Customer Reviews for BTI Mosquito Dunks

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   55
4 stars   11
3 stars   2
2 stars   0
1 star   0

Average Customer Rating

4.8 of 5 stars
(68 customer reviews)
BTI Mosquito Dunks
$21.97

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Control those mosquitoes

    By Ona on 05/03/2010

    Verified Purchase

    These are the best way to control mosquitoes in open rain barrels. We have used them for years but now that we have 5 barrels had to have a better price then at the box stores. Delighted for find them on line for 1/2 the price we had previously paid. We received them very quickly and have them in all the barrels at the present time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mosquito Dunks

    By Leslie on 06/30/2010

    I can't find dunks in Costa Rica, where I have a second home. Mosquitos down there can carry dengue and malaria. Yet preserving the environment for the great numbers of living things down there requires using something organic and natural. I put a dunk in my gray water drains once a month. Sometimes I drop one down the street in the rain culvert that is always damp. Within a few days there is a dramatic reduction in the numbers of mosquitos at my home. The dunks work GREAT!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Definitely works

    By Tr on 03/27/2015

    I work in the Health Dept for my county. The guys in Environmental Health use these dunks as the main component for their mosquito abatement program. They tell me that the dunks are appropriate organic controls, meaning organic farmers won't lose their organic certification for using these. I have a pond on my property and get clouds of mosquitos if I don't use these dunks. The thing is with these dunks is that you have to use them in a timely manner or a hatch of skeeters will get past you. I found critters like to eat these. So keep an eye out after you dunk them somewhere. If you tossed them somewhere and you still got skeeters, your dunk may have gotten eaten before it could affect the skeeter larvae.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mosquito dunks

    By Chris on 07/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    We have used these dunks (we call them donuts) for years. We have 26 acres of pasture land with a large slew running through it from one side to the other. We own horses and when we get a lot of rain the slew fills with standing water that can last for weeks. These donuts really do the trick. Our mosquito problem is very small. We also use a quarter of one donut in each of our bird baths. This product does not harm the birds, frogs or anything else that is in the water. Our cats drink from the bird baths too. When the water dries up the donut is still there if not completely dissolved just waiting for the next rain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very good product

    By Anonymous on 07/02/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have had quite a bit of standing water this year due to all the rain NJ has been experiencing. After using Mosquito Dunks in puddles (sometimes crumbling them) and bird baths there were no noticeable mosquitos at all! I am amazed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dunks

    By Deb on 09/28/2016

    I order several cases of these a yr. They sure make a huge difference in the amount of mosquitos we get, lots less & we have lots of standing water/small ponds & wetlands on our property near our home. Before the yrs. of dunks, there were days & evenings we couldn't go outside, they were that bad!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The county uses these

    By Tr on 04/11/2013

    I work in the local county health department and know that the Environmental Health Division of the health dept. uses BTi mosquito dunks exclusively in their mosquito abatement program. They do not spray chemicals in the mosquito breeding waters. They only use BTi mosquito dunks and the guys there tell me that BTi mosquito dunks are appropriate for organic standards and that the dunks only target mosquito larvae and no other insects. I hope that's true.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mosquitos in my Pond.

    By Eleanor on 07/10/2015

    I bought the Mosquito Dunks for my pond because you could not sit outside and enjoy my yard after dark. Well it definitely works. I will buy some more as soon as I run out. I recommend these Mosquito Dunks. Easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very good product!!

    By Nancy on 06/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We put them in the stock tanks that we have close to our house. Those tanks are usually teeming with mosquito babies! We completely emptied the tanks, filled them back up, put the dunks in and NO MOSQUITOES!! It is a very dry year here, but I was afraid the mosquitoes would be worse next to the house, since we have all of the standing water in those tanks, but I have only seen 1. I was very pleased with how well these worked. Our dogs did like to pick them out of the tanks, since they float. The dogs didn't seem to have any ill effects, but we decided to put something heavy on it in the bottom of the tank so the dogs couldn't get to them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works great!

    By Rick on 06/28/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Have three 55 gallon rain barrels and no larva to be seen. Using 1/4 wafer per barrel and they last several weeks +. Am very pleased and should have gotten this years ago.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks

    By Boleti on 04/24/2015

    Verified Purchase

    They work! Get them out before the larvae are too big, if you wait until they get big, there is less time for the dunks to do their job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    skeeter dunks

    By Susan on 06/14/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Local stores were out, and we really need these. Price was better at your store anyway. So, from now on, we will order from you. Shipping was fast, and the product works very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killed my Mosquito Larva, but not my Tadpoles!

    By Mark on 08/19/2015

    One of these dunks in my dogs' wading pool killed off the mosquito larvae without appearing to harm the tadpoles at all, which is what I was aiming for. In addition, that reassures me that they should not affect the dogs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks

    By Terry on 04/28/2010

    I've been using them for ten years in my rain barrels (have 6). They work very well. DoMyOwnPestControl has the best price and excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good stuff and very efficient

    By Jelle on 04/25/2015

    Excellent. they were delivered quickly. I use them for my rainwater cistern.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mosquitos Will BE GONE!

    By Property on 07/16/2014

    Verified Purchase

    They do what they claim and don't hurt animals. Rid mosquitos at least from ponds and wet areas like culverts. Used a few in dry creek to work after a good rain. Cost much less than the local orange or blue box stores that sell 6pk. for $10. Great company to buy from.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great!

    By Beth on 05/02/2017

    We live by a river and have lots of standing water around the river that is Mosquito Haven. This will be our second year using them. Safe for the fish too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Philip on 04/11/2017

    Been using these for 3 years now. Drainage abutment around my property so standing water. Cuts way down on the mosquitos

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks from DMOPC

    By Dcarr on 05/31/2010

    I recently purchased BTI Mosquito Dunks from DMOPC -- first time I've done business here. Received the item promptly and in good condition. Deployed them in several french drain collection boxes in my yard that were writhing with mosquito larvae. I haven't been out there much lately but will report back when I determine their efficacy. Service: A+ Product: TBD

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks

    By Nancy on 06/21/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Great product--we use it to control mosquito population in our pond. The shipping is fast, free and the price is the best anywhere. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective

    By Lawrence on 07/02/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I used this product for a drainage ditch that was very infested with mosquitos. Within 2 days, it helped to all but eliminate them. I have learned that buying products here, which has been great, that my local exterminator is a complete rip-off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks-CASE (100 dunks)

    By Joanne on 11/16/2012

    We have a daylily farm and grow daylilies in pots with frames built for holding water so the daylilies can be watered from the bottom. We had huge problems with mosquitoes this year, and several of our friends have contracted West Nile Virus in Middle Georgia. We ordered the case of BTI Mosquito Dunks, and have been able to eradicate the mosquito problem. We don't have to worry about poison . They are safe for the animals, and we even have some in the bird baths. Very good product with excellent service from Do My Own Pest Control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    mosquito dunks

    By George on 05/24/2013

    quick and inexpensive delivery of product. Excellent and I would use them again

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works

    By J on 06/14/2017

    I put pieces of this all over my yard, in plant saucer, my fountain, birdbaths, any place water collects. I don't have a mosquito problem when I use it & get eaten alive when I don't. Shipping was fast. Everything went very smoothly. This is my second purchase from this company & certainly not my last.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Walter on 07/12/2016

    Relief!! The mosquitos were driving us out!! Your product allowed us to enjoy our house again

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mosquito Dunks

    By Bebe on 07/15/2016

    These are working as great as the ones I was buying at the local store but at a great savings.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    birth control 4 skeeters

    By Judy on 07/18/2016

    These are the only things I can put in my rain barrels to keep the skeeters from breeding. The water is still okay for my plants, too. I live in SW Florida and we have lots of rain and mosquitoes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    BTI Mosquito Dunks

    By Katie on 07/21/2016

    This site had the best price of the several that I searched. The Mosquito Dunks were recommended to me by our exterminator (he comes annually to spray for ants) because he told me he saw mosquito larvae in a rain barrel we have, and this was the product he recommended. They work fine as far as my limited knowledge goes. They disintegrate over time (some weeks), so you have to keep an eye on them, for replenishing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good if your cats drink from your pond.

    By David on 08/29/2017

    This product works well if used before mosquito larvae grow into devils and leave the water. My cats drink from the pond with no ill effects (my veterinarian recommended the dunks), they are relatively inexpensive and one dunk for my 100 gallon back yard pond lasts almost a month.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    These Work at Controlling Mosquitoes

    By Birds on 06/13/2016

    We place these where ever there is standing water after a rain (i.e. fountains and rain barrels). These start working as soon as the water hits them and we do not have to remember to go out to these areas of ponding after a rain; the dunks help stop mosquitoes before they can become a pest. Also pricing is good - 2X number of dunks compared to price-quantity at home improvement stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)