Customer Reviews for Protecta Rat Bait Station

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(57 customer reviews)
Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Protecta Rat Bait Station (6)

    By Jim on 12/02/2011

    I am using the Protecta Bait Stations with Contrac Blox rat bait. Here in Arizona, we have a huge Pack Rat problem. I have been using T Rex traps, but the rats do become trap shy. I am very satisfied with the stations. They keep out rain, and keep out the birds and rabbits. I have tried putting a T Rex trap inside, but I wish you could see into the box before opening it. A few times I have opened the station to see a rat caught in the trap, still alive. A clear plastic window would help. Otherwise, a great product. After three weeks, I can't find evidence of rats anywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    26 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    almost perfect

    By Joe on 02/06/2015

    This is a great product in that the rodents get in and out, eat the bait, and go on their merry way. There are only two flaws. The mounting flanges that hold the bait bars in the vertical position are a bit weak and spirited rodents can band the mounting flange such that the bars no longer stay up vertical. The other problem is some mucho macho rodents have run away with the bars that were mounted in the horizontal position. I have no idea how they did that but I have opened the stations to find that the horizontal bars were missing, and the rodents had chewed upon the replaceable plastic trays that fit inside the product. This product would be perfect in the mounting flanges inside the plastic station were half an inch longer, which would beef up where the rods are inserted into the plastic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Not stationary

    By Ronald on 03/21/2017

    Ground pins weren't long enough Raccoons keep dragging it away. I do like the way the bait is secured, The old ones I bought don't.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your feedback! If you are concerned about aggressive animals damaging or moving around your bait stations, then you have several options in addition to stakes. You can place a brick on top of stations to weigh them down, you can use epoxy to attach the stations to a concrete footer, you can use wire or zip ties to secure to the station to a fence or vertical post, or you can use stations that have a weight attached. The same company makes a station called the Protecta EVO Express Bait Station which has a brick inside each station to keep them in place: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/protecta-evo-express-bait-station-p-2243.html Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bait station

    By Judy on 06/30/2011

    Everything arrived quickly.  My only comment is there were no instructions on how to set it up. I had to go back to the website to see how it should look,

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Bait Stations

    By Lisa on 04/14/2017

    I recently purchased four of these to put on the outside of my home. There are two on the perimeter of the house and two around the garage. I had previously hired a exterminator to come and was paying them hundreds of dollars every year. I decided to go on my own and purchase my own products and I'm glad that I did. In a few days I could tell there was activity because one of the stations was actually moved from the spot that I had placed it, feeling that a large animal tried to get in there to feed. They are the same type of stations that the company that I had hired have used, so that's how I had the idea to use the large ones. I placed a large flat rock on top of them so the wind wouldn't blow them away. They seem to be working fine so far. I just wish they had weights inside to hold them down. This would make it much more convenient.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Rat Bait Station

    By Betty on 05/31/2017

    If you have a rodent problem, this may be a good solution for you. I have a pest control service at some rentals that I own, but when we saw rats at our business, I decided to try these on my own. These are almost the same as what are used by the pest people. The verticle works much better than the horizontal or I would have given it a 5 star rating. I would recommend that you do away with the horizontal and only use the vertical.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works Well

    By Rocky on 11/09/2016

    Does the job in doing away with the rat infestation. Only problem was placement of the trap in order to get the rats to go in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Oh Rats!

    By Michael on 03/31/2017

    I purchased two of these traps. I haven't had them long so I feel uncomfortable commenting on how effective they are in controlling my rat population. But I can say that I am please with the quality of the traps and the security system to prevent children or pets from gaining access to the poison. Hope this helps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Lacking wires

    By Kenneth on 01/22/2021

    These work well. They should include 4 wire bait holders rather than two, and a hex key for each station .

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)