Customer Reviews for DeTour Gel For Rats

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   10
4 stars   1
3 stars   2
2 stars   0
1 star   4

Average Customer Rating

3.8 of 5 stars
(17 customer reviews)
DeTour Gel For Rats
$29.87

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing Product if you know how to use!

    By Christian on 12/27/2014

    I'm a pest control operator and have used Detour on squirrels and has worked every time. Basically it has to be applied correctly if it's on a non porous surface you must use some type of barrier. Simply wrap a duct tape around the branch where the squirrel is climbing and apply a bead of Detour Gel around the duct tape and spread with a putty knife. On a brick wall apply silicone gel and spread to create a barrier and apply Detour Gel on top and spread with putty knife.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good against squirrels

    By Collin on 02/21/2013

    Verified Purchase

    After having blocked off re-entry via a one way trap and placing wire mesh all around the immediate area, we placed DeTour on other close by potential entry places. They can't enter their old way and it must be awfully bothersome to create a new entry. The squirrels are not happy, and they are NOT inside anymore, either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Squirrels Love It

    By Nancy on 09/08/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have used an entire tube of DeTour Bio-Repellent on the post of a large bird feeder with no results. Well one squirrel did leave a piece of his tail behind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No help

    By Anonymous on 06/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Used this product to try to keep ground squirrels off my 8 fruit trees. Placed a thick coating on limbs which squirrels needed to climb to reach fruit. Did not deter squirrels at all. They appeared to walk right through the product and feast on the apricots and peaches. No pies this year!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work

    By Mike on 07/18/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Does not work, yet it leaves dirty residue all over your house.This product was extremely disappointing.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We're sorry that the product was a disappointment let us send you a video on how to use the product. The way this product works is you want to place it where the rats have the best chances to get the gel on their feet. The DETOUR GEL needs to be applied in areas that cannot be touch by children or pets. So usually those are areas that a non-porous tile can be used. It’s not supposed to be applied all over your house its not like spaying an insect repellant all-around your home. Place the product in the area where you see the rat activity and urine trails or feces trail. The rats have poor vision and usually like to run along the walls. Its also recommended to place a little bit of peanut butter on the middle of a tile. And then to the press the peanut butter firmly on to the tile.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Recommended for every house hold /Got rid of Squirrels

    By Evelyn on 04/17/2016

    I used a piece of Linoleum tile and placed a small tray with Sunflower seeds in the middle. I applied the Detour around the tray on the Linoleum tile . I watched the Squirrel walk onto the tile and grab the sunflower seeds and sit down on the Detour . The Squirrel immediately left and have not seen the little critter .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No

    By Karen on 07/11/2015

    Does not seem to work!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Detour works great on Squirrels

    By Kelly on 04/15/2016

    we were desperate looking for solutions to get rid of the squirrels in our backyard and a friend recommended we use this product. it was really simple to use . We just followed the utube video placing some food on a piece of linoleum tile (we used sunflower seeds in a tray and placed it in the middle of the linoleum tile and spread the detour around the tray and used a sponge brush to spread the detour and when the squirrels came to get the sunflower seeds they go the Detour on them and they never came back. thanks for such a wonderful product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works great for me!!

    By John on 01/29/2017

    I have had to use this a couple of times and it works. The squirrels/rats are gone in a couple of days. This gets them out of your house without killing them but they don't come back. This is humane for those concerned - I'm not really concerned, but at least they don't tend to die in your attic. Squirrels are cute but not when they are destroying my house. Just be careful and wear gloves/eye protection. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Repeller

    By Frank on 06/06/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Wont really kinow how this works since I am working with field mice which dissapear in the warmer months. But it was easy to apply

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DeTour For Rodents

    By Beverly on 09/07/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I used the product and have not seen evidence of squirrels or lizards. I was trying to get rid of both of those. I would say it works quite effectively.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Seems to have worked

    By Eric on 06/19/2017

    I applied it with a foam brush to areas of concern and it appears the mice have left for friendlier ground..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    great appears to detour any rodent Thank You!

    By Margaret on 09/21/2018

    customer service was very fast at answering a question I had about thickness applied and where on doors. I had a bad infestation that was stopped at the kitchen and now the kitchen has been treated w/De Tour so rodents have not even come onto the porch let alone inside the kitchen from under the sink area. All other areas of the kitchen were blocked off last was under the sink. Thank You De Tour I est. that I've saved about $2,000.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product to Deter Critters

    By Jory on 11/08/2019

    We have used this product for several years. We use it to deter river otters but it would likely work for other critters. They have not been back since. This is our second order. Quick delivery, price is best i have found. Happy customer

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    I like the Idea

    By Robert on 12/07/2016

    It came real fast the only thing is that it has a detachable nozzle. but there was not plug like all tube products that we can't store what we don't use right away. and I can't cut the hole for a smaller bead because the detachable nozzle only comes in one size hole. Ill tell you if it keep the mice out setting some traps in a few days to check.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works amazing

    By Bobby on 02/09/2021

    First off DO NOT GET ON YOUR own SKIN!!!!! Works like a charm never had product that worked so well!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DeTour Gel

    By Christine on 02/19/2021

    We were at our wits end! We tried everything but the rats were winning. A professional from a pest company came in and described what his team would do to rid our home of rats, for $1,150! We were able to close up all the holes, but the magic piece was the DeTour Gel. We have not had any evidence of rats since applying the gel, it's just not a fun place for them to live anymore! This stuff is the ticket, worth every penny, and saved us a bundle! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)