Customer Reviews for Solo 451 Mist Blower

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   16
4 stars   12
3 stars   5
2 stars   3
1 star   5

Average Customer Rating

3.8 of 5 stars
(41 customer reviews)
Solo 451 Mist Blower
$699.99

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good but a few things could be better

    By Homeowner on 07/16/2014

    Bought this primarily to spray all of the landscaped and other surrounding area around our house for mosquitoes. First the cons... Based on my experience with farm spraying and from reviews of others, I immediately bought the optional pump. I'm glad I bought it and in fact think it should be standard equipment. There is no way you will get an even spray volume distribution by the standard gravity feed unless you are spraying small plants that can be done with a low and constant nozzle height. And you can't spray the upper parts of tall plants or surfaces at all unless you have the pump. The pump also has a return line to the tank that serves to keep the spray solution mixed. This website doesn't have the optional pump listed, but informed me by email that it was available from them. I had already found it elsewhere in stock with easy automated ordering before I received the email reply from this site, and it arrived before the blower (but I was pleased with how quickly this site shipped the blower as well). Be aware that the optional pump is about $125 (delivered price). It also may be a bit of a challenge for some to install if you aren't at least somewhat of a handyman type. The other problem I encountered is the flex hose doesn't attach securely to the elbow. It slips over a barbed male nipple and is secured by a hose clamp. But the hose barbs are too small (hardly a barb at all) and it's hard to get the clamp tight enough (it's plastic and I was afraid of stripping the screw threads in the plastic or breaking the plastic band if I tightened the clamp any tighter). The first time of use the flex hose came off almost immediately. I put it back on and tightened the clamp tighter, and it still only lasted about half way through the first spray tank load before coming off again. So I put it back on, tightened the hose clamp, and then put two small screws through the flex hose and elbow nipple, adjacent to the hose clamp. That fixed the problem. Other than these issues, which I was satisfactorily able to overcome, I really like this blower. I've only had it about 2 weeks and have only sprayed everything twice (but multiple tank loads each time), so I can't speak first hand to longevity, but the engine seems to be well made, high compression, and starts on first or 2nd pull every time so far. I like that the spray tank and pump system is very easy to rinse/flush when done for the day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    35 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Satisfied

    By Anonymous on 06/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I went with the Solo 451 after reading the reviews about other brands. The unit works good but both straps have broken within 2 weeks of use. Solo was very good about sending new parts out without a question. I hope this is a continual problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Commercial Use

    By Maryland on 09/04/2014

    It gives great coverage but the settings are nuts. There are four settings for flow and I can't imagine a situation where you would use the 3rd or 4th setting. The 4th setting blew through the 3 gallon tank in under 2 minutes. I don'think the complaints about the weight are warranted but maybe that's because I am a bigger man.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Experimental Utilization

    By Anonymous on 07/16/2013

    I have used the mist blower to apply herbicide in 3 y o longleaf plantation to control wisteria. Considering that the surrounding vegetation is over head high, it does a pretty good job of getting the chemical out beyond what a backpack sprayer could do. I was concerned about the weight but it has been manageable. Had to play around with which setting to use to get enough chemical out, but it seems ok. Unit runs good and you can tell it was build by the German's with the consumer or user in mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Solo 451

    By Flash on 06/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This mist blower is pretty solid. 4 stars for a couple of things: to get high up into larger trees, an accessory pump kit is required. The other minor issue may have more to do with me; the clamps for the nozzle are plastic, and the hose did fall out of the elbow once during use. Aside from those minor things, it's great! The fuel tank is large; I've run 18 gallons so far and still have plenty left in the tank. 3 gallons plus the weight of the unit is right at my upper limit, having a leg disability, so you able-bodied folks should have no trouble at all. It starts super easy as well. Overall, a very good buy, and DMOPC has the best price I could find.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Solid machine

    By Stephen on 07/08/2017

    After reading reviews I considered this and the Stihl unit. I wanted to buy the Stihl since I have their backpack blower, weed wacker and two chain saws but after reading the tank would leak, I went with the Solo. This is a well built machine. The assembly instructions are a bit confusing but if you assemble it right, the air hose will not come apart as some have complained. Since you're carrying 3 gallons of water and the blower on your back it is heavy. I would like to see better back padding, thicker straps and a more comfortable throttle with a trigger lock. My Stihl blower has better padding, a nice throttle grip and a throttle lock and I can wear it all day. After spraying two tanks today I'm a bit sore. I like that you can unscrew the hose from the tank to rinse it out easily. It starts right up but follow the instructions. You don't yank on it like most power equipment. A slow steady pull is all it takes. Finally, I bought this as a mosquito control kit which came with four different chemicals. One was granules that are supposed to dissolve in water but didn't and clogged up the chemical feed line. I won't be using them anymore-just the liquids. Make sure you mix everything in a container and then add it to the tank. Don't mix in the tank.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pleased with the Solo 451 mist blower

    By Randy on 03/06/2017

    Blower arrived in great shape. It was purchased to spray a small home orchard. With the booster pump added it reached the tops of the trees as advertised. The motor started with a couple pulls. I antisipated a heavy machine and with the added chemicals it is indeed. I am fairily mechanical. The photo instructions to add the booster pump could use improvement. The photos are not very clear. One of the hoses was too short and required purchasing a new length of hose.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We apologize that the manufacturer instructions are unclear. There are different hose lengths included, so one will be too short if they are installed in the opposite placement. Please let us know if we can further assist you anytime. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    451

    By T on 04/23/2016

    My company purchased one of these for mosquito treatments. Used it on a couple of houses, so far this is what i've noticed. 1. Its awkward to handle. I weight 150 and have a bad back, it was a struggle to use it all day. If you fill on a tailgate of a truck its not that big of a deal, but if you have to fill and dead lift from the ground it'll wear you out. 2. Its loud. While using it I had to stop and have the "is that safe?" conversation twice with neighbors. So you turn off the engine, set the backpack down, explain yourself for 5-10 minutes, start the engine, put it back on, and get back to work. It can be time consuming. Would be nice to have something more discrete. 3. It puts out way too much product for some houses. Even on the lowest setting, you don't use the trigger much. Instead you take your left hand and adjust the flow and let the idle put out product. Would be nice to have a lower setting or have the flow adjustment in a place where you could do that with your right hand. But overall, I'd give it 4 out of 5 stars. It does exactly what its supposed to do, and if you have shrubs or a heavy wooded area and don't mind the weight/noise it is a perfect product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dependable starts; needs top handle and foot pad

    By William on 05/16/2017

    Starting and lifting this thing into position is a little awkward. I'm really surprised that they didn't build in some type of foot platform to step on when pull-starting; holding the blower down while pulling the cord is very awkward. Also, my Echo backpack sprayer has a handle built into the fill cap, which I use to lift from the sprayer off the ground after filling. I realize that this sprayer is heavier when filled. However, a handle extending up from the frame would be welcome.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great the choke was hard to figure out hard to aim up.

    By Tim on 07/24/2017

    works great start is a little hard to get use to and the blower tube is hard to aim straight up in the air, When the choke is off it should be at a 11 to 5 angle, Vertical to apply the choke !

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great but Not so Great

    By Ryan on 07/31/2017

    I have used the solo mist blower 451 for 2 years now. Pros runs great! Cons straps snapped after a year, the nozzle attachment keeps blowing off, lost 2 already. Bolts vibrate loose after much use and leaks all over you. Thank goodness I use Organic. Must always check and re tighten and reseal top cap inside rubber gasket wears away and leaks. Mind you I own a tick and mosquito control business and have done about 300 applications with this one machine. That's why I give 4 stars. I just wish they had a standard replacement parts kit. Straps, nozzle attachment kit, gasket etc. That would be ideal. I would recommend to a friend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Backpack Mister

    By Estuardo on 06/05/2020

    One of the parts broke 5 days after I purchased one of this. I had to order the part and fixed myself. But, in general not a bad backpack mister.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)