Customer Reviews for Crossbow Specialty Herbicide - 2, 4-D & Triclopyr

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(49 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 49 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow: The strongest Herbicide I have found so far

    By Bob on 08/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Crossbow herbicide lived up to it's claim. My main reason for buying was to eradicate English Ivy. The leafs on English Ivy are waxy and it is very difficult for anything to penetrate. I have tried the usual things you would find at Home Depot, Lowes, etc. While crossbow has completely killed all my ivy, it has done the best job that anything else has. I have also used it as a general weed/brush killer and it will kill those things at a 100% kill rate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    133 of 134 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Control of Kudzu.

    By Matt on 09/04/2015

    In attempting to eradicate Kudzu on an acre of semi-wooded land I have used a number of herbicides with varying results. Crossbow has, by far, been the most effective. Using a 1.5% mixture for spot treatment, I have successfully killed the areas treated with a single application. The average time from application to a truly "dead" vine is approximately 10 days. On another section I used Roundup (Glyphosate) to compare their efficacy. While they both produce visible results, I would characterize the Roundup treated areas as "damaged" versus Crossbow's areas being totally killed. I would highly recommend this to anyone dealing with this difficult vine. This is the most cost effective and best option you can get without obtaining restricted-use herbicides.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    104 of 105 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow

    By J on 09/06/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this specifically for an invasion of creeping charlie in my lawn and it's working surprisingly well. It's also killing other broad leaf weeds with no effect on the grass. Good Product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    91 of 93 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good for brush and weeds

    By Larkin on 08/26/2015

    Great stuff. Don't expect it to act as fast as Round-Up, but give it time and in about 9-14 days, you will see results. It seems to kill everything but grass like it is supposed to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    68 of 71 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills any weed

    By Bruce on 12/21/2015

    I will only use for weeds. I used it on Blackberrys and it was wonderful. They started to wilt before I finished spraying and after 5 days I could pinch the vines that was bigger than my thumb and there was nothing but hollow vines I used on my lawn twice a year with great results

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    64 of 65 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems to kill Kudzu!

    By Dave on 05/22/2017

    I have a 6 ac field with about 2 ac of kudzu, been fighting it for years. Applied Crossbow 15 days ago and saw kill on kudzu that day. Kudzu, honeysuckle and other weeds are dead. Grass yellowed a bit but it is coming back strong. I'm happy and will let you know if it lasts. So far I would recommend Crossbow. Also kills poison ivy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    31 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very happy with the results ( Wild Violet Invasion )

    By Aaron on 05/11/2015

    Verified Purchase

    2 year old lawn that has been completely redone, neighboring lawns also have wild violets. Ihave tried other products to kill a severe wild violet invasion In my turf grass (blue grass and fescue). None has even made them wilt. This is the first product that I have seen results. Wilting after 3 days then I noticed the edges dying back within 5 days. I still will need a second treatment to go back and hit the small plants that I missed. Mixed to the recommended rate and percentage solution for wild violets. I did notice some turf grass damage in some spots that I most likely over allied the product. A small price to pay for the results I've seen.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Poison ivy!

    By Gary on 06/25/2017

    I bought this to control poison ivy, but it did much more.. This will control any broad leaf in the lawn and not bother the grasses.. My lawn has never looked better, and the woods are free of poison ivy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills english ivy

    By Kevin on 08/23/2015

    Crossbow mixed with surfactant is the only thing I found that kills english ivy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    crossbow specialty herbicide

    By Karl on 06/28/2014

    I applied it 2 1/2 weeks ago as directed for max. effectiveness and added a little detergent to mix which I was told was a good thing to do by sales rep. It took a week before any noticeable effect and now has done pretty well on most weeds, brush,and vines but has not had any or very little effect on some others. Nothing much is completely dead yet. Hope it continues to work until everything wiped out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works on Wild Violet

    By Lynn on 04/29/2017

    My yard was infested with wild violet - even my compost heap was covered. I did a lot of research about the main ingredient, Tryclopyr, and was comfortable using it in my yard where a dog and children play. The product worked as intended. Within two days the wild violets began wilting, two weeks later they are browning. My grass was not harmed, neither were any of my fledgling perennials as they break through the ground. There was no collateral damage to any other plants. I am aware I will need to repeat the spraying at least a couple of more times in the mean time, this product is also meant to eradicate Japanese knot weed, so I am going to begin cutting stalks and applying it to the stems and will update this review as I progress. This is another multi-application process.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Southern Ag Crossbow

    By James on 06/07/2016

    Would give it a 5 but costs more than the Dow Crossbow that can't ship to Texas. Works great as long as it can dry well before any rain. Works best during summer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works very well on "brambles"

    By Gary on 04/04/2017

    Was hesitant but this actually worked better than I expected. We have a semi-cleared forested area that had all the lower scrub cleared but the Pines/Oaks/Elms and other good trees remain. Unfortunately, the floor of the area was a welcoming environment for brambles. This killed them and other weeds that are trying grow in the newly cleared area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Order

    By Susan on 06/02/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product arrived early with easy ordering. Product works pretty well on stubborn wild violets. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow 2,4-D &Triclopyr

    By John on 09/28/2016

    This product works. Kills Chinese Elm regrowth around stumps quickly by drilling holes into lower stump & exposed roots then injecting product into holes. Mixed with diesel fuel will last me a few years. Cheaper in the long run than the 'popular' big store products. Works on other weeds too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow

    By Jerry on 07/03/2016

    Purchased Crossbow to control horseweed / Marestail. Works effectively when mixed as recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow herbicide-2,4-D& Triclopyr-

    By Michael on 08/09/2019

    I was looking for something to kill bamboo, this product works well And so far seems to be doing what I wanted it too. Delivery was quick and the price was very good! I would recommend using do my own.com to anyone and I will continue to use them in the future!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    kill the stubborn weeds DEAD

    By James on 08/31/2015

    Works on the previous unkillable brush at our property as long as you spray it with a couple of days drying/working time before any rain. Will keep using this and have gotten my neighbor to use along fence row,

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow and Horse Nettle

    By Herb on 09/08/2017

    Applied Crossbow with a hand sprayer to a nest of Horse Nettle one week ago - plants are now wilted and leaves are brown. It looks like they are dying. Hope so, for I haven't found anything else that will kill the weed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great herbicide for buckthorn.

    By Shad on 09/07/2018

    I was really impressed with Crossbow. I used it to eliminate some large stands of buckthorn. It worked quickly, made a complete kill of the plants and did not require a second application. It's cost effective and I'll probably continue to use it for my turf to get rid of broadleaf weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Delivered Quickly

    By Russ on 08/08/2020

    I already knew what the product is capable of, it is very effective at eliminating brush, and after three years the pricker bushes I killed have not come back. It's getting harder to find this product, I hope it doesn't get pulled from the consumer market.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Herbicide

    By Ben on 07/15/2017

    I have used other Triclopyr products in the past and this product works as well as any others I have tried. It is easy to use (could have a better container for measuring) and you can see results almost immediately.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Frank on 09/05/2020

    Did what I needed, Great Product. I would recommend again. Killed the kudzu I was trying to get rid of. Mixed as told and did the job in about 5-7 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Herbicides

    By H on 06/13/2017

    works as said on label works great all products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Wild Violets

    By Jim on 09/19/2020

    1st time user of Crossbow. Applied late summer. Many wild violets started wilting within a a few weeks. No loss of fescue. Easy to apply with tank sprayer. Will spray again in spring when actively growing. Happy with product at this early stage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nice product and really works

    By Hogan on 04/03/2020

    I bought it to kill broadleaf weed in in my lawn, I followed the instruction and started to see the weed drying and turned to yellow in about 3, 4 days. I need to apply the second time after 3 weeks as I missed some when I applied it first time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bought for tree of heaven

    By Carol on 10/11/2019

    I wanted a small quantity so I would not have to store unused chemicals. This was just right. Used to hack and squirt treatment on tree of heaven and bush honeysuckle. I may have to wait until spring 2020 to see if it killed them. Some trees were huge! Excellent service on phone order.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crossbow and scotch broom

    By Kenyon on 06/21/2017

    scotch broom is nasty. It's invasive and just doesn't care. Score one for crossbow. Just one treatment and 24 hours later the leaves were wilted and the stems sagging. I recommend it highly

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellant

    By Terry on 07/31/2020

    I sprayed wild hedge and kudzu ,it killed right away

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow review

    By Thomas on 08/28/2020

    This product worked great with the vines and brush in my backyard. Killed everything pretty fast. I have a large wooded section so I used it with the Mosquito Sniper System + a blower and backpack sprayer to really just broadcast on everything and even high up the fines on the trees. Worked great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 49 reviews)