wall in my crawl space as a seismic precaution. If it works like it says it does, I wont have to worry about what I now can't see because the plywood covering that now obscures my view of any termite tunnels. Use hot water to mix! Worked with a cheap 16$ sprayer and with a paint brush. A gallon goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as effective as I tought it would be...

    By Mariano on 03/03/2019

    I have been dealing with a bunch of termites in my kitchen cabinets. I bought the bora care and made all the preparations and followed the instructions as indicated, Mixed with warm water in a 1:1 ratio. Got into the cabinets and predrilled holes every 12 inches so the product could penetrate and work better. After a couple of months of the application, I am finding termite droppings again...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bora-Care

    By Steve on 07/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The real test will be over the years... I have used this product many times in both old construction and new construction. I use it after fumigation of older buildings in the locations I can access. I use it in new construction once I have the building framed and dried-in and before any internal sheathing goes up. Since I am dealing primarily with dry-wood termites I spray twice in the higher locations as this is where I have seen most infestations. So far so good. Do My Own Pest Control has always been fast to deliver and good with educational information.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Bottle not full

    By Tgrizzle on 09/21/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I bought two bottles of BORACARE and one was obviously not filled. I contacted "DoMyOwn.." and they refunded me a fair amount. All is well, just the hassle. It is BORACARE's fault, not DMOPC.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing

    By Deedee on 06/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I didn't think this product would really work, but I thought "Well I am going to try it before I pay the $1,200.00 that a professional company wanted". So I ordered 2 bottles and my hubby just sprayed underneath, in the crawl space. I should say that we had just got the house and noticed them inside. So we knew the house was infested. Within a week there is no sign of any termites. My hubby has been checking and it is just amazing. We saved $1,000.00 doing it ourselves with this product. I highly recommend it. I am getting ready to order a different product to take care of the spiders and any other bug that wants to try and come in. Thank you Do My Own Pest Control. I am forever grateful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    palapas and wood boring beetles

    By Ame on 09/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Used Boracare for new palapas with wooden structures and palm fronds. The region is northern mexico. Where arizona and Californians like to visit. I have neighbors with bore holes in their Palm frond stalks and they got infested. Looks like wood boring beetles. This product does not seem to be working wll. While I keep finding dead beetles, I keep getting more and more holes from the beetles. Cant seem to stop the damage?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Handy Product

    By Luke on 04/10/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The exact type of product I needed. Only time will tell how effective it is, but Boracare is simple enough to use and very specific directions provided for a variety of use-situations. A word to the wise - when they say mix mechanically with warm water - they mean it - when using 1:1 ratio for Subterranean Termite prevention. It's a very thick syrup consistancy. FYI - I was using it while residing and old church building that had prior subterranean termite activity, but no present activity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Boracare

    By Allen on 04/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Product was as easy to use as advertised and has eradicated my termite infestation. I would highly recommend this product to all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    BORA-CARE

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought BORA-CARE for dry wood termites in my home. I chose this over the others because I wanted a product that would stay in the wood to prevent future termites. When mixed according to directions, you won't have any problems with it crystalizing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 375 reviews)