Customer Reviews for Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(56 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 56 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Only thing that got rid of Japanese Stiltgrass

    By Lowell on 07/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I tried other selective herbicides, adding surfactant, but only Acclaim got rid of most of the Japanese Stiltgrass invading my lawn. Only drawback is its price!! After doing some research, it seems this product is about all that really works for lawns to control this specific weed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    122 of 124 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Japanese Stiltgrass is now under control.

    By Rick on 08/27/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Thanks to Acclaim! Roundup, which kills everything, was the only solution to rid Stiltgrass from my lawn. Two applications of Acclaim Extra Selective from a tank sprayer mixed with Adept surfactant are all that was needed

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    69 of 73 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product! Kills Japanese Stilt grass.

    By Scott on 08/07/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Acclaim killed all the Japanese Stilt grass that had invaded my lawn. Be patient though because it takes about 7-10 days to work. The leaves will begin to yellow after 5-7 days and then brown after 10-14 days. Definitely purchase the recommended Surfactant also. You will use less Acclaim and be able to treat your lawn much faster with better results. Acclaim also kills crab grass and seems to have thinned out some annual Bermuda grass that had invaded my lawn. Tip: I use a clear cough medicine measuring cup to measure out the recommended amount (.46oz=14ml) for my one gallon tank sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    64 of 64 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra works well to supress bermuda grass in fescue

    By Charles on 06/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This product works great to suppress Bermuda grass in my tall fescue lawn. I mix it with turflon ester, herbicide helper surfactant, and colorant. This is the third year of applications and I have seen quite a reduction in Bermuda grass, as well as immediate short term suppression after each application of which I make 3 or 4 during the growing season. DoMyOwnpestControl.com has the best price on this item I have found. I see a review that it did not work well in crabgrass and found the following information helpful for that issue. “For killing crabgrass well after it has germinated (e.g., Acclaim Extra), but they are effective only at killing young crabgrass plants. Because these young crabgrass plants are small, they are very difficult to detect in a lawn rendering post emergent herbicides far less useful than pre emergent herbicides for killing crabgrass (Beaulieu, 2011). Reference Beaulieu, D. (2011). How to Kill Crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 46 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra/ Phenoxyprop-ethyl formulations

    By Steve on 10/15/2014

    I have used this product with somewhat mixed success. As mentioned on label, it suppresses, but does not control bermuda. Suppression lasts anywhere from 3 months to 2 years. As commercial applicator, I have just begun using it on crabgrass. It seems to work a bit more consistently than Quinchlorac (Drive) based formulations and has less frequent side effect to fescue. For those of you who are not getting results from this product, note that a non ionic surfactant is listed for sale along with Acclaim. Use it. You might also go over how carefully you measured and applied product to lawn area. I figure application of 2 gallons of spray to 1000 sq ft. area at labeled rates. If you don't apply product at labeled rates and 2 gal/1000, it is not likely to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Does not work that great

    By Richard on 08/15/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this thinking it wojuld be better than products I can get at Home depot. However, the Bayer All in One with Crabgrass control works better on Crabgrass. I also tried this on bermudagrass and it was completely ineffective. I have been following the directions to the letter and it just does not seem to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Anonymous on 08/23/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Just as described, it has worked against my crabgrass and a TON of Japanese Stiltgrass in my lawn. Both were treated late in the season so they were well established (which I knew wasn't optimal) but still worked really well. I used a handheld tank sprayer to apply. It should be noted that I didn't see ANYTHING for a week - then the weeds started turning colors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra Selective

    By Eileen on 09/28/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This is GREAT stuff. Only thing I could fiind to kill crabgrass.....which is always a pain in the late turf growing season. This is the only place I could find this product sold in pints. It's spendy....but it works. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effectively kills stiltgrass

    By Rs on 07/07/2015

    Awesome. Surfactant and dye are highly recommend. This is expensive stuff so you want to SEE where you are laying it down as well as making sure it coats rather than bead off the leaves. the blue dye gives a nice but subtle contrast. As always, wear a mask that will handle the vapor and latex/rubber gloves. Kill this crap before it takes over the forest and woods of the US.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim and Japanese stilt grass

    By Peter on 08/08/2017

    So far, so good. This stuff kills this nasty Japanese Stiltgrass that seems to multiply over night in my lawn. It has been just a bit over 2 weeks and I just did a second application to get what I missed or what sprouted since the initial spray. I did end up using the surfactant, and you should, otherwise this stuff will just run off. Dye might have helped me track areas. I did this in a hand sprayer on my lawn in SE PA. I recommend you read up on stiltgrass, and then the Acclaim label so you know what you are doing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Expensive but it works!

    By Anonymous on 08/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I've had a problem with Japanese Stilt Grass growing in my lawn and none of three popular lawn herbicides would touch it. After hearing about Acclaim and seeing on the label it's intended for this weed, I bought some to try. It does work, if applied properly (I also used a surfactant to make the solution "stick" better to the blades of the weed). Although the price is high compared to other products, it was worth it to me to get rid of most of this invasive weed species by using a backpack sprayer and targeting it in 4000 sq. ft. of lawn. Also, I was pleased with the speed of delivery of this and other products from "youdoit."

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass is winning

    By Duane on 06/14/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I applied Acclaim Extra at a rate a little higher than suggested because I wasn't sure how far my sprayer would cover. Anyway, it's been about 10 days and no sign of dying crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bermuda controlled

    By William on 05/09/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Like others here. I use Acclaim Extra with Turflon Ester to control Bermuda grass in our tall fescue lawn. You have to hit it right when the Bermuda first comes up for the season, usually around mid May here in NC. Then hit it again every 30 days. You also need to stay on it for 3 or 4 seasons. I made the mistake of declaring victory after the first season. It slowly came back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills Crabgrass in Zoysia

    By Anonymous on 06/24/2013

    I used Acclaim to kill crabgrass in a 1-yr old zoysia lawn (from seed), worked great. I am also using it on Japanese Stiltgrass in other areas, and it is doing the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bermuda Killer!

    By Daniel on 07/06/2018

    Used a mix of Acclaim, triclopyr ester and surfactant on my zoysia lawn to try and kill some common and hybrid bermudagrass. First application turned the common bermudagrass brown. Effect on the hybrid bermudagrass was much less, but golf course testing suggests that 5 treatments one season, followed by 3 the next season will be required for full control. Seems to slow the growth of the zoysia a bit, but no ill effects. Expensive, but a little goes a long way and this seems to be the best product for my application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Home owner

    By Maarty on 07/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Acclaim extra works Great. A little pricey but it does the job. I would indeed purchase this product again. Very Satisfied Customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim works

    By Anonymous on 09/02/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Takes about 2 or 3 weeks but it's killing the stilt grass. Will do a second treatment to get what I missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Give it time

    By Martin on 08/20/2017

    Acclaim does not provide instant gratification, but after 2-3 weeks of wondering whether it was going to work, the weeds are giving up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra

    By Tim on 07/10/2020

    Good stuff - takes out Japanese Stiltgrass without killing good Lawn/grass. Expensive and takes a while to work, but very effective! Worth the expense!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra Herbicide -- dated product

    By John on 05/09/2020

    My order was placed on 4/16/20 and it arrived well packaged within a week. The reason for my low rating is that the product had a manufacturing date of October 2018. Given that the shelf life of this item is 3 – 5 years, at the low end of the scale, half of its life was gone by the date of delivery. I have purchased a lot of products from Do My Own over several years and generally been very satisfied. As this is not an inexpensive item, I would have hoped it would fresh within six months or less. Due to inclement weather and an unfavorable mowing/treatment cycle, I have yet to apply the herbicide. I hope to make the application within a week or so. Most of the reviewer's reference Japanese Stiltgrass eradication, I am looking to control Poa Trivialis and will update this review subsequent to lawn treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Realy works - give it time!

    By Dave on 09/04/2017

    This is about the only stuff that will kill Japanese Stiltgrass in your lawn without harming the lawn. You won't see results for several days - keep the faith - but eventually the stiltgrass all turns brown.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide

    By Mike on 07/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I cannot give Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide 5 stars because I'm reserving that for when they invent a magic bullet that kills bermuda grass dead without hurting fescue. But since Acclaim Extra does provide a tool for controlling (not killing) bermuda grass without killing my fescue, it does receive a good rating of 4 stars. About one spraying a month during warm weather keeps the bermuda grass sickly enough so it doesn't take over. Then comes cool weather and fescue can once again defend itself (about late September in east Tennessee).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Acclaim

    By Rattypiel on 10/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    It's the best stuff for post emergence control of crabgrass. I am so glad this product is available.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great on Crabgrass

    By Rick on 08/23/2019

    I applied this trying to control crabgrass and Japanese stiltgrass that was invading my yard. Everything I've purchased at Lowe's wouldn't kill either plant. I applied it with a 4 gallon pump sprayer as directed onto a dry yard with a surfactant and a blue dye to mark the area sprayed. This did a fantastic job in killing the crabgrass with a single application. I slightly over sprayed a few feet of my neighbors yard which was almost 100% crabgrass and it killed every bit of the crabgrass. It took about a week for the crabgrass to really look like it was going to die. The Japanese stiltgrass took two applications as the first application seemed like it only wounded it. I will purchase it again when I need more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Horrible

    By Paul on 06/29/2020

    Killed half my fescue lawn. Follow directions to the letter, one treatment killed and browned 50% of the lawn. Don't ever use this crap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not work for my crabgrass

    By John on 08/17/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I am up to 3oz/gal and it is not killing anything. grab grass and many weeds still doing fine.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Oh dear! We are sorry to hear the Acclaim did not work up to your expectations. Herbicides work well when used under optimal conditions but there are some environmental conditions that can diminish the efficacy of the products such heat or drought stressed weeds, recently mown weeds, etc. Please give our customer care team a call so we can help you troubleshoot the issue and get the herbicide working up to its potential: 866-581-7378

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Gary on 09/18/2020

    Wish there was something more affordable but with Japanese Silt grass this may be the only thing that works without destroying your yard with Glyphosate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Doug on 08/28/2020

    I had a pretty bad case of Japanese Stiltgrass taking over my lawn. Acclaim Extra smoked it! It's all gone. Took about 2 weeks to start working but it definitely got rid of it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    patience

    By Trevor on 08/23/2019

    before shelling out the high price for this product, I read all the reviews, many of which said they saw results "in a week or so". Well, ten days after by-the-book application (and i would recommend the blue dye and the surfactant as add ins), I saw almost nothing. Then, it started turning brown and at a full two weeks in, i was convinced it was working. I'm now threee weeks in and it has worked well - I might need another application in certain areas, but then my application might not have been totally thorough. So, I am a fan. Stiltgrass was overrunning my lawn and this is the ONLY thing that targets it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Got Stiltgrass

    By Mike on 07/10/2020

    Got Stiltgrass? Get Acclaim Extra, easy on the lawn and destroys Stiltgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 56 reviews)