Customer Reviews for Orthene 97 Spray Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   27
4 stars   2
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(31 customer reviews)
Orthene 97 Spray Insecticide
$24.94

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 27 (of 27 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good general purpose insecticide

    By Anonymous on 06/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have used this insecticide for many years. It is easy to mix. I recently learned that it can travel through both the phylum and xylum (sp) plant tissues. That means that it can go both up and down in a plant, giving much better protection against insects. It has an EPA code word of CAUTION, so it isn't as toxic as many other insecticides.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    40 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    insecticide usage

    By Venita on 08/09/2015

    We used it to spray to kill bag worms in our evergreen trees and it did the job and we only had to spray once to do the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene 97 Spray

    By John on 09/11/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Would give this product a 5 star rating. Used it on my rhododendron black vine weevil problem. Results are better than expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wow

    By Anonymous on 06/17/2013

    getting past the smell was not difficult, the result, oh my, was great, I would recommend the product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent insecticide

    By Suzanne on 05/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I use this product sparingly for control of thrips on roses. Also kills beneficials so make sure to have a good miticide on hand in case spider mites result.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grasshopper Comtrol

    By William on 08/22/2015

    I received my 2 pounds of 97 and have already used some for grasshopper control,very good THANKS

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene for control of thrips in orchid greenhouse

    By Carl on 10/07/2019

    I had been trying to control thrips on orchids in my greenhouses for 3 years. Having tried expensive products on the advice from commercial growers to no avail, I contacted the folks at the American Orchid Society. Their advise was to use Orthene when temperature in the greenhouse is below 80 F or lower and when declining, preferably at dusk. Finally success after two applications 10 days apart. I now drench plants every 6 months for complete control of all orchid pests including scale and mealy bug.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Control of Thrips in Orchid Greenhouse

    By Carl on 05/10/2018

    The trick to controlling thrips on Orchids in the greenhouse is to spray just before dark with cooling temperatures. Temperature in greenhouse should be under 80 degrees and falling. Do not spray in the morning with temperatures rising as this can cause toxicity damage to plants and flowers. Sticky traps will determine when to apply another spray.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene on Orchids to Control Thrips

    By Carl on 04/27/2018

    Have been trying to control thrips in a greenhouse full of orchids. consulted with the American Orchid Society (AOS) and was informed that Orthene could be used without damage. Applied Orthene at labeled rate and saw within two days a substantial reduction in population. Trick is to be persistent and spray every 3-4 days for 2 weeks. Product was received within a few days of ordering and in good condition. NO COMPLAINTS.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked were everything else failed

    By Daniel on 08/06/2017

    Home depot and Lowe's pests control products were nothing but a waste of time and money, one application of Orthene and the aphids were gone! Read the dosage carefully, this product is really strong. Best of all, is DoMyOwn customer service. Standing ovation guys! What a treat dealing with your company.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Wyatt on 11/11/2016

    Several times stronger than what you get from big box stores...works great granular and disolved in water for a systemic spray...got a little odor but for me it dissapates rather quickly so no big deal

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene 97 spray insecticide

    By Barry on 07/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Took care of my plants in a heart beat.I have azale's that are big and it wiped out the disease in short order thanks to them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene 97

    By John on 09/10/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This is a very good product. I have used it in the past and have found it to be effective against fire ants. It is less expensive and more potent than "fire ant" insecticide available in stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ORTHENE 97 INSECTICIDE ORDER

    By Bennie on 08/04/2018

    i am totally happy with my recent purchse of orthene 97 insecticide. Placing the order was straightforward and simple making it easy for an old codger to place the internet order. And what a surprise when the order arrived 2 days later! 2 day delivery, I don't know how you do it but I totally appreciate the fast delivery and the very, very fair price. I am using the orthene 97 to eradicate biosduval scale on my orchid collection. All the simple methods of oil, alcohol, soaps and over the counter products including malathion had little effect. Orthene 97 has cleared up my problem!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene 97

    By Eddie on 03/31/2018

    This insecticide works fantastic for all insects to include Thrips. Othene at Box Stores really do not work -- 97% takes care of insect problems. Can be mixed with miticide Honor Guard. Strong odor. Not for spider mites. Works excellent ants -stir the spot where ants are and drop a couple tablespoons - ant gone!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Insecticide

    By Faye on 09/11/2015

    We have used Orthene for years. It is good for all species of pests. Could not find it at our farm stores so I was pleased to be able to order it online.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orethane

    By Terry on 09/28/2018

    Great Product .. I use it in commercial growing and have for many years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    granular orthene

    By Douglas on 08/31/2020

    Orthene in granular form has a longer shelf life than the asephate liquid form, which lasts for about 3 years! I realy value the choice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene

    By Albert on 08/07/2020

    This is a great systemic insecticide that I used a long time ago. Glad to finally find it again on DoMyOwn

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene

    By Connie on 07/06/2017

    Good to finally find Orthene. Easy enough to order. I will check out DoMyOwn for future purchases. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great service and price!

    By Susan on 09/04/2020

    Domyown got the Orthene to me in a very short amount of time and for an excellent price. I've used Orthene before and it is as good as it gets on mealy bug and scale, as well as numerous other bad bugs!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    For use in carnivorous plants (Sarracenia)

    By Aura on 06/08/2020

    Works like a charm. Follow instructions and don’t be afraid to soak your carnivorous with this product. Delivery was very fast, customer service responded very quick too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Donna on 05/16/2020

    Best of all the rest, try others but this did the job, use on everything and do my Emerald Greens and Leyland evergreens twice a year no problems and growing very well. Thank You southern States in Delaware

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene 97

    By Randy on 06/14/2019

    Was very pleased with the price and the quick delivery. Certainly will be purchasing other products. JOB WELL DONE!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Orthene order

    By Charla on 11/16/2018

    It came promptly and looks to be in good condition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BEST INSECT SRAY....

    By Pamela on 05/04/2018

    this insecticide is fantastic and now i can get it when ever i run out. and on the computer it is very affordable...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Get rid of thrips

    By Michele on 12/11/2020

    I’ve applied Orthene, according to directions, to all my orchid plants in October and so far, I haven’t seen any more thrips damaging my plant or flowers. It is now December and I will apply again in January just to be sure those pesky pests are history.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 27 (of 27 reviews)