Customer Reviews for Milky Spore Powder

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   20
4 stars   6
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(29 customer reviews)
Milky Spore Powder
$48.62

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not so good

    By Bruce on 10/06/2015

    Product packaged in plastic fertilizer bags that had been turned inside out. A lot of work to spread the product on my lawn.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize for any confusion. The manufacturer, St Gabriels Lab, is a very environmentally conscious company. They had too many bags for a different product that they produce and instead of throwing them away, they opted instead to flip them inside out and use them for the milky spore. This helps keeps costs down for everyone and keeps the bags from being wasted needlessly. Milky Spore Powder can be a bit of work to apply, but the results will be awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore

    By Gabrielle on 11/10/2015

    We used this product 15 years ago. Not once did we have a mole trail in all the years. There finally vented back. We have a surprise for them. We put Milky Spore. This is great stuff. Stand by it 100%. Your company is was also excellent to deal with.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A must have product!

    By Clare on 07/22/2016

    Have been using Milky Spore for years to kill off grubs all around my properties. It does last as long as they say and is fast to take hold. Would definitely recommend to all to use, it is safe for pets,humans and all wildlife.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Product as advertised, funny packaging

    By Susan on 10/20/2014

    We received the product, but it was in recycled rose food bags, which really threw me! I called "DoMyOwnPestControl" and their service rep knew all about the recycled packages and reassured me that I had the correct product. The coverage of the product was exactly as advertised. We won't know until next summer if the beetle population is reduced and the moles head out for yards with more grubs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore Powder

    By A.t. on 02/10/2014

    Received my order quickly & the price was excellent. I use this powder at least once a year and it works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Helps to keep moles away!

    By Dale on 08/28/2015

    I initially spread about 4 feet apart like the label says and it took a while to spread itself. I have some moles again up by the house so I bought some more and spread it in about 3 feet apart or somewhat a little closer to make it work faster, sooner. Even in the garden area's.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore Powder

    By Anonymous on 06/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have applied but I guess it takes a while to begin working as I still have grubs. Hopefully soon I will see some results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Best Solution to Japanese Beetles

    By William on 07/18/2014

    Buy this if you want to get rid of your Japanese Beetles. It doesn't harm anything and goes right into your yard. By getting rid of the larvae, you also "mole proof" your yard. Don't by the dispensing container…make up one yourself and you will feel much better!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Stuff

    By Dale on 10/31/2014

    I have used before and seems to be doing the job intended. This order is to increase the area and remove more mole burrowing by killing the grubs. I will buy more if needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Charlene on 04/07/2015

    Arrived shortly after order in excellent condition

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    White Milky spore

    By Joe on 06/15/2016

    Works great, gets rid of grubs for a long time/

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great value

    By Charlene on 01/07/2015

    Box arrived in a few days and am very happy with my purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Natural Way to Fight Japanese Beetles

    By Sandy on 04/22/2017

    Package arrived in due time. Product was well packaged. I used Milky spore about 12 years ago. It seemed to work well for many years. However, I noticed more bettles last year and decided it was time for another application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good product, good service

    By Dan on 10/06/2016

    Milky spore is my great hope in the battle against japanese beetles. Its non-toxic and long lasting characteristics (10-20 years) are especially nice, I think. The big box is handy for big yards, just be ready to spend some quality time putting the product out on your lawn, one spoonful at a time. The company accidentally sent me the wrong size box, but immediately re-sent the right stuff without any delay or hassle. While I was bummed to get an incorrect order, I was pleased with their response and plan to order from them again in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Hoping for the best!

    By Glenn on 06/22/2018

    Bought and applied the product, but since it takes up to 2 years to be totally effective, it's difficult to review. Easy to apply, but time consuming. Of course, I knew that before I bought it, so no surprise there. Hoping it will work well! I do plan to buy more so that I can finish the rest my back yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore application

    By Diane on 09/24/2017

    I had purchased this about 5 years ago and used on my lawn, as I had moles bad, had several runs and the grass was dying. Treated my lawn like I said 5 years ago and have not had an issue with the moles since. My son is having an issue with mole in his yard, and since I had such good luck when treating my lawn, I purchased this order for my son to use on his yard. Am very well pleased with the results you get from applying the Milky Spore and would recommend it if you have a mole issue

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Stuff EVER!

    By Gp on 09/02/2017

    We farm in 25 gallon pots due to wet soil conditions. 1 tsp of milky spore per pot keeps the garden grubs away for 2 years or so!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Jap Beetles

    By Mark on 09/22/2016

    Have taken a couple years and 4 treatments and this summer they were only in the 100s. Last couple years they were 1000s and 1000s on fruit trees and bushes. I think this last treatment which I plan to do soon will solve the problem. Not a quick fix, works well over time. Also got rid of all my friendship rose bushes. Them little buggers love them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore Powder

    By James on 08/06/2016

    I received your package , it had Just enough powder to make one row of product. Last time i was able to cover The entire back yard with one package; I used the applicator as previously. However, the one row seems to be protecting the plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A second order after a year

    By J. on 04/11/2016

    I applied my whole lawn with Milky Spore. There are a few small brown spots this year, which should be expected. Order some more to make it up for such spots.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky shipped quickly

    By Charles on 05/10/2019

    It has been years since I used Milky Spore bacteria for the first time. One of my trees has been slowly dying, so a garden center person thought something might be attacking the roots. I bought some chemical grub killer but thought it would be good to again use Milky Spore bacteria for the long term. I ordered it from "domyown" for the first time since they had the best price. To my surprise, they sent it right out so I was able to put the bacteria down within a few days. If you have never used it, just get a teaspoon and pour it onto the ground every four feet. It probably entertains your neighbors as they wonder what you are doing, but the effect is lasting and you do not have to repeat it for several years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast delivery & good product

    By Jean on 04/27/2019

    Milky Spore Powder really works well & easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Deal On Milky Spore

    By Frank on 11/16/2018

    This is by far the best deal that I have found for this product. I applied it to four acres that were ravaged by Japanese Beetles this summer and attacked our orchard. Do not like to use chemical pesticides. This St. Gabriel product is a good alternative when used in combination with biological nematodes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Excellent customer service! Shipped quickly! Results?

    By Daryl on 10/19/2018

    Reviewed several products before deciding on the milky spore powder. Don't expect to realize any control for over two years when applying the powder. Will probably continue to have to over seed and seed many ares of your yard before any results can be realized. Unsure of any benefit when company states milky spore powder can be used in addition to other chemical products. Guessing game.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spores

    By Lesley on 09/21/2018

    My sister used these several years ago, with great results. So, when MY lawn was destroyed by skunks, I went looking for some. DoMyOwn seemed to be the best value for the money. It was easy to apply and hopefully next spring I will I will be grubless and that means next summer I will be skunkless.....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    milky spore powder

    By Peggy on 08/17/2018

    Just applied this powder using own-made applicator. Watered in lightly. Anxious for results next yr and forward, to get rid of squishy mole tunneled garden. I know it works; I applied it nearly 20 yrs ago and only last year did the moles return, with a vengeance. But not for long! I highly recommend this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Still see beetles

    By Hope on 07/09/2018

    Don't waste your money on the Milky spore. I used it and have just as many Japanese beetles as befor. After contact with company I was told to will take 3 to 5 years of using it to see a change...I picked over 500 off of my flowers and put in bucket of soap wafter so far in the past 2 days. I guess "will stay and protect your lawn for 15 to 20 years after just 1 application ". Means you'll be looking at barren dirt instead of flowers.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you did not receive the results you expected when using Milky Spore Powder. Per the manufacturer's information provided on the product page, it can take several years for Milky Spore to establish completely in soil. "In warm climates good control can occur in one to three years. In colder areas like New England, three to five years." Since it has been less than one year since your application, it is normal to see adult beetles now. This is a natural bacterium which establishes through the grubs themselves and will spread more quickly when grubs are actively feeding. You can apply more product without any adverse effects, or you can give the product more time to establish. Be sure to use recommended rates and that the Milky Spore is watered in within 36-48 hours after application and watered before raking or mowing. If you would like to contact St Gabriel, the manufacturer, you can also reach them at 540-672-0866. Please let us know if we can further assist you anytime.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Milky Spore powder

    By Wayne on 05/15/2018

    Way too soon to see the full effect of this product. I only hope the testimonials of those who have used are correct and I will concur with their results. If my underground city of four legged creatures changes, so might my star rating!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Milky grubs

    By Russ on 07/05/2019

    This stuff works great on Japanese beetle larvae. It's not for the faint of heart to see them once infected by the bacteria. You will instantly know why they call it milky. Die Mutha die!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)