Customer Reviews for Earthway Professional Broadcast Spreader (2050P)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   5
4 stars   1
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   0

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(7 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    2015 spreader

    By Michael on 04/01/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product used this date. Evenly spreads and pushes easily

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great spreader for the price.

    By Sandy on 10/12/2018

    Works great. Wish that it was height adjustable. Like it’s more expensive counterpart. Also, the locking tabs should be of metal construction and not plastic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very happy overall with this spreader

    By James on 05/08/2019

    Verified Purchase

    This spreader works very well and so far has held up well (I'm in the second season). Caution: you do need to be careful when you stop, because if you don't shut the lever off, the product will continue to flow even when you stop. Always make sure you turn off the lever whenever stopping! Also, you set the spreader setting with a little wing nut that tightens and holds the setting, so when you turn the lever back on it goes back to the same setting you had before. In other words, when you move the lever on and off, it maintains the spreader setting, which is nice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Durable

    By Joseph on 08/05/2019

    I bought this spreader 15 years ago it has serviced me very well, no problems, spreads evenly and is easy to push, I wash it after every use and expect to get another (At least) 5 or MORE years out of it. The only problem that that I have had was to replace the cotter pin on the drive wheel to the axle. In my opinion this is one of the finest spreaders you can buy

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great Spreader, Suggest one easy correction to make perfect.

    By Jim on 05/13/2020

    Just purchased this spreader a 3 month's ago. I have a large 14,000 sq ft yard, and have used it for Lime, Fertilizer, and Pre- Emergent,. The three openings spread the product very well, and it has a edge shut off where only 2 openings spread on the right side for along drives etc. My only issue the first time I used it was that I did not really tighten down enough the very small metal wing nut to set my opening. It is very small, and hurts my older fingers to really tighten it down. You must push the handle forward just as you begin to push the spreader forward. And when stopping at the end of a row, pull the handle back as you are stopping. That is the correct way. The first time, as I was spreading, stopping at the end of each row, and turning around, and pushing the handle forward every time, I did not notice that the wing nut was not holding the setting I had set, and had moved forward. Then I noticed that more product was going down on my lawn. I think the small wing nut should be made bigger, to grab your fingers on, and turn it tight enough to hold the setting you chose. I now carry a small pliers with me to really tighten the setting wing nut. NOTE: The piece of plastic that holds the setting should be metal, as I worry it will crack if I tighten it down to much. Still like the spreader over the Scotts it replaced. Sure would like a bigger wing nut, and a metal setting piece though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best spreader I have ever used

    By Stephen on 06/13/2020

    Edge control is precise and easy to adjust. Spreader adjustment is a piece of cake to turn on and off. I have had several other broadcast spreaders and drop spreaders made by leading fertilizer companies and none of them compare. I read some reports of people getting fertilizer on their legs and feet, the only time this happened to me was when I didn't shut off the spreader at the end of a pass other wise I did not have this issue. The hopper held a 47 lb of weed and feed that covered 15,000 square feet. It pushed very easy when full. I'm 6'1" and the handle height was perfect for me. Fertilizer spread pattern was about 6' for my walking speed. Very pleased with this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't Like How it Works; Lever Cable Breaks Too Easily

    By Fred on 07/05/2020

    Verified Purchase

    I got this for the big wheels and I used it for about a year and never really liked it. The handles are too short, so it is too easy to tip it over forward if not careful. The only way to stop the flow of the product is to actually pull the level all the way back...that is, there is no quick release lever to shut off dispensing. Finally, the cable broke...so I just threw it away anyway. Recommend buying a higher end model.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews)