Customer Reviews for MSM Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   34
4 stars   6
3 stars   2
2 stars   1
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(44 customer reviews)
MSM Turf Herbicide
$32.07

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 44 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Actually Kills Virginia Buttonweed!

    By Kyle on 07/11/2018

    This product is very effective against Virginia Buttonweed (assuming the directions are followed and the second application is made), and is safe to use on Zoysia (again assuming label directions are followed). The active ingredient of this product (metsulfuron methyl) is the same as the herbicide formerly sold under the trade name “Manor”. Metsulfuron is one of only two selective herbicide chemical groups actually shown to be effective against Virginia Buttonweed, and MSM is the only one of these chemicals I have found that is sold in volumes economical for residential use. In fact at my local farmer’s co-op, even the container of MSM I found was 3 times the cost of what I paid online and would have been enough chemical to treat my yard for over a decade (far past the shelf life of the chemical in an opened container). In my experience, Zoysia is quite tolerant of this herbicide at the recommended rates as long as ambient temperatures are under 85F. The best strategy is to make the initial broadcast application in mid spring (early to mid-May in TN) before sustained temperatures reach 85, and while Buttonweed is still in its more vulnerable stages. Spot spraying during summer also doesn’t seem to harm the turf grass. Some stunting of Zoysia will occur if you broadcast spray during hot weather, but it is short lived and the turf seems to rebound quickly. It took me basically 2 years to rid my yard of a pretty heavy Buttonweed infestation by using the split application method of initial broadcast spray in May, followed up with a sequential application 6 weeks later. Since then, most years I don’t have to spray for Buttonweed at all, and when I have it has only been light spot spraying in early summer. Also, it may not be completely clear from the description, but this product is in dry form, so “oz.” refers to the unit of weight, not fluid ounces. I was initially concerned when I read the chemical data sheet prior to purchase that this product would be impossible to mix up in lawn sprayer sizes (before I realized that it was not referring to a fluid ounce), but the product is not too terribly difficult to mix for a residential scale application with the volumetric dosage cup that is included.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    91 of 93 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM Turf is the BOMB!!

    By Terry on 06/27/2018

    I purchased this product to control Virginia button weed. I didn't mixed the correct amount of product in my twenty five gallon sprayer. However, the button weed turned brown one week later. I can only image my results the next time I spray with correct mixture. This product also killed other broadleaf weeds in my Bermuda lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dollar Weed

    By Gary on 04/09/2018

    Good stuff it works great on dollar weed. Takes a week or two and all of a sudden there are these yellow weeds in in your yard - dead dollar weed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So long Va Buttonweed!

    By Hoyett on 08/14/2018

    its the only thing I've found that eradicates Va buttonweed. Was getting worse year after year, but two spot applications at full strength killed it. No damage to Zoysia, slight temporary yellowing to Bermuda and heavy yellowing to St. Augustine. Use an electronic scale to measure small mixes (1-4 gal) in grams, or the included measure for larger batches. Effective on other weeds too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The perfect solution to my virginia button weed problem!

    By Diane on 09/07/2018

    I purchased this on the suggestion of a neighbor. I was able to get it here for a fraction of the price that she paid! I sprayed it on my virginia button weed, and it is really working! The good grass was not affected at all....only the weeds! Very happy with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    28 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff is awesome.

    By B on 03/08/2019

    I've used .04 oz to a gallon and .08 oz to the gallon. No harm to my st. augustine and the dollar weed is gone. Killed some other weeds too. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Mikec on 01/11/2019

    Product worked as advertised,but be careful not to over spray on to the grass ,I used it on my St Augustine grass,and it still haven't recovered,try and spray the weeds only if possible.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bought to kill dollar weed

    By Kelly on 04/22/2019

    Live in a community 30 miles north of Houston Texas. My St. Augustine yard was being taken over by dollar weed. According to the product label it will kill dollar weed. When applying I used the measuring cup provided to the 0.2 level of granules dissolved in a 4 gallon sprayer as suggested by the representative I spoke to. It has been about a month since the application and it has had a definite impact on the dollar weed. It has turned a bright yellowish-green and doesn’t seem to be spreading. I assume that means it’s dying, but I’m not sure and it is taking a long time. I applied a second application a couple of days ago. Hopefully that will finish it off. As for the other weeds in my yard, the first application quickly killed the clover and other weeds I didn’t even notice were growing until I saw the brown, dead remains. The package says it will kill Bahia, but so far it hasn’t had much of an impact on it. It didn’t have any negative impact on my St. Augustine grass either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM turf herbidicide

    By Alice on 02/22/2019

    My husband and I have spent hundreds of dollars purchasing items from Lowe’s and Home Depot to get rid of the clover and weeds in our year the seasonal pest. A neighbor told me about MSM and lent me some of his. It started to kill the clover with the first use, I am now a devoted customer and can not wait to use their other nutritional products on my lawn. Thanks to all that help me end the frustration!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM turf on buttonweed

    By Mike on 08/19/2019

    Live in Louisiana. Buttonweed got out of hand in late July. Daily temps mid 90s but I could not wait for cooler temps. Mixed MSM at .10 oz per gallon and sprayed away. Wiped out 90 percent of button weed and most other weeds within 2 weeks on 4 acre yard. Did not hurt my grass. I’m sold. Great stuff. I’ll hit the other 10 percent I missed this week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great on Bahia

    By Todd on 07/10/2019

    I mixed it with Quinclorac 1.5 L and some Methylated Seed Oil and it worked great on Bahia grass. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works!!

    By Wayne on 07/05/2019

    Bought this to eliminate Bahia in my Bermuda lawn. It flat out works! I also had some type of broadleaf very invasive weed that quickly spread. This took care of that as well and no turf damage. Domyown.com had an excellent price and fast shipping.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    MSM is excellent

    By Weed on 05/05/2019

    Works really well on dollarweed and clover. I will do a second application for dollarweed at 5 weeks because it is difficult to control. Only takes a very small amount. I think i used .05 of an ounce per 2 gallons. Came with a measuring device. Dont spray near trees.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff...maybe!!

    By Roger on 12/14/2018

    Excited about the purchase until I read the instructions that said not to be used on lawns lest that one year old. I just reseeded mine five months ago and was wanting to get ahead of the weeds but now I have to wait another seven months before using this product. Would have liked to have known that before I purchased it. Oh well........ The folks at DoMyOwn, were awesome with shipping!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Peggy on 10/12/2018

    It's been almost 2 weeks since my husband sprayed the Virginia Buttonweed and it seems to be killing a majority of it. The dollar weed seems to be dying as well. So glad I found your website. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective for Virginia button weed but use with care

    By Brendan on 10/16/2020

    MSM is highly effective but you have to use it with care if you are a do-it-yourselfer. I bought it to kill buttonweed which is very invasive. First, read the labels thoroughly. Second, if you are using on St. Augustine (I'm in Texas) know that this will likely turn the turf chlorotic for 4-5 weeks. If that is unacceptable to you don't use MSM! The way I got around it was to wait until fall when the turf is starting its dormancy. Also, I spot treated instead of covering the whole lawn, which helps. Last, if you are spraying in smaller amounts (1000-10,000 sq feet) since this comes pelatized you will use a very small amount per gallon - less than 1/4 teaspoon for button weed per gallon! If you are using a backpack sprayer or smaller handheld keep agitating to keep the product in suspension.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Impressed

    By Steven on 01/03/2020

    I’ve tried just about everything to get rid of weeds, till I’ve found this stuff MSM Turf Herbicide. Don’t waste your money at Home Depot or Lowes none of that crap works. Not only does MSM kill Virginia button weed, it kills several other weeds in St Augustine grass (Floratam) here in south Florida . And it doesn’t hurt the St. Augustine. This is a miracle. My chat conversation with Trisha was very helpful and she directed me to the correct product to use on my grass, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.....worth every penny and really not expensive. Thank You, Do My Own

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems useful

    By Jerry on 08/24/2019

    I think the Bahai grass has yellowed and growth has slowed. Definitely some crabgrass has turned brown. Can’t see any yellowing of Bermuda grass yet so I think the lawn grass will stay healthy. It’s uncertain if the Bahai will actually die. My place is a mess. I have dollar weed, nutgrass, grass burrs, crabgrass, some very broad bladed grass , some other sedge looking grass aside from nutgrass. I have sodded some zoysia and have some useful centipede grass by lake’s edge. I think the product will help with some of the weed grasses. Not yet proven so I can’t say a five.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Happy

    By Igmelys on 02/07/2020

    I got the product on time an i’m already seeing the results on my lawn,no more True Green.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM Herbicide

    By Pete on 08/28/2020

    This stuff really worked and didn’t kill my Saint Augustine grass. Took about 2 weeks to show the effects.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM Turf for Dollar Weed

    By Lauren on 05/08/2020

    Mixed as instructed. Applied to the massive invasion of Dollar Weed that covered my yard with a pump sprayer. I am in central Florida and temperatures have been around 80-85 degrees. It's been 2 weeks and the weeds are dying nicely. I am very impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Took Care of All My Weeds

    By Robert on 04/17/2020

    Got this for dollarweed, but worked on oxalis and all of my other weeds as well. Took a couple of weeks after treatment. Didn't harm my St Augustine grass at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not a solution for typical homeowner

    By James on 03/06/2020

    The minimum amount of MSM that you can measure and mix for spot treatment requires 4 gallons of water. Just wasn't practical for my purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed in time

    By Mikec on 11/23/2018

    It's been about two weeks seems to be working,but needs more time to tell how good this product is.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Stuff

    By Kim on 10/13/2019

    I put this stuff down it killed most of the weeds. Im going to follow up with another application in a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSM TURF HERBICIDE

    By Richard on 08/01/2020

    I MIXED 0NE TENTH OZ. IN 3 GALLONS OF WATER FOR TEST. IT TURNED THE BAHIA LEAVES YELLOW AND DID NOT HURT THE BEMUDA GRASS. ITS TO EARLY TO TELL IF THEY WILL DIE,I HOPE SO. SERVICE AT DO MY OWN WAS GREAT GOOD COMMUNACATION AND QUICK DELIVERY. WILL DEFENATELY USE AGAIN.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Mark on 07/24/2020

    Within a few days saw big results on Virginia Button Weed. Will follow up as recommended. Highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Rustweed

    By Andy on 07/10/2020

    I purchased MSM Turf Herbicide primarily to use on my centipe lawn to kill Rustweed and it has worked great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Dollarweed Killer Ever

    By Nancy on 07/05/2020

    Got Dollarweed? Well if you use MSM Turf Herbicide you won't anymore! Of course it kills other leafy things, but Dollarweed is our nemisis. As the old saying goes, Try it, you'll like it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff rocks!

    By Roy on 09/04/2020

    Applied per directions on my St. Augustine grass to stop dollar weeds. The third day my weeds were in trouble. Starting to yellow. The next two days the weeds started to brown on the edges. Now a week later, all my dollar weeds are dying. I have not seen results like this since the days of DDT! I am completely satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 44 reviews)