Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer Plus Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(789 customer reviews)
Displaying 61 to 90 (of 789 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Fram on 07/06/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is terrific,it killed the sedgenut in one application;however it seems to have also killed some of the good grass where the sedgenut was.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    The toughest weed I have ever dealt with

    By Jim on 07/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had tried to get rid of Nutsedge for several years in my Charlotte lawn. It just kept getting worse. I tried a hand spray that I picked up at the BigBox stores. It didn't faze it at all. I went on the internet earlier this year and came across your product Sledgehammer. I decided to give it a try. I mixed it up, one packet to about 1 1/2 gallons of water and sprayed most areas where I had serious nutsedge. As you know nutsedge jumps up after you mow. I waited 5 days before mowing and now that it has been two weeks and two more mowings the nutsedge that I treated has stopped growing and has turned yellow. Those that I didn't treat are once agin 6-8 inches tall. I plan on treating the remainder this week. I was concerned that with the extremely hot weather (97+) for tha past two weeks the results might be poor but I am very pleased with the effectiveness of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer Herbicide

    By Don on 09/09/2011

    Verified Purchase

    One application has eliminated 95% of the nut grass in my yard. It was easy to mix and to spray..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Awesome Product

    By Kool on 08/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Awesome product; I applied as directed and 2wks later All the sedge grass was brown. I've since mowed and my KB grass is already starting to grow back in where the sedge grass has died out!!!! Did not give it 5stars because waiting to see if it re-emerges next season???

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Fred on 05/23/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product really works well on nutweed. Use as instructed. Needs a second application i two weeks Do my Own Prest Control delieved promptly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By Anonymous on 06/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product, great service from the company. Price is much better than in local stores. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Works

    By Anonymous on 07/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Nothing else worked until we tried SedgeHammer. We can now happily report that the sedge grass is gone. Dead. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nutsedge - No Chance

    By Anonymous on 07/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I tried pulling the stuff out when I first spotted it, got so good I could spot it emerging 30 feet away, but it was to much for me (and the assorted weed killers I tried). I tried SEDGEHAMMER and like magic, it was gone!!!! Sprayed it as instructed and within days the war was over! Whatever is in the stuff - it worked.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Anonymous on 07/31/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product performed just as advertised- I mixed up a one gallon batch and applied with a sprayer-wetting out the grass-like blades. Not having a large area to treat, I had about 1/2 gallon left which I reapplied again the next day. After about a week the blades lost their deep green color & turned yellow after which they died

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Works

    By Anonymous on 08/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Although it is expensive, it does work. I let the yard grow about a 5 days after I mowed it, applied SedgeHammer, waited about a week before I mowed again. Three weeks later no signs of the sedge coming back. It did not harm my Saint Augustine Grass at all! I am extremely happy with my first purchase from DoMyOwnPestControl.com I will definitely be ordering more products in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It hits the weeds like a hammer

    By Anonymous on 08/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    You may have to use it a few times to gets the best results... I used it twice on back to back weeks... then a third spot dose just to be sure it did the trick. It does work on nutsedge... and that weed is had to kill. Buy it in larger quantity it doesn't go bad unless you mix it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nutsedge killer

    By Anonymous on 08/13/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product worked as stated. Nut grass gone in 8 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer really works!

    By Anonymous on 08/17/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have used 'big box' products which required several applications but SegeHammer killed the nutsedge after one application. Excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Outstanding product

    By Jody on 09/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This was the perfect product to counter an invasion of nut grass. After one treatment 95% were eliminated. I even used it on several other broadleaf weeds and found out that SledgeHammer killed them as well. This is the product to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer - Nut Grass Killer

    By John on 09/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Nut grass started sprouting in my lawn and I was told by a friend that SedgeHammer was the only thing that would kill it. Worked like a charm.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Miracle Cure

    By Ron on 09/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed nutsedge in a garden bed of Mondo and Liriope not knowing what might happen. The Nutsedge was as short as six inches and as tall as 2 1/2 feet. A little over two weeks have passed and the nutsedge is all a welcome yellow color and is dying. Since fall has fallen, I will have to wait until next spring to see if any little baby nuts still have enough oomph to sprout but I will be ready for them. Oh yes - I also had to spray it on some Hostas and some ground cover ("Green Carpet" a/k/a Rupture Wort, a/k/a Herniaria Glabra) and it and the aforesaid good stuff all seem to be none for the worse. I have fought and cussed this pest for 40 years. This stuff works! Roundup doesn't, unless you use it on itty bitty babies before they have formed their first "nut."

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hammer time!

    By Drew on 05/27/2014

    Verified Purchase

    One packet destroyed my nut grass to the roots. The first application showed results in 7 days. The second application finished it off. For 10 bucks I got rid of something that haunted my yard for 3 years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Testimony

    By Skip on 07/10/2014

    SedgeHammer is a terrific product. I have used other products such as ProSedge, and found SedgeHammer consistently delivered a far superior result.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SouthFlorida

    By Eric on 07/18/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This product is a slow kill and does take up to ten days before I noticed the nutsedge turning brown.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hammered it!

    By G.s. on 07/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I applied it once. Sedge turned brown and died. Zoysia sod was not damaged. Cut the grass. Sedge did not return. Wow. I have a little on the other side of the driveway; I will treat it next.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer

    By Steve on 07/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Does just what was promised: kills the Yellow Nut Sedge and does not kill the grass. It does take 7 to 10 days before you know if it is working; the nut sedge turns yellow and leaves die off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer Herbicide

    By K on 09/30/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This is a great product. I applied it as directed and the results were as I was promised. It did take a little longer to kill the nutsedge grass weed but nonetheless it did its job in about 3 weeks. At first I was a little afraid to use the product for fear it would harm my animals. I worried for nothing. I've purchased extra of this product in case I found the nutsedge weed in other areas of my yard. Once I determined I was terribly allergic to this grass weed, I do not want to be without an eradicator. Thanks for the product. There are several YouTube videos from lawn care providers about nutsedge grass weed that promotes this product and provides additional advise on how and when to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    treatment

    By James on 10/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have applied the treatment twice and no evidence of killing the nut grass. I am waiting for it to work. The reviews i read provided good results. I am waiting

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good product

    By Larry on 08/12/2015

    Don't be in a hurry to see it start turning the nut grass yellow and dying. It took about 2 weeks to die off. Very happy with it. I am a repeat user.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SedgeHammer

    By Terry on 11/23/2015

    Easy to apply and worked very quickly. Only effected the plants it was supposed to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Carol on 04/29/2016

    My front lawn was infested with nut sedge. I used SedgeHammer and it worked. Carol

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works

    By John on 07/12/2016

    We were return customers, having purchased a case over two years ago. We have neighbors with a bad nutsedge infestation so the grass makes its way into our yard every couple of years. We tried everything to kill it and nothing worked - until we found this product. Spray it on, wait 10 days or so, and your nutsedge problem will be done. Well worth the purchase price - and the vendor is awesome. Now, if I could just work up the nerve to spray my neighbor's yard too :-/

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedgehammer Review

    By Ben on 03/03/2017

    I am having to put down a 2nd application of Sedgehammer because one application knock out everything. But, it did knock out a lot. I wanted spray before the sedge budded and spread across more of the yard. Sedge is killing our bermuda grass when it takes over. Once it seeds it will take over a lawn. Aedgehammer does work well, where Weed-B-Gone and other weed killers doesn't even affect it. If anybody knows of a better sedge killer I'd like to know about it?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! Sedgehammer is still our most popular nutsedge control product. It does take time to work all the way through and to kill the plants, and multiple applications are often needed because younger and/or mowed plants can be easy to miss among turfgrass. Another option for even faster burndown would be Dismiss Herbicide. Be sure to check the product label for tolerance on your turfgrass: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/dismiss-turf-herbicide-p-1517.html Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Verdict still out!

    By Rodger on 05/29/2017

    The areas that had one application have turned a sickly yellow and I feel death is imminent. R.I.P.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Jim on 06/13/2017

    Very good product, worked every time I've used it. It works very slowly compared to other herbicides. I feel negative reviews are from not giving time for the product to work, it took weeks for the sedge to brown and die, the plant growth stopped almost immediately but remained green for weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 789 reviews)