Customer Reviews for Helena Crossbow Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   30
4 stars   3
3 stars   2
2 stars   1
1 star   0

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(36 customer reviews)
Helena Crossbow Herbicide
$72.00

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 30 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great on Poison Oak

    By Chris on 03/17/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have 18 acres of land in Northern California, which is heavily infested with Poison Oak. Crossbow works very well for controlling the Poison Oak. It can take several weeks to see the results after spraying, and re-spraying may be necessary in heavy growth areas. I did three passes in a 2-acre area, with about 4 weeks between each one - each time there was much less Poison Oak to spray, but this meant I got all of the little shoots. One year on from my first spraying, there is very little return growth.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    73 of 82 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love it for poison ivy!

    By Anonymous on 07/20/2013

    I found crossbow after talking with a greens keeper at the local golf course. Cross bow is great at killing all woody brush. I love that I can spray it right thru the grass and all it will kill is the poison and sumac sprouts. It will KILL TREES if you get it on the bark, leaves or root areas so be careful if you are spraying around them. much more potent than regular brush killer and a little goes a long way. economical in the long run.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    70 of 71 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Jamie on 05/08/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have used Crossbow Herbicide 2x's on the Ivy bed in my front yard. The first time I sprayed I noticed the bright green leaves turning a little yellow after about 3 days. I waited a couple of weeks and sprayed again and the Ivy is now showing to be about 75% dead. I will spray again in another week or so to finish it off. I have also over-sprayed into the yard area and it doesn't kill the grass. Great product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    57 of 60 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow on Live Oak sprouts

    By David on 09/10/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been using Crossbow on various plants. It really kills blackberries and gooseberries. I mainly have been using it to kill sprouts on Live Oak stumps that were masticated a year ago. It takes a week or so to see results but it eventually works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works fantastic!

    By Lindsay on 03/17/2016

    This stuff works great! I had Weed-B-Gone'd and Round Up'd Blackberries that were growing in my yard to no avail. One spray with this, and it killed it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Herbicide

    By Dave on 06/30/2016

    Great brush killer. Used on 72 acre farm with several open fields that Autumn Olive was starting to grow in and take over. Noticed complete kill within a week and a half of spraying onto leaves with 1.5% solution mix.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Powerful Herbicide For Tough To Kill Weeds

    By Robertm. on 07/25/2017

    Crossbow is based on 2/4/D herbicide. It has additives to increase it's absorption and make it work better on tough, woody plants like briars, honeysuckle and elderberry. It doesn't kill most grasses. Cost wise, it's a lot more expensive than generic 2/4/D or glyphosate. So, I recommend that you read the data sheet and only use it for what it's intended. But, it does the job where regular herbicides aren't effective. Don't forget that 2/4/D drifts. Be careful where you spray it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Poison Ivy Killer

    By John on 08/12/2015

    This product worked great on killing a huge "crop" of poison ivy I had growing on a property I just purchased. It did a great job of killing the poison Ivy even late in the growing season (early August).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death to Feral Bradford Peras

    By Richard on 08/09/2015

    I have about 6 acres of horse pasture that was overrun by feral bradford pear trees before I bought the place in April. Previous owner let it all go apparently. I have been using Crossbow over the summer on them and the stuff works! I have to wait a week or so but when that invasive stuff dies it stays dead. And my pasture grass is coming back strong. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Control blackberries and salal

    By J on 07/11/2015

    This is the best product that I have found for controlling invasive BlackBerries and so loud. Works great and is economical.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works!

    By Ndrw on 06/26/2016

    We love this! It kills the rampant plantain and wild violets that were taking over our 2 acres of grass. It kills the other weeds, too, such as poison ivy, ivy, etc. It does take longer to have a total kill but it DOESN'T kill the grass if you put it on while the grass is vibrantly growing (cooler weather.) If you use the 1.5% mixture, the grass yellows but comes back. You may need to make a second spot application with the 1% mixture but will get most things and leave the grass untouched. Try to put it on while the temps are in the 70's for the fastest uptake and kill.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death to Wisteria!

    By Anonymous on 08/30/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this to eradicate a chinese Wisteria that has spread to over 1/4 acre and is pulling down trees by climbing and strangling. Not on my property but guess where the trees fall? Yeah, on my garage and driveway. With permission of the landowner I attacked the thing about 2 weeks ago and it is definitely dying. I know that I will have to hit it again in the Spring, and again, and again, but hopefully the gallon will be enough. It's doing what it's supposed to be doing. Shipment was fast!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crossbow

    By Dan on 05/11/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had an invasion of CREEPING CHARLIE, other herbicides did nothing, crossbow has it controlled or dead

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Herbicide EVER

    By Jerry on 04/06/2017

    We had a guy come in and grind all the trees off a section of our property. On that land there was tons of briar. We sprayed Crossbow on the freshly cut vines and by the end of the day they were dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Lee on 09/24/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have used both on woody areas and broad leaf weed control with great results. Not for use near turf grass when over 85 degrees as stated on the label as I discovered with minimal drift during woody area control. Very strong smelling product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Review of Cross Bow

    By Jean on 05/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I own a Self Storage facility and this product kills all the weeds on the gravel parking lot

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Autumn Olive

    By Quail on 08/19/2016

    Good results using this on autumn olive .. Mixed 7 oz. /3 gallon water in a hand sprayer .. No surfactant .. Slow but sure .. Seems to work on poplar sprouts and black locust sprouts too .. Too soon to tell on cedar starts .. Using round-up only for grass now

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Herbicide

    By Margaret on 10/06/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I used crossbow in the spring to get rid of creeping charle and it worked great! I ordered more to use in the fall after the first frost, haven't sprayed yet as we have not got a frost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Herbicide

    By Wilma on 10/27/2016

    I ordered the Crossbow Herbicide and the bottle was damaged in shipping. I contacted the company and they shipped me another bottle for free. I needed the herbicide to kill the wild violets in the lawn. It has worked wonderfully. No more violets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow Herbicide

    By James on 04/03/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had been to Helena Chemical and they did not have any Crossbow in stock. So I came home and started searching and found you.. Was very pleased with you and the price...I will certainly do business with you again. Also, you sent me a $5.00 off on my next order and my grandson accidently erased it... Again thanks for your service and free shipping. I have use this product the past two years. It really works on my broad leaf plants in yard. Great Product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what I wanted.

    By David on 07/17/2017

    Product came fast, packaged well, good price, did exactly what it said it would do. Great!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Powerful Stuff

    By Ron on 08/05/2017

    We are in South East Florida. Property Area is Very Small-Compressed, Less Than 1/4 Acre. ..I have surrounding neighbors whom Do-Not maintain their Bushes that grow into my chainlink fence and grow outta control. After Spraying Crossbow it Will STINK For Many Weeks...WOW! I spray Crossbow on the Bordering Neighbor Fence to Knock Down all Kinds of Shrub Growth, Weeds I Don't Know The Species Name. Here in South Florida, Bougainvillea plants are a Vine that will take over a large area rather fast. I wiped-out Bougainvillea with Crossbow on the neighbor's fence, but the Crossbow took many many months to do its job. I uses a 1.5% mix in a HomeDepot 1 Gal Pump Sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DoMyOwn is my Source

    By Jon on 06/07/2019

    Good products at competitive prices with excellent service. I use this herbicide mixed with Glyphosate herbicide for broad spectrum application and with excellent results. DoMyOwn provides all the needed specifications on their website for perusal before ordering.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    weed killer

    By Frances on 06/19/2020

    this is the best weed killer i have bought. Within no time the spray started working. Killed all my river weeds in the pasture as well as poison oak

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good product; worked as advertised

    By Jim on 07/17/2020

    I bought this product to kill poison ivy and other broadleaf weeds in a pasture without harming the grass. It worked as advertised with one application. It is an excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great chemical

    By Rex on 07/10/2020

    I needed a chemical to kill brush and weeds in fence rows. Crossbow does not hurt the grasses, and was very good at killing brush. Very pleased with this chemical. Rex

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Chemical Composition is the Same

    By Bryan on 06/19/2020

    Verified Purchase

    What am I trying to buy? 1. A brand name that has a reputation for killing weeds or 2. A chemical composition that is known to kill weeds If the chemical composition of two products is the same then price is the only thing that matters. By following the directions, both products work equally well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By J. on 04/03/2019

    I am using this product to eradicate Sweet Gum trees and it works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crossbow works GREAT!

    By Terry on 02/01/2019

    Crossbow is a GREAT product! I bought it clear some nuisance brush on my creek bank and it did just what I wanted it to do! It killed off the brush while leaving the plants that I wanted to stay! GREAT PRODUCT! This is my second purchase of Crossbow and I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DoMyOwn Crossbow and Round Up

    By Randall on 07/24/2020

    Commercial grade herbicides great customer service. I'm a repeat and loyal customer. Won't buy my chemicals anywhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 30 reviews)